Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Cyril and Pat” as Want to Read:
Cyril and Pat
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Cyril and Pat

4.38  ·  Rating details ·  45 ratings  ·  15 reviews
Cyril is the only squirrel in Lake Park, and he's very lonely. Until one day he meets Pat – Pat the big, grey . . . other squirrel. Cyril and Pat have lots of adventures and fun together and Cyril is so pleased he's made a friend. But everyone is adamant that Cyril and Pat simply cannot be friends, and they soon reveal why: Pat, as the reader has known all along, is actual ...more
Hardcover, 32 pages
Published July 10th 2018 by Two Hoots
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Cyril and Pat, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Cyril and Pat

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Brenda
When Cyril met Pat he was pleased to know he wasn’t the only squirrel in Lake Park – now he wouldn’t be lonely with Pat by his side. They were great friends and did everything together. But everyone kept at Cyril, telling him he couldn’t be friends with Pat, because... When Pat was finally driven away, Cyril was lonely once again. All the fun was gone from his life. Would Cyril and Pat overcome the prejudices of others and pick up their friendship once again?

Cyril and Pat is filled with richly c
...more
Melissa (Mel’s Bookshelf)
Jul 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: childrens-books
This is a cute book with absolutely stunning illustrations! What a talented lady Emily Gravett is!

Poor Cyril the squirrel, leading a lonely existence until he finds another 'squirrel', Pat. Cyril and Pat have lots of adventures together, but for some reason Cyril keeps getting told that he and Pat can't be friends. For Pat is not exactly the 'squirrel' that Cyril thinks he is.

Cyril and Pat is a beautiful book with a lovely message about friendship. The story is a lot of fun to read to the kids a
...more
Paula
Jan 17, 2019 rated it really liked it
Yay, another rat-positive book!!
La Gran Biblioteca de David
La historia está llena de humor y hace que tanto el lector como el oyente se ría. Además en ciertas ocasiones las frases están escritas con rimas, lo que le da una cierta musicalidad a la obra.

Es una historia preciosa y muy emotiva que transmite un mensaje muy bueno, tanto para los niños como para los adultos. Cyril y Renata son amigos pero son de razas muy distintas: una ardilla y una rata. Pese a esta diferencia siguen siendo amigos y se quieren el uno al otro. Esta es una perfecta historia qu
...more
Rachel
An adorable tale about a squirrel who makes a new friend, and the value of friendship no matter whom is involved. When Cyril, the lone squirrel in Lake Park meets Pat, he mistakenly identifies him as another squirrel, and indeed in Gravett's style, both of the creatures have the same scrawny build, big pink noses, and grey and white fur. It's not long before the two are racing around, doing activities together, and outwitting Slim, the nasty dog. Other park animals can't help but notice the pair ...more
Pauline
Aug 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing
We adore award winning writer and illustrator Emily Gravett’s books with her precise but magical illustrations. Cyril (the squirrel) is lonely and delighted when he befriends Pat (the rat) and he believes he isn’t the only squirrel in Lake Park. The two friends have a wonderful time together and become firm friends. It is only when others tell Cyril that Pat is indeed a rat and that he can’t be friends with him that he drives Pat away. What is exceptional about this picture book is the gentle no ...more
Mathew
Another great addition to the Emily Gravett catalogue. This sweet, rhyming tale tells the story of two friends who are blind to each other's outward differences and are just happy with each other's company. When Cyril (the squirrel) pays heed to the comments of those around him and recognises how Pat is 'different' his actions cost him and he finds himself lonely. Never fear though, in typical Gravett style, our character reflects and sees the error of his ways.
I particularly loved the map of t
...more
Jennie
Cyril lives in Lake Park, and he's very lonely. One day he meets a creature of similar size, shape and colour and is thrilled to have found a friend - Pat. Cyril and Pat have lots of adventures and fun together although other creatures in the park seem to want to tell Cyril something important and say they can't be friends. And eventually Cyril finds out why - Pat is a rat! (no surprises here for the reader - we knew!). Friendship is shattered until - a friend in need is a friend in deed.
Text i
...more
Nicola
Aug 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: picture-books
Perfect for fans of The Nut Job (2014)! It's a really approachable look at friendship and inclusion. Miss 4 loved the rhythm and yelling out 'Rat!'; she also approves of the map.

Miss 4 and I like to explore different books and authors at the library, sometimes around particular topics or themes. We try to get different ones out every week or so; it's fun for both of us to have the variety and to look at a mix of new & favourite authors.
Olivia Slykhuis
Cyril the Squirrel is friends with Pat the....also squirrel? When Cyril finds out that Pat is actually a rat, he thinks they can't be friends anymore. Not to worry though, this book has a happy ending. I think kids would love the build up to Cyril finding out Pat's true identity. Cute pictures, good rhyme, funny story, and it redeems rats, which I am all about! Lovely, will use for storytimes. 3+
Francis Thibeault
Dec 24, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: albums-jeunesse
Une aventure émouvante entre deux animaux qu'un monde pourtant sépare. Sous le thème de l'amitié sincère, ce livre d'Emily Gravett nous montre les fondements d'une bonne relation entre deux animaux, et les critiques que certains pourraient avoir à leur égard. L'important n'est pas dans l'apparence, mais plutôt dans les gestes!
Marie-Pier  Dodier
Différence. Inférence.
Hmy
Sep 30, 2018 rated it really liked it
Another great book from Emily Gravett. Friendship can overcome many prejudices and always wins through
Mere
Nov 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A beautiful tale of friendship. Where the best friends can’t see the differences between themselves.
Wayward Fancy
rated it it was amazing
Aug 04, 2018
Ely
rated it really liked it
Jul 23, 2018
Michelle (FabBookReviews)
rated it really liked it
Dec 06, 2018
Dimity Powell
rated it it was amazing
Jul 22, 2018
Irein
rated it it was amazing
Jul 28, 2018
Work
rated it really liked it
Jan 21, 2019
Maria
rated it it was amazing
Nov 22, 2018
Roy-James
rated it it was amazing
Jul 17, 2018
Caroline Nixey
rated it really liked it
Nov 23, 2018
Sara Grochowski
rated it it was amazing
Jan 15, 2019
JkW
rated it it was amazing
Nov 05, 2018
Fictional Fiend
rated it really liked it
Dec 23, 2018
Darren Walland
rated it it was amazing
Jan 08, 2019
Chris
rated it it was amazing
Jan 04, 2019
Kristin
rated it it was amazing
Nov 09, 2018
Hanna
rated it really liked it
Aug 18, 2018
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
181 followers
Emily Gravett is twice winner of the prestigious Kate Greenaway Medal and the Nestlé Children's Book Prize Bronze Award for WOLVES and LITTLE MOUSE'S BIG BOOK OF FEARS. An author/illustrator of unique talent and tremendous skill, she has a host of critically acclaimed books to her name, including BLUE CHAMELEON, WOLF WON'T BITE! and AGAIN! Emily lives in Brighton with her partner and their daughte ...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »