Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Art of Persuasion” as Want to Read:
The Art of Persuasion
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Art of Persuasion

3.17  ·  Rating details ·  63 ratings  ·  14 reviews
If Jane Austen was twenty-five today would she be a greenie or a member of the Young Liberals? Probably neither. But for 25-year-old Hazel, reading the classics starting with A is a way to pass the time while jobless and plotless. A chance encounter with an irresistible older man provides a much-needed distraction. When Hazel is partnered with him on a political campaign, ...more
Paperback, 244 pages
Published July 1st 2018 by Fremantle Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Art of Persuasion, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Art of Persuasion

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.17  · 
Rating details
 ·  63 ratings  ·  14 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Karleah Olson
2.5* It took me a while to get into this book, which made the short novel seem a lot longer. A lot of the beginning of the book seemed quite contrived to me, and I felt like Hazel was a pretty bland character standing in for strong ideals and opinions on politics, literature and her own generation of 20-somethings. Parts of the novel read like an essay, with Hazel spouting perfectly formed and articulated opinions like she was reading from a text book. The interactions didn't feel real to me and ...more
Louise
Oct 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A contemporary romance with plenty of humour, politics and literature, and two very likeable characters at its heart.
Hannah Watson
'Finished the book' meaning I couldn't tolerate reading it much longer! People have a go at religion saying it's the opium of the masses. Well I'd say politics is the pipe!

Okay rant over... I'm sure some would have liked the originality of the story. But I found Hazel annoying and pompous. Disappointed I bought it, rather than borrowing from the library 😒
Rebecca
May 30, 2018 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
It's been a while since I've given up on a book. But sitting in an airport on page 50/200 I realised I was just annoying myself to keep reading.
The novel is not without some witty charms. But it's a bit pretentious for me. If you like characters who are obnoxiously well read and speak in philosophical terms then please enjoy.... I'm going to go read the actual Persuasion
Nicole
The Art of Persuasion is the life lit debut novel of Australian author, Susan Midalia. Chosen my book club after meeting the author last year, I was excited to get to know the protagonist, Hazel. Told in the third person, Midalia lightly and deftly interweaves seemingly heavy themes of politics, youth and teaching for an easy read.

At 25 years old, Hazel is living in Perth, Western Australia. Hazel is an intelligent woman who I did admire despite her tendency to ramble on. Like Hazel, I live in
...more
Steve lovell
Oct 07, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition

Potential. This author reeks of potential. Susan Midalia has a fine way with words as she reverses the old trope of men of a certain age and their Peter Pan Syndrome. The author's heroine is preying on an older guy, but he's playing hard to get. He's refusing to succumb to her youth and winsome charm, although her approaches, admittedly tentative, should make it all too obvious to discern what she is after. She wants him, boy does she want him – and for most of the duration the reader is unsure
...more
Rashida Murphy
Apr 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
"The Art of Persuasion" by Susan Midalia, published by Fremantle Press, is this author's first novel, having written award winning short story collections previously. It's a book lover's book, because of the nods to other literature, specifically Jane Austen, but also makes wry and tongue-in-cheek references to groups of people we sometimes either ignore or feel superior to. Youth, politics, love, ideology and ageing are among some of the themes in this slim novel. I loved it and recommend it as ...more
Lynette Washington
What a gorgeous book! A thoroughly modern love story, without a hint of schmaltz. Hazel is a wonderful protagonist - a young women who is finding her way but never once concedes her principles. I enjoyed the way Midalia wove literature and politics into the plot. Great also to read a book set firmly in Perth.
I powered through this, and didn't want to put it down. I felt sad to leave Hazel and her friends when I turned the last page.
Robert Lukins
Warm, biting, funny, compelling. I loved it.
Tegan Siân
Jan 29, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Really enjoyed this book! Thought Hazel was a wonderful lead, I liked that she didn't hide how smart she was and spoke quite academically. While the book scared me slightly for the profession I'm studying for I like that it didn't sugarcoat teaching too. This was an enjoyable read and I enjoyed the romance between Hazel and Adam. It was also nice to read a book set here in Australia and with some politics sprinkled in. Will be recommending to friends for sure.
Kath Venables
A sweet and funny love story. Loved the Perth setting
Justin
Interesting... (more to come)
Jan Hallam
this was not what I was expecting
SD Walker
Dec 02, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I too loved the Perth setting and I enjoyed the read. Found the references to the ups and downs of teaching amusing.
Christina Wedgwood
rated it liked it
Jun 03, 2018
Claire Miller
rated it it was amazing
May 22, 2018
Lizzie
rated it really liked it
Sep 19, 2018
Karin
rated it it was amazing
Jul 31, 2018
Sophie
rated it did not like it
Aug 08, 2018
Armelle Davies
rated it liked it
Jun 25, 2018
Danielle
rated it did not like it
Aug 08, 2018
Chermaine
rated it really liked it
Jan 31, 2019
Denise Fleischer
rated it liked it
May 29, 2018
Karen
rated it it was ok
Jul 14, 2018
CHRISTINE.EYRES
rated it really liked it
Apr 21, 2018
Carol-Ann Gravestock
rated it really liked it
Aug 15, 2018
Jessica Kieft
rated it liked it
Sep 10, 2018
Rhiann
rated it it was ok
Jun 29, 2018
Jess
rated it liked it
May 25, 2018
Janis L Collins
rated it did not like it
Jun 20, 2018
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »