Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Flowers from Afghanistan” as Want to Read:
Flowers from Afghanistan
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Flowers from Afghanistan

by
4.48  ·  Rating details ·  29 ratings  ·  16 reviews
Weighed down by guilt following the death of his two-year-old son, Mac McCann accepts a year-long position training police officers in Afghanistan. Leaving his wife Sophie to grieve alone, he hopes the life-or-death distractions of his self-imposed exile will build a wall between him and his pain. 

As camaraderie builds between Mac and the men on base—including a local bar
...more
Paperback, 282 pages
Published October 1st 2018 by Pelican Book Group
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Flowers from Afghanistan, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Flowers from Afghanistan

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.48  · 
Rating details
 ·  29 ratings  ·  16 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Carrie Schmidt (Reading is My SuperPower)
3.5 stars

Flowers From Afghanistan – Suzy Parish’s debut novel – appears at first glance to be a story about how a husband and a wife each cope with the tragic loss of their young son. And it is. But it’s way more than that, too. It’s also an authentic and emotional look behind the scenes of day-to-day life in a war zone, based on camp life in the real Camp Nathan Smith, Afghanistan, and a heartwarming picture of friendship that crosses cultural borders, Yet, at its heart, it’s really a story of
...more
Patricia Bradley
This is Suzy Parrish's debut novel and she nailed it. The opening grabbed me and propelled me into the story. Her descriptions of Afghanistan made me feel I was there, even to feeling the sand in my shoes. :-) Great dialogue between the characters cemented the sense of being a part of their lives.

Mac and Sophie have a lot to work through, and Parrish does a great job of getting them there without being clichéd. The relationship between the men working in Afghanistan enhanced the story and Mac's
...more
Glenys Nellist
Apr 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
It's no wonder that Flowers From Afghanistan, debut novel from the pen of Suzy Parish, was awarded a Bronze Medal from the Military Writers Society of America. Based on true events, the story follows Mac McCann as he accepts a position training police officers in Afghanistan. Mac is running from the tragedy of losing his young son, and the trauma caused by it, including his failing marriage. But on the training field, Mac's story turns from tragedy into triumph as he invests in relationships wit ...more
Melissa
May 06, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Excellent KU choice--gives good perspectives of what it is like to live and work in Afghanistan. Highly recommended.
Barbara M. Britton
Aug 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: christian
Suzy Parish's debut transported me to Afghanistan with Mac McCann, a police officer whose heart is stricken after the loss of his son. Mac fights for forgiveness from his wife, believing he played a part in the accident that took his son's life. In Afghanistan, Mac befriends a barber and his boy, and builds relationships with the men that help train Afghani police. These secondary characters will draw you into their own stories. Even though Mac is far away, his wife supports him and shares her f ...more
Kathy
Oct 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is the poignant story of one man’s search for answers. After involvement in a horrific accident that took the life of his 2-year old son, Mac, ridden with guilt, accepts a yearlong position training police officers in Afghanistan. Mac leaves his wife Sophie to grieve alone, hoping to build a wall between himself and the grief he feels. Once in country, Mac becomes involved with the men in his unit as well as with a local barber and his young son. As time passes, Mac realizes that he is not ...more
Mary Albers Felkins
I thoroughly enjoyed this debut, a tender-Army warrior tale through the POV of the hero. His decision to leave guilt behind - or try to - and spend a year serving/training military tactics to nationals in Afghanistan was believable. The description of this gray and war torn camp...and unexpected friendship with the son of the Afghan barber...along with uncertainty as to the strength of his marriage to Sophie, kept me turning pages to a satisfying ending.
Kathleen
Aug 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Mac, trying to escape the guilt and loss following the death of his son, travels to Afghanistan to work as a police trainer. The author’s use of sensory details allows us to experience life in that war-torn country. She captures the emotions of a wife left behind to grieve alone. Mac’s journey through grief to recovery unfolds in a beautifully written story. It will stay with you long after the last page.
Ann
Aug 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is such a wonderfully written book that is a shining example of how God will work all things out if you will let go and let Him. This book has action, suspense, heartbreak and romance, I read it in one sitting. You don't want to miss this book. Thank you Pelican Book Group via NetGalley for the ARC copy of this book. This is my honest opinion of this book.
Carol James
Dec 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved Flowers from Afghanistan. It is a beautifully written story about redemption and forgiveness, lost love and found love, and faithfulness during difficulty. Mac's struggle with overcoming his demons was painful and real. It was one of those stories I hated to see end. Maybe Suzy will do a sequel.
Tammy
Aug 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Awesome book

Flowers from Afghanistan is a wonderful book filled with both heart warming and heart wrenching events. I couldn't put it down.
Lauri Gentry
Oct 05, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This story touched my heart. Through this story I had tears of sorrow and tears of joy. In this story Mac needs to learn that the only one that had not forgiven him was himself.
Charlotte Dance
Apr 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was a different heartwrenching book, but beautiful in its own way. I will look for more by this author.
Ebos Aifuobhokhan
I loved, loved this book. A beautiful story of love, loss, forgiveness and redemption. Beautifully crafted. Thank you Suzy.
Brandi
rated it it was amazing
Apr 24, 2019
Melissa Juvinall
rated it did not like it
May 21, 2019
Carron Stevenson
rated it it was amazing
May 08, 2019
Elaine Cantrell
rated it really liked it
Feb 27, 2019
Link Parish
rated it it was amazing
Jun 06, 2018
LoRee Peery
rated it it was amazing
Sep 01, 2018
Dalyn Weller
rated it really liked it
Jul 02, 2019
Carolyn Hiatt
rated it really liked it
May 09, 2019
Laura
rated it really liked it
Aug 23, 2018
Jo Parker
rated it it was amazing
Aug 20, 2018
Patsy Higgason
rated it it was amazing
Aug 09, 2018
Ruth
Bittersweet story leads to a satisfying end. Aside: All the mentions of treats and coffee drinks gave me serious snack attacks!
Military Writers Society of America (MWSA)
MWSA Review

In “Flowers from Afghanistan” by Suzy Parish, the narrator, Mac, grieving the death of his young son, leaves his wife of seven years at home to accept a year-long position in Afghanistan training police officers. Through his friendships with military and civilian Americans on base and a local contract worker, Gil, and his young son, Mac begins to understand that others’ lives are also filled with pain, and that his attempts to ignore or escape from suffering are fruitless. Although Ma
...more
Melisa
rated it really liked it
Jun 29, 2019
Elynore
rated it really liked it
Aug 18, 2018
Jody
rated it it was amazing
Apr 29, 2019
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Christian Goodrea...: Flowers from Afghanistan Release! 1 7 Jul 07, 2018 06:55PM  
38 followers
Suzy Parish is an award-winning author with Pelican Book Group. Her debut novel, Flowers from Afghanistan, was awarded a bronze medal by the Military Writers Society of America. Flowers also made the longlist of the INSPY Awards. Suzy wrote as a Community Columnist for the Huntsville Times and has been published in Splickety Magazine. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW).
S
...more