Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Criminal Misdeeds (A Carrie Shatner Mystery, #1)” as Want to Read:
Criminal Misdeeds (A Carrie Shatner Mystery, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Criminal Misdeeds

(A Carrie Shatner Mystery #1)

by
4.47  ·  Rating details ·  15 Ratings  ·  13 Reviews
As far back as the Shatners can be traced, they have been breaking the law and running from it. It’s a family tradition. Now Carrie Shatner is a detective and crime-scene technician with the Wyatt County Sheriff’s Department in Eastern Texas. Over the years, she has tried to distance herself from her family’s criminal activities. But that is easier said than done.

The Shatn
...more
Paperback, 236 pages
Published July 1st 2018 by Coffeetown Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Criminal Misdeeds, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Criminal Misdeeds

Don't Call Me Cupcake by Tara SheetsRainbirds by Clarissa GoenawanThe Queen of Hearts by Kimmery MartinNever Dare a Wicked Earl by Renee Ann MillerA Different Kind of Fire by Suanne Schafer
Authors18
133 books — 173 voters
The Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsThrone of Glass by Sarah J. MaasDivergent by Veronica RothVampire Academy by Richelle MeadAngelfall by Susan Ee
Badass Female Leads!
905 books — 1,180 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-46)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Dianne Freeman
Jun 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The Shatners of Wyatt County Texas have a hard time staying on the right side of the law, though it might be a little easier if they actually tried. They deal in illegal moonshine, illegal pot, illegal fireworks, and an array of other petty criminal activities. It falls to Detective Carrie Shatner to keep them from straying too far out of line and ending up in jail. So when she finds a dead body at the county fairgrounds where the whole Shatner clan have been celebrating New Years Eve, it’s her ...more
Cheryl
Aug 03, 2018 rated it really liked it
Criminal Misdeeds is a really good start to this series. I enjoyed the author's brand of humor and the eccentric cast of characters. Which pretty much comprised of the Shatner family. Carrie has spunk. She may be a little green when it comes to enforcing the law but she didn't let this hold her back. Yet, Carrie had help in the form of sexy, Hardy. Hardy may have more experience tracking people done but not when it came to the Shatner family. Carrie and Hardy were good together. He brought the b ...more
Minerva Spencer
Jul 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Detective Carrie Shatner has her hands full cleaning up messes --and most those messes involve her rather, er, UNUSUAL family....

There are a LOT of detective novels and to have one that stands out you need to do something special. Green does a phenomenal job with her protagonist, Carrie. She is funny, witty, dry and pragmatic--dealing with not only her problems, but those of the entire Shatner brood. I have to admit I liked her family, but then I don't have to live with them!

The story is quick-m
...more
Diane
Jul 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The world needs more fun, interesting books, especially in these troubled times. It was a real delight to retire to my favorite chair and partake of the antics of the Shatner family. The book takes place in Texas--it exudes Texas, like a Junebug on a stick. Okay, so my simile wasn't so great. But Randee Green's metaphors were wrapped into the context beautifully, so I felt like I was actually in a small Texas town. Carrie was an interesting character: the only well-meaning person in a family of ...more
Laura Reading
Sep 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing
When I sat down to read this book I did not mean to finish it in one day. I just could not walk away!
In the vein of Hatfields and McCoys, with a dash of Dukes of Hazzard, and maybe even a glimpse in the direction of Blue Bloods, this book was FUN to get lost in.
It has all the quirkiness of great Southern fiction while being on the darker side. It is, after all, a murder mystery.

Caroline Diamond Shatner is loyal to her family, the entire inter-related, law crossing bunch of them that can't see a
...more
Joan
Sep 05, 2018 rated it liked it
Crazy is about the only way I can describe this book. Carrie is a kick. She seems to be the only honest wanna be among a family of petty criminals. She tries hard to keep her family in line while working for the sheriff. There were times I laughed out loud.

And southern. This novel just drips southern culture. The men are sort of like what this Pacific Northwestern native always imagined sex craved southern men to be. Carrie is a brave gal, holding her own among the macho men, even at the disgus
...more
Kate Avery
Sep 11, 2018 rated it liked it
I’ll be pretty upfront and say that I get the impression that a lot of this was lost in translation, it might just be me but I think if I were from the US then I would have enjoyed it a lot more.

There were a lot of occasions during the book where I felt like maybe there was some humour being injected that I just wasn’t getting and some ways of phrasing or sayings that I couldn’t quite pick up. It did make for a lot of re-reading on my part just to see where I had picked it up wrong,

There are a l
...more
Cassidy
Sep 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Imagine trying to uphold the law when your family is prone to violating the law on a regular basis. Figuring out where to draw the line between family loyalties and her job is an ongoing challenge for Carrie Shatner. And her family isn’t making matters any easier, especially when the crime is murder and the victim is a Palmer. But Carrie is feisty enough to stand up to her relatives – sometimes, anyway.
Carrie is candid and entertaining. With a light conversational tone, it is almost as if an old
...more
Neg Dardashti
Aug 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Criminal Misdeeds is a witty, fast-paced, intriguing mystery, that keeps you on your toes and at the edge of your seat. I loved the way the author developed her characters, especially Carrie with her struggle between holding up the law and cleaning up her family's messes. The entire Shatner clan was entertaining, in my opinion, the kind of characters you want to hate but find yourself rooting for at times, instead. Green's art of storytelling paired with her expert ability to create a mystery ma ...more
Nancy
Sep 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The Shatners and Palmers have the Hatfields and McCoys beat. The Shatners even have a couple plants in the sheriff’s department who can cover up family misdeeds.

But that doesn’t include murder. Carrie has a struggle on her hands. She wants to be part of the investigating team, but they don’t exactly trust a Shatner to be honest.

You’re going to enjoy Carrie and her interesting family members. I’m looking forward to more Carrie Shatner mysteries and that crazy family of hers.

Thank you, Ms Green. E
...more
Christina Startt
Aug 21, 2018 rated it really liked it
3.5 to 4 stars. A solid start to the series! I like Carrie; she is sassy and I appreciate good sass. If I were her, however, I think I would have already cut and run from her insane family. Just me and Wynonna on the road with Hardy.
Dylann Crush
Aug 11, 2018 rated it really liked it
I thoroughly enjoyed the quirky cast of characters... plenty of fun family drama! I'll be watching for the next Carrie Shatner mystery and looking forward to another humorous read by Randee Green.
Renee
rated it it was amazing
Jul 18, 2018
Ruthie Jones
On the surface, Criminal Misdeeds is laugh-out-loud funny, in terms of crossing that blurry line between following the law and following family loyalty, and the reader really doesn’t need to go any deeper than that to enjoy this fabulous book. Detective Carrie Shatner has taken on the impossible task of enforcing the law in a town where families, including her own, do everything but follow the law.

When Carrie discovers a dead body, with her family as the prime suspect, her dueling loyalties to t
...more
Randee Green
Jun 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Pearl Dallal
rated it really liked it
Jul 20, 2018
Willa Ramsey
marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2018
Kim Imas
marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2018
Kelli
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2018
Nicole Terry
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2018
Kate Sullivan
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2018
Amanda Skenandore
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2018
Jennifer Klepper
marked it as to-read
Jun 22, 2018
Megan Mayfair
marked it as to-read
Jun 22, 2018
Katrina Wiese
marked it as to-read
Jul 07, 2018
Christina Hovland
marked it as to-read
Jul 12, 2018
The Topas
marked it as to-read
Jul 27, 2018
Mary Keliikoa
marked it as to-read
Aug 15, 2018
Holly
marked it as to-read
Aug 20, 2018
Kenzie Erickson
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2018
Suanne Schafer
marked it as to-read
Aug 27, 2018
Debbie
marked it as to-read
Aug 30, 2018
Joo
marked it as to-read
Sep 03, 2018
Will Griesmer
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2018
Steve Weber
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2018
Calvin
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2018
Denise Higgins
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2018
Rachel Griesmer
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2018
Dan
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2018
Marilyn Nawara
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2018
Brent Strassburg
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2018
Deanna
marked it as to-read
Sep 05, 2018
Alan Saxon
marked it as to-read
Sep 05, 2018
SD
marked it as to-read
Sep 06, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
70 followers
Randee Green is the author of the Carrie Shatner Mystery series. Her passion for reading began in grade school with LITTLE HOUSE IN THE BIG WOODS by Laura Ingalls Wilder. She has a bachelor's degree in English Literature, as well as a master's and an MFA in Creative Writing. When not writing, she's usually reading, indulging in her passion for Texas country music, traveling, or hanging out with he ...more