Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Magic Is Dead: My Journey into the World's Most Secretive Society of Magicians” as Want to Read:
Magic Is Dead: My Journey into the World's Most Secretive Society of Magicians
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Magic Is Dead: My Journey into the World's Most Secretive Society of Magicians

3.95  ·  Rating details ·  60 ratings  ·  10 reviews
In the vein of Neil Strauss’ The Game and Joshua Foer’s Moonwalking with Einstein comes the fascinating story of one man’s colorful, mysterious, and personal journey into the world of magic, and his unlikely invitation into an underground secret society of revolutionary magicians from around the world.

Magic Is Dead is Ian Frisch’s head-first dive into a hidden world full o
...more
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published February 26th 2019 by Dey Street Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Magic Is Dead, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Magic Is Dead

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.95  · 
Rating details
 ·  60 ratings  ·  10 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Joe Jones
Dec 26, 2018 rated it really liked it
A cool peak behind the curtain at Magic’s young guns blazing a new trail for magicians. As a bonus we get to see the secrets behind some of the tricks and the process of what goes into creating an original one! A fascinating read for anyone with the smallest amount of interest in magic or who still has that childlike sense of wonder about the world.
Andrew Campbell
Abandoned. Promises intrigue but immediately devolves into descriptions of videos and the writer’s acquaintance with celebrity.

The tone here is like my 11-year-old trying to interest me in his latest hobby.
David V.
Jan 25, 2019 rated it really liked it
Received as an ARC via my employer Barnes & Noble. Started 1-25-19. Finished 1-31-19. Well-written book about the history of "Modern" magicians--the young and brash street type; the fast-talking, tattooed fast-moving type; the creative, no-nonsense straight up deceptors who see magic as a way of life and a psychological process, not just entertainment. These are the ones who are constantly looking for new techniques and inventing new tricks. The author also explores "the52", a secret society ...more
Dustin Manning
Mar 01, 2019 rated it really liked it
Really enjoyable. As a lover of magic and magic theory / history this book was a nice addition to Magic’s bibliography. It’s historical approach is simple and direct without covering too much of the same old ground, a real tight look at card manipulation and it’s history in gambling was a nice approach. Not only that but the fast forwarding into today’s very fresh internet ( Instagram ) approach to how to renew and invigorate young magicians was interesting. Also as to not be a dry history, the ...more
Lashaya Marie
Mar 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Just as Madison, Ramsay and others brought Ian into the magic community and the 52 Ian makes you feel like your there. An inside look at the history of magic both past and present , from card sharks to illusionists and consultants and the era of YouTube and technological magic. It’s A deeply personal journey and I felt like I was right there, from Blackpool to Las Vegas to the dark room poker games and smoke filled casinos with his mom and meet ups all over the world.



Mike Syku
Mar 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Equal parts delightful, exciting, and contemplative, the author weaves a fantastic tale about the mysterious secret society, the larger than life founders, and the deeply personal struggles he and they went through on this journey. The all-too-human demons illustrated by the insightful author really crystalizes an already interesting story about a magic club into an odyssey in which talented artists attempt to share their magic with the world, and end up growing, healing, and striving with each ...more
Demi
Dec 30, 2018 rated it really liked it
My grandfather was an amateur sleight of hand magician, who shared a handful of secrets with me and my brother when we were children. It sparked a lifelong love of magic in me—I am fully and absolutely willing to be deceived by sleight of hand, even when I know what’s really going on. Frisch’s part-memoir, part-history, part-love letter to the world of magic taps into that same willingness to be deceived in the best way. Fast-paced and conversational (like any good card artist), MAGIC IS DEAD sh ...more
Anna
Mar 19, 2019 rated it it was ok
I really wanted to like this book - it had so many good elements and an interesting topic area: the generational evolution of magic and the incorporation of new technologies into an old art form. However, the personal narrative of the author totally threw me for a loop. It seemed to dominate the story and did not develop the personal connection it was trying to.
Jimmy Kim
Feb 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
i wish my friends were more like ian... overall fun romp through the underground world of magic.
Jules Arntz-Gray
Mar 17, 2019 rated it liked it
Interesting exploration into changes happening in the magic community. Changes that are making it edgier, cooler, and definitely more savvy at building an internet brand.
Matthew Honović
rated it really liked it
Mar 19, 2019
Chad
rated it really liked it
Mar 16, 2019
Zachariah Harde
rated it it was amazing
Mar 08, 2019
Dan
rated it really liked it
Mar 20, 2019
Thanh Trung
rated it really liked it
Mar 05, 2019
Ryan
rated it liked it
Feb 21, 2019
Piotrek
rated it really liked it
Mar 14, 2019
Jehvani
rated it liked it
Jan 29, 2019
Connie
rated it liked it
Jan 31, 2019
Frederick
rated it it was amazing
Mar 08, 2019
Stephanie
rated it really liked it
Mar 10, 2019
Tony
rated it really liked it
Mar 05, 2019
Alex
rated it liked it
Mar 04, 2019
Nicholas Frank
rated it really liked it
Mar 08, 2019
Hugh Stephens
rated it it was amazing
Mar 15, 2019
Ryan Meyer
rated it really liked it
Mar 10, 2019
Chris Lopez
rated it it was amazing
Mar 19, 2019
Lauren
rated it liked it
Jan 06, 2019
Kim
rated it really liked it
Mar 16, 2019
Mike McVey
rated it really liked it
Mar 07, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • So Happiness to Meet You: Foolishly, Blissfully Stranded in Vietnam
  • Expert Card Technique
  • Printer's Error: Irreverent Stories from Book History
  • Kay Thompson: From Funny Face to Eloise
  • Absolute Magic: A Model for Powerful Close-Up Performance
  • Flunk. Start.: Reclaiming My Decade Lost in Scientology
  • Bing Crosby: A Pocketful of Dreams - The Early Years 1903 - 1940
  • The Death of an Heir: Adolph Coors III and the Murder That Rocked an American Brewing Dynasty
  • Strange Stars: David Bowie, Pop Music, and the Decade Sci-Fi Exploded
  • Don't Make Me Pull Over!: An Informal History of the Family Road Trip
  • Away with Words: An Irreverent Tour Through the World of Pun Competitions
  • Naked and Marooned: One Man. One Island.
  • The Worrier's Guide to the End of the World: Love, Loss, and Other Catastrophes—through India, Italy, and Beyond
  • Dream Lovers: The Magnificent Shattered Lives of Bobby Darin and Sandra Dee - by Their Son Dodd Darin
  • The Expert at the Card Table: The Classic Treatise on Card Manipulation
  • Breaking and Entering: The Extraordinary Story of a Hacker Called "Alien"
  • Modern Coin Magic
  • Sex in the Museum: My Unlikely Career at New York's Most Provocative Museum