Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “What Was Lost” as Want to Read:
What Was Lost
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

What Was Lost

3.92  ·  Rating details ·  52 ratings  ·  17 reviews

How would you live if you had no memories? And what if you were suspected of a terrible crime?

Sarah has no memories. She just knows she was found, near death, on a beach miles from her London home. Now she is part of a medical experiment to see whether her past can be retrieved.

But bad things seemed to have happened before she disappeared. The police are interested in her

...more
Kindle Edition, 320 pages
Published September 13th 2018 by The Dome Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about What Was Lost, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about What Was Lost

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.92  · 
Rating details
 ·  52 ratings  ·  17 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Miriam Smith
Sep 04, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: twitter
"What Was Lost" by debut author Jean Levy is the ideal psychological mystery for fans of SJ Watson and Paula Hawkins and I for one thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I was instantly intrigued by the storyline - Children's writer Sarah Blake is found unconscious, bloodied and frozen on a beach miles from home. However, she has also lost her memory and can only recall fragments of memories prior to being a young child. The police are also interested into how she ended up there and with specialists try ...more
Liz Barnsley
Sep 17, 2018 rated it really liked it
I’m finding that I’m right in the mood at the moment for slow burning literary drama so What Was Lost hit a lot of high points for me.
This is not so much a story of what happened and who was responsible but more a story of recovery from a major life changing incident. As such it is highly compelling, I found Sarah’s character voice to be very engaging- her childlike steps back into an adult world were extraordinarily intriguing and often unexpected.
That’s not to say there isn’t a mystery element
...more
Laura
Sep 16, 2018 rated it really liked it
Book reviews on www.snazzybooks.com

What Was Lost is a gripping novel which caught my attention right from the start. Sarah doesn't know what happened to her to make her lose her memories and she doesn't remember a lot about her previous life 'before' the day that she was found, with amnesia, on a beach. From there on, the story creates a sense of confusion in that the people around Sarah, who are supposedly 'looking after her', don't always seem to be nice people. This made me wonder if they cou
...more
Lainy
Nov 20, 2018 rated it really liked it
Time taken to read - in and out over 2 days

Pages - 464

Publisher - The Dome Press

Source - Review Copy

Blubr from Goodreads

How would you live if you had no memories? And what if you were suspected of a terrible crime?

Sarah has no memories. She just knows she was found, near death, on a beach miles from her London home. Now she is part of a medical experiment to see whether her past can be retrieved.

But bad things seemed to have happened before she disappeared. The police are interested in her hid
...more
Karen Mace
Sep 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Why are books that mess with your mind so wonderful to read?! I found this story to be so compulsive and intriguing that it was really difficult to switch off from! 'Just one more chapter' become my mantra while reading this!

Sarah is a successful author and is found unconscious, bloodied and frozen on a beach miles from home with no memory of how or why she is there! Her story then becomes a battle to try and recover the lost memories alongside trying to hold on to the memories she has left. And
...more
Bucks, Books & Beyond
Sep 11, 2018 rated it really liked it
The tagline for this book was what drew me in initially. ‘Some things are best left forgotten’. Well straight away i’m thinking what things? What’s best left forgotten? What’s happened? I had to read on as before I had even read the first page I already had burning questions which needed answers! 

The story is told as a narrative from Sarah’s point of view and due to the fact that she lost her memory, to begin with, we are not given much information at all as to why Sarah is in the predicament sh
...more
Cassandra MADEUP BookBlog
Sep 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed this, for a few reasons!

The Characters are a bit different, and the Narrator is unreliable. Sounds like an odd positive doesn’t it? But in this case, it was brilliantly done! That premise of the story is that our Narrator has lost her memory, and is trying to figure out who she is and why she has lost her memory.

There are a lot of questions, and as facts are gradually revealed we come to understand that all is not as it seems, and with the Narrator not knowing who she is or wher
...more
Lovedreadingthis
Oct 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Ok, I'll start with a confession, while I really liked the premise of this book it felt rather long at 449 pages. Then to my dismay I started it and found the beginning really quite slow, and thought to myself, 'this might be a struggle'. But then, 70 pages in everything changed and this book became unputdownable, I became completely engrossed and found myself flying past the half way point on my second day reading. By day 3 I knew I had to just finish the book, I needed to know what happened!
So
...more
Karen Cole
Sep 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Losing your memories must be something that most people dread happening but for Sarah it's become a reality. She can't remember why she was found, near death, on a Dorset beach and to make matters worse, she has no recollection of any of her life after she was a child. Her mind seems to want to protect her but what devastating incident could have triggered such an extreme self preservation response? With the police also keen to discover just what she has forgotten, could knowing what happened be ...more
Bookish Chat
Sep 25, 2018 rated it really liked it
When I read the blurb I was intrigued. It sounded right up my street. When children's author Sarah Blake is found unconscious on a beach, with a broken arm and no memory of her adult life, her life is handed over to various doctors and specialists who are drafted in to help her piece together her memories. They hope that they will be able to fill in enough detail to ascertain why Sarah went missing for 2 days and figure out what brought about her subsequent memory loss.

The story starts at the po
...more
Jo Barton
Sep 21, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Our memories define us, they make us into the people we are and give us meaning and purpose. When those memories are taken away from us we flounder and cease to function as we did before.

Sarah is recovering from a devastating accident which has left her without any conscious memory and as her amnesia takes over her life, so the struggle for some sort of stability becomes paramount. Guarded by a team of medical experts, Sarah tries to make sense of a world in which she is increasingly isolated, a
...more
Katherine Sunderland
Sep 21, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2018
This is a well written, interesting novel that captures the narrator's predicament effectively and with skilful prose. The book is divided into sections called 'Episode' rather than chapters which I liked. Writing from the point of view from a character suffering from memory loss is challenging and there is always the danger of losing the reader or losing the sense of authenticity; neither happens here. The author has plenty of effective devices and imaginative ideas to show how Sarah struggles ...more
Peter Malan
Sep 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing
As a thirty year old man I might not be the the key demographic for this book... and I don't often write reviews.... but I found this book utterly fantastic! A total page turner! From the moment I began I couldn't put it down..... and I felt so engaged with the characters. The author brilliantly unwound the story as I hung on the edge of the chair waiting to find out each unfolding memory as Sarah battled her way to her truth, but does she really want to know! The characters were beautifully pre ...more
Andy Wormald
Sep 12, 2018 rated it really liked it
Sarah has lost her memory, found on a beach miles from home. Then a chance encounter in her local supermarket changes things and we and Sarah begin little by little to learn things of her past as her memory slowly starts to come back to her.

What follows is a highly compelling psychological thriller.

There is a complete sense of realism which shines throughout the book, which clearly comes from the author.

The story is mainly told from the standpoint of Sarah a children’s author, struggling to reme
...more
Hannah Symonds
Oct 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I found this book quite unsettling and creepy. How the story unfolds you think one thing but actually it is a completely different ball game. I was drawn in and couldn't stop thinking about how and why and then the ending was almighty. 
Petula Darling
May 08, 2019 rated it it was ok
This was compelling but ridiculous. That said, I'd definitely give the author another try.
Judith
Nov 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Skilful psychological thriller with a twist by a first-time author
Donna
rated it really liked it
Apr 28, 2019
Courtney
rated it really liked it
Jun 06, 2019
Judy Kaye
rated it really liked it
Mar 13, 2019
Julie Graham
rated it it was amazing
Apr 29, 2019
Charybdis
rated it did not like it
Mar 21, 2019
Jess Dyer
rated it really liked it
Jan 16, 2019
Alissa Gnolfo
rated it liked it
Jun 07, 2019
Sophie Eminson
rated it it was amazing
Sep 02, 2018
John Lockwood
rated it it was amazing
Jul 18, 2019
Alis Hawkins
rated it it was amazing
Nov 23, 2018
W A BURT
rated it it was ok
Oct 30, 2018
Ishan Sellahewa
rated it really liked it
Jul 09, 2019
jackie carr
rated it did not like it
May 02, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »