Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights” as Want to Read:
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights

by
4.62  ·  Rating details ·  21 ratings  ·  15 reviews
In this vivid, entertaining, and authentic historical novel set in the world of a traveling carnival in 1896, two fourteen-year-old girls—one a giant and the other a dwarf—start out as enemies but soon come to depend on one another to escape the clutches of an evil carnie owner who wants to kill and stuff their beloved animals. For fans of The One and Only Ivan and Water f ...more
Hardcover, 416 pages
Expected publication: July 23rd 2019 by HarperCollins
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

Be the first to ask a question about Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights

Community Reviews

Showing 1-51
4.62  · 
Rating details
 ·  21 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Stephanie Cress
Jun 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Randall Platt's character writing remains, to date, one of the best I've experienced in middle grade/YA fiction. She is a magician, transforming words on a page into living, breathing people who effortlessly pull the reader into their world.

Fourteen-year-old giantess Fern Marie Killingsworth (better known as "Babe") is sold as a freak by her abusive father, throwing her into the harsh world of a failing carnival owned by the sleazy "Professor Renoir." Babe quickly befriends and becomes the prote
...more
Linda Weber
Jun 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Middle Grade readers and old people!
Recommended to Linda by: The author asked me to read & review
Book Review

PROFESSOR RENOIRS COLLECTION OF ODDITIES, CURIOSITIES, AND DELIGHTS by Randall Platt

To begin I must admit I am a real fan of Randall Platt’s writing. I am a 75-year-old woman reading Middle Grade or YA Literature! I pretend I am pre-reading it so I can decide whether one of my grandchildren will enjoy the book, and indeed, I do send the books on to them. So far nobody has given me a teenage eye roll!

I was gifted my copy of Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and De
...more
Olivia Farr
Jun 25, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: yabc-reviews
See my full review here: http://www.yabookscentral.com/kidsfic...

PROFESSOR RENOIR'S COLLECTION OF ODDITIES, CURIOSITIES, AND DELIGHTS primarily follows Babe, a fourteen-year-old girl who has gigantism. She already stands at nearing 7' tall and towers over everyone around her. She was not taught well, as she was kicked out of school when she was younger, and her father shows little to no interest in her. She sleeps in the barn, and she is happy with that as she loves animals and brings strays in
...more
Karen Casey
Jun 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Disclaimer: I’ve was gifted an ARC in exchange for an honest review

Once again Randall Platt has captured the spirit and individuality of a youth pitted against extraordinary odds of existence. Fern Marie Killingsworth, born Jan 2, 1882, was barely a year old when she began growing at an alarming rate due to a condition called gigantism. In the opening pages Babe, Fern’s nickname, is fourteen years old, stands 6 feet 10 inches tall and weighs 343 pounds. She is an eye witness to her father’s dic
...more
Susanne Bacon
Jun 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I have been gifted an Advanced Review Copy of “Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights” by Randall Platt in exchange for an honest review.

Randall Platt’s latest novel is another page turner, this time set in the late 1800s. But it is also set in a world of its own, the world of circuses when they were still in abundance and drew the crowds at the price of a nickel or a dime. At the center of the story, which unfolds at a beautiful pace, not too fast, not too drawn, i
...more
Tyler Miller
Jun 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I received an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Randi Platt has given us yet another fun, colorful historical adventure showcasing characters at the fringes of society. Similar to her earlier novel, The Likes of Me, which featured an albino protagonist, Professor Renoir’s Collection of Curiosities and Delights serves up both a giant (Babe) and a dwarf (Lotty). The two heroes navigate the outlandish world of Professor Renoir’s circus as it travels across America in the c
...more
Chris
Jun 07, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was gifted an ARC of “Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights” in exchange for a review. And while, initially, the character of Babe Killingsworth seemed a little hokey, she soon endeared herself to me just as she does the many engaging characters (homosapiens and animals) that populate Randall Platt’s latest YA novel. Beginning in a small “jerkwater” Idaho town in the 1890s, Babe’s journey from ridiculed local freak to the confident hero of her own promising futur ...more
Denise Hall
Jun 23, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
First will state that I received an Advance Reading Copy of the book from Randall Platt in exchange for a fair review.
I choose not to disclose the plot of the book in this review as some others have done.

On the surface it seems a simple story, but as the story evolves, its subject matter goes much deeper in emotion and topics. Ms. Platt explains as a post script to the book, that she works very hard to use the common language of the time period in which her story takes place. This use of langua
...more
Thomas DeWolf
Jun 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction
I've enjoyed Randall Platt's books for a long time. I first encountered her through her Fe-As-Ko series of stories after meeting her at a Pacific Northwest Writers Association conference. I subsequently participated in a weekend writers workshop she facilitated (which was wonderful, btw), and have looked forward to each of her books as they've come out. Also in the interest of full disclosure, I received an Advance Reading Copy of this book in exchange for a fair review. And I will be honest and ...more
Beverly Hodgins
Jul 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Lions and Tigers and Bears
Lions and tigers and bears, oh my! Wait, make that elephant, chimpanzee and bear. Add a giant of a girl whose name is Babe and her diminutive friend, Carlotta, and you have gathered the most interesting of the peculiar, outlandish, eccentric and sometimes lost and forlorn characters of the traveling carnival who are Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights. In exchange for a fair review, I received an Advance Reader’s Edition of this book by
...more
Judy Buskirk
Jul 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I read a Publisher's copy before it came out.
I can always trust the amount of research this author conducts for each book. And it shows in Professor Renoir's Collection of Oddities, Curiosities and Delights. In the 1800s the circus was a destination for many "odd" members of society. They were called the "Carnie Freaks," who endured much hardship. Babe, the girl with gigantism, and Lotty, a dwarf, become an unbeatable duo, against Renoir, the inscrutable circus owner. I appreciate how Platt all
...more
Rosemary Zibart
Jul 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
If you haven't explored any of Randall Platt's books, you're missing out -- she has a terrific quirky sensibility and always reaches far beyond the norms for teen and middle grade books -- Professor Renoir's Collection of Oddities, Curiosities and Delights is a perfect example -- it features a girl giant, no less, and an assortment of odd creatures and individuals all who have landed in a 19th century carnival and who band together when imperiled. A truly fun read!
Csimplot Simplot
May 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Excellent book!!!
Dana
Jul 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: review-copies
Review to come!
Julie Weston
Apr 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Randall Platt’s new book, Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights certainly lives up to its name. The characters in this book do delight, surprise, and impress with their difficult, often tragic, situations and their perseverance in strange and sometimes horrible situations. The longer I read, the more I loved Babe, a giant; Lotty, a dwarf; Rosa, a fortune-teller; and Egypt, a sweet and useful small elephant. And the more I disliked Professor Renoir. Babe and Lotty a ...more
Albert
rated it it was amazing
Jun 17, 2019
Iany Mcgrawn
rated it it was amazing
Nov 23, 2018
Sara
rated it liked it
May 06, 2019
Paisley K
rated it liked it
Jun 06, 2019
Melissa Cheresnick
rated it it was amazing
Jul 08, 2019
Carol
rated it it was amazing
Jun 13, 2019
Gene Reams
marked it as to-read
Nov 05, 2017
Silke
added it
Jun 14, 2018
Karly-Lynne
marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2018
Amanda
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2018
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Jenni
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Renee
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Sara
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Kit
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Jessica
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Marianne
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Trevor
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
MC Brickell
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Allison Phillips
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Catherine Boddie
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
hr
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Jane Andelman
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Laura
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Britt
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
e.
marked it as to-read
Dec 07, 2018
LadyGrey
marked it as to-read
Dec 07, 2018
Marlene Lyons
marked it as to-read
Dec 08, 2018
Layne
marked it as to-read
Dec 08, 2018
Kate Marie
marked it as to-read
Dec 10, 2018
Zachary Krishef
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Hannah
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
67 followers
JUST WHO IS THIS RANDALL PLATT?
(hint: Not a guy!)

Randall Platt writes fiction for adults and young adults and those who don't own up to being either. Platt, a lifelong resident of the Upper Left Hand Corner, has been a full-time writer for twenty-five years which is certainly long enough to know better. But since Platt finds no shortage of fascinating characters and stories springing from the beau
...more