Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Seventh Son (Tales of Alvin Maker, #1)” as Want to Read:
Seventh Son (Tales of Alvin Maker, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Seventh Son

(Tales of Alvin Maker #1)

3.86  ·  Rating details ·  31,626 ratings  ·  1,391 reviews
In an alternate version of frontier America, young Alvin is the seventh son of a seventh son, and such a birth is powerful magic. Yet even in the loving safety of his home, dark forces reach out to destroy him.
Mass Market Paperback, First mass market edition, 241 pages
Published April 1988 by Tom Doherty Associates, LLC (first published July 1st 1987)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Seventh Son, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Micah Burke Ultimately, yes. Though encapsulated in a veneer of fantasy tropes, the author has much to say about orthodox Christianity, and none of it is…moreUltimately, yes. Though encapsulated in a veneer of fantasy tropes, the author has much to say about orthodox Christianity, and none of it is positive.(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.86  · 
Rating details
 ·  31,626 ratings  ·  1,391 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Lyn
Nov 27, 2012 rated it liked it
Orson Scott Card described his novel Seventh Son as an American epic fantasy, contrasting with the uncompromisingly British Tolkeinesque genre of fantasy books.

This reminded me a great deal of Larry McMurtry’s The Berrybender Narratives in its imaginative use of historic people and places to tale the story of the American Frontier in the 1840s. Card, telling a story perhaps set in the 1810-20s makes this even more interesting by slowly unraveling the American past into an alternative history fi
...more
James M. Madsen, M.D.
Rather than discuss each of the books in the Tales of Alvin Maker series separately, I'll use this review for all of them. They present an alternate-history account of a nineteenth-century America in which magic is a potent force. Although it might not be evident to non-Mormons, this series is a thinly veiled fictional adaptation of the life of Mormon prophet Joseph Smith (just as his Homecoming Saga is a similarly thinly veiled science-fiction version of the story of the first part of the Book ...more
Spider the Doof Warrior
May 23, 2009 rated it it was amazing
I'm re-reading this book now and, is it just me or does it seem like OSC could actually WRITE BETTER back then?
He doesn't write like this anymore. Now his books are the conservative lecturing version of the Anita Blake serious where instead of sex scenes after sex scenes you get characters nagging about morality and marriage.

Also, why do folks insist on being so dang cruel to kids? Hitting them with hazel rods and smacking then and such? I don't get that.

What I also don't get is, why do people a
...more
Wanda
You may have heard—O.S. Card is a Mormon. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. It just makes this little story a trifle more interesting, because you see, our main character Alvin goes through A LOT of the things that Joseph Smith did, growing up. Like Smith, Alvin has parents who disagreed about religion and like the Smith family, Alvin’s family practices a religious folk magic in addition to Christianity. Smith also claimed, like Alvin, to be confused about the claims of competing religi ...more
Kristen
Jan 29, 2015 rated it did not like it
DNF

I can't quite put my finger on why I didn't like this book. I read about 80 pages and just couldn't go on. I found the story to be pretty boring, and it seemed very bogged down in religion. On top of this, I found the character names to be inexcusably silly. Maybe I just don't 'get' it?

I read The Ender Quintet and Enchantment in high school, and really loved the story lines. Because of my previous positive reactions to other Orson Scott Card works, I thought that this was a no-brainer.

I wou
...more
Werner
Sep 17, 2008 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Fantasy fans, and alternate-world fans
Since quantum physics (or a vague conception of it :-)) entered popular consciousness, alternate worlds have become a staple of science fiction; but the burgeoning of alternate worlds in which magic works has become a parallel movement in the fantasy genre. Judging by this first installment, Card's Tales of Alvin Maker series is a strong contribution to the latter.

Set in 1800-1810 in what would be, in our world, the Ohio and Indiana frontier, this novel describes the birth, and significant times
...more
Stephen
4.5 stars. Fresh, original fantasy using the United States of the 19th century as its backdrop. This creation of a truly "American" fantasy novel was truly original and I thought made it a cut above a lot of cookie cutter fantasy stories.

Winner: Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel (1988)
Winner: Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature (1988)
Nominee: Hugo Award for Best Novel (1988)
Nominee: World Fantasy Award for Best Novel (1988)
Ben Babcock
Books about special children with magic powers being manipulated by binary forces are kind of boring. There seems to be a glut of them.

As the 18th century draws its final, decade-long gasps, America looks a lot different than our history remembers. Dutch colonies and Aboriginal nations have become states. Washington was executed for betraying his British superiors; Benjamin Franklin was (though he denied it), a “wizard”. Faith and superstition have formed a tense equilibrium that could topple gi
...more
drowningmermaid
Nov 12, 2009 rated it liked it
Shelves: audio
This book is a clear, fantasy parallel of the life of Joseph Smith, Jr., founder of Mormonism. If you know nothing of Joseph Smith's life, you might enjoy it as a uniquely American fantasy epic. If you are a Mormon, you will probably appreciate it even more.

But if you are like me, and know about Smith's life, but believe his church's message is false, you might find it a bit painful. I get the references, and they're very good, and overall this is certainly the most creative and artistic explana
...more
Kenneth Pierce
Feb 21, 2008 rated it really liked it
I flew through this. Immensely interesting, this is a brilliantly imagined piece of alternate history quasi-fantasy. Convoluted genre? Yes, but Card just keeps proving to me what a compelling storyteller he is. Don't expect unicorns and magical swords (thankfully), but try it and you'll find a realistic take on folk magic mixed with an alternate story of the birth of our nation that complement each other beautifully and seamlessly. Loved it.
Katie
Aug 07, 2012 rated it really liked it
Having only just recently discovered the wonder that is Ender's Game and all its sequels (in my mind they have an odd kind of kinship with Dune now that I've read a few) I still thought to myself, "A fantasy? From Orson Scott Card??" Yes. Yes to this. It's so *American* in a way that other fantasy I've read is so not. Fantasy has always seemed so European (and within that mostly British) to me, but this is incredibly American, and rather Appalachian and I'm loving the series. I'm on a Card kick ...more
Kat  Hooper
Jul 19, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: audiobook
Originally posted at FanLit.

"When you’re surrounded by light, how do you know whether it’s the glory of God, or the flames of Hell?"

Set in an alternate American frontier, Seventh Son is the first in Orson Scott Card’s THE TALES OF ALVIN MAKER. Alvin Miller is the seventh son of a seventh son which makes him special and potentially a very powerful healer, or “maker” — at least that’s what many who practice folk magic, believe. They know that many folk have “knacks” and they’ve seen the effects of
...more
Michael
Alvin Miller, Jr is the seventh son of a seventh son. He's born into an alternate version of 19th Century America--one in which the Revolutionary War hasn't happened and where folk magic is a strong, powerful and very real force.

Alvin is a maker, a strong and potentially powerful force in the world. And he's got an equally strong, unrelenting enemy, the Unmaker who stop at nothing to ensure Alvin doesn't grow up and into his power. Much of the novel looks at the efforts the Unmaker uses to try
...more
Oscar
Nos encontramos en el siglo XIX, en una Norteamérica alternativa, donde la Revolución Americana nunca existió, y el Lord Protector todavía sigue en Inglaterra. La magia existe, pero se trata de una magia asociada al folklore popular. Hay conjuros, hechizos y personas con dones, como por ejemplo las teas, que pueden leer el fuego interior, o los hidrománticos, cuyo poder domina el agua. En este entorno, será donde nazca Alvin, el séptimo hijo varón de un séptimo hijo varón, lo que le augura un de ...more
Joey
Sep 23, 2015 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Ben Franklin is a wizard that can pull lightning out of the sky...whaaat? George Washington was beheaded for treason...whaaat? Thomas Jefferson impregnated lots and lots of slave girls...whaaat?...no wait that one is real. A story about an alternative America that was founded on religious freedom that involved a little magic mixed in. Less than spectacular and not very much excitement but well written and still interesting. There was no ending to the story. It just ran out of pages
V.
This started well. We open with the difficult birth of our hero, so it literally begins at the beginning. But it's well written and you think okay so that's the intro, now the story.

Nope.

More intro, more set up, lots of exposition and establishing of things that don't need to be established.

The writing, the premise, the characters are all fine. The historical stuff, even the made up stuff, is all well conceived and interesting.

But there's no story. It's all set up.

This books was clearly written
...more
Rowroar
Mar 10, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Lettura leggera che è 95% cristianesimo e 5% ansia (la fine è sinistra come un albero spoglio sulla colletta di un cimitero, mancano i corvi). Sento che a sapere un filo di più della religione e della storia americana sia più godibile, ma l'ho trovato in ogni caso interessante. Personaggi femminili ben caratterizzati (una rarità!) e bella scrittura scorrevole; inoltre la filosofia insita non è affatto pesante come facilmente avrebbe potuto essere. È un fantasy che non è classico ma quasi e lo co ...more
Jamio
Seventh Son was a revelation to me when I found it for the first time as a teenager just done with the Speaker Saga and hungry for more Card. It wasn't just different from The Speaker books and the others of Card's that I had read, it was different from everything that I had ever read.

On the surface, Seventh Son is just Ender's Game revisited: a young boy on whose shoulders rests the fate of the world. That sentence could describe half of everything Card ever published. But young Alvin, the sev
...more
Dani
Oct 19, 2009 rated it it was ok
**Spoilers, not much though**

Nothing about this book really wow’d me or stood out enough for me to say “here friend, you’d love this book,” The selling feature of this book to me was that it was written by Orson Scott Card, which only makes the fact that it didn’t do anything for me all the more disappointing. I loved the Ender Series he wrote. I normally pick up any book by him I can find but living in my small town the book store isn’t normally stocked with much of anything but Ender’s Game. W
...more
Kevin
Oct 05, 2012 rated it it was ok
I was very disappointed in this book. The only reason I gave it two stars instead of one is because his writing style and descriptions are interesting.
But in this book there is no plot, no clear and specific conflict. There is a vague, shadowy insinuation that some big invisible force wants to destroy everything for no particular reason, but apparently this force isn't very strong because so far all it can do is throw rocks at a little boy and miss. And the boy is supposed to stop it by weaving
...more
Radu Stanculescu
Jan 28, 2008 rated it really liked it
The "Alvin Maker" series was my second contact with O.S. Card after the "Ender" series, and I'm delighted to say it's different and it's still good. :) It was an interesting mix of history, religion, magic and insights into human morals and what motivates our actions. The magic is treated very "practically", like an extra talent that you need to work on to develop, and thankfully it doesn't take over the book while still being an important part of it. The one negative thing is that I didn't get ...more
Doug Cannon
May 03, 2010 rated it liked it
I started reading this to some of my kids. So far, it has been really good. There was not any of the Card vulgarity that is present in some of his other books. Some of that did come into the 3rd book in the series, but it was done tastefully if I remember properly.

This book was a great read for the kids, and they enjoyed it. One of my kids guessed that it was a parallel to Joseph Smith's life, but it's so minimal that it's hard to notice if you're not specifically looking for it.
Taha
Sep 01, 2014 rated it liked it
3,5/5
Anlatımı hoş(hafif Neil Gaiman'ın "Yıldız Tozu" kitabı tarzında); fakat gereğinden fazla uzatılmış bir kitap. Kitap bittiğinde ise tüm kitap boyunca hikayenin girişinden bahsedildiğinden, devamını merak etmiyorsunuz. Hikayenin gidişatıyla ilgili birkaç olay ve karakter olmaması, serinin devamını okumak konusunda soğuttu beni açıkçası.
Damon
Jan 07, 2015 rated it did not like it
Shelves: fantasy
I found this terribly boring. I had actually started reading this once before and never finished because it was too dull. Now I am dreading reading the next one because I think it will be painfully plodding.
Thomas J. Benedict
Feb 18, 2018 added it
Shelves: dnf
DNF. Very strong beginning. Terribly booooring middle. Too much religious stuff. My time is too precious to be reading this crap when there’s a billion better books out there. #AintNobodyGotTimeFoDat

My GR friends were right.
Life lesson: trust GR buddies’ ratings as they are good predictors of your own experience of a book. (Most of the time.)

Orson Scott Card let me down this time. “Sad.” 🍊
Elizabeth
Sep 07, 2018 rated it did not like it
Shelves: nevermind
I don't mind some Mormonism. I've read a lot of books I liked that were Mormon. But golly that was too much for me.
James
The Alvin that starts this novel, isn't the eponymous Alvin. The novel starts with Alvin Miller – a father moving west with his family. Moving west to start a new life with his family. His wife, Faith, and his (many) sons and daughters. Faith is heavily pregnant with their seventh son – which connects with the clue of the book's title quite nicely. Faith gives birth en-route, to their seventh son – Alvin. In this world seventh sons are special, the seventh son of a seventh son even more so. This ...more
Helmut
Apr 06, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy
Hinter den Sieben Bergen
Noch eins der Bücher, die seit 10 Jahren auf dem SuB lagen. Manchmal fragt man sich bei so einem "gereiften" Buch, warum man es gekauft hatte: War es eine Empfehlung? Ein Buch, das im Zusammenhang mit einem anderen steht, das man gern gelesen hat? Ein "must-read" aus einem bestimmten Genre? Ich weiß es für "Seventh Son" nicht mehr. Letztlich bin ich aber froh, dass ich es damals gekauft und nun herausgekramt habe.

Die Grenze zwischen Wildnis und Zivilisation wandert. Für d
...more
Damla
Feb 16, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Ne düşüneceğimi bilemiyorum. Kitabın en başından beri hikayede boşluklar olduğunu düşündüm. Belki çeviri yetersizdi veya beni tatmin etmedi, bilmiyorum. Üçlemenin ilk kitabı olduğundan, sadece düğümler atılmış gibiydi aynı zamanda. Tüm seriyi okuduğumda üç yıldızı hak etme konusunda fikrimin değişebileceğini düşünüyorum.

Yine de rahat okunan ve fantastik bir kurguya sahip olsa da kolay anlaşılan bir kitap. Yedinci oğlun yedinci oğlu olan Genç Alvin ve meşale Peggy olağanüstü özelliklere sahip ola
...more
Ashley *Hufflepuff Kitten*
My boyfriend bought this for me because he's a huge Iron Maiden fan and discovered that they named the Seventh Son of a Seventh Son album after this book. Knowing I'm more of a book person than he is, he thought I'd like it. I really liked the seventh son concept, that Alvin has magic, and I loved the idea of setting the story in an alternate American setting. The name-dropping was cool too, so we could see what would have happened to historical figures like Ben Franklin, George Washington and t ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)
  • Brittle Innings
  • The Initiate Brother (Initiate Brother, #1)
  • A Midsummer Tempest
  • A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet, #1)
  • Damiano's Lute (Damiano, #2)
  • Fortress of Eagles (Fortress, #2)
  • The Dragon Waiting
  • Faery Lands Forlorn (A Man of His Word, #2)
  • The Power That Preserves (The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever, #3)
  • A Princess of Roumania (Princess of Roumania, #1)
  • Hope of Earth (Geodyssey, #3)
  • The Paper Grail (Christian Trilogy, #2)
  • Harpist in the Wind (Riddle-Master, #3)
  • The Shattered Chain (Darkover, #10)
  • Mockingbird
  • Love & Sleep (The Aegypt Cycle, #2)
  • Alternate Empires (What Might Have Been, #1)
15,287 followers
Orson Scott Card is the author of the novels Ender's Game, Ender's Shadow, and Speaker for the Dead, which are widely read by adults and younger readers, and are increasingly used in schools.
Besides these and other science fiction novels, Card writes contemporary fantasy (Magic Street, Enchantment, Lost Boys), biblical novels (Stone Tables, Rachel and Leah), the American frontier fantasy series Th
...more

Other books in the series

Tales of Alvin Maker (7 books)
  • Red Prophet (Tales of Alvin Maker, #2)
  • Prentice Alvin (Tales of Alvin Maker, #3)
  • Alvin Journeyman (Tales of Alvin Maker, #4)
  • Heartfire (Tales of Alvin Maker, #5)
  • The Crystal City (Tales of Alvin Maker, #6)
  • Master Alvin
“A duel is just two murders who agree to take turns trying to kill each other.” 15 likes
“There are hundreds of possible causes for every effect, and a hundred possible effects for every cause.” 5 likes
More quotes…