Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “kindling” as Want to Read:
kindling
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

kindling

by
4.92  ·  Rating details ·  12 ratings  ·  7 reviews
after a fight with his wife Annie, Arthur wakes up alone, resentful. determined to fill the day with his own druthers, Arthur instead finds himself trapped, injured, and hunted by a deadly beast.
Kindle Edition, 36 pages
Published May 30th 2018 by parabolos books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about kindling, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about kindling

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-20
Average rating 4.92  · 
Rating details
 ·  12 ratings  ·  7 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of kindling
Leslie Tuk
Mar 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Short story to remember

The story is well written, dragging you along for the ride. It moves with speed and emotion. Highly recommended. A 30 minute good read.
Dale Ernst
Jun 21, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Great short story

I enjoyed this immensely! The author was so descriptive and the story kept me captivated. I didn't want it to end!!
Shannon
Jun 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Visceral and Haunting

I love a good short story: the distillation of character and plot has always delighted me. In “kindling,” the author delivers a heaping dose of detail and excitement. He writes cinematically, revealing the story with each paragraph. Masterfully done!
Janelle Musick
Jun 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing
If you want to read something that makes you forget you are reading instead of living in the same world as the main characters, this is for you! It doesn’t matter if you want to be entertained or if you teach literature and want to immerse students in a great piece, there is something here for everyone. Every detail is an A+.
Abby Mathews
Jan 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Excellent short story

More than once I gasped reading it. Good stories hook your brain, as you live them with the characters. I certainly lived this one along with Arthur!
Landis
Mar 22, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Reasons why you shouldn't drink alone.
Great short story! I enjoyed the tension, action, and pacing. A visual and visceral page turner. A fun quick read.
Chad
Jun 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing

I am a huge fan of short stories. Unlike a novel where you have pages or chapters to set a mood, introduce characters, and create tension, a short story requires that every word, every syllable, has a clear focus that drives the story. Superfluousness removed. The story pushes the words to contain more. You can feel more words beneath each word, all carrying more than their individual weight. Kindling does just this.



Paul Skidmore, the author, is a filmmaker. His practice impacts his stylist
...more
Mechelle Alexander
rated it really liked it
Jun 09, 2018
Renee Sproles
rated it it was amazing
Dec 23, 2018
Melanie
rated it it was amazing
Mar 26, 2019
Annie Crumley
rated it it was amazing
Aug 09, 2018
Jeff Copeland
rated it it was amazing
Mar 21, 2019
Suneel Mendiratta
is currently reading it
Nov 23, 2018
paul skidmore
Mar 20, 2019 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Clint Smith
marked it as to-read
Mar 23, 2019
Joy Rancatore
marked it as to-read
Mar 25, 2019
Jason McBrayer
marked it as to-read
Oct 24, 2019
Katherine Johnson
is currently reading it
Mar 25, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Fatshionista
  • Creating Character Arcs: The Masterful Author's Guide to Uniting Story Structure, Plot, and Character Development
  • Black Gun, Silver Star: The Life and Legend of Frontier Marshal Bass Reeves
  • Brothers in Arms: The Epic Story of the 761st Tank Battalion, WWII's Forgotten Heroes
  • Story: Substance, Structure, Style, and the Principles of Screenwriting
See similar books…
believer. follower. filmmaker.

News & Interviews

In these strange days of quarantine and isolation, books can be a mode of transport. We may have to stay home and stay still, but through t...
51 likes · 33 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »