Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Blame It On Christmas” as Want to Read:
Blame It On Christmas
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Blame It On Christmas

(Southern Secrets #1)

by
4.21  ·  Rating details ·  48 ratings  ·  19 reviews
USA TODAY bestselling author

All she wants for Christmas…


is to make him beg!

After he broke her heart, Mazie Tarleton is definitely immune to the charms of J.B. Vaughan. Now she has him right where she wants him and it’s payback time—until a moment of white-hot desire takes them both by surprise! Suddenly, revenge is getting complicated. Maybe she can just say yes to a h
...more
Paperback, 224 pages
Published December 4th 2018 by Harlequin Desire
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Blame It On Christmas, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Blame It On Christmas

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.21  · 
Rating details
 ·  48 ratings  ·  19 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Carmen
Mar 01, 2019 rated it it was ok
Recommends it for: Fans of Harlequin Desire and Christmas Romance
She did as he requested, and then stood aside while he brought the large Fraser fir into the house. Immediately, the foyer filled with the fragrance of the outdoors. Crisp, clean. If they invented a name for this particular scent, Mazie would call it mountain morning. pg. 175

PREMISE

Mazie is a rich, white, stunningly beautiful Southern woman who owns a jewelry store. She doesn't really have to work. She is angry at J.B. because J.B. turned her down for a formal when she was 16. Yeah. 15ish years
...more
Susan
Dec 12, 2018 rated it really liked it
This was a good friends to enemies to lovers story. Mazie has known JB for most of her life. He is her brother's best friend, and as a teen, she had a huge crush on him. When she was sixteen, she asked him to be her date for the spring formal. He turned her down, the rejection breaking her heart, and starting years of an unspoken feud. Mazie perfected the ability to avoid him, no easy feat as he was still her brother's best friend. Then her chance finally came to get back at him. JB is a develop ...more
Judyrudy
Nov 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2018
Blame it on Christmas is the first book in Janice Maynard’s Southern Secrets series.

Mazie Tarleton has loved Jackson Beauregard (J.B.) Vaughan for years. When he refuses to attend her high school spring formal, insults her and walks away, the feud begins. Fast forward…Now J.B is seeking Mazie’s help. He’s a real estate developer and wants her jewelry store to add to his redevelopment project.

Instead of harassing her through his realtor to sell the property, he takes matters into his own hands.
...more
Geraldine Sadiku
2 Excellent new releases well worth a read.
Traci Westling
Nov 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I was over the moon to receive an advanced copy of this in exchange for my honest review ! No problems here with that ! I could hardly put this down at times ! JB broke Mazies heart many years ago as teen & she’s not forgotten . She’ll hold out on a property exchange sale deal as long as she can
To teach him a lesson . An interesting event happens literally at the beginning of the book that forces JB and Mazie into close proximity which leads things to heat up QUICK in this story ! Who knew
...more
Lynn Brooks
Dec 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing
4 1/2 STARS!

A really fun holiday read! A sexy twist on a former friends/enemies to lovers story line brings Janice Maynard's Southern Secrets miniseries to life! The characters are attention grabbing, successful business people and the past they share makes for built-in groundwork leading into her resentment towards him from the start. I look forward to getting her brother's story soon!

Mazie Tarleton has never forgiven family friend J.B. Vaughan for breaking her teenage heart years ago, so now w
...more
Erika Mounts
Dec 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Three things you can always count on when reading a Janice Maynard book is: 1) Realistic and believable characters. 2) Sweet and Sizzling Heat and 3) A HEA.

This start of the new series Southern Secrets doesn't disappoint. I was hooked from the first page. This story combines three of my favorite troupes. Second chance romance,falling for your best friends little sister and enemies to lovers. That is a lot of pressure to put on a book and she nailed it.
Mazie has known JB since they were children
...more
Marcie Robinson
Nov 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing
“Blame it on Christmas” by Janice Maynard begins her Southern Secrets series with Harlequin Desire.

Mazie Tarleton has been in love with J.B. Vaughan since she was sixteen, but when he humiliated her, her love turned to hate. Now, J.B. wants the building her business is located in, so she vows to not let him have it.
J.B. has a reason for not being with Mazie when they were teens. His recent business proposition gives him a chance to make up for that mistake. When his mother becomes ill, he has th
...more
Cheryl
Nov 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Blame It On Christmas is the first book in the Southern Secrets series. We meet two of Charleston’s oldest families! Mazie Tarleton and JB Vaughan have been at odds since JB turned down Mazie when she asked him to a dance when they were teenagers. She was crushed and has done a great job of avoiding JB even though he is her brother’s best friend! Fast forward and JB now a big time developer needs the building that Mazie has her Jewelry store. JB is working on a plan to get the building and make ...more
Kathleen Booker
Nov 26, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Very good Christmas read. Mazie wants to make J.B. pay for hurting her when she was a teenager asking him to school dance and he broke her heart. He wants her property for a development he has going and she is bound and determined not to let him have it even if it is in need of major repairs.

He decides to try to convince her and they end up locked in bank vault and all bets are off. they go out on date and he gets news of his Mother's heart attack and rush to hospital. Wanting to give his Mom s
...more
Theresa
Nov 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This book had me hooked before I finished the first chapter. Saying "NO" is how it all starts out for one person due to be heartbroken at the young age of sixteen. When ones heart is involved things can change and very quickly. Admitting what your heart wants is another though. When that happens their could be fireworks or disappointment.

This book was not one I could put aside for I really needed to know how it would all come together, if at all.

You will not be disappointed with this great read
...more
Julie Eichelberger-Ford
Feb 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
Blame It On Christmas is the first book that I have read by Janice Maynard but I will definitely be reading more. This is a story of friends to enemies to lovers and is also a beware how you treat someone because they may hold something you need in the future. Mazie's teenage heart was broken when she asked J.B. to a dance and he cruelly rejected her. He now wants to buy the building her business is in and she is making him pay. They are drawn together when an unexpected trauma happens in J.B.'s ...more
ErinMickC
The perfect Christmas romance! Mazie and J.B., long time family friends, shine in this enemies to lovers romance (with a second chance romance twist). Although Mazie doesn’t want to sell her jewelry business’ space to J.B., he puts up a fight that results in them locked in a confined space together. The entire book is sweet, and family-centric, and holiday-inspired. Read this one, you won’t regret it!
Jess Lawson
Nov 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Blame it On Christmas by Janice Maynard is a must read second chance romance. I absolutely adored Mazie and J.B. they were meant to be. This couple has fought their feelings so long they have no idea they have been in love since they were teenagers. I guess this is what a frenemy relationship looks like.


J.B. may think he did them both a favor by turning Mazie down years ago but all he really done was keep them apart for a decade and make both of their lives harder.
Moran
Dec 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Blame It On Christmas is the first book in a new series by Janice Maynard- Southern Secrets and it's a great start to the series!
I really enjoyed reading about Mazie and J.B.
I loved the banter between them and I loved the fact that Mazie wasn't afraid to speak her mind and the fact she wasn't willing to just sell her store to J.B without letting him work for it.
I loved reading about J.B family and the hints about Mazie's family that will be reveled later in the series.
Blame It On Christmas was a
...more
Caitlin Warrow
Nov 19, 2018 rated it liked it
This book was good. At times throughout the book I lost interest a little bit but overall a good book. Looking forward to reading more books in this series.
Dj
Nov 08, 2018 rated it really liked it
Blame it on Christmas is a cute, quick read, with themes most can identify with 1st crush, 1st heartbreak, 1st humiliation in love

Mazie Tarleton has loved J.B. Vaughan for years. When he refuses to attend her school dance, he hurts her and walks away. Unbeknownst to her, he’s doing what he thought was the honorable thing, the irrational pettiness begins. Years later, he’s a real estate developer and needs Mazie’s store to complete a real estate project. She decides to hold out to teach him a les
...more
Georgia Reimer
rated it it was amazing
Dec 19, 2018
Carrol Thornburgh
rated it liked it
Dec 11, 2018
Steve Sisler
rated it it was amazing
Mar 02, 2019
Bettie Simmons
rated it it was amazing
Jan 16, 2019
Jodi
Dec 01, 2018 added it
Blame It On Christmas is the first book in Janice Maynard's new Southern Secrets series. We are introduced to the Tarleton and Vaughan families of Charleston. Mazie Tarleton has loved Jackson Beauregard (J.B.) Vaughan since they were teenagers. But, J.B. broke Mazie's heart and she has not forgiven him. Now that he needs something important from her, he will do anything to get her attention. Mazie is not so easily won over. When an unexpected incident throws them together, they discover their ne ...more
Karen
rated it it was amazing
Jan 02, 2019
Nina
rated it it was amazing
Dec 27, 2018
Lesley
rated it liked it
Dec 17, 2018
Lori
rated it liked it
Dec 30, 2018
Kara Maloney
rated it it was ok
Jan 09, 2019
Bernadette Long
rated it really liked it
Mar 19, 2019
Debra
rated it it was amazing
Mar 17, 2019
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Harlequin Desire:...: Blame it On Christmas by Janice Maynard 1 5 Dec 01, 2018 06:25AM  
270 followers
Janice Maynard came to the writing life early! When her third grade short story, “The Princess and the Robbers”, won a red ribbon in a school arts fair, Janice was hooked. She followed up that early success with a more commercial piece in the sixth grade… “Why My Mom Loves To Drink Coke”. No advance for that one, but she won a six-pack of Coke… remember those great little bottles?

In junior high Ja
...more

Other books in the series

Southern Secrets (3 books)
  • A Contract Seduction
  • Bombshell For The Black Sheep (Mills & Boon Desire) (Southern Secrets, Book 3)