Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Girls at the Edge of the World (Untitled, #1)” as Want to Read:
Girls at the Edge of the World (Untitled, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Girls at the Edge of the World

(Untitled #1)

by
4.67  ·  Rating details ·  81 ratings  ·  28 reviews
Set in a world on the edge of an apocryphal flood, this heart-stoppingly romantic fantasy debut is perfect for fans of Rachel Hartman and Rae Carson.

In a world bound for an epic flood, only a chosen few are guaranteed safe passage into the new world once the waters recede. The Kostrovian royal court will be saved, of course, along with their guards. But the fate of the cou
...more
Kindle Edition, 288 pages
Expected publication: June 8th 2021 by Dial Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Girls at the Edge of the World, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Laura Robson The world isn't flooded yet, but it's trending in a bad, floody direction. Ominous!…moreThe world isn't flooded yet, but it's trending in a bad, floody direction. Ominous!(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-29
Average rating 4.67  · 
Rating details
 ·  81 ratings  ·  28 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Girls at the Edge of the World (Untitled, #1)
Cece (ProblemsOfaBookNerd)
Oct 10, 2019 marked it as tbr-unreleased
HI FRIENDS THIS IS APPARENTLY F/F

JUST THOUGHT YOU SHOULD KNOW
Laura Robson
Feb 06, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
HMU for:
* Climate-induced peril
* Aerial silks
* Court intrigue
* Teen girl friendship
* Teen girl ROMANCE
* A healthy mix of bad puns and classic lit references
* My undying belief that you can find the truest magic in nature


Apparently some people think it's silly for authors to rate and review their own books on Goodreads. But, like.

You're trying to tell me
you would spend years writing and editing a book
and give it THREE STARS?

Like, "A strong attempt, but I totally guessed the plot twist at the end.
...more
mishi
Nov 27, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2-5, sff, sapphic, z-fl-su, ya-na
This was an okay read. A wonderful concept but the execution of the plot was less than desirable for me. For the longest time I was waiting for the plot to pick up. The slow pace was genuinely the weakest aspect of this story. For instance, if Ella wants to kill Nikolai so bad then why does it takes her a large portion of the book to even come up with a plan. I failed to connect with the main characters. The bond between the flyers was maybe my favourite thing in the book. I wasn't much impress ...more
kaylie
☆ advanced reader copy from edelweiss ☆

Oh god, oh god, oh god



I'm going to try to reign in my feelings to write this review, but I can't make any promises... I had high expectations going into this, but those expectations were greatly surpassed.

The writing was GORGEOUS. I had a ton of quotes marked up, but I'm gonna hold until I get my hands on a final copy. Do you know how in some books with dual-perspectives you tend to get bored of one of them? Well, that isn't this one.

I'm going to have to
...more
Maddie
Apr 07, 2021 rated it really liked it
(4.5) stars.

*I was given an advanced readers copy in exchange for an honest review*

"Twelve hundred years ago, a man who should've drowned didn't."

Synopsis:

In a world bound for an epic flood, only a chosen few are guaranteed safe passage into the new world once the waters recede. The Kostrovian royal court will be saved, of course, along with their guards. But the fate of the court's Royal Flyers, a lauded fleet of aerial silk performers, is less certain. Hell-bent on survival, Principal Flye
...more
Eva B.
"A healthy mix of bad puns and classic lit references" is like half of my personality, and this book is f/f so basically what I'm saying is that I need this book injected into my veins. ...more
Lea (drumsofautumn)
Nov 16, 2020 marked it as to-read
Shelves: to-be-released
CAN WE JUST TAKE A MINUTE TO APPRECIATE THIS COVER??? 😍😍😍

Instagram | Blog | Booktube Channel | Twitter
...more
theresa
Nov 05, 2020 marked it as unreleased  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 21-releases, wlw-mc, lgbtq
today's cover reveal has me excited all over again for this f/f fantasy about aerial silk performers and court intrigue

I also talk about books here: youtube | instagram | twitter
...more
Christina
Jan 31, 2021 rated it liked it
3.5 stars. A very cool concept but it felt a little draggy at times. The last quarter of the book is an easy 4 stars. I'm intrigued and enjoyed it enough that I would like to continue the series, and as such that 3.5 star rating could potentially change depending on the other books.

With a flood of Biblical proportions imminent, the royal family has only had time and resources to build a few arcs and very few will be lucky enough to get passage. Our novel follows two aerial silk performers of the
...more
Vee
Mar 28, 2020 marked it as not-yet-released
someone told me this was f/f so now I want it, obviously
♠ Tabi⁷ ♠
Sep 13, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: edelweiss
whoa this sounds awesome
Daniel H
Feb 02, 2020 marked it as to-read
This book is coming soon according to author’s blog! The stoke is LIMITLESS
Allison Saft
Mar 09, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Complex and unflinching, Girls at the Edge of the World is an absolutely phenomenal debut. The prose is gorgeous, and Robson manages to pack so much meaning into so few words. I'm in awe that she manages to extract so much from the relationships and the world in such a tightly plotted and written book. I adored both narrators--and was absolutely enchanted by the sweet, swoony romance between them. Robson is a master of creating this backdrop of literal world-ending stakes (the rise of religious ...more
ella
Feb 10, 2021 rated it really liked it
★★★★☆ 4/5

thank you to penguinteen and netgallery for the arc!

WOW okay that was actually so so good. this book was on my list for most anticipated releases for 2021 and i practically screamed when i got the arc and it definitely lived up to my expectations.

i really liked the idea of the book, and it felt pretty well done. maybe a little too much plot and it felt a little messy at times, but it was enjoyable and easy to look past.

the romance also felt a little rushed at the end, i feel like the
...more
Ariana Rollins
Feb 21, 2020 rated it it was amazing
So excited for this book to come out, especially since it's an own voices tale about finding out your sexuality with incredible world-building! ...more
Patsy Melville
Feb 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I am waiting with baited breath for the release of this young authors first novel. If her writing is anything like her, it will be FABULOUS. Whoever is slowing this process down, they need
to hurry up!
Daina
Feb 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I am so excited to read this!! I know what to put in stockings now that sugar is bad and everyone has 50 pr of socks....book #1. Cant wait for #2 and 3.
BIG fan!!
Ava Reid
Mar 11, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This book is everything I love about YA Fantasy and I feel so lucky I was able to read an early copy! Within its pages is an intricately built, fully realized world with its own deep history and lore - I would read at least another seven novels set in this world alone. Everything is carefully constructed to scaffold this story about two young women, one hellbent on revenge and the other hellbent on survival, who find each other despite these conflicting desires (and at the precipice of a Literal ...more
afternoonsunjeans
i have this feeling........there will be.......... s a p p h i c s
Sami
Mar 20, 2021 rated it liked it
Thank you to the publisher for an ARC of the book in exchange for an honest opinion.

Okay so I had to DNF this at 34%. I hate DNF'ing books with everything in me but gods I just couldn't get past two things. First, the pacing was so slow. 34% of the way in an basically nothing happened. Second, the dual perspective really wasn't working. Their voices were the same. With dual perspectives, the individuals personality shines through and you're able to easily tell whos narrating. That just wasn't th
...more
GavShire
Apr 24, 2021 rated it it was amazing
The story is powerful; I like how it was presented. Good job writer! If you have some great stories like this one, you can publish it on Novel Star, just submit your story to hardy@novelstar.top or joye@novelstar.top
Laura Rueckert
Apr 20, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Loved the images of aerial silk performances, the worldbuilding and the history, the wondering which ancient writings are based in truth and which aren’t, the crumbling civilization faced with imminent catastrophe. I’m so interested to see where the story will go in the next book!
Danielle
Nov 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This book is so romantic, so sapphic, so gorgeously written, and just so genuinely delightful that I hope literally everyone I know reads it just so we can fish about it together. Plus, it inspired me to get a mermaid tattoo of my own. Thank you Laura Brooke Robson for your special work!
elisabeth
Nov 06, 2020 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2021-releases
LET’S GO SAPPHICS LET’S GO
୨୧
Mar 31, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Sheer perfection. Required reading for everyone, always. 🌟
Jilli | THE LONG LOST TARGARYEN
The sapphic energy of that cover though
Aidan Biggar
rated it it was amazing
Nov 02, 2020
Allison Parr
rated it it was amazing
Jul 08, 2020
« previous 1 3 next »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Kinder Poison (The Kinder Poison, #1)
  • The Infinity Courts (The Infinity Courts, #1)
  • House of Hollow
  • Sisters of the Snake (Ria & Rani #1)
  • These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
  • She Who Became the Sun (The Radiant Emperor, #1)
  • She Drives Me Crazy
  • Luck of the Titanic
  • Dustborn
  • Our Last Echoes
  • Hang the Moon
  • A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
  • Last Night at the Telegraph Club
  • Some Girls Do
  • The Wide Starlight
  • The Unbroken (Magic of the Lost, #1)
  • Firekeeper's Daughter
  • Namesake (Fable, #2)
See similar books…
I write about snarky girls and climate peril.

Related Articles

  As dedicated readers already know, some of the best and most innovative stories on the shelves come from the constantly evolving realm of...
56 likes · 9 comments