Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Wakestone Hall (Stella Montgomery #3)” as Want to Read:
Wakestone Hall (Stella Montgomery #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Wakestone Hall

(A Stella Montgomery Intrigue #3)

by
4.39  ·  Rating details ·  224 ratings  ·  34 reviews
THE MAGICAL CONCLUSION TO STELLA'S AWARD-WINNING STORY

Stella Montgomery is in disgrace. The Aunts have sent her to Wakestone Hall, a grim boarding school where the disobedient are tamed and the wilful are made meek. But when a friend disappears, Stella is determined to find her -- no matter the danger ...

Soon Stella is thrown deeper into the mysteries of Wakestone ... a

...more
Hardcover, 280 pages
Published April 21st 2020 by ABC Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Wakestone Hall, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Judith Rossell I'm so sorry! At this stage Wakestone Hall will not be available in the USA. I'm really disappointed about this! The only English language version is …moreI'm so sorry! At this stage Wakestone Hall will not be available in the USA. I'm really disappointed about this! The only English language version is from Australia. If you are in the USA, and you'd like a copy, you can order it from Boomerang Books. https://www.boomerangbooks.com.au/wak...
(less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.39  · 
Rating details
 ·  224 ratings  ·  34 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Wakestone Hall (Stella Montgomery #3)
Jane
Dec 16, 2018 added it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2018
I love this whole series and this is a wonderful ending. In this one I particularly liked the generosity and bravery on display - there's no question that the kids will step up for friends in need. We'll miss you Stella!
Buchdoktor
Jul 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: childrens-books
Spannender Abschlussband

Stella Montgomerys ältliche Tanten sind bisher daran gescheitert, aus ihrer wissbegierigen Nichte eine Dame zu machen. Die Wakestone-Hall-Akademie, ganz in der Nähe des vorigen Abenteuers in Wormwood Mire gelegen, soll Stella nun endlich Disziplin, Gehorsam und eine würdevolle Körperhaltung einbläuen. Stella ist noch aufgewühlt in Gedanken an ihre Zwillingsschwester Luna und von der Neuigkeit, dass sie selbst magische Fähigkeiten hat. Auch das Schicksal von Stellas Mutter
...more
Liz Ledden
Jan 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
*Sigh* I loved every bit of this book - the characters, the language, the suspense, the imagery, all of it. My primary school-aged self would have been obsessed.
Julia Tulloh Harper
A perfect conclusion to the series. The best series of all the middle grade fiction set in Victorian era ☺️☺️☺️
Elke
Der dritte Teil hat mir sogar noch besser gefallen als der Vorgänger (Teil 1 kenne ich leider nicht). Es geht um einiges mysteriöser und fantastischer zu und Stella erfährt auch mehr über ihre Familie, so dass sich viele Fragen über Stellas Herkunft und ihre magische Eigenschaft endlich auflösen lassen.

Der Anfang gestaltet sich erstmal harmlos: Stella kommt in ein furtchtbar strenges Internat, wo sie nur zögerlich neue Freunde findet. Warum alle anderen Mädchen wahre Musterschülerinnen sind, erf
...more
Rhyllis Bignell
Judith Rossell’s marvellous magical Victorian series comes to a conclusion with Wakestone Hall. She has captured the hearts and minds of many young and older readers.

Orphan Stella Montgomery’s life has been filled with tragedy, drama and heartache. She has discovered new friends, learnt to self-reliance and discovered an inner magical self. Stella is packed off to Wakestone Hall, her three aunts and her mother’s former boarding school. Here it is expected that she will learn to follow the guide
...more
Sharni
Oct 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: on-my-bookshelf
A beautiful ending to an enchanting series!
Toni Kely-Brown
I have enjoyed reading this series with my daughter. Whilst I would rate the series overall higher this 3rd book in the trilogy wasn't our favourite. I would recommend this series to readers who love history, adventure and magic.
Todayiamadaisy
This is the third and final book in the Stella Montgomery series, about a plucky young orphan living with her dreadful aunts in Victorian England. In this one, Stella is sent to a terrible boarding school whose headmistress has a sinister secret, and is forced to investigate when one of her new friends goes missing. If anything, there's too much happening in this with a few loose ends left, but overall it's a nice ending to Stella's tale.
Tanpopo
Jan 31, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2020, kinderbuch
Stella, das Mädchen mit ein wenig Feenblut und einer meist unsichtbaren Schwester wurde von ihren drei schrecklichen Tanten nach Wakestone Hall ins Internat gesteckt. Immerhin waren die Damen sowie Stellas Mutter ja auch dort gewesen. Doch das Internat ist schrecklich – lieblos und voller strenger Regeln. Und als Ottilie verschwindet macht sich Stella mit ihrer Freundin Amaryllis auf die Suche. Diese wird gefahrvoll und bringt Stella auch auf die Spur ihrer eigenen Vergangenheit.

Auch ohne die Ke
...more
Lynn
May 01, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: donated
Wakestone Hall is the final Stella Montgomery Intrigue. Stella has been sent off to a boarding school by her aunts and finds an exciting time. As with the other Stella Montgomery books, there is a great adventure as the main part of the story. It's a fun, thrilling kind of adventure, and the story came to a very satisfying ending, but this was not as strong a book as the first one in the series.

I preferred the mystery of this book to the mystery of the first and second ones in the series, but th
...more
Emma
Sep 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
After reading all three of these in less than a week, I am utterly enchanted (and now accordingly despondent that the experience is over). I can't believe I've only stumbled upon Stella Montgomery and her adventures now! This thrilling conclusion to the series is once again impeccably plotted and enchanting in its execution, with lovable new characters but a familiar feel that will draw loyal readers immediately back in.

Wakestone Hall is a miserable place and we feel for Stella and her new frie
...more
Heidi Boomsticks
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Aaron Jeffery
I loved the first two books in this series but this one was a slight disappointment. It had such a strong start and I loved the boarding school setting but then the book just went meh. It was a very anti climatic ending and everything wrapped up too easily (although this is a middle grade book!) I HIGHLY recommend this series to anyone that loves a mystery middle grade.

I loved the characters in this book quite a bit, especially Stella.

Representation: blind side character
Trigger warnings: abuse
...more
Camilla
Jan 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved the wrap up book for this children’s series. Exciting, adventure, bad guys to beat, friendships, family. This was fun. These books are not marketed in the US, I’m not sure how I even stumbled upon it. You can buy them on amazon, but they are coming from Australia. The illustrations are amazing as well.
Lisa
Jul 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What a delightful story. Even for a 43 yr old I was engrossed and looked forward to each chapter and turn of events. I haven't read the first two (I won this) so think I might need to get the others. Lovely illustrations and very vividly written.
Fiona
Dec 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
An enjoyable weekend read. I like the side characters more but perhaps that’s just me!
Anne
Dec 26, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
the ancient lore
Sep 28, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2020
4.5 stars

Satisfying conclusion to this wonderful series.
Tylise
May 21, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I’ve loved every single one of the books in this series! I highly recommend it!
Chelsea
Jul 08, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I definitely warmed up more to this series during the second and third book as the writing improved. They’re a good mix of adventure and cuteness
Judy
A wonderful conclusion to a terrific series, deservedly successful.
Jacquie
Jan 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2019
So sorry this charming series is at an end. Loved all of them, and also the illustrations which matched so well.
Jacq
Oct 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A spectacular adventure again for Stella, wonderfully written and engaging on every level. Just loved it!!
Sarah Guscott
Aug 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Loved this book. It continued Stella’s journey from the previous books but also had a very satisfying ending.
Iwasaplatypus
Mar 19, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wakestone Hall is the third in the Stella Montgomery series by Judith Rossell.

Stella’s aunts send her to Wakestone Hall, the boarding school they all went to when they were younger. Here she is supposed to learn discipline and have all the mischief knocked out of her. This is what happened to them and to her mother, of whom they do not speak.

Stella has no friends until one night she rescues a cat from the roof outside the dormitory window. Two new boarders Ottilie and Agapanthus, help her to r
...more
Karschtl
Nachdem Stella im 2. Teil dieser Reihe mit ihrem Cousin und ihrer Cousine eine verhältnismäßig schöne Zeit verleben konnte, und sogar ihre Großmutter traf, ist sie dann doch wieder in die Fänge ihrer gräßlichen Tanten geraten. Die haben sie umgehend auf ein Internat geschickt, auf dass sie - und Stellas Mutter - selbst damals gingen. Leider geht es dort nicht annähernd so lustig zu wie bei Hanni & Nanni. Dennoch findet Stella nach einiger Zeit in Ottilie und Amaryllis zwei Freundinnen, die genau ...more
Monika Schwarz
Sep 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Stella kommt in ein Internat , um aus ihr eine Dame zu machen. Doch irgend etwas stimmt hier nicht, Personen verschwinden und das Zimmer der Direktorin schein auch äußerst ungewöhnlich zu sein, denn jeder der es betritt, scheint verändert zu sein.


Auch dieser Band hat uns ( Mama und 11-Jährige) wieder vollstens überzeugt.
Wie auch bei den Vorgängern ist hier die perfekte Mischung aus Spannung, Grusel, Spaß und Mystik.
Die Personen werden sehr bildlich dargestellt, so , dass man auch als Neueinsteig
...more
Sarah83 sbookshelf
Und wieder ein wunderbares Abenteuer mit unserer Lieblingsheldin Stella.
Nachdem sie von ihren Cousin und ihrer Cousine zurückkehren musste, haben ihre drei Tanten es endgültig satt sich Sorgen um sie zu machen und bringen sie ins Internat. Es ist das gleiche, dass auch schon die drei Tanten und auch Stellas Mutter schon besucht hat.
Aber es geht nicht mit rechten Dingen zu... Die Kinder verhalten sich seltsam und Stella fasst nur zu Ottilie und Amaryllis vertrauen, nur um festzustellen, dass Ot
...more
Gavroche
Aug 19, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Stella wird ins Internat geschickt und muss sich dort ertmal zurecht finden. Doch hier geht eindeutig etwas nicht mit rechten Dingen zu, denn alle, die einmal zur Direktorin zitiert werden, kommen verändert und eigenartig wieder zurück. Das passiert dann auch noch mit Ottilie, mit der Stella sich angefreundet hat. Also muss sie natürlich den Dingen auf den Grund gehen.
Ein wunderbares Kinderbuch, das den Leser - auch den erwachsenen - eintauchen lässt in das Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts, wozu auch
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Slightly Alarming Tale of the Whispering Wars (Kingdoms & Empires, #2)
  • How to Bee
  • Tilly and the Lost Fairytales (Pages & Co., #2)
  • Wolf Girl: Into the Wild
  • Sick Bay
  • His Name Was Walter
  • The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Provence (The Girl, the Dog and the Writer, Book 2)
  • The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Lucerne (The Girl, the Dog and the Writer, #3)
  • The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone (Kingdoms & Empires, #1)
  • Marsh and Me
  • Tilly and the Bookwanderers (Pages & Co. #1)
  • WeirDo (WeirDo #1)
  • Wundersmith: The Calling of Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #2)
  • The Shop at Hoopers Bend
  • The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Rome
  • The Land of Roar
  • How to Raise and Keep a Dragon
  • Where There's Smoke
See similar books…

Other books in the series

A Stella Montgomery Intrigue (3 books)
  • Withering-By-Sea (A Stella Montgomery Intrigue, #1)
  • Wormwood Mire (A Stella Montgomery Intrigue, #2)

Related Articles

As this strange summer of staying put winds down, one thing remains truer than ever: Books offer us endless adventure and new horizons to...
53 likes · 30 comments