Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Rise of the Dragons (Rise of the Dragons, #1)” as Want to Read:
Rise of the Dragons (Rise of the Dragons, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Rise of the Dragons

(Rise of the Dragons #1)

3.93  ·  Rating details ·  15 ratings  ·  6 reviews
Mega bestselling author Angie Sage takes flight with an epic adventure that imagines dragons in the modern world. Includes 9 collectible game cards that unlock an online game! The first in a thrilling multi-author series.

Comes with 9 collectible game cards that allow YOU to join the dragon battle!

Once our world was full of dragons who lived in harmony with humans. But aft
...more
Hardcover, 272 pages
Expected publication: February 26th 2019 by Scholastic Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Rise of the Dragons, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Yahli I just finished the book and it has nothing to do with the Septimus Heap series, it's an entirely separate series.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-45
3.93  · 
Rating details
 ·  15 ratings  ·  6 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Madison
Jan 14, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fantasy, middle-grade
I adored The Magyk series by Angie Sage and it remains a perennial favourite with our library’s young readers, and so I jumped at the chance to read and review the first book in her newest fantasy series, Rise of the Dragons. With the promise of game cards and a matching online game, Rise of the Dragons promised to be an exciting release. The new world Sage has created and her daring plot of intrigue, dragon battles and family bonds is both thrilling and thoroughly enjoyable. It is sure to be a ...more
Kales
Jan 02, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: 2-star, arc, middle-reader
I am sad to say that this was not one of my favorite new middle grade books. It was something I had high hopes for and it just fell short.

I will say this: the world is pretty cool. It's a fun new adventure with dragons and inter-dimensional travel. However, the way this book was executed was sloppy, confusing and hard to follow.

There were two stories 1) a young girl from our world who is slowly losing her mother to an unknown illness and 2) kids from another world, with dragons and magic. It was
...more
Engel Dreizehn
Nov 22, 2018 rated it really liked it
ARC Copy...decent dragon action and world building going so far spilling into the modern times. Wonder how the card-game element will be like...
Louis Santos
Feb 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
Characters were pretty interesting and I did enjoy the story. Probably a 3.5/5 from me
Sarah Collins
Jan 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A wonderful homage to Anne McCaffrey and the Dragons of Pern. A great choice for readers who love Wings of Fire or How To Train A Dragon. I can't wait for more!
Trish
Aug 19, 2018 rated it really liked it
Great new middle grade series by the author of the Septimus Heap books. Very exciting, and will have collectible game cards.
PaleHorsemen
rated it liked it
Jan 28, 2019
Dave Sloan
rated it it was amazing
Jan 04, 2019
Catherine
rated it it was amazing
Jan 30, 2019
Rose Marie
rated it liked it
Nov 27, 2018
Bradley Jones
rated it it was amazing
Feb 10, 2019
Yahli
rated it it was amazing
Feb 14, 2019
Rachel Reinwald
rated it really liked it
Nov 14, 2018
Ari
rated it really liked it
Feb 19, 2019
Elizabeth S
marked it as to-read
May 29, 2018
OwlCrate Jr
marked it as to-read
Jul 03, 2018
Raph♛
marked it as to-read
Jul 04, 2018
Kathie66
marked it as to-read
Jul 04, 2018
Amber
is currently reading it
Jul 14, 2018
Yasmin Salazar
marked it as to-read
Jul 19, 2018
Amanda
marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2018
Shauki Al-Gareeb
marked it as to-read
Jul 26, 2018
Marissa Thompson
marked it as to-read
Aug 05, 2018
Chad
marked it as to-read
Aug 13, 2018
Tuesday
marked it as to-read
Aug 14, 2018
Pooja
marked it as to-read
Aug 30, 2018
Shalyn
marked it as to-read
Sep 02, 2018
Lindsay Trapp
marked it as to-read
Sep 13, 2018
Jessica
marked it as to-read
Sep 26, 2018
Tracy
marked it as to-read
Sep 26, 2018
Lee
marked it as to-read
Sep 27, 2018
Rannoy Donaldson
marked it as to-read
Sep 27, 2018
Meredith
marked it as to-read
Sep 28, 2018
Mynda
marked it as to-read
Sep 29, 2018
Jessica Robbins
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2018
Carla
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2018
Beth
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2018
Jenn
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2018
Win
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2018
Chris
marked it as to-read
Oct 10, 2018
Catdragon46 speakes
marked it as to-read
Oct 11, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
2,730 followers
Angie Sage (born 1952) is the author of the Septimus Heap series which includes Magyk, Flyte, Physik, Queste, Syren, Darke and Fyre. She also wrote the Todhunter Moon series, and the Magykal Papers, an additional book with extra information about Septimus' world. She is also the illustrator and/or writer of many children's books, and is the new writer of the Araminta Spookie series.

Angie Sage grew
...more