Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Unexpected Love Objects of Dunya Noor: A Novel” as Want to Read:
The Unexpected Love Objects of Dunya Noor: A Novel
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Unexpected Love Objects of Dunya Noor: A Novel

3.77  ·  Rating details ·  31 ratings  ·  9 reviews
Paperback, 248 pages
Published March 21st 2018 by Hoopoe
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Unexpected Love Objects of Dunya Noor, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Unexpected Love Objects of Dunya Noor

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.77  · 
Rating details
 ·  31 ratings  ·  9 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Unexpected Love Objects of Dunya Noor: A Novel
Deanna
Dec 31, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book, both for its absorbing story of personal quest for love and identity, and the picture it paints of Syria. Torn between her Syrian birthright and her English upbringing, Dunya’s delightful and quirky take on life and her rebellion against the strictures of a patriarchal society is told through a mix of sympathy and satire. The first love object is her camera, and this serves as a clever device for Dunya’s observations and perceptions of the worlds she inhabits, but also as a me ...more
Lyazzat
Dec 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing
using some thoughts from the book which caught my attention for wider thinking:

" Her school friends' attention seemed to be focused - laser beam like - on the intricate and intimate personal lives of the Higher Beings who peopled TV soap operas and the worlds of pop and rock. To someone from a softer and warmer culture like Syria's it seems incomprehensible that being hard and "rock-like was desirable asset in England and that being "cool" was considered such a must-have quality for
...more
Olympia Zographos
Jun 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is one of those books that reads like a modern classic by a French or Chinese novelist, someone like Marguerite Duras or Eileen Chang who knows how to draw you in with their crystal clear writing. The story has a flowing, shining quality to it. It’s not a book you read for the plot and characters and then never read again. You read it for the perceptions too. Think of it as a sailboat made of words. You’ll come back to it, sample your favourite bits and bits you’d forgotten about and wish m ...more
Kathleen McDonald
Jul 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I picked up this book in a bookshop in Athens, as it was one of the few novels in English. Once I began reading it, I fell in love. Lyrical, absurdist, feminist and classical, the familiar story of star-crossed lovers against the backdrop of Assad’s Syria in the 90s warmed my cold, cynical heart.
Lolaf
Aug 17, 2018 rated it really liked it
I really liked the dreamy writing and atmosphere, very magical sometimes. I also loved the references to Syrian/Arabic poets, singers and oud players, and food and way of living.
Katrine
Nov 07, 2019 rated it really liked it
Started out as a romantic love story in war torn Syria and then proceeded to do a total 180! I was so surprised and the writing was very evocative - a really nice experience!
Layla
Jul 04, 2018 rated it it was ok
too much telling. the characters didn't seem real or vivid. it read too much like a fable.
lkh0ja
Jun 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
A dreamy love story.
Nadia
Jul 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
The ending wasn't my favourite but it was otherwise a really fun read.
Alissar
rated it liked it
Jul 09, 2018
H
rated it did not like it
Oct 16, 2018
Ms C H Muncaster
rated it really liked it
Oct 08, 2018
Heidi
rated it really liked it
Sep 11, 2019
Simona Campidano
rated it really liked it
Oct 11, 2018
Huyém
rated it it was amazing
Jan 04, 2019
Katrien Schuermans
rated it really liked it
Nov 06, 2019
Igor
rated it really liked it
Oct 17, 2018
Cassie
rated it liked it
Feb 08, 2019
Christina
rated it liked it
Sep 11, 2018
Tara
rated it liked it
Aug 24, 2019
Keo
rated it liked it
Oct 06, 2019
Danielle
rated it it was ok
Dec 23, 2018
Usman Butt
rated it it was amazing
Aug 23, 2018
Anja
rated it it was amazing
Dec 20, 2018
Andy
rated it really liked it
Dec 08, 2018
Freya Sothcott
rated it liked it
Aug 02, 2018
Bella St. Amant
rated it really liked it
May 16, 2019
Rana Asfour
rated it really liked it
May 24, 2019
Renée
rated it liked it
Apr 03, 2019
Mackenzie Ott
rated it really liked it
Aug 27, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Other Americans
  • Freshwater
  • The City Always Wins
  • Dark Days
  • ساعة بغداد
  • A General Theory of Oblivion
  • The Fishermen
  • Housegirl
  • The Seamstress and the Wind
  • Assata: An Autobiography
  • Miracle on Cherry Hill
  • Ponti
  • The Shutters
  • Clandestine in Chile: The Adventures of Miguel Littín
  • If Beale Street Could Talk
  • The Secrets We Kept
  • コンビニ人間 [Konbini ningen]
  • الطنطورية
See similar books…