Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “In Her Shadow” as Want to Read:
In Her Shadow
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

In Her Shadow

by
4.07  ·  Rating details ·  3,036 ratings  ·  413 reviews
Isabel’s life seemed perfect. Successful business, beautiful house, adoring husband. And then she was dead.

For four years Jessica has never doubted that her sister Isabel’s death was an accident. But when Jessica’s young daughter seems to know long-forgotten details about her aunt’s past, Jessica can’t shake the feeling that there’s a more sinister truth behind the tragedy
...more
Paperback, 366 pages
Published October 4th 2018 by Thomas & Mercer
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about In Her Shadow, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about In Her Shadow

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.07  · 
Rating details
 ·  3,036 ratings  ·  413 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Meredith
Oct 05, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
3.5 stars

This is a frustrating review to write because there’s so much I want to say, but can’t because I don’t want to give anything away.


Jessica has always believed in ghosts, so much so she believed that she was being haunted when she was a child. So when her 4-year-old Olivia daughter starts relaying messages from her deceased Aunt Izzy, Jessica is beyond spooked. Jessica’s sister Isabel died 5 years and her death was ruled an accident. As Olivia continues sharing messages from her dead A
...more
Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
Wow, my first book from Mark Edwards is a solid winner!

A tale of two sisters. Isabel is young and successful, and one day, she is found dead after an accident. Years later, Jessica is still reeling from her sister’s death when her young daughter, Olivia, mentions secrets about Isabel’s past, things she shouldn’t know.

With that discovery, Jessica senses that there has to be something more to the story, and perhaps her sister has been murdered. She also has to reason to believe that she and her
...more
Matt
Aug 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
First and foremost, a large thank you to NetGalley, Mark Edwards, and Thomas & Mercer for providing me with a copy of this publication, which allows me to provide you with an unbiased review.

Mark Edwards is back with another spine-chilling novel that takes the reader inside the eerie world of communication with the afterlife, yet another branch of psychological thrillers. Jessica is the proud mother of two children, though it would seem her youngest has begun acting out at school. When she
...more
Kylie D
Another whirlwind of a book by Mark Edwards! It sees Jessica's 4yo daughter Olivia start to mention things that her Aunt Izzy has told her, things that only Izzy and Jessica would know, except Izzy died before Olivia was born, in what police ruled as an accident. As Olivia comes out with more and more bombshells, now about the day that Izzy died, Jessica starts to think that there was more to her sister's death than meets the eye. She starts to re-examine everything from the time of Izzy's death ...more
Christine
Dear Mr. Edwards,

Well, Mr. E, I have to hand it to you. I have read 7 of your 8 novels, and number 8 is the best of all! That’s saying a lot, as The Magpies and Follow You Home are pretty magnificent. Actually 6 of your books have earned 5 big gold stars from me. Now before you get all pleased with yourself, this one was only perfect, not perfectly perfect.

First some good stuff. I have to say I have never dissected anyone’s books like I dissect yours. In fact, I get help from my book buddy Jan.
...more
Mackenzie - PhDiva Books
Eerie, unsettling, and gripping—I have come to look forward to the new Mark Edwards books the way I look forward to Fridays or crawling in bed after a long day. They are always tantalizing and well-written, and they captivate my interest until the very last page. Mark Edwards is a master of the suspense genre! His books always have that vague sense of uneasiness over them—wondering what exactly is going on. And I love the spooky ghost-shadow that lurked over this! It blurs the line between myste ...more
Debra
Sep 30, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
Jessica's sister, Isabel, “Izzy" died four years ago and Jessica has never doubted the coroner's finding that her sister's death was an accident. But when her four-year-old daughter, Olivia, begins mentioning things, things that only Jessica and her sister knew, Jessica becomes concerned. Is her daughter interested in death because of her age and she is beginning to understand what that means? Is she curious about the Aunt she never knew? As the tension mounts, Jessica begins to wonder if her si ...more
Paromjit
Jul 25, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Mark Edwards writes what is often a chilling and creepy psychological thriller with elements of the paranormal. Jessica always felt accustomed to the idea that she was living in the shadows of her more glamorous older sister, Isabel/Izzy. Almost five years ago, Isabel died after falling off the balcony of her luxurious apartment. The police deemed it to be an accident, but was it? Living an ordinary life as a mum, Jessica, still traumatised by Isabel's death, begins to feel unsettled and disturb ...more
Amanda
Oct 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
Thank you to Netgalley for my copy in exchange for a review. I feel like all my christmases have come at once as I love Mark Edwards books. I wanted to lock myself away so I could read this book without being disturbed!!

Another amazing psychological thriller that kept me spellbound from beginning to the end, I could not predict how this would end and you kept me on my toes trying to fathom it out.

Jessica and will have 2 children Felix 10 and Olivia 4. When Olivia appears to be passing messages o
...more
Melisa
Jul 17, 2018 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
There was no cover art on Netgalley, nor was there a description, but I saw the words “Mark Edwards” and hit request so fast 🤗
Nazanin
Oct 15, 2018 rated it really liked it
3.75 Stars

Four years ago Jessica’s sister, Isabel, died. Seemingly it was an accident. She had fallen off the balcony. They think she was drunk/on drugs when she was there. Now Jessica’s four-year-old daughter, Olivia, talks about her auntie Izzy! The aunt that she has never seen. Olivia knows about her aunt’s past, the details that no one told her! And apparently, she knows about the day Izzy died!

Did someone murder Isabel? Are they now after Jessica and her family? The key seems to lie in the
...more
Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*
EXCERPT: Olivia lifted her head from Jessica’s shoulder and stared at Pat.

"Will it hurt?" she said.

"Pardon?" Pat looked from Olivia to Jessica and back again.

Jessica knew Olivia was going to say something terrible. She could feel it. She tried to hurry away, nodding an apology to Pat, but she was too slow. Olivia was still staring at the dinner lady.

"When you die," she said to her. "Will it hurt when you die?"

ABOUT THIS BOOK: Isabel’s life seemed perfect. Successful business, beautiful house
...more
Sean Peters
Nov 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Thank you to Net Galley, The Publishers and to Mark Edwards for an ARC copy of this fabulous book.

OMG.... A Gripping, Tense, psychological thriller that keeps you guessing all the way!

Isabel's life seemed perfect. Successful business, beautiful house, adoring husband. And then she was dead.

For four years Jessica has never doubted that her sister Isabel's death was an accident. But when Jessica's young daughter seems to know long-forgotten details about her aunt's past, Jessica can't shake the fe
...more
Louise Wilson
Sep 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Isabel's life seemed perfect. A successful business, a beautiful house, an adoring husband.

Isabel and Jessic were sisters. Jessica has two children, Felix and Olivia. Isabel died in a tragic accident. She fell from a balcony at her home before Olivia was born. When Olivia starts misbehaving at school, she tells her teachers that it's her friend Izzy that is making her do these bad things. Jessica is shocked when she learns this, but it seems that Olivia is able to communicate with her dead aunt.
...more
NZLisaM
Oct 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: crime, mystery, suspense
Yet another winner from Mark Edwards!

Five years ago Jessica’s sister, Isabel, tragically fell from her second storey balcony. Now, Jessica’s daughter, Olivia, who was born after her aunt died, is exhibiting some worrying behaviour. The 4 year old is obsessed with death, particularly Isabel’s. Not only that, she insists that Aunt Izzy told her she was pushed by a bad man. Jessica tells herself there must be a rational explanation, but her daughter knows things about Izzy she couldn’t possibly kno
...more
Felicia
Sep 04, 2018 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
2.5 Stars

Reading the synopsis for this book didn't make it clear that, in addition to being a possible murder mystery, this is a ghost story at heart. Had I realized this, I would have never chosen it to read. The creepy-kid-talks-to-ghost-and-relays-information-the-child-couldn't-possibly-know is a tired premise and one that I've never enjoyed.

The story follows Jessica, mother of said creepy child and sister to Isabel, the possible victim, on her crusade to find out the truth of what happened
...more
Mandy White
Jun 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: net-galley
Mark Edwards never fails to have you staying up way past your bedtime to finish his books... this one was no different! Very big fan of his books and if you haven't read any of them yet - why not!!

Jessica is a stay at home mum to four year old Olivia. She has never really gotten over the death of her sister Izzy, who fell from her balcony nearly 5 years ago. The police ruled it to be an accident - but was it really? And how does her daughter know things about her aunt that she could not possibly
...more
Kim ~ Traveling Sister
Jessica Gardner lost her sister Isabel (Izzy) five years ago to a bizarre freak accident. Since that time she has immersed herself in motherhood doting on her two children Felix and Olivia. The children don't know much about aunt Izzy as they have been spared the details of her death. Felix was rather young at the time and Olivia was not even born yet.

Suddenly Izzy becomes a daily topic of conversation for four year old Olivia. Jessica is bewildered as to how Olivia seems to know details of Izz
...more
Jan
Nov 12, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Oh where to begin with this one????

I guess I can start by saying I have to proclaim my complete adoration for all things Mark Edwards...

I have many spent hours being completely entertained by his writing, which most often consists of a whole lot of creepiness, a whole bunch of interesting characters and a whole lot of crazy plot twists.
He has become a staple buddy read for my good friend Christine and I, both of us eagerly anticipating the journey that Mark will take us on. Each time we start ou
...more
Dana-Adriana B.
Oct 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: ebooks-en, netgalley
Thank you NetGalley for this book.
It's my first Mark Edwards's book and it won't be the last. The book is a supernatural/crime/ psychological thriller that kept me gripped from the first pages.
The story and the characters .....just excellent! loved it from the start till the end.
Gary
Dec 09, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A stand a-lone novel by author Mark Edwards.
Isabel's life appeared perfect she had a successful business, beautiful house, adoring husband. And then she was dead. In the four years that followed her sister Jessica never doubted that her sister's death was an accident. All this changes when Jessica's young daughter Olivia appears to know forgotten details from Isabel's past and makes her start to wonder about the tragedy.
Jessica discover's disturbing things about her sister, about the people she
...more
Eva
Oct 01, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
When In Her Shadow first popped up on Netgalley, it didn’t have a cover or a book description. Yet, after just having finished Mark Edwards’ previous book, The Retreat, I jumped at the chance to request it. His psychological thrillers with a slightly paranormal vibe to them are always hugely entertaining.

Four years ago, Jessica’s sister Izzy fell to her death from a balcony at her home. Jessica never questioned that this event was nothing more than an unfortunate accident. Until the day her four
...more
Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
This review can also be found at Pure Textuality PR.

This was good! I have not had the opportunity to read any of Mark Edwards writing before picking up this book so I really had no idea what to expect. I now know that I want to read a lot more of his work. This was a book that pulled me in right away and kept me guessing until the very end. I was completely entertained by this wonderfully woven story.

Jessica is a happily married mother of two children. Jessica’s sister, Isabel, died in a tragic
...more
Amanda
Oct 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Thank you to Netgalley for my copy in exchange for a review. I feel like all my christmases have come at once as I love Mark Edwards books. I wanted to lock myself away so I could read this book without being disturbed!!

Another amazing psychological thriller that kept me spellbound from beginning to the end, I could not predict how this would end and you kept me on my toes trying to fathom it out.

Jessica and will have 2 children Felix 10 and Olivia 4. When Olivia appears to be passing messages o
...more
Susan
Jessica has been dealing with the death of her sister Isabel for four years and can't come to terms with it. When her four year old daughter Olivia starts acting strangely and saying things she shouldn't have any knowledge of Jessica begins to question everything she thought she knew about Isabel and the accident. Even though I wanted to find out what happened to Isabel this book has way to many topics going on at the same time that I think it would have been a better book if the author had focu ...more
The Book Review Café
Mark Edwards books never fit neatly into one particular genre, and In Her Shadow is no different, is it a psychology thriller? Possibly, horror? it definitely has elements of that fit this genre, supernatural? there’s plenty of events that suggest it could be, see what I mean?The reader is never sure what the author has planned, and that’s one of the reasons I’m such a huge fan of this authors work, he turns the most ordinary events into an extraordinary tale. In Her Shadow is spine-chilling cre ...more
Hans
Oct 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is a fast-paced whodunit with lots of twists. Jessica is a very believable sister. The end is very unexpected.
Katie
Sep 27, 2018 rated it liked it
A good screenwriter could wring three or four Lifetime movies out of this book. There is a murder mystery, a young child who think she can see a ghost, affairs, obsession, stalking, sexual harassment, sister rivalry, and an unbelievable sex therapy business. I enjoyed the alternating points of view from the past and present but overall, it was just too much. If you are in the mood to binge on a jam-packed melodramatic read, this book could be for you.

Thanks to NetGalley, Amazon Publishing UK, a
...more
Lou
Oct 03, 2018 rated it really liked it
You can always rely on number one bestselling author Mark Edwards to write a hugely thrilling, edge-of-your-seat rollercoaster ride, and this book is no exception. There's no doubt that this is destined to become another top seller. I have been a fan for a long time and have read every one of his published works - they are all incredible! If you appreciate psychological thrillers then put this guy at the top of your list. You will not be disappointed!

This book uses one of the well-worn tropes of
...more
Shawna P.
Jun 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: net-galley-read
When I was a kid, Beanie Babies were all the rage. I spent whatever money I had on them and eagerly awaited each new Beanie with such great anticipation. I thought I would be able to retire selling said Beanie Babies when I got older, however, that retirement plan failed. Why am I telling you this? Because decades later I now have something else that creates that same sense of anticipation I had as a kid, and that is Mark Edwards books.

In Her Shadow was another home run for me and of course I s
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Keep Her Silent
  • The Watcher
  • The Disappeared
  • Bring Them Home (DS Karen Hart, #1)
  • Tied Up with Love
  • The Girl Made of Clay
  • Malice
  • Apple of My Eye
  • The Wall
  • Me and You
  • Beautiful Disaster
  • Secrets Between Us
  • One For Sorrow
  • WRECKING CREW: Demolishing The Case Against Steven Avery
  • Your Closest Friend
  • The Very Principled Maggie Mayfield
  • After the Rain (Destination Love, #4)
  • The Ruined Wife
2,344 followers
Mark Edwards writes psychological thrillers in which scary things happen to ordinary people.

He loves love hearing from readers and always responds. Mark can be contacted in the following ways:
Email: mark@markedwardsauthor.com
Twitter @mredwards
Facebook: www.facebook.com/markedwardsbooks

You can download a free box set of 'Short Sharp Shockers' by visiting www.markedwardsauthor.com/free

Mark has sold
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“He clung to her desperately while she stood there, limp, a conflicted mess of hate and love.” 0 likes
“arty style magazines or just on” 0 likes
More quotes…