Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Ship of Smoke and Steel” as Want to Read:
Ship of Smoke and Steel
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Ship of Smoke and Steel

(The Wells of Sorcery #1)

by
4.58  ·  Rating details ·  19 ratings  ·  12 reviews
“Fit for the big screen.” —Morgan Rhodes, NYT bestselling author of Falling Kingdoms

Ship of Smoke and Steel is the launch of a cinematic, action-packed epic fantasy trilogy for fans of Leigh Bardugo and The Legend of Korra.

In the lower wards of Kahnzoka, the great port city of the Blessed Empire, eighteen-year-old ward boss Isoka comes to collect when there's money owing.
...more
Hardcover, 368 pages
Expected publication: January 22nd 2019 by Tor Teen
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Ship of Smoke and Steel, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Janet Martin Don't worry about the title--much of the time, it's generated by the publisher based on focus groups. In this case, it doesn't have much to do with…moreDon't worry about the title--much of the time, it's generated by the publisher based on focus groups. In this case, it doesn't have much to do with the plot. It's a really good book(less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-55
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
I'm super pumped for this! From the cover art, the protagonist looks Asian so doubly excited.

Sidenote: The cover is oddly reminiscent of Throne of Glass though
Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~
*trembles with anticipation*
Morgan Blanch
Jul 15, 2018 marked it as lost-interest  ·  review of another edition
Just saw this book pop up on my timeline and

well

I thought the cover looked a little familiar

SoSaS coverToG cover
Jessi (Novel Heartbeat)
Super interesting and unique concept. However, there were some things that pissed me off - namely, about the main character, which I'll explain when I post a real review. I didn't care about any of the other characters, either. Also I just want to say: I gagged a little bit every time "rutting" was used in place of "having sex." Just say "fucking," for crying out loud. It would sound much better than "Would you like to go in the other room and rut?"



That's romantic, right there. (And yes, that is
...more
Janet Martin
Aug 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Snatched from the streets of the ward she controls, Isoka is sent to a mysterious ship that demands tribute from her city--tribute of magically talented teenagers. Once on the prison ship, she tries to work herself into a position of control, the price to free her sister from a death sentence. Well plotted, interesting characters, and a constantly changing environment. Terrific start to a new series for older teens and adults due to violence and sexual content--not for those 11-13 yr olds that s ...more
Fae Crate
Jul 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
So this book was AMAZING. Magic, well developed lead characters, complex world and systems. You name it, this book has it. AND THE COVER ART. I could frame it it's so beautiful. Ya'll know I'm all about the cover buys. This book is a must read.
Christen (GoldiloxReads and Whimsify)
THIS. BOOK. OMG. This is the most action I've read in a fantasy book in a long time. The magical system is amazing and creative and the diversity is plentiful. I absolutely adored this book and I am going to go hunt down every last book by this author now.
Luna✮MyOwnBookAdventures✮
Ship of Smoke and Steel is the launch of a cinematic, action-packed epic fantasy trilogy for fans of Leigh Bardugo and The Legend of Korra.

Insta buy right there.
Also that cover is looking badass😍
Stephanie L (catteabooks)
Umm so the cover of this book probably falls between Darkdawn and Monstress in terms of female badassery.

Plus, IS SHE ASIAN?! If so, hells to the yeah
Naomi
Dec 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing
4.5 stars
Sarah
Oct 18, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I LOVED THIS BOOK!!! One of my new favorite authors!!
Iany Mcgrawn
rated it it was amazing
Nov 23, 2018
Cassandra
rated it liked it
Oct 19, 2018
Ruben
rated it it was amazing
Nov 23, 2018
Caterina
rated it it was amazing
Sep 19, 2018
Sydney
rated it it was amazing
Oct 15, 2018
Batmanthebest
rated it it was amazing
Dec 10, 2018
Megan
rated it it was amazing
Oct 21, 2018
Ravi Mehta
rated it it was amazing
Sep 23, 2018
Elise
rated it really liked it
Aug 10, 2018
 Debra (WifeEclectic)
rated it really liked it
Sep 03, 2018
Krizelle (cakefacereader)
rated it it was amazing
Aug 29, 2018
Eddy
rated it it was amazing
Dec 10, 2018
Dave Sloan
rated it it was amazing
Dec 03, 2018
Sana
added it
Mar 18, 2017
C.G. Drews
marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2017
Mari
marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2017
Sam Whitehouse
marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2017
Jess
marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2017
Georgia Meagher
marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2017
Amy A
marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2017
Nimrod Daniel
marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2017
Alan Pettit
marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2017
Daniel Tfm
marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2017
Gillian Berry
marked it as to-read
Mar 21, 2017
Rachel Patrick
marked it as to-read
Mar 21, 2017
Lori Murray
marked it as to-read
Mar 21, 2017
Shaye
marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2017
Katherine Locke
marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2017
Melissa
marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2017
Caro
marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2017
Inara
marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2017
Amy
marked it as to-read
Mar 23, 2017
Stevie
marked it as to-read
Mar 23, 2017
Rach
marked it as to-read
Mar 25, 2017
JT
marked it as to-read
Mar 25, 2017
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
Mar 26, 2017
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Create a Series 2 15 Mar 20, 2017 03:23PM  
1,903 followers
Django Wexler graduated from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh with degrees in creative writing and computer science, and worked for the university in artificial intelligence research. Eventually he migrated to Microsoft in Seattle, where he now lives with two cats and a teetering mountain of books. When not planning Shadow Campaigns, he wrangles computers, paints tiny soldiers, and plays g ...more

Other books in the series

The Wells of Sorcery (3 books)
  • Untitled (The Wells of Sorcery #2)
  • Untitled (The Wells of Sorcery #3)