Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Beckoning Shadow” as Want to Read:
The Beckoning Shadow
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Beckoning Shadow

(The Beckoning Shadow #1)

4.11  ·  Rating details ·  9 ratings  ·  9 reviews
The Magicians meets Fight Club in this heart-stopping contemporary fantasy stand-alone about a teen girl with special powers who seeks redemption through a dangerous tournament that guarantees the winner a chance to undo the past. Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and The Young Elites, and written by debut author Katharyn Blair.

Vesper Montgomery can summon your worst fea
...more
Kindle Edition
Expected publication: July 2nd 2019 by Katherine Tegen Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Beckoning Shadow, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Beckoning Shadow

Community Reviews

Showing 1-43
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Noura Khalid (theperksofbeingnoura)
description

Thank you Edelweiss and Katherine Tegen Books for sending a review copy in exchange for an honest review

"I am the master of my fate,
I am the captain of my soul."



Oh, how grateful I am to have been sent an ARC of this absolutely marvelous book. Katharyn Blair created a world that I instantly fell in love with. Her writing kept me hooked to every page. Her characters were ones I loved so much. Her story was so very unique and definitely not what I expected.

Vesper is our main character. She has
...more
Diana
Oct 31, 2018 added it
I have to say that I enjoyed aspects of the book more than the book itself. What I mean? I mean that while the plot maybe nothing completly new or 100% original, as it reminds me a lot of XMen with magic powers, it does have a great character development in which I put most of my attention.

I loved how almost all the characters - if not all of them - come from a dark place and are broken somehow. That holds even truer for Vesper, our main character and the voice of the narrative. She holds respon
...more
Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
I want this book right now
rachel
Apr 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: beta-read
Ah this book was so good. I read an early draft and it's perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver, Saba Tahir, Victoria Schwab, and The Magicians. The worldbuilding is just so new and different. Looking forward to reading the finished copy in 2019!!
Ellen Gail
If this cover was a human being, I would totally make out with it.

Hopefully it's pretty on the inside too.
Amy
Dec 15, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: binged, edelweiss, fantasy, ya
Many thanks to EdelweissPlus and the publisher for providing me with an eARC of this title for review. All opinions are my own.

You guys, this one was good. While I appreciated the fact that this is a fantasy that is a stand-alone (instead of the dreaded trilogy or random duology or quartology . . .) it was one that made me really, really wish for more to the story. If the story was expanded out in to more books, the world building would have been that much better and the back stories of other ch
...more
Beth  Rose
Nov 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I'll write a full public review closer to the release date but let me just say this blew me away. I've never read anything quite like it before and I can't wait for everyone else to read it!!
Ross Allen
rated it it was amazing
Nov 15, 2018
Brigitte
rated it liked it
Nov 28, 2018
Vika Ryabova
rated it liked it
Nov 14, 2018
Marochka
rated it really liked it
Nov 21, 2018
Caitlyn
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2018
Anna Reads
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2018
Melissa
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2018
Phoebe Dyer
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2018
Nikki S
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2018
Shelly
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2018
Emma Andje
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2018
Joanne
added it
Apr 13, 2018
Elizabeth
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2018
Whitney
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2018
mith
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2018
Liz Janecek
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2018
Alyssa
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2018
Lauren
marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2018
Mew
marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2018
Dee
marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2018
Tiziana
marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2018
Teigan
marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2018
Monika
marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2018
Faida orrie
marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2018
Noa
marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2018
Victoria Lee
marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2018
Jordan
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2018
Elza B
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2018
Katy Pool
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Other books in the series

The Beckoning Shadow (2 books)
  • Untitled (The Beckoning Shadow #2)