Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Feminist Agenda of Jemima Kincaid” as Want to Read:
The Feminist Agenda of Jemima Kincaid
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Feminist Agenda of Jemima Kincaid

3.14  ·  Rating details ·  29 ratings  ·  10 reviews
A novel about friendship, feminism, and the knotty complications of tradition and privilege, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Stephanie Perkins.

Jemima Kincaid is a feminist, and she thinks you should be one too. Her private school is laden with problematic traditions, but the worst of all is prom. The guys have all the agency; the girls have to wait around for
...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published February 18th 2020 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Feminist Agenda of Jemima Kincaid, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Feminist Agenda of Jemima Kincaid

Community Reviews

Showing 1-58
Average rating 3.14  · 
Rating details
 ·  29 ratings  ·  10 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Feminist Agenda of Jemima Kincaid
The Nerd Daily
Feb 15, 2020 rated it liked it
Originally published on The Nerd Daily | Review by Zoë Leonarczyk

The Feminist Agenda of Jemima Kincaid by Kate Hattemer is a modern-day feminist manifesto for young men and women alike. Jemima Kincaid, because with a name like that how could you not say the whole thing, is smart, witty, and over the male “agenda.” Being one part of the Senior Triumvirate, Jemima decides that this is the year she will make a difference to the problematic misogyny and toxic masculinity at her private high school
...more
Cozy Ink
Feb 01, 2020 rated it did not like it
UGH.
Okay, so at first I thought this was stupid. And then I was like oh, okay! This is pretty vapid but a good enough book. And then it sucked. So badly.
So I really couldn't decipher a message here but -
It's okay to be judgey! As long as you think about it like once and decide it's okay.
If everyone tells you to shut up, you should probably do it! Because outing your brother is equivalent to taking down a misogynistic tradition, totally.
Rigging an election is fine if you're morally right.
As
...more
Michele
Jan 13, 2020 added it
Shelves: young-adult
Jemima is one-third of the student governing body at her exclusive private school. She tries to take measures to confront some stereotypes and misogyny that surround some of their school traditions, but instead ends up in the middle of a scandal. This is 14 plus for sexual content, but the author is also a high school teacher, so the dialog and relationships are very realistic and authentic.
The Bookish Faerie
Thank you to @times.reads for sending me this ARC. It will be for sale in bookstores starting 18th February 2020.

The Feminist Agenda of Jemima Kincaid tells the story of Jemima Kincaid's senior year and her agenda of how to fight for women's rights in her super problematic private high school by being a feminist. As she is the Senior Triumvirate, she has the power to invoke change and a voice that people will hear regardless if they want to or not because she has the stage and mike, literally.

...more
Barbara
Jemima Kincaid is smart, witty, and confident. A longtime feminist, she's part of her class's leadership team, the Triumvirate, she has grown increasingly troubled by some of the school's misogynistic traditions. In a bid to change things while also gaining some recognition, she comes up with an idea for the prom--a Last Chance Dance in which all of her classmates list their romantic interests for a website that then matches them up with whoever listed them as well. At first things go well until ...more
Julia
Feb 20, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2020, netgalley
Truthfully my rating would be 3.5 stars.

I like this books for its light fluffy story. It is not too heavy or deep. It does ask some interesting questions about checking our on bias and those that we have been taught by society especially in high school. This quick read does contain some sexual situations and also discusses a spectrum of what sex is. Unlike many private school books Jemima's family is a part of the story especially her older brother who is used as a confidant for her. I think at
...more
Karyn Silverman
Feb 13, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2020-reads, arcs, nook
Great dialogue, and a fantastic critique of and exploration of internalized monogamy. Sex positive and no fade to black, either. Funny at times, thought provoking, and while Jemima is often awful, she’s very real and it’s a virtuoso feat of writing to have a first person narrator both be stupid and myopic and also make great strides and yet for the book to never come across as didactic.
Sam
Feb 20, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: young-adult
3.5 stars
Britt
Nov 19, 2019 rated it really liked it
Read and Reviewed for School Library Journal (issue 2020-01-01):

https://www.slj.com/?reviewDetail=the...
Full text TK
Caitlin
rated it liked it
Feb 01, 2020
Lucianna Wolfstone
rated it it was amazing
Jan 30, 2020
Blair
rated it liked it
Jan 26, 2020
Tiffany
rated it liked it
Feb 16, 2020
Martha
rated it liked it
Feb 16, 2020
Colette Whitney
rated it liked it
Aug 13, 2019
Chris Carruthers
rated it it was amazing
Feb 20, 2020
Chloe Scully
rated it liked it
Feb 08, 2020
Lauren
rated it really liked it
Feb 15, 2020
Grey
rated it it was ok
Feb 23, 2020
Kathryn
rated it really liked it
Feb 19, 2020
sel
rated it did not like it
Feb 26, 2020
Merricat
rated it liked it
Oct 30, 2019
Lira
rated it it was amazing
Feb 20, 2020
Katline Craig
rated it did not like it
Feb 03, 2020
Kristi
rated it liked it
Feb 01, 2020
Mary McCoy
rated it it was amazing
Apr 25, 2019
Thor B
rated it liked it
Jan 16, 2020
Selene
rated it liked it
Feb 24, 2020
Andrew Clendening
marked it as to-read
Apr 07, 2018
Caro
marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2018
Lauren
marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2018
Mew
marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2018
Dahlia
marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2018
Shana
marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2018
Noa  Sperber
marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2018
Meredith
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2018
Jessie
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2018
J
marked it as to-read
Apr 19, 2018
Daniel Tfm
marked it as to-read
Apr 20, 2018
Joana
marked it as to-read
Apr 22, 2018
Simon
marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2018
Ri
marked it as to-read
Jun 04, 2018
Maneesha
marked it as to-read
Jun 05, 2018
Alyssa
marked it as to-read
Jun 06, 2018
Amy Bailey
marked it as to-read
Jun 13, 2018
Anastasia Antony
marked it as to-read
Jun 15, 2018
Vicki Stevens
marked it as to-read
Jun 27, 2018
Arianna Sterling
marked it as to-read
Jul 13, 2018
Dani
marked it as to-read
Jul 19, 2018
kd
marked it as to-read
Jul 21, 2018
Katie
marked it as to-read
Aug 17, 2018
Kadley Ross
marked it as to-read
Aug 27, 2018
Amber (YA Indulgences)
marked it as to-read
Sep 06, 2018
Madeline Friedman
marked it as to-read
Sep 10, 2018
Serena
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Pumpkinheads
  • Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei, #1)
  • Giovanni’s Room
  • Heartstopper: Volume Two (Heartstopper, #2)
  • We Are Totally Normal
  • The Last True Poets of the Sea
  • Dreams from Many Rivers: A Hispanic History of the United States Told in Poems
  • Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas
  • Race to the Sun
  • Cub
  • Blood Heir (Blood Heir Trilogy, #1)
  • The Enigma Game
  • The Wendy Project
  • Awake
  • Virtually Yours
  • Small Spaces (Small Spaces, #1)
  • The Doughnut Fix (The Doughnut Fix #1)
  • Speechless
See similar books…