Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Eagle Shield: MILESTONE Rising” as Want to Read:
Eagle Shield: MILESTONE Rising
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Eagle Shield: MILESTONE Rising

by
4.40  ·  Rating details ·  35 ratings  ·  28 reviews
NATHAN MASTERS
Former SAS. Injured in combat. Redeployed with the Australian Secret Intelligence Service.
Nathan is issued with a new mission.
EAGLE SHIELD
Objective: Relocate the Asset to the safe house in Melbourne.
Objective: Protect the computer disk at all costs.
A trained killer must learn to forget everything he has come to know as a well beaten path. He must become both
...more
Paperback, 328 pages
Published March 28th 2018 by Aurora House
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Eagle Shield, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Eagle Shield

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.40  · 
Rating details
 ·  35 ratings  ·  28 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Gemma
Sep 03, 2018 rated it really liked it
Eagle Shield is a gripping and deep read. Several times I had to come up for air, my mind blown by the plot twists .
Carl Lakeland clearly is very knowledgeable in this area, the details are on point. Making this an even more engaging read.
A book you really have to get your head into and then cant get out of!
I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
Janet Dickson
Apr 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing
loved this book. I got Project Amber and Eagle Shield yesterday, and all I can say is that it's a good thing my whole family happens to be away. Once you start reading, you can't put it down. It's a long time since I picked up a new book like that. Carl Lakeland is a gifted storyteller, and seems to have a knack of writing fast paced action, combined with characters that are wholly alive.
Amy Koit
Apr 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Eagle Shield is unlike any other book I’ve read before. To say each chapter is a surprise is an understatement. The lies and secrets will keep you guessing throughout the entire book. Brilliantly written – you simply don’t know which part is a depiction of real-life experience and which is not. It is shockingly accurate in description. A mix of thriller, fantasy and best of all, conspiracy theory.
Brenda Patterson
May 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Don't start reading this book if you have something to do soon, because once started you won't be able to put it down! Fast paced and full of action and intrigue, this is a read you won't forget in a hurry, it will become a top favourite.
Grady
Jul 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing
‘No explosion. I got it wrong somehow. But as soon as I thought it, the earth below heaved up in a dome, then collapsed back down into a crater.’

Australian author Carl Lakeland grew up during the early seventies, western suburbs of Sydney and enlisted into the military at the age of seventeen – those experiences are evident and reflected in his thriller suspense novel. His stories revolve around the element of ‘what if?’ He pushes the boundaries of his stories to the edge of the Official Secrets
...more
Jenny Hockings
Sep 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
SWEET MOTHER OF MERCY !! THIS STORY IS AMAZING !!!
Former SAS soldier NATHAN MASTERS has been injured in the line of duty. His next assignment is not with his former unit but with the Australian Secret Intelligence Service !!! This new mission is completely out of his comfort zone..... he has not trained for this !!!!!
His mission is two-pronged he has to protect and raise Angel (the asset) an orphaned 10 year old girl, there is something very special about her.... and he also has to maintain secu
...more
Lee
Sep 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The action and suspense in this book will take your breath away. It's that intense. The story of a military operative charged with protecting a special ten year old girl captures my attention immediately. It is so full of danger and mystery and intrigue. Nathan and Angel are on a journey to get her to a safe place. Little do they know that path will take them to some scary places to meet some very evil men. The story revolves around Angel being a target, and it's all Nathan can do to avoid the e ...more
Emmie
Sep 12, 2018 rated it really liked it
I saw this book available for review and the cover really drew me. It looks actionpaced and very interesting, so I decided to give it a whirl. Great choice!

Eagle shield is set in Australia, and I have to admit my knowledge of Austrailian geography is basically non existent. So it was fun hunting down places mentioned.

The book is fast paced with Angel being dragged all over the place. Nathan trying to keep one step ahead of the people hunting Angel. It's difficult to write a good review without
...more
Kirsty Mckenzie
Sep 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Wow. What a ride. This is a thriller that takes you on a journey with Nathan and Angel and I got to say what a journey it was. This book just kept me on the edge of my seat, I couldn't get enough of it. I felt like I devoured the whole book to fast. I am eagerly awaiting the next book because I need to know what happens next. I can't sing the praises enough for this book. I am a fussy thriller reader and this book just delivered over and above my expectations. Please grab this asap you won't reg ...more
Inessa
Jul 09, 2018 rated it really liked it
Carl is a talented writer who knows how to keep the reader guessing. Eagle Shield is a rollercoaster ride full of action, memorable characters and more twists & turns than you'll ever imagine! The pace is fast and the action starts in the first chapter and doesn't slow down. Loved the dialogue and the Aussie setting, felt like I was right there with Scotty Blue, Canter and the mysterious and completely wonderful Angel. I won't include spoilers in this review, but all I can say is the story p ...more
Valerie
Sep 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I was absolutely delighted with this story. I thought the author did a marvelous job with character development and storyline. There was an intriguing amount of twists and turns throughout this book. The style of writing and how the story unfolded left the reader in constant suspense. It left me reading longer then I should have most of the time. The author does an amazing job transporting readers into the heart of the story and immersing them into the lives of the characters. Only true negative ...more
Doug Yonce
Dec 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Took me a bit of time to get into the story. The Australian terms and geography were all new. Military veteran Nathan Masters is charged with transporting a "gifted" young girl, Angel, across a large section of Australia, but they're being pursued by an alien culture and their recruits determined to make sure it doesn't happen. When Angel is captured, the action gets even more furious, with Nathan often take matters into his own hands. In this case it's all about the journeys... Nathan and Angel ...more
Trent
May 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I thought that this book was excellent, along with it's sister book "Project Amber". Well written, with twists and turns to keep you guessing and in suspense right up until the end. Carl Lakeland weaves the Aussie landscape into a suspenseful and action filled book, with an unlikely protagonist pair in the form of a young girl and a damaged ex-soldier.
If you like the way that Matthew Reilly writes, then you will love this book. There are many great Australian writers, and Carl Lakeland is showin
...more
Pat Eroh
Sep 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book grabbed me from the first word and kept me glued to the pages. There were a few areas where I would get lost in the military jargon (and I'm retired military) but the storyline was so impressive that it didn't matter. I was on the edge of my seat like a great movie that stays with you after finishing, making you want more stories about the characters. This is the first book I've read by this author but I am clearly a new fan and will be looking for more of his great works.

I received a
...more
Dominique Jeffries
I voluntarily read and reviewed this book.
I started to read this book and had a really hard time finishing it. I thought starting out that this book was a thriller but it seems more sci-fi then thriller. I do not enjoy science fiction so I tend to avoid. And that's why I did not enjoy this book as much as i could have.

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Tanya
Sep 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What he once was he had to forget. Now he had a new mission to bring up a ten year old and help her become what she is supposed to be. He needed to protect the disk and that is when everything went wrong. Follow them as he tries to put everything right

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Nathan Phillips
Jun 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Not my usual genre, but stoked I stepped out of my comfort zone for this book. Continuous action and a refreshing realistic protagonist (compared to the hyper competent or redemption stories) make for an exciting and enjoyable start to the series. Looking forward to Project Amber and subsequent releases in the series.
Brittania Dancer
Sep 26, 2018 rated it really liked it
A well written interesting storyline. Nathan is an ex-special forces who is tasked with moving an asset to a safe house. The characters had depth, were strong and reliable. The plot flows seamlessly and filled with action, drama and intrigue. I would recommend this book.

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Janet
Sep 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The intensity is something else. You could cut it with a knife. emotionally it is draining. This story is very good. I like it. A spy, who done it. It is definitely not what you would expect. I received a complimentary review copy of the book and I am voluntarily leaving a honest review.
Joy
Jul 19, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Not my usual genre, but what a great read.
Lisa
Aug 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Received an arc in exchange for an honest review. This book was awesome. Loved every page. Characters were well written and the plot was exciting. I definitely recommend this book.
Barb VanderWel
Nov 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I love this & I can't wait for more.
I will be also leaving a review on Goodreads @ Amazon.
And letting everyone know about it.
So i gave it a 5 Stars.
Ezhica Denira
Aug 19, 2018 rated it really liked it
I love the millitary books. One of my fave is Fighting redemption by Kate Mccharty.

Powerful, captivating and emotionally charged. I can almost guarantee that you'll cry while reading (probably several times) because the story is truly heart wrenching. I’m looking forward to read this book
Darcy Yarosh
rated it it was amazing
Sep 08, 2018
mary maddox
rated it liked it
Jul 31, 2018
Sue Plant
Sep 25, 2018 rated it really liked it
would like to thank netgalley and the publisher for letting me read this book

and what an adventure it was...i could imagine reacher being offered this job...but alas another was...this merc had to become a guardian of said victim and take care and guide through life until destiny calls...but what he doesnt know is what she is capable of...or how many would try to kidnap her away from him

some shady characters and baddies and a whole adventure plus some eagles made for an enjoyable read...and i lo
...more
Jennifer
rated it really liked it
Oct 09, 2018
Gerald Laboda
rated it really liked it
Sep 15, 2018
A_MOTUS
Next to impossible to put down. Chapter after chapter we got more question about who is Angel, who are Nathan and Canter, Shilo, Franco. Then Strange things happens and problems arise. Tension build and you NEED to turn the pages., you need to know.

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Bobbie Kirkland
Aug 30, 2018 rated it liked it
I received a free copy of Eagle Shield (Milestone Rising) by Carl Lakeland in exchange for an honest review. Nathan Masters with the Australian Secret Intelligence Service makes one despair for the future of the free world. ASIS has placed the future of the entire world in his hands, but Nathan cannot seem to prevent himself from making the most stupid mistakes. His first instinct, after all, is to get blind drunk shortly after the start of a multi-day road trip wherein he is the sole driver and ...more
« previous 1 next »
7 followers
Carl Lakeland lives on a property with his wife in the sleepy town of Snake Valley, 36 kilometres south west of Ballarat in Australia. Lakeland grew up during the early seventies, western suburbs of Sydney. Having enlisted into the military at the age of seventeen, he draws on his experience to create powerful and engaging speculative fiction.

“Sometimes, I can’t let things be,” says Lakeland. “I
...more