Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Debriefing the Dead (Book 1 of The Dead Series)” as Want to Read:
Debriefing the Dead (Book 1 of The Dead Series)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Debriefing the Dead

(The Dead Series #1)

by
4.34  ·  Rating details ·  32 ratings  ·  25 reviews
The only thing Hyacinth wants is her life back. Literally. She and her sister were murdered by Demons, leaving her young nephew, Geordi, to his father’s family in the brutal Sicilian Mob. Then Archangel Michael offers her a deal: recapture a powerful rock the Demons stole, and she can live long enough to find Geordi a safe home. Refuse, and she’ll continue up (or down) to ...more
ebook, Digital, 332 pages
Published May 7th 2018 by The Wild Rose Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Debriefing the Dead, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Debriefing the Dead

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.34  · 
Rating details
 ·  32 ratings  ·  25 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
N.N. Light
Hyacinth should’ve listened to her instincts when the two men offered her a boatload of money for her friend’s last excavation, currently taking up space in her storage locker. But with a sister and nephew on the run from the Sicilian Mob, she needs the money to get them away from her ex-brother-in-law, Nick. If only she listened…



She wouldn’t have died, she wouldn't begged to be reborn and she wouldn’t now be on the hunt for a humming rock of St. Michael’s. Yes, the archangel Michael. She grabs
...more
Christine Grabowski
Jun 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: paranormal
This was such a fun read. Within pages Hyancinth’s quirky, witty voice pulled me in and made me laugh. Hyancinth was not your typical protagonist. She lived a bit of a shady life as an antique dealer, working with even shadier characters, selling stolen items and sometimes robbing ancient graves herself. However, deep down she was a good person at heart and would do anything to protect her seven-year-old nephew from his mafia family. When she found herself dead, she worked out a deal with archan ...more
Sharon Buchbinder
Hyacinth is an art and antiquities dealer whose merchandise has dubious provenance. When her partner dies and leaves her a truckload of art, she examines the haul to see what is marketable--and a a rock sings to her. The rock, indistinguishable from any rock-garden variety rock, is such a siren she cannot resist touching it. And it knocks her off her feet and into a series of extraordinary events.

Add a sister who was literally married to the mob, a hot handsome neighbor, an equally hot and hands
...more
Romancing the Book
Reviewed by Robin
Book provided by Kerry Blaisdell
Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

For this debut author, she wrote a well written book that was I found very interesting, funny, fast paced and a little bit of quirkiness around the edges. Within the story there was a lot going on; with introductions of many different characters. Ms. Blaisdell threw at us everything from: Humans to ghosts…Demons and angels well archangels…ghosts and screaming/humming rocks. This made for an interestin
...more
Christine Grabowski
Mar 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This was such a fun read. Within pages Hyancinth’s quirky, witty voice pulled me in and made me laugh. Hyancinth was not your typical protagonist. She lived a bit of a shady life as an antique dealer, working with even shadier characters, selling stolen items and sometimes robbing ancient graves herself. However, deep down she was a good person at heart and would do anything to protect her seven-year-old nephew from his mafia family. When she found herself dead, she worked out a deal with archan ...more
Becky
Feb 17, 2019 rated it really liked it
I'm so happy to have found a new author! I spent much of last year catching up on my favorite authors, which felt disappointing after a while when the characters and plots became somewhat "stale." Debriefing the Dead's protagonist, Hyacinth, is smart, funny, and likable. She has some crazy stuff thrown at her but handles it all with style. She's not perfect but that makes her all the more real. The author's description of Turkey, both some history and present-day, make me want to go there! Also, ...more
Katy Kash
I was on edge the entire book and left hanging and begging for more at the end. I can't imagine what trouble Hyacinth could get into next and what awaits around every corner of her intertwining worlds!
Kerry Mawdsley
Oct 18, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Kept me entertained and reading into the wee hours. I laughed out loud...I really did. Fun read!
Jill James
Sep 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Loved this book. Hyacinth is a far from perfect heroine and that is what makes her so real, but quirky. The storyline is sublime and makes for a pageturner of a book. Can't wait to see what Hyacinth does next.
Chris
May 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: adult, fantasy
Full disclosure – the author is a friend of mine. That being said, I loved this book! Honestly, being written by a friend made it a little harder to start the book. I figured it would be good; she’s a great writer and one of the smartest people I know, but what if I didn’t like it? What would I say? No worries, there! Great characters, lots of humor, non-stop action and an intriguing plot kept the pages turning. There is just enough sizzle, too! I can’t wait for another book featuring Hyacinth a ...more
InD'tale Magazine
With so many twists, turns and secrets, this book is a fun, original, adventurous novel that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

Read full review in the 2018 July Aug issue of InD'tale Magazine.
Linda
Sep 04, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: would-recommend
This book is perfect for fans of Dean Koontz's "Odd Thomas" series, Jim Butcher's "The Dresden Files" series, and just about anything by Charlaine Harris. Well written, enjoyable characters, page turning drama, and a lovely dash of humor. Really looking forward to the next in the series!
JenReadsRomance
May 11, 2019 rated it did not like it
Shelves: dnf, pnr, ritas-2019
Our heroine is named Hyacinth. She's a fence for stolen artifacts in Marseilles. At the beginning of the story, 2 unsavory fellows have shown up and want a particular shipment and will pay her a lot of money for it. She agrees to sell a mystical rock bc she is trying to help her sister & nephew escape the sister's evil ex and his Sicilian mobster family. Hyacinth, her sister and the ex are killed by the bad guys, but she comes back as a ghost after making a deal with Archangel Michael to ret ...more
Katie O'Sullivan
Apr 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Debriefing the Dead is a first-person narrative adventure full of unexpected turns. Reading it felt like going on a rollercoaster ride through a pitch black tunnel... never knowing where it might go next. Reminiscent of a Dan Brown archeological mystery, yet with a paranormal otherworldly twist that forces you to suspend disbelief in order to follow along on the adventure.
This story takes "angels" and "demons" to a different level.

Our narrator is sort of an anti-hero, self aware enough to know
...more
Katherine Grey
Apr 22, 2019 rated it really liked it
I enjoyed Debriefing the Dead and would recommend it to anyone who likes a fun, quirky, paranormal story that doesn't take itself too seriously. The author delivers a story that is interesting and keeps the reader turning the pages eager to find out what's going to happen next. The only reason I didn't give the book 5 stars is because about half way through the book, I kept thinking if Jason and Hyacinth would just confide in each other, it would make things easier as they try to keep Hyacinth's ...more
Mary Brannian
Feb 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Debriefing The Dead... What a Ride!

Hyacinth Finch is a tomb raider turned fence; or she was, before she was murdered. Striking a deal with ArchAngel Michael, Hyacinth is allowed to return to Earth to get her nephew Geordie settled, and to retrieve a very special rock... But Hyacinth has plans of her own... And perhaps with the help of her neighbor Jason, and a newly dead cop Eric, she can outwit Michael....

Fast paced and intriguing, this book captured my attention and didn't let go! If you enjoy
...more
Nichole Evans
Mar 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
From the first chapter, Debriefing the Dead captured my interest. A fence in often stolen antiquities, the heroine, Hyacinth, gets pulled into a series of life and death situations, forcing her to make a bargain to protect her nephew, Geordie. What unfolds is a plot that is unexpected and fresh, told in a charming voice. Although not your typical romance, there was plenty of love and attraction, adventure, intrigue, and conflict between good and evil to keep me reading late into the night.

I rece
...more
Kathleen Buckley
This paranormal suspense novel is a great read. I don't ordinarily read many books in the paranormal genre, as I like fiction that's firmly rooted in real locations, with believable characters who have real-world problems, as well as supernatural ones. Debriefing the Dead meets those criteria. And I can't wait to see how Kerry Blaisdell works out the complicated romantic issues in her next novel.
Tanya
May 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
She is worried about her nephew but she is now dead and all she wants to do is save him. She is given a chance but only if she gets something from the demons. She does it but it is not going to be as easy as she thinks. Can she outwit them all and stay with her nephew? See if she can

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Kristi Cramer
I enjoyed this very much. Took a minute to really get invested, but once I got there, I found it a solid story with some good elements of suspense, mystery, a bit of romance with an intriguing love triangle. I will most likely sell out the rest of the series.
Denise Carbo
Apr 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A paranormal thriller with a little romance and mystery thrown in. Hyacinth’s morals may be lacking in certain areas but she has a strong sense of family loyalty and will do anything to save her nephew. It will be interesting to see where her story goes.
Kristin
Apr 20, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Good story, fast paced. Cardboard characters without real depth. Mostly skimmed after 60%
SD
rated it did not like it
Nov 07, 2018
Akkid
rated it it was amazing
Jun 21, 2018
Kerry Blaisdell
Oct 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Lexee Toste
rated it really liked it
Sep 16, 2018
Judy Meadows
rated it it was amazing
Oct 29, 2018
Barbara Young
rated it really liked it
Sep 01, 2018
Kaye Schmidt
rated it really liked it
Nov 12, 2018
Torimac
Apr 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
179 followers
Kerry Blaisdell is the award-winning author of The Dead Series, including DEBRIEFING THE DEAD (Book One)— 2019 HOLT Medallion double winner for Best Paranormal & Best First Book, Romance Writers of America RITA® finalist, Booksellers Best: Best First Book nominee, and Royal Palm Literary Award semifinalist—and WAKING THE DEAD (Book Two).

Born in British Columbia, Canada, she has since lived al
...more

Other books in the series

The Dead Series (2 books)
  • Waking the Dead (Book 2 of The Dead Series)