Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “It's Up to You, Abe Lincoln” as Want to Read:
It's Up to You, Abe Lincoln
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

It's Up to You, Abe Lincoln

by
4.18  ·  Rating details ·  11 ratings  ·  8 reviews
History gets hilarious in this interactive Abraham Lincoln biography that will have readers laughing while they learn. Perfect for readers of Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.

Abraham Lincoln was one of the greatest presidents of all time. But what did it take to rise from frontier poverty? To lead his country through the Civil War? To alter the course of history forever?

Fat
...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published December 4th 2018 by Crown Books for Young Readers
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about It's Up to You, Abe Lincoln, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about It's Up to You, Abe Lincoln

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-42
4.18  · 
Rating details
 ·  11 ratings  ·  8 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Cara
Apr 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
The authors have created a unique way to address complex topics in history and make them accessible for readers in grades 4-6. Each chapter poses a decision Abraham Lincoln had to make, and the ensuing text is written in the second person, as if the reader is making the decisions. Each chapter concludes with multiple choice options, explaining the paths that Lincoln could have taken and allowing the reader to choose one, and ends by describing The Reveal (Lincoln’s actual choice) and The Afterma ...more
Laura Gardner
Jan 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
⭐⭐⭐⭐💫/5 for IT’S UP TO YOU, ABE LINCOLN, the first in a series by the father-daughter pair.
.


This biography examines ten big decisions Abe Lincoln made in his life and argues that his choices are what made him such a fantastic president. Written in 2nd person, giving the reader the chance to be in Lincoln's shoes, each chapter ends with a question and four options for action -- which choice will you make? Then the book goes on to share Lincoln's decision and the aftermath.
.


The book comes ac
...more
Ms. Yingling
Nov 24, 2018 rated it liked it
Copy provided by the publisher

This is a great book for readers who want all the details about Abraham Lincoln presented in a humorous, fast-paced way. There are lots of sidebars and funny captions on pictures, and the facts Lincoln's life are presented and interpreted in a way that they are not in most standard biographies.

This was a bit odd to read, though, since it was written in the second person, reflecting the books interest in the decisions Lincoln made.
Mellye
Feb 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Fantastic interactive format! This biography is engaging, fun and the right amount of information to get an idea on who Abraham Lincoln was, on a personal, professional and political level. Looking forward to reading the rest of the series as it is released.
Lana
Dec 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Innovative and interactive! Such a fun and informative read.
Lana
Dec 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Learned so many new facts about Abe! The interactive format made the book a fun page-turner.
Great Books
Dec 18, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 19-ages-10-11
This entertaining biography of Abraham Lincoln highlights the importance of daily decisions. The humorous presentation and numerous illustrations encourage the reader in to participate in ten decisions that Abe made, what his options were, and the consequence of each on his way to changing American history. Reviewer #18
Hanna Morgan
rated it liked it
Mar 11, 2019
Casey Meidl
rated it really liked it
Feb 23, 2019
Amy Lafleur Meyers
rated it it was amazing
Jan 23, 2019
PWRL
Dec 20, 2018 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2018-new
SM
Sharon Purucker
rated it really liked it
Mar 12, 2019
Pam
marked it as to-read
Apr 08, 2018
Alice
marked it as to-read
Jul 12, 2018
Lupita
marked it as to-read
Sep 22, 2018
Karen
added it
Sep 24, 2018
Sara Dempster
marked it as to-read
Sep 27, 2018
Brian Jennings
is currently reading it
Oct 24, 2018
Kimberly
marked it as to-read
Nov 09, 2018
Lisa
added it
Dec 01, 2018
Tess
marked it as to-read
Dec 04, 2018
Sarah
added it
Dec 17, 2018
Cindy
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Cuse
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Lyne
added it
Dec 29, 2018
Karen Bessin
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2019
Susan
marked it as to-read
Jan 07, 2019
Abby
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2019
Christy
marked it as to-read
Jan 21, 2019
Lauren
marked it as to-read
Feb 06, 2019
Kelly
added it
Feb 08, 2019
Jamie
marked it as to-read
Feb 12, 2019
Carol
marked it as to-read
Feb 12, 2019
Laurie Platt
is currently reading it
Feb 23, 2019
Haley Shaffer
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2019
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Mar 04, 2019
Mary Foxe
marked it as to-read
Mar 09, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »