Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Kirsten Story Collection” as Want to Read:
Kirsten Story Collection
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Kirsten Story Collection

(American Girl: Kirsten #1-6)

4.03  ·  Rating details ·  5,499 ratings  ·  121 reviews
All six beloved Kirsten stories are bound in one keepsake volume. Set in 1854, each story reveals more of this brave girl who is making a home in a new land. The richly illustrated hardcover offers a glimpse into Kirsten's world. Inside, this book features even more full-color illustrations and words of inspiration that will delight girls who love Kirsten. ...more
Hardcover, 365 pages
Published September 1st 2008 by American Girl Publishing Inc (first published 1990)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Kirsten Story Collection, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Kirsten Story Collection

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.03  · 
Rating details
 ·  5,499 ratings  ·  121 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Kirsten Story Collection
Cori
Jul 14, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kiddie-books
Oh my gosh. I loved these books when I was little. I was actually in a Kirsten play. She's mah gurl. ...more
Emily
May 09, 2007 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
reasons why this book was awesome:
-for some reason as a child I had a thing for plots that involved deadly fevers.
-kirsten is a cool name.
-one room school houses
-swedes!
-santa lucia
-braid loops
Shirley
Jul 25, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
We listened to this set. I hadn't read the books before. I really liked the story! Great narrator. First book had some good descriptions of immigrating and of Minnesota that tied in well with our US geography class. ...more
Pamela
Dec 04, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Rereading the American Girl collection is the best. From Kirsten, one learns to have heart and be brave. Kirsten is an immigrant and a pioneer, so we get two viewpoints in her books. (I always loved Kirsten, especially because of my mother's Swedish background.) I continue to hope that the current generation will find and love these books as much as I do. ...more
DW
Sometimes adult literature is just depressing (most "serious" adult literature) or nauseatingly fluffy (chick lit) or immediately forgettable (action thrillers) or boring (poorly-written non-fiction). On the other hand, there is a fair amount of children's literature that is uplifting and, dare I say, wholesome. So sue me for perusing the children's section at the library after having a bad week.

I had probably read all of these books as a child, but I didn't remember most of them. I was struck b
...more
Rachel
Jun 25, 2009 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Kirsten's stories were the most "scary" to me, as she lived in a rational poverty, as an outsider to a fledging, wild nation, that I had never known. I cried at her best friend's death of cholera along the way to the midwest. I scorned strict Miss Winston, who had no feeling for Kirsten's struggles with a new home. I was thrilled that she befriended Singing Bird, and that we got to take a glimpse into native american culture as well. In adulthood, as I come closer to my own ethnicity and immigra ...more
Samantha Bartley
Jul 31, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2020, american-girl
Kirsten was my very first American Girl doll, and is still my absolute favorite. Her stories were so special to me when I was little, and getting the chance to reread them brought back special memories and a genuine love for the series that I nearly forgot I had.

Meet Kirsten
I remember getting this book while at the American Girl Store in Chicago when I was probably eight, and I read the entire book in the first hour of the drive home. I have always adored sweet and simple pioneer stories, and th
...more
Katie Young
Oct 18, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
There's so much to love about Kirsten, even when all her stories aren't collected into one pretty volume with gilded edges. I think my favorite of her books will always be Meet Kirsten. The dangers of immigration are so pronounced, but Kirsten is resourceful and excited about her new life. Kirsten Learns a lesson does brilliant work with second language acquisition, 19th century pedagogy, and some beautiful and progressive intercultural moments. There are tastes of Maryellen's scheming without f ...more
Leah
Oct 31, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
As with the other American Girl books, this was an engaging series about a pioneer girl growing up and learning life lessons on the frontier in the 1850s. Though not as in-depth as Little House, they offer a good overview of what life was like, and a unique perspective on an immigrant's experience. I noticed a difference in the writing quality, these being by a different author than most of the other American Girl books, but it was still decent. As always, I enjoyed the illustrations and "Lookin ...more
Molly Grimmius
Finished reading this series with Anne. I’m not sure how many times I read it... I know at least once with my mom and then a few times by myself as a girl. I absolutely believe that American Girl stories really put me down the path of living historical fiction. These are such a great stories... beautiful pictures, great stories, great length and great lessons! It was a delight to read with Anne.
Kate
Jan 18, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was a big fan of the American Girl books as a child but I had never read the entire series of Kirsten. As I child a I probably would have rated a 4, as an adult 2.5 so I settled on 3. Perfect for a young girl. Kirstens not one if my top Girl’s though- I remember loving Samantha, Molly, and Addy.
Kristen L
Oct 05, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: aj-books
My childhood self would have given this book a 4, but rereading (as an adult) to my child it's a solid 3. I'll probably end up rereading it again as she grows up and not dreading it but not excited about it either. ...more
Allison Bell
Apr 05, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
What can I say? I am a teacher and I like reading about life for kids with good, historical references.
Joy
Apr 18, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Read aloud with Emily, age 6
Jenna
Oct 06, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A fun story for children.
Amy Anderson
Nov 09, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
My daughter has loved reading these AG books to me over the past few years. These are great stories about pioneer life set in the 1850's. ...more
Laura Danielle
I loved reading this series in elementary school and I'm glad I decided to reread them. ...more
Stasia
Jan 18, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Maybe it's the long winter days that draw me towards reading about cozy homesteads and the resilient pioneers who carried through, even in the hardest of times. ...more
Ranette
Feb 16, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: family, kids
From the American Girls Dolls
Becca!
Mar 22, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
We loved listening to this audiobook series since it had the same vibe as the Little House books. On to Addy!
Liz
Jul 14, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I haven't read these books since I was a kid. I think I was ten when I got my Kirsten doll for Christmas. At the time, I was really into the 'Little House on the Prairie' books and I was really excited to get my doll.

Unfortunately, I actually had to return my doll soon after getting her when her eyelashes began to fall out. But I soon got a replacement and she became one of my fondest childhood toys. My sister and I would play with our dolls for hours (she had Samantha) making up new stories an
...more
Elizabeth
It was a bit of a let-down to go from the enjoyable Josefina books to Kirsten’s collection. Kirsten’s books deal with immigration (the first one), to learning how to speak English and dealing with Indian neighbors (the second one), to snippets of farm life (all the rest). And so, while the first two books are interesting, the last four are pretty boring. I’ve always described these first 6 American Girl collections as hardhitting at times, and though the first book deals with death by cholera, t ...more
Krista Rey
Apr 24, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I read Happy Birthday Kristen and I loved it. It is easy to read and has appropriate vocabulary for the 2-3 grades. The pictures are beautiful and it is a book that kids can relate too. This book is about a girl named Kristen whose family came to America from Sweeden. In this book, the family celebrates Kristen's birthday. The book starts out with her and her friends making a quilt together at school for their teacher. Kristen loves her friends and loves school. When her mom has a baby and gets ...more
Amanda Kay
Kirsten was one of the original American Girls and as such, was a vital piece of my childhood. I can remember lying in the backyard barefooted, feet up, pretending I was an awesome pioneer girl.

One of the most important points of the original American Girls was the use of realistic storylines. I still remember sobbing when Matra died, and feeling so horrible for Kirsten when her little racoon burned down the family home.

The original American Girls were strong, yet open to learning. They were ins
...more
Chelsea Gouin
How disappointing. Janet Beeler Shaw is at the wheel of Kirsten's stories, taking over the reins from Valerie Tripp. However, Shaw pushes the fast forward button on the already short stories, skipping over details and somehow making her characters void of any emotion. Kirsten is an immigrant from Sweden, her family wants to make a new home in America, out west to be precise. Vaguely brings up feelings of Little House as Kirsten learns English, picks honey, and burns down her log cabin. There is ...more
Lola
When I was a little girl, my brother's girlfriend gave me her old Kirsten doll. Unfortunately, I thought that you could hairspray their hair. You really shouldn't, and I tried to fix it by giving her an uneven bob. I always think of my mutilated Kirsten doll when I read these books. Like my doll, Kirsten and her family just keep on surviving whatever is thrown their way. The story of immigrants is the story of America, and I'm happy that American Girl chose to tell Kirsten family. It's also ref ...more
Rebecca Abrams
I read Kirsten's Surprise A Christmas Story
Reading level is upper elementary, 640L
It is Historical Fiction

This story was interesting but is limited in audience. I think girls will really enjoy this book. It is about one of the American Girl Dolls, Kirsten, telling the story of her life as a pioneer girl. Kirsten Larson and her family celebrate their first Christmas in America, but they try to keep their old traditions alive. Kirsten tries to celebrate as they would is Sweden telling of her stru
...more
Briana
Nov 18, 2007 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
There was a doll named Kirsten, one of 5 "American Girl" dolls at the time. She was all I wanted out of life for three years, until finally one glorious Christmas I got her, in her 1854 pioneer outfit, with the "Meet Kirsten" book about her new life in America (she was an immigrant from Sweeden). I have every accessory, book, outfit, and even furniture ever made for her. She was my obsession for a long, long time. The only doll I ever got into, as I was not really a doll girl, but I adored her. ...more
Maggie Wiggins
Some girls love horses, some love dolphins, and some love pioneers. I don't mean to be sexist, but the majority of these fans are girls, in my experience. For the reader who hasn't already discovered the American Girls series, this is a great gateway bus-set. Lightly historical and very relatable, it's a popular choice for second grade book reports in my area. Readalikes: Dear America Series, the American Sisters series by Laurie Lawlor (a very sweet and smart former instructor), and the Little ...more
Q_Jill Burke
I read "Kristen Learns a Lesson" of the American Girl book series. It takes place in 1854 and is about a girl named Kristen Larson and how she adapts to her new school. This book describes school life in the 1800's. It describes how schools had children of all ages in one classroom, how boys usually did not always attend school if there was work to do on the farm, and how a teacher often lived with the families of their students and had little to support learning such as paper, maps, or blackboa ...more
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Felicity: An American Girl (The American Girls Collection)
  • Samantha's Boxed Set (The American Girls Collection/Boxed Set)
  • Addy: An American Girl (Boxed Set) (American Girls Collection)
  • Molly: An American Girl : 1944 (The American Girls Collection)
  • Kit: An American Girl (American Girls Collection)
  • Josefina: An American Girl (The American Girls Collection)
  • Julie: An American Girl (American Girls: Julie, #1-6)
  • Little House on the Prairie (Little House, #3)
  • Felicity: An American Girl : Meet Felicity/Felicity Learns a Lesson/Felicity's Surprise/Happy Birthday, Felicity!/Felicity Saves the Day/Changes for
  • Rebecca: An American Girl (Rebecca #1-6)
  • Meet Samantha: An American Girl (American Girl: Samantha, #1)
  • Meet Caroline (American Girls: Caroline, #1)
  • Nellie's Promise (American Girls: Samantha, #7)
  • Addy Story Collection
  • Meet Cécile (American Girls: Marie-Grace and Cécile, #2)
  • Meet Marie-Grace (American Girls: Marie-Grace and Cécile, #1)
See similar books…

Other books in the series

American Girl: Kirsten (6 books)
  • Meet Kirsten: An American Girl (American Girls: Kirsten, #1)
  • Kirsten Learns a Lesson: A School Story (American Girls: Kirsten, #2)
  • Kirsten's Surprise: A Christmas Story (American Girls: Kirsten, #3)
  • Happy Birthday, Kirsten: A Springtime Story (American Girls: Kirsten, #4)
  • Kirsten Saves the Day: A Summer Story (American Girls: Kirsten, #5)
  • Changes for Kirsten: A Winter Story (American Girls: Kirsten, #6)

Related Articles

  Tami Charles is a former teacher and the author of picture books, middle grade and young adult novels, and nonfiction. As a teacher, she made...
44 likes · 65 comments