Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Bright and the Pale (The Bright & the Pale Duology, #1)” as Want to Read:
The Bright and the Pale (The Bright & the Pale Duology, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Bright and the Pale

(The Bright & the Pale Duology #1)

by
4.20  ·  Rating details ·  44 ratings  ·  23 reviews
Seventeen-year-old Valeria is one of the only survivors of the freeze, a dark magical hold Knnot Mountain unleashed over her village. Everyone, including her family, is trapped in an unbreakable sheet of ice. Ever since, she’s been on the run from the Czar, who is determined to imprison any who managed to escape. Valeria finds refuge with the Thieves Guild, doing odd jobs ...more
Kindle Edition, 368 pages
Expected publication: March 2nd 2021 by Quill Tree Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Bright and the Pale, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Jessica Rubinkowski Hi! Thank you so much for your question. It is a duology, the second book set to come out in March of 2022!

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.20  · 
Rating details
 ·  44 ratings  ·  23 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Bright and the Pale (The Bright & the Pale Duology, #1)
Cindy ✩☽♔
Apr 19, 2018 marked it as to-read
A YA fantasy debut pitched as The Bear and the Nightingale meets Shadow and Bone.
Hmm...could be good, could be a disaster. Guess we'll have to wait and see lol
Becca
Jan 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
My. God. THIS FUCKING BOOK. I’m reading an early version and holy. Shit. 😭😭😭 THE ENDING BROKE ME AND I SHALL NOT RECOVERRR
Fanna
Jul 24, 2019 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2021-releases
June 19, 2020: After eyeing this fantasy for almost a year, the cover has just been revealed and I'm SO MUCH MORE EXCITED because truth is: blue book covers are underrated, and this one is so good.

July 24, 2019: Russian folkore?? Do I see Shadow & Bone as a comp title?? b l e s s e d
...more
Candace Robinson
Sep 18, 2020 is currently reading it
ARC received via publisher!
Jessica Rubinkowski
Apr 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
I’m giving this a five stars because, well, it’s my book. I hope everyone enjoys it!
Frank-Intergalactic Bookdragon
"The Bear and the Nightingale meets Shadow and Bone"
#RUSSIANINTENSIFIES
-----
YES!!!! I AM THE FIRST TO WRITE A PRE REVIEW FOR THIS!!!!!! BWAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!
...more
Tabi⁷ (ᕗツ)ᕗ
My darling The Bear and the Nightingale along with one of my fav worlds of the Grishaverse??

yes . . . so much yes
...more
Prerna Pickett
Feb 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I had the pleasure of reading Jessica Rubinkowski's debut The Bright and the Pale and you guys are not ready for this chilling, fantastical debut. I read a lot of YA fantasy and the thing that really stood out to me was how well Rubinkowski blended so many elements so perfectly into one novel. From the unique mythology of the world, the heist aspect, some creepy/ horror moments, and a bit of romance thrown in there for good measure. I found my heart pounding and face leaning in closer to the com ...more
Rachel 007
Aug 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: beta-read, netgalley
If you think this is just another Leigh Bardugo -like book, well lemme just say NOPE and.........the ending is so dang good. I NEED BOOK 2. Where is it, Jessica, and why isn't it in my inbox??

Okay, real review time:
This novel, which is best read with a hot cup of tea/hot chocolate/coffee in the winter time curled up in a blanket, will appeal to fans of Leigh Bardugo, Katherine Arden, and Naomi Novik, but for teens. I loved the setting that Jessica envelopes us in and could really feel the cold.
...more
Namera [The Literary Invertebrate]
description

Why are we all such whores for Russian folklore

[Blog] - [Twitter]

 photo c l i m b C2A0e v e r y C2A0m o u n t a i n 2_zpsykn9gbgr.png
...more
ℓуηη, ℓσкιѕℓутнєя¢ℓαω
You had me at "Russian folklore" <3 <3 <3 ...more
Brandi Aga
Sep 10, 2020 rated it really liked it
”Something is coming for us...”

Wowowwow.

I’m not going to lie, I had my doubts! Don’t get me wrong, it starts off strong here but I’ve been in a major book funk so I almost quit. *gasps* how could I?!

There was a point where I sat down to read and I turned the page and it just got so so good. Jessica is a VERY talented writer. Beautifully poetic. I could literally feel the cold of the mountains and the ice.

So fast forward to the middle where we get to the GOOD good stuff, and OMG. I was legit
...more
Adrielle Eispu
Sep 01, 2020 marked it as to-read
Shelves: arc-2021
ARC provided by the publisher through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Edelweiss.
Noelle
Sep 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Thank you to NetGalley and Quill Tree Books for the advanced copy! A captivating debut with so many intricate details that formed together to complete this riveting novel. It was a fast-paced story that kept me on the edge of my seat throughout, I CANNOT WAIT FOR BOOK TWO. I admired the blend of different genres (mystery, romance mythology) that weaved perfectly together. A solid read for a cold winter night with the beautiful atmospheric imagery. I recommend for all teen and tween fantasy reade ...more
Lyndall Clipstone
Aug 06, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This book is a beautifully atmospheric, wintery adventure that's perfect to read on a cold night, curled up beside the fireplace. I loved following fierce, loyal Valeria into the depths of the mountain beside her cursed village. Between the increasingly dire stakes and the deliciously swoon-worthy slow burn romance, I was captivated.

Samm | Sassenach the Book Wizard
...A YA fantasy debut pitched as The Bear and the Nightingale meets Shadow and Bone...
Me: say what now?! Combining two of my favourite series?!
...Inspired by Russian folklore...
Me: faints
Lauren Neve
Sep 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
The Bright and the Pale



Read the review on the blog!
Add the book on Goodreads!
Follow the author on Twitter!
Pre-order on Amazon!


Two warring brother gods rule over the world of Strana in Jessica Rubinkowski’s dynamic debut novel The Bright & the Pale. The Bright God is thought to bring light and warmth to the world where his brother, The Pale God, feeds on suffering. The gods have once again awakened and their champions, imbued with the powers of their patron god, wil
...more
Jocelyn Wimmer
Sep 13, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Beautifully written, highly atmospheric debut novel.

I really enjoyed this genre bending novel. The Bright and the Pale is part fantasy, part horror, and part thriller. It ticked all the boxes for me. The winter ambiance of the book was pronounced, and it was perfect for curling up with a warm cup of tea and a pine scented candle.

The author leads us through many twists and turns throughout the book. Everything is fast paced and interesting. I had a really hard time putting it down and finished
...more
Morgan
Aug 28, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Alanna (The Flashlight Reader)
This is a strong debut from Rubinkowski and I think the sequel will be even stronger.

Valeria is a sympathetic character whose last years as an orphan have turned her into a vigilante thief. Mourning the loss of her best friend, Alik, she clings to what family she has left- the Guild and Luiza.

While I enjoyed the story, the pacing seemed a bit slow at times and the elements of the plot that lead our character to her greatest discovery tend to get a bit murky. I would liken this to a more tame B
...more
Evie
3.5/5 stars - To Be Released in March 2021.
Thank you NetGalley and HarperCollins for the opportunity to read and review this ARC.

The Bright and the Pale spins a tale of a frozen village, a vicious czar, dueling gods, and a girl caught in the webs of all three. There is a ton of deception and you will never know who to fully trust until the end. This book had some moments - the biggest being the ending. Do I wish there were more creepy crawly-ness like there was in the second half? Absolutely. Do
...more
Riley
Aug 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Saw someone was being rude to you, so here is the 5-star review you deserve. Congratulations on the end of your 12 year journey in writing, editing and publishing this book. Can’t wait to read it and give it 5-stars again!
Annie
Jul 21, 2019 marked it as to-read
“The Bear and the Nightingale meets Shadow and Bone.”

I’m hopeful.
Lee
rated it it was amazing
Oct 21, 2019
Grace Li
rated it it was amazing
Jan 27, 2019
Melissa
rated it liked it
Aug 06, 2020
Nadia
rated it really liked it
Jul 16, 2020
Mark
rated it it was amazing
Sep 01, 2020
Gileanndrais
rated it it was amazing
Sep 06, 2019
Shama
rated it it was amazing
Jul 04, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Kingdom of the Wicked (Kingdom of the Wicked, #1)
  • Among the Beasts & Briars
  • Pride and Premeditation
  • Lost in the Never Woods
  • What Big Teeth
  • Legendborn (Legendborn, #1)
  • Here To Stay
  • The Fever King (Feverwake, #1)
  • Before the Broken Star (The Evermore Chronicles #1)
  • The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
  • The Ravens (The Ravens, #1)
  • Namesake (Fable, #2)
  • Kisses and Croissants
  • The Hollow Inside
  • The King's Questioner
  • The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan
  • Unchosen
  • Bone Crier's Moon (Bone Grace, #1)
See similar books…
Jessica Rubinkowski grew up in the fields of Illinois beside a haunted house. A fan of never sitting still, she picked up Scottish dancing, horseback riding, and general herb lore. Now, when not creating fantastical words to throw her characters into, she can be found baking or gardening. She lives in Central Illinois with her family and far too many pets to keep track of.

Related Articles

As serious bookworms know, autumn reading is particularly rewarding. The days get shorter, the air gets cooler, and curling up with a...
429 likes · 192 comments