Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “La bambina che custodiva i libri” as Want to Read:
La bambina che custodiva i libri
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

La bambina che custodiva i libri

by
3.64  ·  Rating details ·  471 ratings  ·  116 reviews
Martha è per tutti la bambina della valigia. Da Parigi, è arrivata a Liverpool tutta sola, senza una madre e un padre a tenerla per mano e in una culla un po speciale: una calda e morbida valigia. Da allora, non ha più lasciato laffollata stazione e ne ha fatto il suo regno personale. Qui raccoglie tutti i libri che i viaggiatori distratti si dimenticano o abbandonano di ...more
Hardcover, Narratori Moderni, 256 pages
Published April 12th 2018 by Garzanti (first published March 10th 2016)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about La bambina che custodiva i libri, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Gemma
This answer contains spoilers… (view spoiler)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.64  · 
Rating details
 ·  471 ratings  ·  116 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of La bambina che custodiva i libri
Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede
I have to admit that the cover is one of the reasons that I was drawn to the book and of course the description of the book about a young girl that grows up in a train station after being abandoned in a suitcase. 16-year-old Martha has been raised by an over religious "mother", and she is told she can't leave the train station because it would collapse if she did that. But, when her mother dies everything changes and she needs to find her birth mother to be able to run the lost property place in ...more
Jules
Feb 17, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
The Finding of Martha Lost is a coming of age tale about a sweet, innocent and caring teenage girl who was found in the station as a baby, left in the lost property office, but was never claimed. Martha grew up in the train station, living with the woman she was brought up to call Mother, and helping to run the lost property office. She never dared to leave the station, as Mother told her it would crumble if she did, so she would not step outside the station for fear of destroying the only home ...more
Bianca
What a sweet novel.

Im fascinated by our ability to suspend our disbelief for some stories but not for others. Even though I could see the puppet strings, I still enjoyed this novel very much. Even though there were things that I thought were a bit too cutesy, too convenient, and, at times, unlikely, I still got immersed into the story.

The majority of the plot takes place in 1976 Lime Street Train Station in Liverpool, United Kingdom. I must confess that I am extremely fond of railway stations
...more
Cora Tea Party Princess
5 Words: Lost, family, love, truth, loss.

This book was full of wonder and whimsy, and I found it only too easy to suspend disbelief and plunge head first into Martha'a magical world.

Martha is a bit of a weird one, but from her story it's easy to see why. She has a bit of an old soul, a way of looking at the world that goes past the surface. At times she seems so worldly. Then something happens and you remember that she isn't, she's just this scared little girl who has never even left Lime Street
...more
Evelina | AvalinahsBooks
We need to talk about how I found myself feeling about The Finding of Martha Lost.

Cause I for sure am not lost about how I feel about this book.

You could say I am finding myself with quite a strong opinion.

Enough of the puns! Let's talk straight here.

This book had me hyped up about it ever since I got approved for it on NetGalley. It offered a wonderful premise: Martha was found in an abandoned suitcase in a train station, grew up there, and needs to find out who she is, as time is
...more
Anne
Nov 05, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
There can't be many writers who can turn an ordinary train station in the centre of a busy city into a magical world of wonder and discovery, but Caroline Wallace has done just that. The Finding of Martha Lost is a book that I have looked forward for many many months. I heard the author read from it at the Transworld event last year and was transfixed, my gasp, as she finished her reading was heard all over the room .... This story is beautifully told and that gasp was certainly not my last.

...more
Joanna Park
May 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley, blog-tours
Martha Lost is lost. Supposedly abandoned on a train from Paris as a baby she was taken in by a lady she calls 'mother'. A very strict, almost cruel lady she controls Martha and makes her life miserable. When tragedy strikes, and facing eviction, Martha sets off to find out who she is. Helped by the enigmatic Elizabeth, her new friends and an anonymous person who communicates via a poster, Martha must discover her real identity before she loses everything she's ever known.

The Finding of Martha
...more
Book Addict Shaun
A little over a week ago I shared a review for one of my Books of the Year so far, In Her Wake. I spent probably more time than was needed deciding what to read next after finishing it because of the effect that book had on me. I picked up The Finding of Martha Lost because of an intriguing blurb, and because I know Lime Street Station. What I wasn't expecting was to come across a book that, whilst somewhat different to In Her Wake, has had a similar effect on me. It is a story I'll never ...more
Emma
Dec 31, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
We meet Martha a sixteen year old and supposedly Audrey Hepburn lookalike, who works at the lost property office at Lime Street station in Liverpool along with 'Mother'. Not actually her birth mother though as that's a mystery to Martha who has been lost since she was a baby. From the beginning she comes across as a happy, hardworking, and thoughtful young girl who at times is a little naive perhaps due to not having much of a childhood, what with working in the lost property office with little ...more
Katherine Sunderland
I'm afraid I was a bit of a bibliomaniac book stalker about this title! The world of book lovers are very excited about "The Finding of Martha Lost," but what really intrigued me was the way all the reviewers and bloggers confessed that they had found it impossible to review this Young Adult novel; they had all struggled to formulate their responses and define the impact it had made on them. Of course, they all actually wrote exceptionally eloquently and competently about it - far better than I ...more
Sandra Foy
Jul 19, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Martha lives in Lime Street Station, Liverpool. She is 16 years old and has never left the station. She was left at the lost property office as a baby and sat there for 90 days waiting to be claimed. When no-one came forward, in stepped Mother, an emotionally abusive woman who brought Martha up to believe she was the devil incarnate and that if she should ever try to walk out of the station it will crumble behind her.

Martha knows nothing of her identity, but when the authorities become aware of
...more
Aoife
Sep 14, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
3.75 stars

Martha Lost was left in the lost property office in Lime Street Station in Liverpool when she was a baby and 16 years later, shes still there. Now Martha is on the hunt to find out who she is and where she came from while also helping other lost things find their home, including an old suitcase full of Beatles memorabilia.

This was a whimsical, fun read with a touch of magical realism about an innocent 16 year old discovering the world is more than just the lost property office. I
...more
Rebecca Bradley
Jul 26, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I adored this book.

Martha Lost is 16 years old and has never stepped foot outside Lime Steet Station. Shes a foundling. A phrase Id never heard, meaning someone who has been abandoned and found by someone at birth. She believes that if she steps foot outside of Lime Street Station it will collapse in on itself.

Her world is extremely narrow and yet she is a beautiful soul.

Wallace has done an absolutely magnificent job of creating Martha and her world without making it feel twee. You want to read
...more
Angrboda
Sep 04, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I can't remember what drew me to get this audiobook, because I'm generally way less picky about audiobooks than I am about books that I read myself. Audiobooks, for me, is a much better medium for stepping out of my normal comfort zone and reading patterns. On the other hand, if I get an audiobook (I use Audible) it often takes me a very long time to actually get to listening to it, and sometimes, even though I'm enjoying the story, it can take me a very long time to finish them once I start. So ...more
Kate (beautifulbookland)
This was a sweet book. Strange, a little silly, dragging in parts, but sweet.

Martha Lost believes she is the liver bird of Lime Street Station in Liverpool, meaning that the station would crumble if Martha was to leave it. She lives with Mother, a zealot who is abusive to Martha, and does not welcome questions. She tells Martha that she was found on a train from Paris, and sat in the window of the Lost and Found Office for 90 days; after being unclaimed, Mother keeps Martha for herself. Martha
...more
reading_mona
Dec 02, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Oh what a lovely story it was. I loved the quirky characters each one of them so weird and special in their own way. I didnt care too much for this whole Beatles part of the story but it sure was an interesting twist to read in the end that parts of that at least is true.
Mostly i loved the stories to each character, so in the end this book comes with more than just one story to tell. A lovely, charming read i would recommend anytime!
Shelly
Mar 12, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
3.5 stars. An interesting story with a cast of unique characters...and a little magic.
Joy  Finlayson
Aug 19, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Martha Lost has spent her whole life in Liverpools Lime Street Train Station. As a baby, she was left at the lost property office, kept on the office shelf for the obligatory 90 days, and, after not being claimed, kept in the possession of Mother, a deeply religious and abusive woman. Mothers power came in telling Martha that, if she left Lime Street, the station would be destroyed, so Martha stayed put and manned the lost property office, developing her skills as a finder of things.

Marthas
...more
Zarina
Jul 30, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
The Finding of Martha Lost was on my to-read list for a while, I loved the sound of a girl being found and brought up at a lost and found office in a station, the premise seeming both quirky and magical, a la Hugo. However, while there were some fantastical elements to the story, and a fascinating array of characters surrounding Martha, the actual story didn't capture my attention like I hoped it would.

Rather than being magical and charming, it was often unexpectedly harsh and the whole
...more
Victoria Goldman
The Finding of Martha Lost is sweet, quirky and charming, with magic and wonder flowing through every page, as 16-year-old Martha embarks on a search for her birth mother and her true identity.

Martha is a delightful character, naive in some ways and worldly beyond her years in others. I loved the way her story is weaved together with the underlying Beatles theme. The other colourful characters' personalities also shine out of the page and really bring the book to life.

The Finding of Martha Lost
...more
Janelle
Sigh. I think I must be the "did not finish" queen. Either I'm super fussy, or I don't know how to choose books.
I liked the premise of this book, and had high hopes for it, but certain elements of the story let me down.
The story is told in first person present tense, and while this may work for text, it made the story difficult to follow when listening to an audiobook. I found it difficult to judge when Martha was thinking versus talking and to follow the sequence of events. I also found it
...more
Claire Watson
Feb 09, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I'd heard a number of things about this book on social media so was I was please when my NetGalley request was accepted.

I started this book on a 2 hour train journey this morning and finished it tonight. This is a beautiful and charming story that sucks you in from the first page. It follows the story of Martha Lost a sixteen year old in the 1970s who works in the list property office at Lime Street Station in Liverpool and realises that she isn't who she was led to believe. This book follows
...more
Narfy
Jul 23, 2016 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
I'm sorry, but I can't see how this book has received so many 5 star reviews. Martha is a cartoon character/deeply mentally ill character who is humoured by all around her instead of offered genuine help.

The whole Mal Evans ashes plotline seemed misplaced. It feels like it was oddly inserted in due to the novel being set in Liverpool and, since the Beatles were the most famous Liverpudlians, of course they have to have a place in the story!

And as for the "happy ending"...didn't anyone else find
...more
Cathy Beyers
Lemon drizzle cake and Liverpool are two of the more enjoyable parts of this book. It's well written, the atmosphere is quirky, but the storyline is at the same time predictable and not very believable. Martha herself is excessively naive and the other characters are a bit like characters from a fairy tale. The "Mal Evans and the Beatles" plot is interesting and contributes a lot to the book and throughout the story you find out quite a bit about Liverpool's best known heroes. It reads easily ...more
J V DEEKER-HARRIS
Mar 18, 2017 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
A strange tale

This was a book club book and I found a strange tale. Frustrating as it was not feasible. I tried to enter a world of make believe as it was not possible in any way shape or form but even this was hard to do. A sixteen year o!d girl who had lived all her life in the station as she believed it would fall down if she left it and who spent a lot of her time spinning across a busy station frequently would cause interest from the station management. She had not had any education only
...more
DebsD
Should have paid attention to the combination of YA and Magical Realism tags.

Too much whimsy. Too quirky. Too many coincidences. Too self-referential. Too much telling-instead-of-showing. Too much that didn't make sense and/or just wasn't credible. Martha isn't just naive, she's...simple. As in, her understanding appears to be at the level of a six-year-old - and that doesn't fit with the plot, or the twists, or the resolution.

Not terrible, but definitely disappointing. The kind of thing I might
...more
Silma Parker
The story is written in a very charming, sweet way. The character Martha is lovely, but very naive and whimsical. I struggled with the pace and plot, got bored and skipped to the part that reveals who the mother is. The story does seem to get much darker as the book progresses, peeling back layers of abuse, but I wasn't interested enough to read through it all.
Penelope
Nov 25, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction
A quirky coming of age story filled with touches of magic and the most delightfully eccentric cast of characters. Finding Martha Lost is a heart warming tale of losing things, people and yourself and the joy to be had in finding them again, often in the places you least expect.
Beverley
Feb 19, 2016 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I was intrigued by the concept of this quirky coming of age story. I love plots that 'think outside the box' but unfortunately this one was way too surreal and unbelievable for my liking and I struggled to finish it - my interest having waned well before the end.
Cat {Wild Night In}
I was really blummin' enjoying this until the utterly unnecessary (view spoiler).

Why why why do authors feel that they need to throw in sexual violence as a way of illustrating a character is bad?
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Unlikely Heroics of Sam Holloway
  • The Tattoo Thief (The Tattoo Thief, #1)
  • The Telephone Box Library
  • The Beautiful Dead
  • How to Be a Normal Person (How to Be, #1)
  • Things in Jars
  • The Grandmother (Babička)
  • Late Migrations: A Natural History of Love and Loss
  • 100 Things You Will Never Find
  • 100 Places You Will Never Visit
  • Beneath the Ashes (The Calderwood Cases, #2)
  • Lentevuur
  • Amnesty
  • Een voltooid leven
  • Lowcountry Bombshell (A Liz Talbot Mystery, #2)
  • Assassination at Bayou Sauvage
  • Our Tiny, Useless Hearts
  • Troll Mountain
See similar books…

Related Articles

In 2017, Vanessa Wye is confronted by a woman she does not know, asking Vanessa to join her in coming forward with allegations of inappropriate sex...
117 likes · 21 comments