Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Preordained” as Want to Read:
Preordained
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Preordained

by
3.48  ·  Rating details ·  21 ratings  ·  16 reviews
Preordained is a supernatural mystery thriller about a cop in Murrell’s Inlet, SC who’s seeking to solve a serial murder case that has biblical undertones.

Operating under his self-appointed moniker, the Star of David Killer taunts lead detective Art Somers, the Georgetown County Sherriff’s Office, and the FBI, who are all attempting to solve the serial case. In the killer’
...more
Paperback, 385 pages
Published April 13th 2018 by David L Wallace
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Preordained, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Preordained

Community Reviews

Showing 1-51
Average rating 3.48  · 
Rating details
 ·  21 ratings  ·  16 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Preordained
marilyn
Apr 10, 2018 rated it really liked it
The description of the book says it's "in the vein of Seven & The Devil’s Advocate" but I hadn't read those books or seen those movies so I was going into the book blinder than I expected. I did expect the supernatural and got that in spades. Art Sommers, is a detective, chasing down a serial killer who is kidnapping and killing 12 year old boys and finally his 12 year old son is kidnapped. Be prepared for a wild ride, trusting nobody, suspending belief, and descending into paranormal events bec ...more
BookNerdsBrainDump
Apr 10, 2018 rated it did not like it
Short Take: Readers are stupid, and editors are for sissies.


Man, y’all, I wanted to love this SO MUCH. There are valid comparisons to some of my favorite things, like Devil’s Advocate, and Seven, and after reading it, I can even see some echoes of Angel Heart (am I the only one who still remembers and loves that one? Anyway…).

But in the end, the author took the seeds of a fantastic story and suffocated them in layer after layer of fertilizer (if you know what I mean). The basic premise of the s
...more
Wall-to-wall books - wendy
Jun 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Wow, this book got really mixed reviews so far. But I loved it! I just thought it was a fun, entertaining, and exciting read. I liked the characters, Art and Angela were a good mix and they were believable enough for me.

I got to a certain point in the story and just wanted to keep reading to find out what was going to happen. It was a page turner that's for sure. I loved the supernatural parts of the story. This does have a strong evil element to it. I loved how the author tied it to the Bible
...more
Anie
Apr 14, 2018 rated it liked it
Preordained is a mystery novel with supernatural twist to it. There is a serial killer, gruesomely killing 12 year old boys.

I love the mystery of it, slowly uncovering what was going on and all the pieces slowly fitting together, it kept me reading all night long. :) Best part was the supernatural aspect of it. I loved the way it was woven into the story. What I didn't like was the romance, especially his fiance, she was just... something else. :)
Kathleen
Jun 28, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
In Preordained, author David L. Wallace weaves a riveting paranormal/supernatural crime mystery tale that follows Georgetown County S.C. Sheriff's Office Detective Art Somers as he investigates and tracks down a serial killer called the Star of David Killer, who has been kidnapping and murdering twelve-year-old boys throughout the county.

Author David L. Wallace provides a complex and multi-layered storyline that interweaves a gritty crime murder mystery with a supernatural/paranormal twist and b
...more
Michelle Willms
May 28, 2018 rated it did not like it
I had high hopes for this book when I began reading. I love mysteries combined with supernatural elements. However, this book was a huge disappointment. The author didn’t appear to do even basic research (or even have common knowledge) about employment practices of law enforcement (or any other) agencies. His investigator was dating his partner, which would never be allowed. This partner also engaged in several inappropriate, illegal behaviors, and the investigator continued to date her, despite ...more
Paula
May 04, 2018 rated it it was ok
Such High Hopes
Living just an hour and a half from the small town of Murrell's Inlet, S.C., I was excited to read Preordained by David L Wallace. This story that takes place just outside my back door is about a serial killer, who tortures and kills 12-year-old boys, and is targeting the son of the detective who is tracking him. A storyline, with much promise. If only greater attention had been paid to detail and editing, this could have been a great book to read. Trying not to be a spoiler, but
...more
Jessica Bronder
Jun 25, 2018 rated it liked it
Art Somers is the sheriff in Murrell’s Inlet, SC that has his hands full with a serial killer that calls himself the Star of David. The killer targets 12 year-old boys and believes that his father has preordained the abductions and murders and is fulfilling a prophecy. Art himself has a 12 year-old boy and worries that he may be a target. There is way more than just a serial killer in the works. This is going to be a battle between good and evil.

Art doesn’t really believe in the local religious
...more
Julie Baswell
May 05, 2018 rated it liked it
Someone is killing young 12 year old boys in Georgetown County, South Carolina. Detective Art Sommers’ son Ben could be next, so Art is taking precautions to protect him. This serial killer is meticulous with his crime scenes. With no evidence, there’s no trail to follow. The FBI is no help either. Art seems to find more leads than they do. When Art starts having visions of unexplainable events, he wonders if he is going crazy. He never believed in the superstitious mumbo jumbo that so many in t ...more
Jennifer Shanahan
May 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arc-giveaways
I really liked this book! I normally don't read anything paranormal, but the description intrigued me and I'm glad i read it. This book actually reminded me of The Stand by Stephen King, which is one of my favorite books ever. Art, the main character is a divorced dad & detective looking for a serial killer of 12 year old boys, and he has a 12 year old son as well. He keeps having these visions and losing time and he is not sure how they connect to his investigation or his real life. As he slowl ...more
Karen
Jun 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing
12-year-old boys are being abducted by the “star of David” killer. Det. Art Somers is on the case to catch this demented individual but in the course of investigating the case new information that ties back to a tragic event in his past comes to light and affects his future and that of his son. Preordained is a taut suspense thriller with biblical overtones. You’ll be on the edge of your seat as you read this as I was! I recommend Preordained to anyone who loves a good thriller. 5 stars for fant ...more
Joell
Apr 21, 2018 rated it really liked it
Carefully cunning plots, twisted but tasty in delivery. I loved the unpredictability and the fact that it was intense with suspense. Preordained beautifully presents an otherworldly experience with a seamless delivery.
A Lovely literary work with every ingredient delicately in its right proportions and places. I really enjoyed it.
Veselina
Oct 22, 2018 rated it really liked it
Thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for the opportunity to read this book!
How to describe it- different, unexpected, engaging.
The story starts as an ordinary crime novel for a serial killer. We have the detectives, the FBI and the personal involvement but this is just about it that is typical for it. I promise you it will keep you on your toes most of the time. Give it a go
SA
Apr 18, 2018 rated it did not like it
I received an Advance Reader Copy from NetGalley and Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA), Members' Titles in exchange for an honest review.

Did not finish at 21%
I stuck with this book that long to give it a chance.
Kim
Apr 21, 2018 rated it it was amazing
An intriguing blend of perfect paradoxes with an amazing plot. Gentle but wildly scintillating.
Visually well-articulated in words carefully chosen to provoke the imagination, and exquisite in execution. Keeps you uneasy with suspense and its unpredictability.
dixie l beckert
Apr 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The best book I’ve read in years could not put it down totally unpredictable edge of my seat suspense I’ve recommended this to numerous friends and they all agree just WOW
Melissa Cheresnick
rated it really liked it
Jul 09, 2018
Mindy Detweiler
rated it liked it
Jun 09, 2018
Lisa Garrett
rated it really liked it
Jul 16, 2018
Carol
rated it it was amazing
Feb 13, 2019
Burke Burke
rated it it was ok
Sep 28, 2018
David Wallace
Mar 06, 2018 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Lynn Demsky
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Valerie Padilla
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Kim Friant
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Joy
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Ann Ellis
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Kathy Heare Watts
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Douglass Abramson
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Kim Ellis
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Melissa ahmed
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Sonya
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Joyce
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Charlotte Adams
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Gloria
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
F
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Amy
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Vincent
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Andra
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Kayleigh O'lynn
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Sandra Beck
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Kathy
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
M.L.
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Mary A.
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Haley
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Deborah
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Terri Bond
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Sharon
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
34 followers
Before publishing my debut novel, I served over 27 years as an information technology professional working initially for the US Navy, and then the Department of the Navy and various fortune companies. I'm a UCLA Writing Program alumnus, who writes mystery thrillers and children stories. After years of crafting and fine-tuning my story telling ability, 2016 is the year of the launch of my debut nov ...more

News & Interviews

You might know comedian Colin Jost from his work as the co-anchor of Saturday Night Live’s Weekend Update, or perhaps you know him as Scarlett Joha...
79 likes · 27 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »