Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Meredith Walker and The Censor's Key” as Want to Read:
Meredith Walker and The Censor's Key
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Meredith Walker and The Censor's Key

by
really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  17 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Meredith's absentee mother has trapped her in the city for the summer. With no friends, no money, and nowhere to go, things seem hopeless. That is until she defies her mother and uncovers the secret under the public library. There, in the space between dimensions, she discovers a hidden world where people use a mix of magic and science to channel the elements, and books ar ...more
Kindle Edition, 414 pages
Published February 17th 2018
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-45
really liked it Average rating 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  17 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Meredith Walker and The Censor's Key
Rhianydd Cooke - Cambourne
Aug 30, 2019 rated it really liked it
I received an advanced copy of this book from the author, via Booksirens, in return for an honest review as follows;

From reading the synopsis of this book I wasn’t really sure what to expect from it and from reading the first few chapters I still wasn’t. While I enjoyed reading it as a whole I found that a lot of of the book and the way that the magic system worked wasn’t explained as well I I’d like and I found myself not really understanding what was going on at certain points or what some of
...more
Eileen
This is an author I'm not at all familiar with, but I very much enjoyed this story, even if the basic plot was not super original. But I thought both the magic/science and world building was quite interesting and fairly well developed. The friendship between Allison and Meredith was great, and learning to work with Jacob (and he to work with them) was also enjoyable to read, although he did get on my nerves at times. I ended up reading most of this in one setting and the 414 pages did not seem o ...more
Sara Lawson
Dec 19, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: arc
When Meredith sees a librarian using magic, she insists on learning as well. Of course, that's tricky, since her mother has an unexplainable aversion to books and libraries. So, she sneaks out of the apartment they are always on the verge of being evicted from and learns anyway, making loyal friends and dangerous enemies. Magic is tied to books and science and emotions, rather than incantations and hocus pocus.

The story was fascinating, particularly the way magic worked in this world. But the pa
...more
Rosie Rizk
Fascinating world and magic system. Meredith discovers and forces her way into a magical society, learns magic, discovers new worlds, powers, and creatures, and then gets stuck helping said world while running for her life.

The characters and friendships were great to read. Meredith is the typical poor down on her luck kid who finds an escape in a magical society with new friends (and enemies). The magic system was interesting and original. The villain was a bit too black and white evil, but I di
...more
Nicole
Nov 23, 2019 rated it liked it
I received this novel from BookSirens. Thank you! All thoughts and opinions are my own.
Meredith Walker gets entwined in a world that she never knew existed. Due to her mother, whom is absent most of the time, allows her to get entangled with the libraries, even though her mother does not want her anywhere near them. Meredith discovers she has magic and it needs to be controlled. Meredith makes a friend named Allison, but Meredith is very embarrassed about her home situation. Meredith is an outsi
...more
Zoa Short
Jun 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Meredith is boss! I absolutely loved this book. It was captivating right from the start and I couldn't put the book down until I finished it.
Brilliantly written.

Meredith Walker and the Censor's Key is a story about loyalty, science, magic, dragons and most of all... Bravery.

Meredith learns to put her fears aside for the good of the people even when they don't deserve it. She is kind, brave and sees the good in people and creatures alike.
Alongside her two sidekicks and friends, the trio saves t
...more
Stacia Vega
Mar 04, 2020 rated it liked it
Book Review: Meredith Walker and the Censor’s Key

I am reviewing this book after receiving a free copy.

Meredith thinks her life is super boring. Except for when she is at the library, where life is magical. But can life be truly magical, is magic real?

I enjoyed the overall story of Meredith and her learning about magic and magical worlds. However, I struggled with reading this book. The book felt bogged down and was difficult for me to pay attention to the first 3 quarters. There were a couple
...more
Catherine / readingmypages
Mar 09, 2020 rated it really liked it
I loved this book. I think the world building was great and I could see everything happening perfectly in my head. The character development for Meredith and Allison was good, but wish there would have been more for the rest of characters. I absolutely did not see that plot twist coming and thoroughly enjoyed being surprised. I’m ready to read the next book in the series! Please tell me there is a next one! I received a copy of this book for free from BookSirens and I am leaving this review volu ...more
Chris
May 12, 2019 rated it really liked it
I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.

I loved this story. There were a few moments where things seemed to happen too smoothly, but overall I loved the story, and I really enjoyed the world the author created.

In action scenes, we sometimes moved from one character POV to another character POV very suddenly, and I found that disorienting. But it was a minor complaint.
Hartley  Bradford
Sep 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book brought the magic of libraries and books to life. Books DO let you travel to other worlds filled with magic and wonder and this book not only accomplished that, but it’s the basis of the actual story. Meredith and her friends learn to travel to other worlds using books and stones, two of my personal favorite things. I can’t wait for the next one because there HAS to be a next one, right?

I received an ARC for free and I am leaving this review voluntarily.
Michelle VanDaley
Feb 08, 2020 rated it liked it
This story was slow to start but worth the read. Overall it is a good story and I liked the characters and how magic is used. With a little editing to help with the pacing issue this could definitely be a 5 star read
Svetlana
Aug 29, 2019 rated it liked it
A lovely fantasy adventure!

When I decided to read this book it was because of its gorgeous cover, I won't lie, and because I really liked the idea of a bookish magical world. I am glad to have had a chance to dive in that world and get consumed by it for a while.
So much imagination, great ideas, excitement and adventure is packed in this book that you cannot resist it.

My only complaint is that the editing of the book is not top notch, and at some points it distracts from enjoying the story itsel
...more
Brandi Bennett
rated it it was amazing
Jun 21, 2019
Bookpro
rated it it was amazing
Jan 12, 2020
Raven
rated it really liked it
Apr 22, 2019
Stine Hopsdal
rated it really liked it
Aug 01, 2019
Marjean P
rated it it was amazing
Apr 20, 2018
Kate
marked it as to-read
Feb 20, 2018
Gwyn Tucker
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2018
Suibei
marked it as to-read
Mar 02, 2018
Katelynn C
marked it as to-read
Mar 04, 2018
Mel
is currently reading it
Mar 04, 2018
Robyn
marked it as to-read
Mar 05, 2018
Stuart Thaman
marked it as to-read
Mar 14, 2018
DeAnna
marked it as to-read
Mar 14, 2018
Hannah
marked it as to-read
Mar 17, 2018
Dawn Malinowski
is currently reading it
Mar 17, 2018
Stacy Ittersagen
marked it as to-read
Mar 29, 2018
Shane
marked it as to-read
Apr 06, 2018
Marcia Jeremiah
marked it as to-read
Apr 20, 2018
Christina Brock
is currently reading it
May 08, 2018
Slytherpuff
marked it as to-read
Jun 01, 2018
Grace
marked it as to-read
Mar 04, 2019
Tasneem Anjum
is currently reading it
Mar 22, 2019
Kathleen Byle
is currently reading it
Mar 24, 2019
Topher Colin
marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2019
Andrea
added it
Apr 14, 2019
Barbara Goulding
marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2019
Andrea Love
marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2019
Amy Linquist
marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2019
Jeri Traub
is currently reading it
Apr 16, 2019
Sandra
added it
Apr 17, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • What Lies Between Us
  • Pretty Things
  • Summer Frost
  • The Greatest Magician
  • Midnight Wings: A Science Fiction Retelling of Cinderella. (Rove City Book 1)
  • Everything My Mother Taught Me
  • The Jane Austen Society
  • A Time Traveler's Theory of Relativity
  • Slumber
  • The Boyfriend Project (The Boyfriend Project, #1)
  • The New Husband
  • All the Impossible Things
  • Shadow of the Fox (Shadow of the Fox, #1)
  • The Great Wheel
  • I Choose You
  • The Hadley Academy for the Improbably Gifted
  • Nameless Queen
  • Mountain Born (Mountain Born, #1)
See similar books…
2 followers
Jeff Fenton is an author, and serial startup engineer who is as passionate about good storytelling as he is about developing technology. His writing melds good science with compelling fiction and fantasy, creating action packed stories that are hard to put down. He is the author of the well-received techno-thriller Agrarian (2016) as well as several children’s books. When he isn’t writing Jeff spe ...more

Related Articles

As serious bookworms know, autumn reading is particularly rewarding. The days get shorter, the air gets cooler, and curling up with a...
430 likes · 192 comments