Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Woman Who Came Home” as Want to Read:
The Woman Who Came Home
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Woman Who Came Home

by
it was amazing 5.00  ·  Rating details ·  4 ratings  ·  4 reviews
Forty-year-old Penny de Villiers takes a pilgrimage that brings her back home.
When Penny faces the prospect of a second failed marriage, she’s pregnant and desperate for a way out. However, she dedicates herself to the marriage, hoping for a miraculous change so as to avoid another divorce. But eight years later she crosses the courts for a second time. Divorced with two c
...more
Paperback, 192 pages
Published February 16th 2018 by ePubSa
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Woman Who Came Home, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Woman Who Came Home

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-10
it was amazing Average rating 5.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  4 ratings  ·  4 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Woman Who Came Home
Penny Villiers
Feb 19, 2018 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
I look forward to the launch of this book within this week. For readers of self-help books who want more than to be preached at, comes this brutally honest memoir of one woman’s life. The story weaves self-acceptance, confidence, shame, romance, tragedy, spirituality into the story taking the reader by surprise and most importantly challenging them to think, playfully.

Some of my favorite excerpts are

"The power of really seeing things as they are is the most under-valued gift you can give yourse
...more
Píaras Cíonnaoíth

An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir...

The Woman Who Came Home by Penny De Villiers isn’t just a memoir; it’s a life improvement book. It’s an absolute must read for anyone who needs a healthy dose of inspiration in their life. This book is intelligent, wise and written in a very honest and open way. It becomes obvious as you read through this incredible page turner that the author is imparting her wisdom and understanding as to what happiness and health really means. It’s an excellent gu
...more
Janet Brand
Feb 21, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A delightful read.

Thanks to the author Penny De Villiers, the book was fascinating! The writing was excellent, flowed really well.
The book started out with big sensation! very good one! I enjoyed it and quite a roller-coaster and maelstrom of intense emotions! This book was a tough read. It was so real and heartbreaking. Very nearly literally impossible to put down. The story was well-crafted and I recommended it.
Chanel Miller
Feb 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I have always been a fan of books that empower people with life skills. This book is a great resource where people can find strategic hands on advice to facing life's many obstacles and challenges. I cannot recommend it highly enough whether you buy it for yourself or as a gift for someone else- you will not be disappointed. Pass book along to someone important - what greater task is there than empowering and encouraging our fellow human beings! It's a must read!
Sandy Krolick
rated it it was amazing
Feb 20, 2018
Nosiphiwo Lolwana
marked it as to-read
Mar 07, 2018
Yvette Stokman
marked it as to-read
Aug 09, 2018
Stacy
marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2018
Karen  Kingon
is currently reading it
Mar 08, 2018
Brian Papas
marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Penny de Villiers is a self-published author of the self-help personal branding business book HOW TO MARKET THE REAL YOU USING SOCIAL MEDIA. She is a distinguished toastmaster, public speaker and a life coach using the ACT form of psychotherapy.

News & Interviews

November is the time for aspiring writers to get serious about writing that book! It's National Novel Writing Month, the annual event designed to...
61 likes · 13 comments
“I felt a bit like the vast banks of magnificent clouds I saw out of the airplane window, directionless, grounded nowhere, without any roots, empty and at the mercy of the winds that blew them any which way.” 6 likes
“Suppression also played another tragic role. By burying my pain, by avoiding my heartaches, I lost touch with knowing and owning what was important to me.
I no longer went within, which was a scary road. If you were once attacked on a road, you make sure to avoid it. But the avoidance means you also miss out on the wild flowers when they’re blooming, the snow-capped mountains in winter, the waterfall, the deer, the beautiful people, like Tony, who walk there every day. You also miss out on knowing yourself better, on understanding what is important to you.”
2 likes
More quotes…