Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Thousand Fires” as Want to Read:
A Thousand Fires
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A Thousand Fires

by
4.03  ·  Rating details ·  34 ratings  ·  29 reviews
Shannon Price's A Thousand Fires is a breakout contemporary debut―think The Outsiders meets The Iliad―that's perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Veronica Roth.

10 Years. 3 Gangs. 1 Girl’s Epic Quest…

An extraordinary debut set in San Francisco and inspired by The Iliad…

Valerie Simons knows the city's gang wars are dangerous—her own brother was killed by the Boars two
...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Expected publication: November 5th 2019 by Tor Teen
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Thousand Fires, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Shannon Price Thank you for your question! Yes, some of the characters are LGBT, however their orientation is not a dominant theme for the book.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.03  · 
Rating details
 ·  34 ratings  ·  29 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
ELLIAS (elliasreads)
Jul 23, 2019 marked it as to-read
The Outsiders meet The Iliad.

WHAT.
Elise (TheBookishActress)
Feb 15, 2018 marked it as releases-2019
this sounds SO AMAZING. "A reimagining of the Illiad set in a version of modern-day San Francisco where three gangs rule the city. The story follows one grieving teen who joins the Wars to seek vengeance for her younger brother, but finds herself torn between old love and new loyalty."
bianca
Feb 15, 2018 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2019-releases
please let it be gay
Kal ★ Reader Voracious
I'm totally here for an alternate history story set in San Francisco that's inspired by The Iliad. *grabby hands*
Blog | Twitter | Pinterest
Joss
Apr 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This was amazing! I’m crying it was so good. It’s past my bedtime but I had to finish this.
Samm | Sassenach the Book Wizard
Plot: yassssssssss
Cover: ...ehhhhhh...
Joanna Bennett
Aug 11, 2019 rated it liked it
I'm a little disappointed in this one.

Full Review to Come.
Karlita | Tale Out Loud
Jul 29, 2019 marked it as to-read
Hi guys! I am co-hosting an INTERNATIONAL BLOG TOUR for A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price with Afire Pages and the Blog and Bookstagram Tour Sign Up is now officially LIVE.

Please check details on my blog by clicking the image below!


Tale Out Loud
Jessica
Jul 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
This was mind-blowingly good. I read it in one sitting and now I have the worst book hangover I’ve had in ages.
Shannon Price
May 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Thank you everyone for your excitement for A THOUSAND FIRES; it's now available for preorder on Amazon! Indiebound, B&N, and other links coming soon. :)

Edit: Pre-order links are LIVE!! Also, I'm starting to see some longer reviews, which means my book is starting to head out into the world. Let me know your thoughts on Twitter, IG, and here and thank you all for reading, sharing, everything. I am so honored to share this story with you all.

Indiebound: http://bit.ly/2TzHwam
BN: http://bit.ly/
...more
- ̗̀ cady ̖́-
Feb 16, 2018 marked it as to-read
Shelves: contemporaries
a retelling of the iliad??? set in san francisco??? i didn't know i need this until now
Michele
Jul 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wow! That one chapter has me absolutely, positively hooked and wanting more! A Thousand Fires has great potential and I look forward to reading it in its entirety. I can already tell that it will be full of twists and some unexpected surprises. It had a little West Side Story combined with Divergent vibe going on within that first chapter. That feel may change as the reader gets further into the book, but that was my initial impression. Now...how to wait until the book releases in November...

Tha
...more
Samantha Newnham
Aug 01, 2019 marked it as arc
Shelves: 2019
Did I download an excerpt on the word gangs in the synopsis and that’s it? Yes, yes I did.
The one chapter was all I needed for this to be added to my TBR and I am ready for it to be November
Rival gangs, revenging a death, lovers that can’t be together? SIGN ME UP!
Grace Li
Jan 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: yes
This book has everything I love about the Iliad, updated for the modern age. It brings all the glory, tragedy, and trauma of the Trojan War to a changing San Francisco, with characters both familiar and new. What a privilege it was to read this book.
Claire (bookscoffeeandrepeat)
I'm here for the retelling and the FILIPINA character.
Samantha (The Biblophage)
Apr 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
THIS BOOK, GUYS! From the first chapter, I was hooked. Price writes like this is not a debut and you are here for the wild ride. Gangs, revenge, family, romance, betrayal — all wrapped into a beautifully effortless reimagining of The Iliad. I could almost picture the San Francisco neighborhoods and felt emotionally invested in the division between the Stags, the Boars, and the Herons. Toward the ending, I can’t lie and say that I wasn’t worried I would be disappointed but the last 15 pages left ...more
Ahana M Rao (Heart’s Content)
Received an ARC from publisher via Edelweiss. Thank you Tor!

Update:

Five stars, I highly recommend this book to anyone that loves a fast-paced, gritty book with a well handed heavy theme of war, love, loss and a search for redemption. Congratulations Shannon Price. I'm going to stalk you everywhere now. 

RTC!
Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
Sounds promising...
Booklover925
THERE IS GOING TO BE A FILIPINA MAIN CHARACTER. I AM SO READY. FINALLY.
Kalyn Josephson
Jun 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A THOUSAND FIRES is a beautiful examination of the changing face of one of America's most iconic cities.

Set against the backdrop of a San Francisco wracked by gang violence and gentrification, ATFs takes you on the journey of one girl's quest for vengeance for her brother, and the lengths she'll go to get it. Val is an extremely personable MC, and she pulls you deep into her struggles of love, loyalty, and breaking free of her past. Through it all, the story constantly begs the question, how do
...more
Lindsey
Aug 14, 2019 rated it it was ok
This one left a weird taste in my mouth. The concept was intriguing (although, marketing as 'the outsiders meets the Illaid' seems more than a little off the mark): in the not-so-distance future, teenage gangs run the San Francisco streets fighting over the gentrification of turf land in the city? I think that was the point, at least.

Honestly, most of the plot and the current events of the world were pretty unclear, making this book a confusing read. There is never a substantial amount of infor
...more
Danny Jacobs
Aug 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Just finished reading this to be reviewed for SLJ and all i have to say is if you like gang related fiction with a mix of unpredictability, fantastic character building, and action; YOU NEED THIS BOOK.

Valerie is an amazing character, she shows weakness and even succumbs to it but only dies when she needs self care or to regain her strength then kicks major ass without backing down. She is such a realistic character without actin like an asshole snobby know it all like I've read in other YA books
...more
Dipali
Aug 18, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: arcs
** A copy of A Thousand Fires was provided by the publisher and Edelweiss+ in exchange for an honest review **

When I read the blurb for the book, I was very excited - Outsiders meets the Iliad = yes, please! The premise of the book is pretty interesting, and I loved Val's arc. You genuinely felt her confusion, growth, anger and trauma. I also loved how much the Stags felt like a family. Unfortunately, overall, it left me a little disappointed. The writing was pretty choppy and uneven. Some chapt
...more
Liz Griffin
Aug 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
Loved this sneak-peak of A Thousand Fires! Only the first chapter, and already I'm desperate to know how Val will face her divided loyalties and what lines she'll be willing to cross! This is definitely a debut to have on the radar of YA dystopian fans! I also love the narrator voice/tone. It gave me similar vibes as Hunger Games and A Curse So Dark and Lonely, both of which I love! Thank you, NetGalley, for providing this preview excerpt! #AThousandFires #NetGalley
(っ◔◡◔)っ ♥ Kasey ♥
**Disclaimer: I was given an e-ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.**

The small excerpt of "A Thousand Fires" definitely caught my attention. The concept of rival gangs in a dystopian world is interesting, and I'd like to see how Shannon Price develops the story.

At least there isn't a long wait until November!
Kayla Schoch
Jun 27, 2019 rated it did not like it
DNF
Amanda (MetalPhantasmReads)
Rating: 2.5 stars
That's...it??? This was a major let down after two amazing first chapters. Review to come very soon on the blog.
Paula Roussel (She Sniffs Books)
Received an arc from publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review
Madeline Cathryn
Aug 07, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Well I can not properly review this book given how it was just a sample, but I enjoyed the sample I was given and would continue the book if given a chance
Rachel
rated it liked it
Aug 19, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
  • Eight Will Fall
  • There Will Come a Darkness (The Age of Darkness, #1)
  • The Bright and the Pale
  • Chilling Effect
  • What Monstrous Gods
  • A River of Royal Blood (A River of Royal Blood, #1)
  • Crown of Oblivion
  • Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars, #1)
  • Goddess in the Machine
  • Where Dreams Descend (Kingdom of Cards, #1)
  • She Was and She Was Not: A Fairy Tale
  • The Gilded Ones (Deathless, #1)
  • Have a Little Faith in Me
  • Gravemaidens (Gravemaidens, #1)
  • Unconquerable Sun (The Sun Chronicles #1)
  • The Never Tilting World (The Never Tilting World, #1)
  • The Library of Lost Things
See similar books…
27 followers
Shannon Price is a proud Filipina-American and Bay Area native. She once led an a cappella group for three years despite not knowing how to read music, and she carries that same level of confidence in every area of her life. When not writing, she can be found watching baking shows, exploring old bookstores, and going to the beach as often as she can. Shannon currently works in the ever-harried Sil ...more