Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Cage Runner (Sand Runner, #2)” as Want to Read:
Cage Runner (Sand Runner, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Cage Runner

(Sand Runner #2)

by
4.67  ·  Rating details ·  9 ratings  ·  7 reviews
For fans of The Hunger Games and The Maze Runner, comes the second installment in the action-packed Sand Runner series... CAGE RUNNER.

Kai has survived the No Limits Race, outsmarting the system and choosing to do what's right rather than win at all costs. But his actions triggered events beyond his control, and now his enemies threaten both him and those he car
...more
Paperback, First Paperback Edition, 248 pages
Published February 13th 2018
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Cage Runner, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Cage Runner

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-24
Average rating 4.67  · 
Rating details
 ·  9 ratings  ·  7 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Kimberly Vanderbloom
Amazing, breathtaking and fantastic.

I fell in love with this series a few months back. Sand Runner will always hold a special in my heart. It has to be one of the best dystopian books I have ever read. I was patiently waiting for Cage Runner to come out because I've been dying to know what happened to my favorite characters Kai and Emily. This book has a different pace and the story has evolved in to so much more. You get to see some of my favorite characters from Sand Runner and see what they ha
...more
Dave Higgins
Apr 27, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviewed
Building from a plausible technological base, Brook combines the passion of young adult dystopia with the moral greys of cyberpunk to create a fast-paced science-fiction thriller that will appeal to a range of readers.

This book is the second in the Sandrunner series. Spoilers might strike from any direction.

After giving away first place in the No Limits Race, Kai hoped he could settle down with Emily. However, with the money he won from the race gone, he is drawn into the
...more
Katy Haye
Mar 29, 2018 rated it really liked it
This was a strong follow-up to Sand Runner. I love the world Vera Brook has created – it’s close enough to ours to be entirely comprehensible, but with some nasty twists that are utterly plausible for the close future.

It was also fun to spend more time with Kai. Bless him, I alternately wanted to hug him and slap him for doing the right thing even when his moral code was clearly going to leave him at a massive disadvantage. And yet, it’s his loyalty and willingness to put himself on
...more
Devyn
Mar 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
I'm having a terrible time reviewing this without completely spazzing out because I freaking LOVE Brook's writing style!


Cage Runner by Vera Brook is just as good as Sand Runner, also by Vera Brook.

It is a rare gem indeed when the author slays not only the first book but also the second.

Once again I was fully immersed in Kai and Emily's story, and rushed through a book that I swore I'd go slow on. And now I'm stuck here waiting for the next- and why is it that the most boring books get 1000 pages and great ones liktheauthor/>
...more
Dave Milbrandt
Mar 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed this book, which is well-suited for older-YA readers and adults who like a little Hunger Games/Legend inspired fiction. It was filled with action from beginning to end and the character and story development flowed smoothly. I can't wait for the next book in the series.
Tracey Pedersen
Mar 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Book two in this series did not disappoint. I've been waiting to get my hands on it! Kai's story is fascinating to me and I love the world building of this book series. I was bummed when it ended, though I did enjoy the fact that it was quite long. I know authors hate to hear this, but can we have book three now, please?
Aletia
Mar 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Where's book #3!?!

I was surprised by how much I enjoyed Sand Runner. And I'm yet again surprised by where this second book takes us. You meet new friends, interact with some old foes, and trip over who's the good guy and who's the bad. I'm intrigued by where this story is going, and truly cannot wait to see what happens next!!!
Scott Bartlett
rated it it was amazing
Mar 05, 2018
Mark
rated it really liked it
Oct 17, 2019
Nicole M.
marked it as to-read
Feb 14, 2018
Laura
marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2018
Linda
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2018
Monica Beevers
marked it as to-read
Mar 14, 2018
Holly Sullivan
marked it as to-read
Nov 27, 2018
Lyndsay
marked it as to-read
Nov 28, 2018
McPhaul M.
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Mona Kristine
marked it as to-read
Jul 20, 2019
Ilie
marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2018
Igrowastreesgrow
marked it as to-read
Jun 04, 2018
Ocean Weeks
marked it as to-read
Jul 28, 2018
Makfidunnabi Methun
marked it as to-read
Jan 30, 2019
Liz Ann
marked it as to-read
Oct 15, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
71 followers
Vera Brook is a neuroscientist turned science fiction and fantasy writer. She is also a bookworm, and perpetually torn between reading books and writing them. Her debut novel, Sand Runner (book 1 in the Sand Runner series) was published in 2017, followed by Cage Runner (book 2) in 2018.

Other books in the series

Sand Runner (2 books)
  • Sand Runner (Sand Runner, #1)