Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Love is Blind” as Want to Read:
Love is Blind
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Love is Blind

3.96  ·  Rating details ·  4,756 ratings  ·  517 reviews
Love is Blind is William Boyd's sweeping, heart-stopping new novel. Set at the end of the 19th century, it follows the fortunes of Brodie Moncur, a young Scottish musician, about to embark on the story of his life.

When Brodie is offered a job in Paris, he seizes the chance to flee Edinburgh and his tyrannical clergyman father, and begin a wildly different new chapter in h
...more
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published September 20th 2018 by Viking
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Love is Blind, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Suz Bloomsbury have never been very good at being pro active with William Boyd's website. It really does need updating. Love is Blind is a really fantasti…moreBloomsbury have never been very good at being pro active with William Boyd's website. It really does need updating. Love is Blind is a really fantastic novel, if you love Will's work, you will love this book.(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.96  · 
Rating details
 ·  4,756 ratings  ·  517 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Love is Blind
Paromjit
This has all the inimitable style and qualities of an epic character driven William Boyd novel, of love, passion, obsession and music within a historical period presaging the great changes in the world at the end of the nineteenth century. This is a beautifully written and structured story of the life of the young Scottish Brodie Moncur, afflicted with health issues, employed at the Channon Piano Company in Edinburgh, when he is offered the opportunity to work in their Paris outlet which he ferv ...more
Andrew Smith
Sep 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: netgalley
William Boyd writes books you can get lost in. In Any Human Heart and The New Confessions so rich is his mix of fact and fiction that he almost convinced me he was writing about the life of a real people. He wasn't of course, but I became so immersed in the lives of Logan Mountstuart and John James Todd that I really found it hard to accept I was reading a piece if fiction. I’d lived the life of these characters and at the end of both books I experienced a tearful moment when I reached the final ...more
Esil
Nov 10, 2018 rated it really liked it
Reading a William Boyd novel ensures a view of history, some travel and a somewhat naive main character trying to make sense of the world. Love Is Blind is no exception. The novel is set in the late 19th and early 20th century, focusing on Brodie Moncur, a Scottish piano tuner. Brodie comes from a large dysfunctional family near Glasgow, and he is fortunate to be sent off to Paris to work for a Scottish piano manufacturer. There, he meets Lida, a Russian singer, thereafter becoming blinded by lo ...more
Roman Clodia
Jul 23, 2018 rated it it was ok
So that was Lydia Blum... He felt his sphincter loosen and the bubble of air expand to fill his lungs... Brodie felt now as if his innards were molten - as if he might melt in a puddle of sizzling magma on the floor

Well, there are ways to write about physical love, lust and desire but this isn't it - for me, at any rate. Boyd's prose is no more than workmanlike in this book which manages to be both bogged down in detail (why do we need to know precisely which brand of cigarettes each charact
...more
Andy Marr
Jun 05, 2020 rated it liked it
What an odd book. After a very good first half, I envisaged giving it at least four stars. But then it began to fizzle out as more and more characters disappeared and less and less began to happen. Then, after a hundred or so pages of nothing, the book just ended, and while I suppose the ending made sense, and made up a little for what had gone before, it was incredibly anticlimactic and failed to provide nearly the same emotional punch as many of Boyd's other works.

Overall, I'm left with the i
...more
Anne
Jan 18, 2020 rated it it was amazing
4.5
William Boyd is one of my favorite authors. He has written several novels which I have loved, all of which share a similar characteristic which is that he takes you through decades of a character's life and gets you to care so deeply for that character and to become so enthralled by his/her story that you almost believe this character to be real. Love is Blind is one such beautifully written character driven novel with a breathless plot. I grew to care deeply for the main protagonist, Brodie
...more
Algernon (Darth Anyan)
Apr 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites, 2019

Falling in love is the one illogical adventure, the one thing of which we are tempted to think as supernatural, in our trite and reasonable world. The effect is out of all proportion with the cause.
Robert Louis Stevenson, Virginibus Puerisque

A writer at the height of his narrative powers embarks on an incredible journey that takes his hero, Brodie Moncur, across half the world on a quest of self discovery. The exotic places he visits are ultimately irrelevant to the true scope of his life, a
...more
Chrissie
Look at the title, it says it all. This is first and foremost a love story, or rather, multiple love stories. Set at the turn of the 19th century, it is a period piece drawing the life of a Scot, Brodie Moncur. Look at the surname; if one is acquainted with French, one sees there a play on words. We follow Brodie from 1888, when he is eighteen, to 1906, in his mid-thirties, and from Edinburgh to Paris to Geneva to Nice to St. Petersburg to Biarritz to Vienna to Graz to Trieste to finally the Nic ...more
Julie Christine
This rich, lovely novel offers a breathtaking tour of fin-de-siècle Scotland, France and Russia seen through the myopic eyes of Brodie Moncur, a renowned Scottish piano tuner. His severe short-sightedness serves as a metaphorical reminder that we should hold his perspective at arm's length. Brodie's adventures abroad often become misadventures due to his poor reading of reality.

Brodie is plucked from a dull piano showroom in Edinburgh to lend support at the company's troubled Paris flagship. Th
...more
Jill
Oct 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing

Like the inner workings of a finely-tuned piano, the harmony of William Boyd’s Love is Blind is the work of true craftsmanship that is sensed more than outwardly observed.

On the surface, it’s a rousing good yarn – a book that is, among other things, a novel about the fine art of piano tuning (Brodie Moncur, the protagonist, practices that profession), about love, passion, and revenge, and about how fateful encounters can change the trajectory of one’s life. It’s page-turning and immersing.

Brodie
...more
Paul Fulcher
Jun 18, 2018 rated it it was ok
Shelves: net-galley, 2018
"'You could say,’ Vere mused, ‘that, looking at it from one angle, you’re having an amazing Russian literary experience.’"

In the TLS's recent Booker 50th anniversary edition, various past winners were asked about underrated authors that should have featured more in the prize's reckoning. Thomas Keneally suggested: "William Boyd is a consistently pleasing and illuminating writer. He made it onto the Booker shortlist once with An Ice-Cream War, and – to be honest – should have won it."
(https://the
...more
Sid Nuncius
Sep 13, 2018 rated it it was ok
I enjoyed parts of Love Is Blind, but I found a good deal of it dull and I’m not sure that it added up to much in the end.

The book follows Brodie Moncur from his early working life in the late 19th Century as a talented piano-tuner in Edinburgh as his work and his health needs take him to various places in France, Russia and beyond. He develops an obsessive love for a Russian singer and this is both the driver of the book’s events and the main subject of William Boyd’s interest.

For the first th
...more
Roz Morris
Jan 20, 2019 rated it did not like it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Silvia
Oct 01, 2018 rated it liked it
*3.5*

A digital ARC of this book was provided to me by the publishing house, Viking, via NetGalley

"Love is Blind" is the bittersweet story of Brodie Moncur, a young Scotish man who fixes pianos for a job, in the late 1800s. But the new century is coming, and so are a lot of changes in Brodie's life. He will fall deeply in love with a Russian soprano, Lika, and this love will perpetuate for all his life, through thick and thin, and through difficulti but wonderful times.

I must admit that I've nev
...more
Mary Lins
Oct 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: complete
I simply couldn't put down "Love is Blind", by William Boyd, finishing it over a weekend. I was captivated by protagonist Brodie Moncur, a flawed but compelling character blinded by love. Boyd is a fabulous writer, winner of many awards; anyone enamored with beautiful prose and a well paced plot, will love this novel, AND learn a lot about pianos and piano tuning, music, tuberculosis, and the aborigines of the Andaman Islands!
switterbug (Betsey)
Oct 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing
“Love is blind” may seem like a tired proverb, but it fits literally and figuratively as a theme for the protagonist in Boyd’s new novel, which spans over a decade at the turn of the 19th century. Brodie Moncur is a 24-year-old handsome, educated gentleman, a first-rate piano tuner in Edinburgh,with perfect pitch and attention to detail. He has poor vision, though, and depends on his Franklin bifocals; otherwise the world appears “utterly aqueous.”

When Brody’s boss at Channing & Co, a family-ru
...more
Susan Stuber
Aug 06, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction
This book is neither excitingly crunchy like granola, nor fuzzily heartwarming like oatmeal, but rather blandly filling like cornmeal mush. In order to make it a bit more appetizing, it has been seasoned with a bit of Paris, Moscow, Vienna, Nice, and, as garnish, an obsure South Sea island.

What we have here is a triangle story with contrived conflicts. We are presented in the very beginning with the main character’s family: the absent mother, the numerous children, the brothers, but particulary,
...more
Annette
Nov 21, 2018 rated it liked it
I'm reading this in a distracted state, in short bursts, in noisy places, feeling a bit weary after work, BUT... it holds my attention and I look forward to continuing.

I've hit the half-way mark and although I'm happily reading away the story somehow isn't delivering the something - whatever I thought that was going to be.

I'm going to finish it but there is a lack of depth to the characterisation that really prevents me from caring in the way I normally do with other novels by William Boyd.

The
...more
SueKich
Jul 08, 2018 rated it really liked it
Boyd’s vision.

William Boyd writes a story of love and great passion set at the turn of the last century. Brodie Moncur, son of an overbearing patriarchal clergyman, has a particularly musical ear. His work as a highly skilled piano tuner takes him to Paris and beyond, fine-tuning the instruments of the great concert pianists of their day. On one such occasion, he meets Russian opera singer Lika Blum, mistress of a now-fading Irish pianist, and falls madly in love with her. Their affair must be c
...more
Alecia
Mar 20, 2019 rated it liked it
I'm hovering between 2.5 and 3 stars for my first book by William Boyd. On the one hand, I can tell he writes very well, but much of it struck me as rather thin. It is a love story (with quite a bit of lust) set in the late 19th century between Brodie Moncur, a brilliant Scottish piano tuner and Lika Blum, a Russian soprano of dubious talent.

I found the scenes between Brodie and his tyrannical, despotic father quite powerful, and also the parts describing how Brodie tuned a piano to please a fin
...more
Leah
Adolescent obsession...

Brodie Moncur works for an Edinburgh piano manufacturer, Channon, at the turn of the 19th century. He started out as a piano tuner but now helps out with the general running of the saleroom, so when the new Paris branch is struggling the owner asks him to go over and see what he can do. Brodie has long been at odds with his father, a bullying hellfire preacher, and has no real ties in Scotland, so happily agrees. Once there, he falls in love with Lika Blum, the girlfriend
...more
Jan
Jan 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A totally superb book. Indescribable really. What a story-teller William Boyd is. The detail of Brodie Moncur's travels held my attention throughout. I tend to be a skipper when it comes to detailed description but not with this book. It is so wide-ranging in depth and scope. It tells the reader so much about the human condition - life, upbringing, love, death, loss. Well I cannot praise this book too highly. I doubt I shall read a better book in 2019
Lynne King
A great disappointment.
Richard Moss
Sep 02, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2019
Master storyteller William Boyd weaves another highly entertaining yarn full of incident and pleasure.

Love is Blind is not his best book, but even at slightly less than full throttle a Boyd novel is still a pleasure to read.

This one starts at the end of the 19th Century when virtuoso piano tuner Brodie Moncur is offered a transfer from Edinburgh to his employer's store in Paris.

There he comes into contact with Irish pianist John Kilbarron, and his girlfriend, Russian singer Lika Blum.

What starts
...more
Rob Twinem
Jun 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Love is Blind by William Boyd is a truly memorable story with wonderful characterization. His colourful writing instantly transports the reader to Scotland at the end of the nineteenth century and continues the journey through mainland Europe at a time of great change and gathering turmoil in the years immediately preceding the 1st World War.

Brodie Moncur is a piano tuner in the employ of Channons of Edinburgh and when the opportunity is offered to manage the Paris store he readily agrees. Brodi
...more
Maine Colonial
In the late 19th century, Brodie Moncur is given the chance to move from Edinburgh, Scotland, to Paris, to be assistant manager of Channon’s piano store. This is a real promotion from his prior position as piano tuner at Channon’s in Edinburgh. In Paris, he meets a Russian singer, Lika, and is thunderstruck with love for her. Complication: she is the mistress of a prominent Irish pianist, John Kilbarron, whom Brady has persuaded to promote Channon pianos.

You know that the expression “love is bli
...more
Bettie
Penguin Books (UK)

Description: Set at the end of the 19th century, it follows the fortunes of Brodie Moncur, a young Scottish musician, about to embark on the story of his life.

When Brodie is offered a job in Paris, he seizes the chance to flee Edinburgh and his tyrannical clergyman father, and begin a wildly different new chapter in his life. In Paris, a fateful encounter with a famous pianist irrevocably changes his future - and sparks an obsessive love affair with a beautiful Russian soprano
...more
Candace
May 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Brodie Moncur is a piano tuner in Edinburgh which sounds like a pretty low-key profession, but in the hands of William Boyd certainly is not. It's the last decade of the 19th century when Brodie has the opportunity to move to his employer's new Paris showroom and help establish the brand on the Continent.

Brodie is an artist, not only musically, but also as a tuner. He knows how to shave and balance the hammers so that a piano has just the touch the pianist needs. This gift is what brings John K
...more
DebsD
Read for a book-club. This had an interesting premise (or several) but it never really grabbed me. The characters are all very flat, especially Lika - I was never quite able to work out *why* Brodie was so madly in love with her, because there didn't seem to be very much there, and the "Lika kiss" was just ridiculous. There are several sections in which it seems that the author is about to attempt to write about sex (or, mostly, masturbation) but loses his nerve, which, I felt, was probably a go ...more
Liviu
For about 2/3-3/4 of this novel i thought it was truly excellent and would make my top 10 of the year, but then the author makes some choices with how to get to the end (which was always kind of clear) that just didn't work out for me so the last 1/4 or so of the novel became a bit of a slog

Overall excellent for most of it but loses energy in the last quarter or so and becomes a fairly banal story of failure after that; the writing and characters still keep it readable but it could have been so
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
William Boyd Live at the Duchess Theatre 1 9 Feb 04, 2019 07:05AM  
ACPL Online Book ...: 19th century musical epic 1 10 Oct 09, 2018 02:52PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Paris Echo
  • Middle England (Rotters' Club, #3)
  • Now We Shall Be Entirely Free
  • Big Sky (Jackson Brodie, #5)
  • Take Nothing With You
  • Transcription
  • Sweet Sorrow
  • Swan Song
  • The Salt Path
  • The Other Half of Augusta Hope
  • Hamnet
  • The Second Sleep
  • So Much Life Left Over
  • The Silence of the Girls
  • The Confession
  • The Librarian
  • The Carer
  • Girl, Woman, Other
See similar books…
1,294 followers
Note: William^^Boyd

Of Scottish descent, Boyd was born in Accra, Ghana on 7th March, 1952 and spent much of his early life there and in Nigeria where his mother was a teacher and his father, a doctor. Boyd was in Nigeria during the Biafran War, the brutal secessionist conflict which ran from 1967 to 1970 and it had a profound effect on him.

At the age of nine years he attended Gordonstoun school, in
...more

News & Interviews

Myths and mayhem, the fantastical and the scientifically plausible, these are readers’ most popular sci-fi and fantasy novels published in the ...
61 likes · 12 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“Low-ceilinged and smoke-foxed, it had a curious smell: part beer, part cold fireplace ash, part pipe tobacco.” 0 likes
More quotes…