Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Maiden & Princess” as Want to Read:
Maiden & Princess
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Maiden & Princess

by
4.14  ·  Rating details ·  720 ratings  ·  144 reviews
In this modern fairy tale, a strong, brave maiden is invited to attend the prince's royal ball, but at the dance, she ends up finding true love in a most surprising place.

Once in a faraway kingdom, a strong, brave maiden is invited to attend the prince's royal ball, but she's not as excited to go as everyone else. After her mother convinces her to make an appearance, she m
...more
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published April 2nd 2019 by Little Bee Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Maiden & Princess, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Maiden & Princess

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.14  · 
Rating details
 ·  720 ratings  ·  144 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Maiden & Princess
sharmie
Mar 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
i loved prince & knight when i first read it. art? beautiful! story? so cute! normalizing queer romance? priceless!

today i stumbled across maiden & princess. i barely even looked at it before i had purchased it. when i got home i opened it up and read it... and started crying on page one. didn't stop till after i finished the book.

this book has:
-BEAUTIFUL art!
-a simple, romantic, but easy to follow story (perfect for most ages to read or have read to them)
-a BLACK royal family!!!
-a happy ending
...more
Rod Brown
Neither the art or verse is particularly strong, but I'll give a bonus star for inclusivity of race and LGBTQ in a children's picture book. ...more
Abigail
Author Daniel Haack, whose same-sex picture-book fairy-tale romance, Prince & Knight , came out last year (2018), joins forces with co-author Isabel Galupo in this return to the form. Invited to the prince's ball, the eponymous maiden, who fights alongside the prince as a warrior, and considers him a brother, isn't initially inclined to go, until her mother convinces her to give it a try. Once at the ball, the maiden feels pressured by the other attendees, who seem to think she would be the p ...more
Nicole (book.quill)
Mar 31, 2019 rated it really liked it
I liked the story as much as Prince and Knight, maybe a little more. However I like the art style of Prince and Knight more than this one.

That being said, both are incredibly cute and great books to put in the library of any child. I think they’re crucial to introduce children to same-gender relationships, relationships outside of heteronormativity and instill in them that a woman and a woman or a man and a man can be in love. So they don’t grow up equating that romance to just sexual relations
...more
Kathleen Stephen
Aug 30, 2022 rated it it was amazing
If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. Absolutely adorable. The art style is beautiful, the rhyme scheme flows so well. Such casual positive sapphic representation. This was perfect.
Dani
Feb 18, 2022 rated it it was amazing
I CRIED A LITTLE AT WORK
Mike
Aug 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favourites, 2019
Adorable.
Effie
Apr 05, 2019 rated it it was ok
I wanted to like this book because I like what it's trying to do, but somehow I didn't. The rhyming was pretty clunky and it just felt too pat to me, but maybe that's the point. ...more
Sara
Oct 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
GOD THIS IS AS CUTE AS PRINCE & KNIGHT!! The art is bright and lovely and the story melts your heart.

ps. The views expressed in this review are my own and do not reflect the views of Indigo Books & Music Inc. or any of its subsidiaries. #IndigoEmployee
Sarah Wright
Apr 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing
5/5 — lively, colorful art illustrating a cute adventure

I'm thrilled every time I come across a book like this: a sweet lesbian story for young children showing that same-sex love is nothing outside the norm. Everyone's read stories in which a girl goes to a royal ball, dances with the prince, and falls in love with him. This time, the girl falls in love with the princess instead—and no one acts like it's weird or forbidden, which is so, so important. I also love that the characters are racially
...more
Deborah
May 02, 2022 rated it it was amazing
Beautiful, richly colored artwork accompanied by a simple, soothing rhyming sequence and a totally adorable and heart-eyes-worthy story!!
H
Apr 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
When this came across my desk, I knew that it was going to be one of the books I read this year. Maiden & Princess is from the same author as Prince & Knight. And just as welcome in the landscape of familiar fairy tales.

This tome has a different vibe to it from the author's first. Mr Haack wrote both tales but the illustrators are different in style. Those familiar with Prince & Knight will recall that the pictures were much the softer colors and style of a traditional heteronormative fairy tale
...more
Earl
Apr 02, 2019 rated it liked it
Fans of Prince & Knight will love this new LGBTQ love story featuring a diverse cast of characters. A celebratory read.
Artemis Crescent
What a lovely LBGTQ rhyming picture book for children. A warrior maiden is expected to wed her friend, the prince, but he is only like a brother to her. At the ball, alone and miserable on a balcony, she meets and falls in love with his sister.

I wasn't sure about the art at first, but it ended up being the best for this story. The maiden's adventures and battles are told in flashback and snippets as well. I like her little dragon companion, though, that grows bigger as the maiden and the prince
...more
Jj
Jun 11, 2019 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
As with the author's Prince & Knight, I wanted to like this book. But it is riddled with the same problems as that one--namely, the text is clunky, awkward, and shoehorned into a forced rhyme scheme. The illustrations here don't save this one from failure as they did in Prince & Knight--something about them is just not quite right, and proportions seem to change from one scene to another--the overall effect is off-putting. A nice idea here, and certainly addresses a void in children's literature ...more
Kirsten
A lovely rhyming story about a maiden who goes to the ball and meets her princess. The story is sweet, but what really elevates this picture book are the amazing illustrations. The Maiden and the Princess are anything but stereotypically willowy, and I love that they are not white. My daughter (who is four) demanded that I read this twice in a row!
Allison
Aug 06, 2019 rated it liked it
So, I loved the illustrations and enjoyed the story. What I am curious about is how people will end up using it (coming from a professional standpoint not a personal one - it could be a target for book challenges). I could see people using it as a bedtime story for older children. It would actually even make an awesome read-aloud selection for a Drag Queen storytime if you live/work in a liberal area.
Caroline
May 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Very similar to Haack's book "Prince and Knight." I thoroughly enjoyed it and thought the romance was very sweet! ...more
Chinook
Oct 15, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: kids, lgbtq
I loved both the ways this followed and deviated from traditional fairy tales. It’s paced really nicely for reading aloud.
Peoria Public Library
Jun 19, 2021 rated it really liked it
Spencer rated it 4 stars.
Maggi Rohde
Oct 23, 2021 rated it really liked it
A brief, romantic tale about a princess and a maiden who fall in love.
Eva B.
May 17, 2022 rated it it was amazing
So sweet <3
Ken Yuen
Jun 11, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: children-s
It rhymes! Read it out loud
Briana Winters
Jan 04, 2022 rated it it was amazing
Absolutely adorable 🥰
Ben Truong
Jun 12, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Maiden & Princess is a children's picture book written by the team of Daniel Haack and Isabel Galupo and illustrated by Becca Human, which focus on a noble princess and a beautiful maiden come together and finds true love together.

Haack-Galup's text is simplistic, straightforward, and melodic. The simple rhyming text takes the typical trope of having a princess attending a ball to find her prince, but with a twist. Human's dresses the diverse villagers in lavish, jewel-toned gowns and dramatic h
...more
Elizabeth
4.5 stars.

This F/F fairy tale for kids is an absolute delight. Sweet and charming, this has everything you could want from a fairy tale, and I love seeing this kind of representation in picture books. The illustrations are mad cute too.

I didn't love it as much as I loved Prince & Knight (and I still can't place my finger on exactly why) but I still loved it, and it's a must for all children's bookshelves.
...more
Amie Doughty
May 01, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: picture-books
As with Haack's Knight Prince, I really wanted to like this book. The story itself has a lot of potential. But the writing is beyond atrocious. Enough with the canned rhymes. They detract from the story, and not all picture books have to sound like Dr. Seuss. ...more
Miss Ryoko
May 09, 2019 rated it it was ok
It pains me to give an LGBTQIA+ picture book such a low rating, but I honestly didn't care much for the story or illustrations. The story was pretty meh and over done. I'm glad this book exists, but there are definitely better ones out there ...more
S
May 11, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The maiden goes to the ball to see if she wants to marry the prince but falls for the princess.

Attention to diversifying the royal family was made and the artwork is glorious!
Kris
Sep 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
Love the text, and even if the ending is a little too pat, it is a fairy tale. Happily ever after and all. I did not love the art here, though, so I knocked off a star. However, this is a great addition to a library collection and something for both LGBTQ and princess loving audiences.
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • When Aidan Became A Brother
  • It Feels Good to Be Yourself: A Book About Gender Identity
  • Grandad's Camper
  • This Day in June
  • My Rainbow
  • What Are Your Words?: A Book About Pronouns
  • Pride: The Story of Harvey Milk and the Rainbow Flag
  • Hardly Haunted
  • My Shadow is Pink
  • Julián at the Wedding (Julián, #2)
  • My Maddy
  • Papa, Daddy, and Riley
  • Stella Brings the Family
  • Rise!: From Caged Bird to Poet of the People, Maya Angelou
  • Jack (Not Jackie)
  • Abner & Ian Get Right-Side Up
  • Laxmi's Mooch
  • A Church for All
See similar books…
See top shelves…
103 followers
Daniel Haack began writing at a young age, although much of his earliest work centered exclusively around his desire to be a swashbuckling hero. Like the Prince and the Knight, he just wants to save the day and get the boy, too. He has since written for various publications and collections, and Prince & Knight is his debut children’s book. He graduated from Ithaca College and is a Saul Zaentz Fell ...more

Related Articles

  Mahogany L. Browne is the author of Chlorine Sky, Woke: A Young Poets Call to Justice, Woke Baby, and Black Girl Magic. She's also the...
29 likes · 5 comments