Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Caprice” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
Caprice
 
by
George Bowering
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Caprice

3.70  ·  Rating details ·  33 ratings  ·  6 reviews
Hardcover, 266 pages
Published January 4th 1988 by Viking Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Caprice, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Caprice

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.70  · 
Rating details
 ·  33 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Peter
Jul 22, 2009 rated it liked it
Shelves: canadiana
George Bowering, more noted for his poetry than his prose, tackles the classic western in this gender busting, genre altering account of a young woman in the 'wild west". Fans of Pete Dexter, Deadwood and the like will enjoy it.
Marjorie
Jul 03, 2013 rated it really liked it
This is a story about a very different woman in the west around the 1880s. It is peppered with interesting characters. I liked the book as it kept me riveted as to what would happen next and to whom. I spent many years not far from Kamloops and enjoyed reading the history of the region. Many of the names in the book are prominent names still in that area.
Katie
Nov 12, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2006
Not exactly a western - a bit of a spoof on Westerns,with some baseball thrown in, by Canada's former poet laureate.
I have a long-standing crush on George Bowering, so I think anything he writes is good.
Gary
Apr 03, 2010 rated it liked it
Interesting view of the west from a different point of view.
Denise
Aug 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing
George Bowering is a historian and a poet. His prose is beautiful, haunting and at times laugh out loud comedic. Thank you for brining alive old British Columbia from a female perspective.
Sheila
Feb 18, 2016 rated it really liked it
Caprice is a young woman who is searching for the man who killed her brother following an argument over a bottle of whiskey. The time period is the early 1900's and the location is the interior of B. C. an interesting book with lots of subtle humor. An interesting style of writing which takes a bit of time to get used to. Love the two natives in the story as they add the humor to the story as they follow Caprice.
Geoffrey
rated it liked it
Jan 08, 2012
Limelord
rated it it was amazing
Sep 03, 2018
Wiebke Wartenberg
rated it liked it
Jan 26, 2014
Augustina Čuljak
rated it really liked it
May 03, 2014
Jay
rated it did not like it
Nov 28, 2015
Rob Mclennan
rated it really liked it
Jul 20, 2014
David Butler
rated it liked it
Aug 07, 2015
Clem
rated it liked it
Mar 15, 2015
Gord
rated it really liked it
Jun 11, 2013
Andreas Reinhardt
rated it it was ok
Jun 19, 2013
Diana
rated it it was ok
Apr 09, 2016
Aurelio Giardini
rated it really liked it
Apr 18, 2012
Carolyn
rated it really liked it
Dec 08, 2012
Marcin
rated it liked it
Dec 08, 2015
Devon Strang
rated it liked it
Apr 03, 2017
Michelle
rated it really liked it
Feb 14, 2016
Degan Walters
rated it liked it
Feb 15, 2014
Monika
rated it it was amazing
May 20, 2015
Warren
rated it really liked it
May 04, 2016
Tatiana Mikus
rated it liked it
Feb 02, 2015
Kara
rated it really liked it
Mar 05, 2011
Criss
rated it it was amazing
Jan 28, 2019
Anthony Pash
rated it really liked it
Mar 12, 2013
Nathan Ferguson
rated it it was amazing
Jan 24, 2014
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
16 followers
George Bowering was born and brought up in the Okanagan Valley, amid sand dunes and sagebrush, but he has lived in Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, and Alberta — great sources of hockey stars. Along the way he has stopped to write several books on baseball. He has also picked up Governor General’s Awards for his poetry and fiction, and otherwise been rewarded with prizes for his books, except in his hom ...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »