Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Art of Breaking Things” as Want to Read:
The Art of Breaking Things
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Art of Breaking Things

by
4.60  ·  Rating details ·  20 ratings  ·  11 reviews
In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson and Sara Zarr, one girl embraces the power of her voice: rules are meant to be broken and she won’t stay silent.

Seventeen-year-old Skye has her sights set on one thing: getting the heck out of Dodge. Art school is her ticket out and she’s already been accepted to her first choice, MICA. All she has to do is survive her senior year,
...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Expected publication: June 18th 2019 by Viking Books for Young Readers
More Details... edit details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson
    The Art of Breaking Things
    by
    Release date: Jun 18, 2019
    Enter for a chance to win an advance copy of THE ART OF BREAKING THINGS by Laura Sibson!

    (No PO boxes please)

    In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson
    ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1260 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Apr 18 - May 17, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about The Art of Breaking Things, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about The Art of Breaking Things

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-53
    4.60  · 
    Rating details
     ·  20 ratings  ·  11 reviews


    Filter
     | 
    Sort order
    Nicole Valentine
    Feb 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    This is an absolutely incredible debut. It's a stunning and accurate depiction not only of the damage that sexual abuse creates, but how the subsequent ways of managing the secret trauma can render the victim less trustworthy in the eyes of those who love them-- and ultimately, renders them unwilling to trust themselves. Sibson makes Skye's world so real, every rent in the fabric of her life will leave you feeling as if your firmament is also torn, long after you've put the book down. In this mo ...more
    Laurie
    Feb 09, 2019 added it
    Shelves: read-in-2019
    My heart is full after reading this timely, empowering debut YA novel. I cried, I laughed, I swooned, I felt fury, I felt hope. This important and affecting book has it all. 💜
    .
    THE ART OF BREAKING THINGS is the story of Skye, a talented artist who has already gotten into art school and plans to spend the rest of senior year partying until she can escape her hometown. But everything changes when her mom’s ex-boyfriend resurfaces. Skye has to face the terrible truth she’s kept buried for many years
    ...more
    ReadingWritingAndMe
    Apr 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson (June 18)
    Overview: Skye was twelve when she was molested by her mother's boyfriend on a camping trip. When she tried to tell her mom that night, her mom brushed her off and was too drunk to remember what happened to Skye. Now a senior in high school, she's lived with the fear and shame for a while, believing that her mother doesn't believe her. She's tried to cope with alcohol, drugs, and art, and she's starting to heal when Dan comes back into their li
    ...more
    Shannon MacArthur
    Apr 11, 2019 rated it really liked it
    PRICELESS!!!! Very good read after finishing a difficult book. Just finished For Whom the Bell Tolls and this was a total mind break. Felt good to read and hold. The topics although difficult to discuss were portrayed very well in this book. Characters were mostly well written and you could really get attached to them. My only issue is the amount of art Skye produces, as a kid in HS art we dont normally pump out fleshed out pieces, or at least ideas for them at the rate Skye does. Although this ...more
    Nikki Barthelmess
    Mar 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    THE ART OF BREAKING THINGS is a story I will not forget. Laura Sibson weaves a compelling story about a girl with a secret that too many young girls can relate to. Her character is hurt, but not broken, searching to find her way through the other side of trauma. Through her, I imagine so many others will find healing. What a fantastic debut.
    Emily Knosher
    Apr 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    It's 12:11 AM and I just finished this after starting it a couple hours ago and I'm crying, is any more explanation even needed? I would throw all of the stars at this book if I could.
    Skye
    The MC has the same first name as me -- of course I'm going to read it.
    Carissa
    Apr 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    This book is almost instantly gripping. Based on the jacket I thought there might be some redundancies, as I’ve come to read quite a few books lately that seemed to have a story just like this one. However, once I started this one, it felt different than other books almost immediately. The characters are so relatable and the flow of the writing so natural that you can easily paint yourself into the story right alongside these people. I think the very striking difference between this book and tho ...more
    Alexandra Villasante
    Apr 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    Gritty, necessary and completely gripping!
    Carissa
    Apr 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    This book is almost instantly gripping. Based on the jacket I thought there might be some redundancies, as I’ve come to read quite a few books lately that seemed to have a story just like this one. However, once I started this one, it felt different than other books almost immediately. The characters are so relatable and the flow of the writing so natural that you can easily paint yourself into the story right alongside these people. I think the very striking difference between this book and tho ...more
    BreAnna Gallegos
    rated it it was amazing
    Nov 07, 2018
    Maggie
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 15, 2019
    Cordelia
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 23, 2019
    Laura
    Apr 18, 2019 marked it as to-read
    Giveaway ends 5/17/19
    Sierra Elmore
    rated it it was amazing
    May 06, 2018
    Kate
    rated it really liked it
    Feb 23, 2019
    Claire
    rated it liked it
    May 18, 2018
    Jennifer Barr
    rated it it was amazing
    Mar 09, 2019
    Alex
    rated it really liked it
    Mar 26, 2019
    Bookfrog
    rated it really liked it
    Jan 07, 2019
    Everett Sullivan
    rated it liked it
    Jan 20, 2019
    Iany Mcgrawn
    rated it it was amazing
    Nov 23, 2018
    Mia
    rated it it was amazing
    Mar 13, 2019
    Alyssa
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 26, 2018
    Kelly
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 26, 2018
    Caro
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 28, 2018
    Kira Brighton
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 01, 2018
    Mew
    added it
    Feb 12, 2018
    Anastasia Antony
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 01, 2018
    Marie
    added it
    Mar 15, 2018
    Alyssa
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 18, 2018
    Oda Renate
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 19, 2018
    Ricarda
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 22, 2018
    Catherine Tinker
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 23, 2018
    Ocean Weeks
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 31, 2018
    Betsy
    added it
    Apr 08, 2018
    Lauren
    marked it as to-read
    Apr 14, 2018
    Noa Sperber
    marked it as to-read
    Apr 15, 2018
    Molly
    marked it as to-read
    Apr 26, 2018
    Julie (hiatus)
    marked it as to-read
    May 06, 2018
    rory
    added it
    May 07, 2018
    Peppermint
    marked it as to-read
    May 26, 2018
    Bonnie Berry LaMon
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 07, 2018
    Vicki Stevens
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 11, 2018
    Samantha McNulty
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 12, 2018
    Sharon Van Zandt
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 14, 2018
    JoNetta
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 20, 2018
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
    36 followers
    Laura Sibson worked for years as a career counselor for undergraduates before getting her MFA from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. When she’s not writing, counseling, or drinking impossibly strong coffee, you can find her running miles around her home in Philadelphia, walking her dog, or ingesting pop culture (along with great takeout) with her family.