Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Art of Breaking Things” as Want to Read:
The Art of Breaking Things
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Art of Breaking Things

by
4.20  ·  Rating details ·  10 ratings  ·  3 reviews
In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson and Sara Zarr, one girl embraces the power of her voice: rules are meant to be broken and she won’t stay silent.

Seventeen-year-old Skye has her sights set on one thing: getting the heck out of Dodge. Art school is her ticket out and she’s already been accepted to her first choice, MICA. All she has to do is survive her senior year,
...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Expected publication: June 18th 2019 by Viking Books for Young Readers
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Art of Breaking Things, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Art of Breaking Things

Community Reviews

Showing 1-42
4.20  · 
Rating details
 ·  10 ratings  ·  3 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Laurie
Feb 09, 2019 added it
Shelves: read-in-2019
My heart is full after reading this timely, empowering debut YA novel. I cried, I laughed, I swooned, I felt fury, I felt hope. This important and affecting book has it all. 💜
.
THE ART OF BREAKING THINGS is the story of Skye, a talented artist who has already gotten into art school and plans to spend the rest of senior year partying until she can escape her hometown. But everything changes when her mom’s ex-boyfriend resurfaces. Skye has to face the terrible truth she’s kept buried for many years
...more
Skye
The MC has the same first name as me -- of course I'm going to read it.
Marta Sala
Apr 02, 2018 rated it it was ok
DNF
3º x 3x1
BreAnna Gallegos
rated it it was amazing
Nov 07, 2018
Maggie
rated it it was amazing
Jan 15, 2019
Cordelia
rated it it was amazing
Jan 23, 2019
Sierra
rated it it was amazing
May 06, 2018
Claire
rated it liked it
May 18, 2018
Bookfrog
rated it really liked it
Jan 07, 2019
Everett Sullivan
rated it liked it
Jan 20, 2019
Iany Mcgrawn
rated it it was amazing
Nov 23, 2018
Mia
rated it it was amazing
Nov 07, 2018
Alyssa
marked it as to-read
Jan 26, 2018
Kelly
marked it as to-read
Jan 26, 2018
Caro
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Kira Brighton
marked it as to-read
Feb 01, 2018
Mew
added it
Feb 12, 2018
Anastasia Antony
marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2018
Katie
marked it as to-read
Mar 12, 2018
Marie
added it
Mar 15, 2018
Alyssa
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2018
Oda Renate
marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2018
Ricarda
marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2018
Catherine Tinker
marked it as to-read
Mar 23, 2018
Hannah L (Reviewer)
marked it as to-read
Mar 24, 2018
Ocean Weeks
marked it as to-read
Mar 31, 2018
Betsy
added it
Apr 08, 2018
Lauren
marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2018
Noa Josef
marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2018
Molly
marked it as to-read
Apr 26, 2018
Julie (semi-hiatus)
marked it as to-read
May 06, 2018
rory
added it
May 07, 2018
Peppermint
marked it as to-read
May 26, 2018
Nicole Valentine
is currently reading it
Jun 06, 2018
Bonnie Berry LaMon
marked it as to-read
Jun 07, 2018
Vicki Stevens
marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
10 followers
Laura Sibson worked for years as a career counselor for undergraduates before getting her MFA from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. When she’s not writing, counseling, or drinking impossibly strong coffee, you can find her running miles around her home in Philadelphia, walking her dog, or ingesting pop culture (along with great takeout) with her family.