Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “No Direction Home” as Want to Read:
No Direction Home
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

No Direction Home

by
4.55  ·  Rating details ·  20 ratings  ·  10 reviews
For a family divided, love knows no borders.

In this evocative fictional story inspired by today’s headlines, the immigrant family of thirteen-year-old Emma Cabezas is ripped apart. Her older brother faces deportation after attempting to renew his DACA status and her parents are dragged away in handcuffs by immigration officers. Family friend Sandi Moreno takes her in, but
...more
Kindle Edition
Published February 2018
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about No Direction Home, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about No Direction Home

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-50
4.55  · 
Rating details
 ·  20 ratings  ·  10 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Eileen Keane
Feb 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is a story that is very significant, especially right now. It’s told from the perspective of Emma, a 13-year-old Honduran American. It’s written in the first person, as if you’re reading her diary or having a conversation. We follow Emma and her family, trying to live in an America where some of them are not welcome. DACA and deportation play a major part, as Emma tries to navigate life without her parents and brother. Finally driven to extremes, Emma embarks on a journey way beyond her exp ...more
James B. Scott
Mar 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This timely book allowed me to back off from the highly politicized debate surrounding our immigration laws and policies and instead intensely feel the impact the implementation of these abstract-sounding issues would have on a real and productive American immigrant family. The story is told diary-like through the eyes of Emma, a thirteen-year-old girl who I felt was entirely lifelike. Her family is plunged into chaos through the seemingly arbitrary and unfeeling application of immigration law a ...more
Laura Shavers
Feb 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I won this book through a Goodreads giveaway. Thanks to this book, I got 4 hours of sleep.
This book was amazing. I rarely give 5 stars because I save that for what I consider truly outstanding books and this is one them.
This book deals with the current immigration issues that are plaguing this nation and the DACA issue as well. I am a strong supporter of DACA so I may be biased in favor of this book as well as allowing more people in from Mexico and Central America. The reason? What she covers
...more
Terri Luckey
Jul 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This story reached out, gripped my heart, and held it hostage as I turned each page to learn what would happen next. The author did a terrific job of making today's headlines relevant by allowing us to experience them through the eyes of thirteen-year-old Emma, who's family is shattered when her brother tries to renew his DACA paperwork, is detained, and ICE agents come knocking at their door.
Mary
Feb 21, 2018 rated it it was amazing
With immigration being a frequent topic these days I found this book heart wrenching and well written
Carmen
Nov 05, 2018 rated it really liked it
Editorial Review:
Plot: 3.5/5
Flow: 4/5
Character Development: 3.5/5
World Building: 4/5
Overall: 4/5 Stars

Anyone and everyone should read this book, especially with it being such a relevant topic. Stories like this are rarely ever heard, and usually, unfortunately, only one side is usually told - this is a fictionalized story from the victim's point of view.

My Take on the Book:
I admire Emma Cabezas for the way she takes on part time jobs to get some extra money in; though one thing that I felt hung
...more
Don Robins
Jan 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A Story Worth Reading

With so much "noise" in the media about immigration here in the USA, it becomes difficult to separate fact from fiction and rhetoric from reality. Even though this is a story of fiction, for many families in America, it details the pathways of their daily lives and struggles to normalize what otherwise is a fear-filled existence. As one who possesses a "green card" because I came to America from another country, I have learned the Joy's of living here. This book and this aut
...more
Sherry
Apr 13, 2018 rated it really liked it
I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because there was a couple times I was so bothered by what was happening that I considered putting it down. But I know the author, have enjoyed her other books, and said, Nope, I'll keep on. And I was so glad I did. Thanks, Diane, for addressing this heartbreaking issue.
Purnima Kar
Aug 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
it's a very different and emotional book written from the pov of a child...the story plot is so different from the previous books i have read...the story also gives insights into many sensitive and serious issues...it's a book worth reading...
Joy
Dec 30, 2018 rated it really liked it
Enjoyable
Heather Mulvihill
rated it it was amazing
Apr 11, 2018
Debee Sue
rated it it was amazing
Apr 15, 2019
Debralynn
rated it really liked it
May 06, 2018
Brenda Lewis
rated it really liked it
Jan 01, 2019
Diane Winger
Feb 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Alexandra Jimenez
rated it it was amazing
Jun 19, 2018
peggy hammonds
rated it it was amazing
Jun 28, 2018
Sheila
rated it liked it
Oct 11, 2018
Jan Mcdade
rated it liked it
Mar 16, 2019
Blessed T
rated it it was amazing
Feb 22, 2019
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Cynthia Daniel
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Kathy Heare Watts
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Kim Ellis
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Amy
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Joan
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Kathleen Gray
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Melly Mel
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
JoTA
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
F
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Java Davis
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Rebecca
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Leland Lee
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Kelley Blair
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Nancy
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Mary A.
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Samantha Osborne
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Karen
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Leigh
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Fleet Sparrow
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Carrie
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Rita Vill
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Gina
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Ashley
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Patrick
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
tammy
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
lynn
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Lori Bennett
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Debbie Icebergsewell
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
29 followers
I describe myself as a “retired software geek” who loves hiking, rock climbing, kayaking, camping, and cross-country skiing when I'm not glued in front of her computer playing around with website designs, watching cat videos, and writing.

I'm a passionate volunteer with the service organization, Altrusa International. I'm particularly involved with literacy projects in my community.

My husband, Cha
...more