Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Pariah Child & the Ever-Giving Stone (The Pariah Child #1)” as Want to Read:
The Pariah Child & the Ever-Giving Stone (The Pariah Child #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Pariah Child & the Ever-Giving Stone

(The Pariah Child #1)

by
4.45  ·  Rating details ·  20 ratings  ·  16 reviews
When Sarah was four, she promised her mother she would be a good girl — a proper young lady in their small country town — and that she would ignore the creatures who appeared to her and whispered in her ear of things unknown. But like all creatures of myth and legend, they won’t be ignored forever.

Now thirteen, Sarah is attacked by a wolf with poisonous black fur and
...more
Paperback, 278 pages
Published March 22nd 2018 by Natasha D. Lane
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Pariah Child & the Ever-Giving Stone, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Pariah Child & the Ever-Giving Stone

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-36
Average rating 4.45  · 
Rating details
 ·  20 ratings  ·  16 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Pariah Child & the Ever-Giving Stone (The Pariah Child #1)
Kevin Shepherd
"They were just a ragtag group of renegades, but Sarah wouldn't have had it any other way."

I know I am in the midst of a good novel if I am able to lose myself in the story, and I was most definitely lost in The Pariah Child. This is a dark odyssey filled with magical creatures and colorful, imaginative analogies that I just had to share with friends & family. A wild YA adventure that would be easily adaptable to a graphic novel or animated feature. *And Benlin Alexander's cover art is
...more
Dax Munro
Dec 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The Pariah Child and the Ever-Giving Stone is a fantasy novel set between the Earth we know and love, and the magical world of Lyrica. Our heroine to be, Sarah feels alone: making friends has always been difficult for her and I found it easy to relate to her based on this fact.

However, when Sarah accepts a once in a lifetime opportunity, she is rewarded with an incredible yet equally dangerous adventure.

If you love mythical creatures, then this is definitely a book for you. Lyrics is home to
...more
C.E. Clayton
“The Pariah Child and the Ever-Giving Stone” is the tale of young Sarafina (or Sarah to her friends) whose imaginary fairy friends aren’t all that imaginary, despite her strict mother’s best wishes. Threatened by her mother to abandon her fantasies of mythical talking friends or she’d be sent to an asylum, Sarah does her best to comply, until she is attacked by a not so ordinary pack of wolves. The “imaginary” friends she thought she banished have returned, begging for Sarah to help them save ...more
Natasha Lane
Mar 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
I'm the author, so you could say I'm a little bias. ;)

Hopefully you all enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. Thank you for your support!
Amie's Book Reviews
Aug 15, 2018 rated it really liked it
I was provided with a free copy of THE PARIAH and the EVER-GIVING STONE by author Natasha D. Lane. I receive literally hundreds of review requests every month and I only choose a few to read and review. The synopsis of this book along with the unique title intrigued me from the moment I saw it.

From the first paragraph in this novel, I was hooked. It begins with: "Sarafina danced barefoot in the field, the afternoon Montana sun warming her skin and the grass tickling her tiny feet. Around her,
...more
Aswin Prasanth
My review of my dear friend Natasha's novel.

''The Pariah Child & the Ever-Giving Stone'' is a fantasy novel. Natasha Lane crafts an imaginary “other world” in the vein of Beowulf, Alice in Wonderland, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings and so on. The cultural critic and literary theorist Tzvetan Todorov, in his work ''The Fantastic: A Structural Approach to Literary Genre,'' defines and theorizes the concept of “the fantastic.” The fantastic is a subjective term referring to a minor canon of
...more
Aswin Prasanth
Mar 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The Pariah Child & the Ever-Giving Stone is a fantasy novel. Natasha Lane crafts an imaginary “other world” in the vein of Beowulf, Alice in Wonderland, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings and so on. The cultural critic and literary theorist Tzvetan Todorov, in his work The Fantastic: A Structural Approach to Literary Genre, defines and theorizes the concept of “the fantastic.” The fantastic is a subjective term referring to a minor canon of literary works. It stands between two other literary ...more
Happy Booker
Apr 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The Pariah Child & the Ever-Giving Stone is a young adult fantasy written about a young girl named Sarah. She can hear things and creatures appear that make no sense. An incident with a wolf causes her to barely survive. Her saviors then ask her to find a certain gemstone and take it to their magical homeland.

This imaginary world begins with its unique setting and its creatures. The characters were standing out from the start and the descriptive nature of the literature was very appealing.
...more
Cianna Sunshine & Mountains Book Reviews
What a great young fantasy novel! Sarafina is a young girl who, though her strict mother wished she didn’t, can see fairies. As we all know, seeing things that others can’t ends up making your life harder most of the time, so Sara decided to try her best to ignore her friends, and live a normal life according to her mother’s wishes..... BUT that wasn’t going to happen. After an unexpected attack, Sara has to make some different choices and sets out on a great adventure that will keep you turning ...more
A.S. Romance
Oct 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I won this book in a contest and am so happy that I got the chance to read it. I thought this was a great YA read! The beginning kind of reminded me of stories like The Bridge to Terabithia and The Neverending Story in that the protagonist, Sarah, is a loner and an outcast because of her unrealized connection to a magical world.
I really like how the author developed Sarah's character in the beginning. As a reader, you get a good chance to know her before the story world of Lyrica takes over. I
...more
Brandi Brooks-Bemiss
Feb 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing
What a treasure of a YA book! Full of so many wonderful characters, creatures, and settings. Natasha took me into this magical world with her by using such descriptive and expressive writing. The heroine is both adorable and fierce. Full of touching moments, exciting drama and tiny, familiar glimpses into my own personal past as a young girl losing herself and finding her way at the same time. A great read from page one, to the end you that don't really want to come. I'm so glad I had a little ...more
M. Jr.
Feb 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The Pariah Child & the Ever-Giving Stone is such a fascinating, unique fantasy tale that gives you feelings (good, bad and horrible) about the people in Sarah's life. The momentum of this story makes for an easy, fun read and in some scenes, you feel as though you're in those woods, peeking through the branches, witnessing it all. Top Notch writing, perfect character development... without giving any hints, you're going to want more at the end.
Angela Mckee
Mar 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The Pariah Child & the Ever-Giving Stone had all of my favorite story elements. Sarah, the female lead, not only is she strong and brave, but shes kind and sweet. The world that Natasha D. Lane built is fantastic, her writing really painted the image for me. I felt like I was next to Sarah the entire journey. This book was gripping, and left me holding my breath at times. All characters were well done. I dont want to go any further and risk spoiling things. Just know that I enjoyed it.
InD'tale Magazine
2.5/5.0

With the story touching on many well-known fantasy elements, readers of the genre will find many familiar plot lines and characters in this book.

Read full review in the 2018 April issue of InD'tale Magazine.
Sam
Feb 24, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: review
*Disclaimer* I was provided with a free copy of this book in return for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and not influenced by the author and/or its affiliates in any way.

Overall, I love the book because it was nice to read a book that is lighthearted and a short read too. It was really easy for me to go through the book, I probably would have finished it in one read if I had the time.

The Goods:

Plot was interesting.The plot is interesting because it starts off
...more
Gladys Gonzales Atwell
May 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
#ReviewToFollow

*This review is done in conjunction with Nerd Girl Official book blog. For more information regarding our FREE services please visit www.NerdGirlOfficial.com
Tiki Kos
rated it it was amazing
May 09, 2019
Melleny
rated it really liked it
Apr 23, 2018
Jessica Matlack
rated it it was amazing
Apr 09, 2018
Kim Kenealy
rated it really liked it
Jan 13, 2020
Katy Rose
rated it it was amazing
Aug 06, 2018
Porsha
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2018
Fiona Grugan
marked it as to-read
Feb 02, 2018
Adam Caraballo
marked it as to-read
Feb 08, 2018
Mew
added it
Feb 14, 2018
Chris
marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2018
Genereams
marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2018
Cherrie
marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2018
Tiffany Hook
is currently reading it
Mar 22, 2018
Daniela Antova
marked it as to-read
Mar 23, 2018
Alina
marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2018
Alexa
added it
May 23, 2018
Nicole Burns
marked it as to-read
May 27, 2018
Andrea Stewart
marked it as to-read
May 27, 2018
Belinda Clemons
marked it as to-read
May 27, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Logan (Carolina Reapers, #4)
  • Code Name: Heist (Jameson Force Security, #3)
  • Best Erotic Romance 2014
  • Chase the Blues Away (Summer Lake Seasons, #4)
  • Atlas Fallen (Cyber Crown #1)
  • Chaos of the Gods
  • Breaking the Rules (Single on Valentines Day Book 13)
  • Dark Force Rising (Star Wars: The Thrawn Trilogy, #2)
  • Of Wolves and Witches (Arcane Arts Academy #1)
  • Dungeons & Dragons Starter Set
  • Cast In Moonlight (Havenwood Falls High #19)
  • First Flight (Dragon School, #1)
  • The Fallen (The Hunted, #4)
  • Monster Manual (Dungeons & Dragons, 5th Edition)
  • The Fifth Knight (The Knights of Caerleon #1)
  • Siren's Lure (The Aermian Feuds #2.5)
  • Areion (Lunar Medallion Series, #1)
  • Heir to the Empire (Star Wars: The Thrawn Trilogy, #1)
See similar books…
62 followers
Natasha D. Lane is a friend of most things caffeinated, a lover of books, and a writing warrior to her core.

As a believer that “the pen is mightier than the sword,” she graduated from Juniata College in 2015 with hopes to become a journalist. Instead, life took her on a different path and Natasha found herself digging up a manuscript from her childhood.

This dusty stack of papers would become “The
...more

Other books in the series

The Pariah Child (2 books)
  • Sarafina's Return (The Pariah Child, #2)
“My mama says people saying no is just like using the back door to get into the house. You can still get in, just a different way.” 3 likes
“Hadn't she once had a love for adventure? Hadn't she once wanted to be the hero of her own tale?” 2 likes
More quotes…