Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Siren” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
Siren
 
by
Jo-Anne Joseph
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Siren

by
4.51  ·  Rating details ·  65 ratings  ·  57 reviews
Blurb: Nothing in life is ever monochrome. I discovered that a long time ago, And with all such lessons, I learned it the hard way. Dark cannot exist without light. Night can't occur without day. Despair can't flourish without hope. I couldn't live without her, She can't survive without me. She was meant to be my protector. It was us against the world. Allies. Partners. ...more
Paperback, 298 pages
Published November 27th 2017 by Jo-Anne Joseph
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Siren, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Siren

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.51  · 
Rating details
 ·  65 ratings  ·  57 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Siren
Snow


***BETA reading***

My FULL review will be posted nearing the release date!

Jo-Anne Joseph shows a true talent in her writing, this is a second book I have read of hers, and the first one I get to BETA read and give my insights into the story, which was such a thrilling process on its own.

My first impressions were that this is one step forward towards the captivating and gripping feeling of being pulled in, tossed and swept away from the edges of sanity in this interesting, fast paced
...more
Aղցela W.
This was a pretty good dark read that was a total mindF*ck. Siren and Sage are sisters Sage is an orphan, whose sister, Siren is really a big mean bully or so Sage thinks she is. Fast forward many years and the girls live together in Cape Town, South Africa. Siren is more outgoing and possessive of her sister. When things begin to happen Sage wants to leave her sister but she can't. This book was really thrilling and suspenseful and it had a lot of twist and turn in it and you never knew what ...more
Coco.V
Jan 21, 2018 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: freebie
FREE on Amazon today (1/21/2018)!

Blurb:
Nothing in life is ever monochrome.
I discovered that a long time ago,
And with all such lessons,
I learned it the hard way.

Dark cannot exist without light.
Night can’t occur without day.
Despair can’t flourish without hope.
I couldn’t live without her,
She can’t survive without me.

She was meant to be my protector.
It was us against the world.
Allies. Partners.
Instead, she became my worst fear.

I allowed that despair to grow and fester.
I let it mar me, then,
...more
Melanie (mells_view)
This was definitely a rollercoaster of a ride. Once I thought I figured out Sage and Siren’s story... I was given more info and realized I didn’t know anything. There is some romance in this book, but I consider it romance lite, and suspenseful thriller heavy. I don’t feel I can say much else, because any more could be a spoiler.

If you’re looking for twisty, turny, with potential triggers, and thrilling suspense. Then, Siren is definitely the read for you. I will tell you that you will be
...more
Auden Dar
Nov 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I can’t remember the last time I read a book and felt like I was on a rollercoaster- emotionally and physically.

SIREN is simply the most intense book I have ever read this year. To describe it as romantic suspense would be incorrect. It is definitely more of a psychological thriller mixed with some romance. Just know SIREN is not for the faint of heart- it’s actually a bit of a mindf*ck.

There were scenes in the book that made me cringe- made me want to understand the surprising actions of these
...more
Tee loves Kyle Jacobson
This is the first book I have read by Jo-Anne and will not be the last. I really don't know where to start with this review because I don't want to give to much away so I am going to be very brief which is quite a thing for me because you all know I love to review and give away a little so the reader will want to go out and read the book. So here goes my non spoiler review......

Siren and Sage are sisters. Siren is the stronger of the two both mentally and physically. Siren controls Sage and Sage
...more
Caitlin Audet
Siren by Jo-Anne Joseph is one of those stories that not only keeps you guessing what will happen next but also has you scratching your head well after the final words. This was definitely a psychological puzzle and so well twisted I couldn't even begin to go about what was going on, making this such a fun read. Jo-Anne Joseph has spun such a marvelous web of mystery, lies, and deceit with two polar opposite characters and the one guy who made it his mission to seek out the truth no matter the ...more
Leigh Lennon
Nov 28, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Siren by Jo-Anne Joseph
I am not sure how to even begin this review because quite honestly, it is an experience that the reader has to go on by themselves to truly enjoy this book. If I give too much away, it will be like giving the reader the ending one of their most anticipated movie they’d been waiting to watch.
So, the question is, how to begin this review in a way that does this book justice. First, I am going to say, just buy the book! Don’t worry, I will give you more than just that little
...more
Sian Claven
Feb 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Looking backat the cover now that I have read the book, I wouldn't have expected this cover for this book. It's dark. It's Mysterious. Wait! It fits perfectly! I wanted to pick on of Jo-Anne Josephs books to read because I see her around so much on Facebook and events and I'm so glad I picked this one. It really drew me in.

Sage and Siren are twin sisters and Siren is an absolute... well let's just say that abuse doesn't always come in the form of spousal shall we? I've never met a character I
...more
Kim BookJunkie
Sage is a 32 year old female who has lived in fear literally every single day of her life. Why? Because she has an evil, sadistic I’m a psychotic sister named Siren who mentally and physically controls, abuses and manipulates her.

“She was meant to be my protector. It was us against the world. Allies. Partners. Instead, she became my worst fear. I allowed that despair to grow and fester. I let it mar me, then, almost destroy me. I realized something had to give. This time, there is no turning
...more
Ahima Booklover
Dec 06, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
4 light and dark, twisted and broken, insanely beautiful stars

This story is intense... and shocking... gripping... good.
I just dived in without any knowledge about that book and was thrown into a world of loss, grief, fear but also love, hope and emotions.
Meet Sage and Siren, two beautiful young woman so similar outside but so different inside. Where Sage is full of empathy, love and good behavior but weak in her ability to fight for her wants and needs, Siren is strong and straight forward but
...more
Jo-Anne Joseph
Jun 13, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Siren is a dark psychological romantic suspense.
Buy Link: mybook.to/sirenjjoseph
Blurb:
Nothing in life is monochrome. I learned that hard way. Dark cannot exist without light. Despair only flourishes with the loss of hope. Likewise, we couldn’t survive without each other. She was meant to be my protector. It was us against the world. But instead, she became my worst fear. That fear grew and festered. It marred me, then, almost destroyed me. I realized something had to give. This time, there was
...more
Nicole Brown
Nov 27, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Siren was a suspense filled emotional rollercoaster of a book. I loved the characters when I wasn't supposed to. Unique HEA not your typical dark read but dark none the less. Jo-Anne is a new author and so far everything that she has put out has been the best. If Jo-Anne continues to write like this I have no doubt she will be a best seller before long. I cant wait to read more. This book was so good. It keeps you on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next and surprisingly at the ...more
Joy Westerfield
Nov 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was my first read of a book by this author. All I have to say is, Wow! This book is unreal. It kept me guessing and on edge the entire time. The story of Sage and Siren blew my mind. This story kept me enthralled and I didn't want it to end. The way this author writes makes you feel as if you are part of the story. This book is definitely dark and parts made my heart stop, but I loved every minute of it. I don't want to spoil anything so please read this book. You will not be disappointed.
Carol
Jun 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was well written, had a great different storyline. I started reading and it pulled me in and I couldn't put it down. The characters were so interesting. I recommend it to all. I received it as an arc and voluntarily reviewed it.
Lisa Roberts
Jan 29, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I really enjoyed this book. I like when you don’t really know what’s going on until almost the end. Lots of twist and turns. Sage and Siren will keep you guessing.
Tiara Giles
Jan 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Finally! I have finished reading this book! This book was great. I think it's a great second book by Jo-Anne Joseph! I felt so many emotions while reading and I even felt like I could relate to the characters some moments. I liked how she handled the characters and the plot. It gave me a similar feeling to how I felt when I read Tedd Dekker's Three. However, this was romance based and I loved Jake a lot. I look forward to more of her work!

This is an ARC review.
Meghana Sarathy
This book is a very good attempt at a true psychological thriller ( with a romantic touch to it ) and the author has my respects for taking a shot at such an unusual storyline. I liked the suspense part of it and the story overall is pretty good but having read a quite a few psychological thrillers, it didn't quite reach my expectations but it wasn't bad either. Again, it's hard to pinpoint any thing without giving way to spoilers but I will try my best to highlight what I liked and how it could ...more
Jessie Seymour
I received a copy for an honest review

I gave this book 4 stars. I’m not sure if that is the best rating for this book. I will probably change it later as I’ve only just finished the book and do feel a little too close to it at the moment.

However, this book was amazing. It was a bit slow in the beginning as we were getting to know the characters, but as we got deeper into the plot of the story it was something I could just not put down. I know because I did try to put it down so I could process
...more
Jennifer Pierson
This was my first foray into the world of Jo-Anne Joseph, and she took me on quite the ride with Siren. So much so, that I just don't want to give any sort of description about the book as a whole, because I think that everyone is better served by going in blind. Instead, I'll just make this short & sweet by describing my extreme emotions while reading. First of all, there are some dark undertones that may trigger some, so this is another warning in case you didn't notice it anywhere else. ...more
Katharen Martin

3.5 A Catchy Read for A Dark or Rainy Day



As strange as it may be to say, the quotes in between certain chapters of this book was my favorite part about this read. For me it was an added bump that made me want to continue to turn the pages and was styled very appealingly. Unfortunately, I had the considerable twist well figured out when I hit just over a quarter of the way through the book, which was no surprise as I am well known as the spoiler of well-wrapped gifts in my family. I was

...more
Amber Jackson
Feb 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Heart Shattering Tale of Love and Acceptance

This book is an eye opener. It should be celebrated, become a classic and be mandatory reading for everyone. This is one of the first books I've read that actually and factually explores mental illness. Not just mental illness, but how it affects every aspect of life, from perceptions to relationships to self awareness. The book is brilliantly written and exceptionally researched. The characters are very real, with faults and flaws that make them more
...more
Amanda Williams
Jan 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Truly remarkable storytelling. As I finished the story I knew that my life will not be the same again. I have fallen for this author's writing and cannot wait to devour the next book. The characters were truly inspirational and the storyline was compelling.

It is amazingly intense and the author prepares you for the journey for you to take alongside the characters really well. The characters and story development were perfectly done. This book was extremely well written and has fast become one of
...more
Kathy L.
Jul 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I did not know what to expect with this book but it was surprisingly good and interesting. Definitely a dark story and not suitable for all but the intensity of this book was really good. I connected the dots to the story way before half way point but the curveballs that were thrown in later were definitely surprising. At first it was very confusing and I did not really understand what was going on and then it made sense again but would get confusing again. Once you connect the dots it makes so ...more
Everything Bookish  Blog
Sage and Siren are twins that have lived through tragedy. Siren is cursed with a mean streak and wants Sage alone and easily manipulated to bend to her will. When she's not obeyed she strikes with vengeance. As long as she can remember she's been under Siren's thumb. At thirty-two she is finally getting a taste for freedom, and wants more from life than to be her sisters shadow. Can they both survive this twist of fate when one pulls and the other doesn't bend.

The twins are amazing characters
...more
Leigh Roos
Dec 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Siren delves into the depth of darkness of Sage’s reality and her longing for normality and love.

The book, which is not my ‘usual read’, was mind blowing! I thoroughly enjoyed it and I could not put it down!

Once again, the author described the characters and events in such exact detail I had a clear picture in my head of all of them. This dark psychological romance is gripping and will have you waiting for the next event to unfold, hoping for the good but expecting the worse. The story will make
...more
Emily (Mrs B's Books)
**My thanks to the author for providing me with a free copy for an honest review**

This book may have a lot of triggers for some people and i really was not sure on whether i would this book when i first started it.

However i am really glad that i stuck with this book even if some of the stuff is harrowing and could make some people uncomfortable.

Sage has had a bum deal in life and there are so many twists and turns it is only towards the end that i got a grip as to what had happened to Sage and
...more
Ann-Maree Howarth
What a rollercoaster of emotions I endured in reading this very interesting story about Sage and Siren. I can not give much away in this review as you need to read the book to fully understand the story and message the authors is giving us. As you read you feel like you know where it’s going to go and then bam yours thoughts are a spin that will have your mind questioning everything you have just read. Gripping, suspenseful, psychological thriller, drama-packed book with family secrets and ...more
Tre Talbot
Mar 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is my first read by this author and I’m absolutely blown away, this story had my mind constantly thinking of different scenarios that could be the root of it all and at the same time I was enjoying the edge of your seat ride were taken on. Sage faces some serious conditions that I personally haven’t experienced or encountered but I feel as though I have after taking this journey with her. Jake is unbelievable with the determination he shows from the beginning, he truly is one of the rare ...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Virulent
  • Crucible (Deviant Games #0)
  • I Dare You (Dare, #1)
  • Hostage (Criminals & Captives, #2)
  • I See You
  • Stalk Her
  • Cavalier (Crimson Elite, #1)
  • Stolen: The Prequel (The Taken Duet, #0.5)
  • Born, Darkly (Darkly, Madly Duet, #1)
  • Vlad (The V Games, #1)
  • Waterfall Effect
  • Micaden's Madness
  • Taken (The Dark Necessities, #1)
  • Cold Cole Heart
  • Depravity (Dahlia Saga #3)
  • Gods & Monsters
  • Hidden River Academy (Hidden River Academy, #1)
  • Heath
See similar books…
627 followers
Jo-Anne Joseph is a USA Today Bestselling Author of contemporary romance, romantic suspense, and psychological fiction. Along with a passion for writing, she is an avid reader, wine lover and foodie. Her lifelong love affair with words started at a young age. She’s a business professional, and lives in Johannesburg, South Africa with her husband, their son and fur babies.
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »