Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Memoirs of a Guardian Angel” as Want to Read:
Memoirs of a Guardian Angel
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Memoirs of a Guardian Angel

by
4.50  ·  Rating details ·  16 ratings  ·  14 reviews

"Graham is a great storyteller." -- Christine Bernard, author of the acclaimed paranormal thriller, Will.


Do you believe in Guardian Angels?

Have you thanked your Guardian Angel today?

I never did... now I wish I had.

I now understand the hard work and difficult situations they face every day. That car that veered off course, the knife that slipped or even the close call when
...more
ebook
Published April 6th 2018 by Graham Downs
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Memoirs of a Guardian Angel, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Memoirs of a Guardian Angel

Community Reviews

Showing 1-33
Average rating 4.50  · 
Rating details
 ·  16 ratings  ·  14 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Memoirs of a Guardian Angel
Britt
3.5 Stars!

If you like fast-paced, easy fantasy reads, this may be the book for you.

Memoirs of a Guardian Angel is told in a sort of segmented format. If you’ve ever read A Dog’s Purpose, it’s kind of like that — transitioning from one life to another, only instead of a dog leading different lives, an angel is watching over different humans. As a result, timelines became a bit blurred — I think it worked well for the most part, but there was an incident here or there where I think the timeline wa
...more
Mark Tilbury
Mar 24, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: novella
Ever wondered what it is exactly guardian angels do?
Adam never did, but when circumstances offer the opportunity to find out, he’s surprised at the extent and breadth of their roles in our lives.

I found this story to be an interesting read. Even though no-one has ever been able to get inside the mind of an angel, Adam and the other angels still seem credible and believable. As other reviewers have also stated, this would have made a good longer novel with more exploration of the other angels per
...more
Carina Snookes
Mar 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I do believe we all have a guardian angel looking after us so was very excited to read this book. I started reading one night and said to myself “Just a couple pages to see how it starts”. Well, 45 pages later I forced myself to put it down. It is such an easy read that the pages fly by. You can really picture the characters so easily and hear their voices and accents. While I wished that the book was longer, it ended perfectly.
Angelique Pacheco
Feb 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I loved the concept of this book. I can’t help but wonder now if guardian angels are real. I was genuinely sad to see the book end so soon. It is well written, beautifully paced and riveting. I woke up super early one morning to finish it so I wouldn’t be tempted to read it at work. Well done. Very few things make me want to wake up early. If you want a book that will give you the “feel goods” then this is the one for you.
Jennie Rosenblum
Oct 09, 2018 rated it really liked it
This perceptive, novella is a sweet and simplistic tale that gives the reader an insiders’ view to life as a Guardian Angel. I did not realize that even they have bosses! This spiritual rather than religious view gives all readers a chance to examine and contemplate the idea of guardian angels.
The main character, Adam has a bit of a challenge with his guardian angel status. But with the help of his manager, John and co-angel Liz he finds a way to make it work.
Joni Janice Mielke
May 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing
We've all heard of guardian angels, but have you ever chanced to think a little deeper about who they are, where they come from, what they can - or can't - do, or about the system that governs them? In Memoirs of a Guardian, Graham Downs elucidates all these things and more as he takes us along for Adam's journey. As the latest recruit amongst guardian angels, Adam has a lot to learn and many new experiences ahead that will test and challenge him. As an angel, his supernatural powers never fail ...more
Jessica Wilhelmsson
Jul 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-2018
A fantastic book about beeing a Guardian Angel. Adam is a good guardian and it's nice to follow him. The only thing I had wish for was more of the mindworld both what Adam think and the one he's assigned to guard. I have always believed in Guardian Angels and I have said sorry many times to mine when I've done something that was meant to be good but went to be some kind of mistake or mischiefs. That's the reason I wanted more of how Adam was thinking. One thing is clear, it not the easiest work ...more
Fiona Morgan
Feb 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
An insightful look at what a Guardian Angel goes through when looking after us. I do believe in guardian angels and loved the thought of getting a look into their world and what it takes to look after humans to keep them safen. I felt an overwhelming sense of empathy with the angels and the struggle they endure to do their job. I would have liked to have seen more of the red angel and what he may have been up to, but I am thankful to have read this book and look forward to reading more by Graham ...more
Christine Bernard
Feb 26, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2018-list
I loved this book - fantastic premise and great execution.
It was a fast read, and I was very happy with the way it all got tied together at the end. I can't say much without giving it away, but I really enjoyed this book. I would love to see this made into a longer book. Graham is a great story teller.
Tanya
Apr 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing
have you ever thanked a guardian angel? no, neither had he. now he was one and he works so hard helping those who he has to look after. read how they work behind the scenes and how they help when you are at your lowest. so whatever you do next remember to thank them as it is a thankfulness task

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Milan Watson
Feb 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Memoirs of a Guardian Angel is an inspiring work of fiction that will make you think and remember all the times a guardian angel watched over you. Graham Downs tells the story in a way that captures your attention from the first page. Definitely a book to read.

P.S. Have you thanked your guardian angel today?
Stephen Hayes
Jan 23, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fiction-general
I found it a bit difficult to review this book, for several reasons. One is that it's hard to classify -- fantasy? Yes and no. General fiction? Well, yes, but not quite.

At one level it's a series of vignettes of people at crisis moments of their lives, as observed by a guardian angel. Then it takes us to the corporate headquarters of Guardian Angels Ltd, where the angels are assigned their charges and disciplined if they fail, or if they break any of the rules, such as one that prohibits a gaur
...more
Siobhan
Oct 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2019, ebooks
I'm someone who does believe in guardian angels and this book wasn't what I was expecting BUT I truly enjoyed it.

It was kind of nice to step into the shoes of a guardian angel and imagine their world for a bit. That was something I had never thought of before and it was a great trip for my imagination.

Well worth the read to me!
Melissa Delport
Apr 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: tsbc-authors
I read this in one sitting (admittedly it's a short work, but I'd probably have done that anyway, the pacing is great!)
The beginning was a bit disjointed for me, but had me intrigued, and I love how it all came together in the end!
Sara
rated it liked it
Jan 06, 2019
Elmari
rated it it was amazing
Jan 01, 2019
Graham Downs
Jan 14, 2018 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Shelves: books-i-wrote
Kathleen Gee
marked it as to-read
Feb 11, 2018
Ellen
marked it as to-read
Feb 16, 2018
BDowns
marked it as to-read
Feb 16, 2018
Gamuchirai Mushonga
marked it as to-read
Feb 19, 2018
Rachel
marked it as to-read
Feb 20, 2018
Gillian
marked it as to-read
Feb 23, 2018
Betty
marked it as to-read
Feb 24, 2018
Kim Johnson
marked it as to-read
Feb 28, 2018
Frieda
marked it as to-read
Mar 17, 2018
JodiLou Hutton
marked it as to-read
Apr 25, 2018
Pam Froman
marked it as to-read
Jul 09, 2018
Judy Bruins-Lich
marked it as to-read
Oct 15, 2018
Maren Thomson
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2019
John
marked it as to-read
Jan 27, 2019
Marni
marked it as to-read
Jul 02, 2019
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Are You Feeling Lucky? Memoirs of a Guardian Angel Paperback Now Available 1 1 May 05, 2018 10:48AM  
It's Launch Day! 1 1 Apr 06, 2018 02:31AM  
Pre-order Now Live 1 1 Feb 23, 2018 01:28PM  
Read the first chapter, free 1 2 Jan 30, 2018 09:28PM  
Well, the cat's out of the bag... 1 1 Jan 17, 2018 12:22AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Starheart (Vale of Stars #1)
  • The HighFire Crown (Blood Magic #1)
  • The Dragon Princess: Sleeping Beauty Reimagined
  • Beauty and the Beast
  • Let's Get Invisible! (Goosebumps, #6)
  • Through Stranger Eyes
  • Drowning in the Floating World
  • Don't Go to Sleep! (Goosebumps, #54)
  • The Memory Thief (City of Wishes #1)
  • The Dwarves (The Dwarves, #1)
  • Corner West and Lenchen
  • Pinocchio's Secret
  • Park to Hatfield
  • The Christmas Killings: 40 Hours to Justice: Full Color
  • Voodoo Priest (Blaire Thorne #2)
  • Bluegate Fields (Charlotte & Thomas Pitt, #6)
  • Ghost Boy: My Miraculous Escape from a Life Locked Inside My Own Body
  • Release (Tandro, Volume 1)
See similar books…
60 followers
Graham Downs is a South African author of short stories, flash fiction, and novelettes, in a variety of genres. Memoirs of a Guardian Angel is his longest work to date.

He currently lives in Alberton, Gauteng, with his wife and their dog, Becky. He spends a good portion of his free time reading and, as with his writing, he reads books in a huge range of genres and lengths. He’s also passionate abou
...more

News & Interviews

Some people love books. Some people fall in love. And some people fall in love with books about falling in love. Every month our team sorts...
11 likes · 3 comments