Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Lost In Time (Lost in Time, #1)” as Want to Read:
Lost In Time (Lost in Time, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

Lost In Time

( Lost in Time #1)

by
3.42  ·  Rating details ·  64 ratings  ·  40 reviews
Lews life is pleasantly boring until his friend Mira messes with magic she doesnt understand. While searching for her, he is pulled back in time to 1919 by a catastrophic magical accident. As he tries to navigate a strange time and find his friend in the smoky music clubs of Soho, the last thing he needs is Detective Alec Carter suspecting him of murder.

London in 1919 is
...more
ebook, Second Edition, 212 pages
Published January 6th 2018 by JMS Books, LLC (first published January 31st 2017)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Lost In Time, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Lost In Time

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.42  · 
Rating details
 ·  64 ratings  ·  40 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Lost In Time (Lost in Time, #1)
Cadiva
Jan 02, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
2.5*

Bloody cliff hangers, I hate them with a burning rage hotter than the sun. This book finishes with two of them - the paranormal element with a deadly creature on the run and also the potential relationship between Alec and Lew.

Other than that, it's an intriguing story with its alternative reality London setting and the odd dislocation in time of one of the MCs in a post World War I setting.

I liked a lot of the narrative but there's an awful lot of setting up going on in this book and no real
...more
Fani
Mar 08, 2017 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: m-m, ow-om
Lost in time is about Lew, whose sister accidentally traveled back in time and he used magic in order to go and find her. He landed in 1918 where he met Alec, his mission might have only been to find his sister, but he ended up helping Alec with a series of mysterious murders and maybe he even started developing feelings for the detective.

Thats the plot of the book or at least what I think this book was about because I had great difficulty understanding what was going on with Lost in time. The
...more
Nocturnalux
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

Lost In Time takes an interesting premise including time travel, Lovecraftian critters wreaking havoc in post WWI London along with a homosexual slant only to fail on almost all accounts. The reasons for this are many and range from a very poor grasp on the English language, a superficial understanding of the period in question that results in at least one anachronism, to the strange lack of focus on the part of the narrative to
...more
Tex Reader
2.5-Thrilling but Limited Time TravelPRNCrime w Hint of MM.
[Thanks to the author and Goodreads' Don't Buy My Love program for a free copy in exchange for an honest review]

This debut had many genres I like - time travel/historical, paranormal, crime thriller and m/m romance - that were decently mixed in to make an entertaining enough read. Despite issues with depth and errors, I did like the thrill of the story that took me back in time, much like one of the MCs.

A.L. Lester wrote an intriguingly
...more
Lisa The Novel Approach
Jan 13, 2018 rated it really liked it
In A.L. Lesters The Gate, the free prequel to Lost in Time, Matty returns to the farm and his brother Arthur, who is ill, after a long absence. Matty sees the state his brother is indisturbed sleep, piles of books, notes, and papers everywhereand throws himself into working the farm and caring for Arthur. As Arthur gets worse, he makes Matty promise to keep the Gate shut and destroy the books. Matty happens to discover a book that Arthur had marked, which contained an archaic form of English, ...more
Chris, the Dalek King
When his foster-sister disappears after attempting to magic her way into her dream job, Lew tries desperately to find her. But when he attempts the same spell that she did, he finds himself back in timein 1919 England to be exactand still with no clue as to where Mira might be. He can only hope that she is stuck in the past as well, since he has no idea how to get back to 2016. With no money, no friends, and no identity, Lew has to struggle his way thru post-war England to find Miraor at least ...more
PaperMoon
Dec 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
Wow what a read ... time travel, fantasy, murder, M-M romance .... everything I like rolled into one book! I ploughed through this in a past-midnight readathon (kept meaning to put it down but just couldn't LOL) even though the next day was a working day. The plot is presented through both MCs POV; we even get some perspective from the malevolent creature from the other dimension! there's a solid plot, great pacing, several nasty murders (by the creature) and believable attraction between the ...more
Joyfully Jay
Jan 09, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: camille
A Joyfully Jay review.

2.75 stars


Just so we are abundantly clear, this is a paranormal book that has a prologue set in the present (well, 2016) and spends the rest of the 20-odd chapters mostly in 1920 and 1921. Paranormality is most definitely a starring tropeit is what is responsible for sending our main character Lew into the past and what draws a small cast of side characters together to battle a very paranormal enemy. For the most part, this concept was pretty well communicated by referring
...more
Jendi
Feb 28, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Great concept, unsatisfying execution. So many things I love to read about here: magic, historic London, police procedural, slow-build sexual tension between two men. But the pacing in this book was off-track from beginning to end. I also found the recurring grammatical errors distracting: constant substitution of "it's" (it is) for possessive "its", occasional similar problem with "who's"/"whose".

The chief pleasure of a time-travel novel, it seems to me, is exploring the differences between
...more
Fiona Glass
Mar 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
As soon as I saw the blurb for this I thought it sounded like my sort of thing - and I was right. It's a quirky mix of magic, monsters and mystery with a hero who goes back in time to find his missing sister and accidentally introduces something he shouldn't have into 1920s London. One or two reviews have been critical of the romance but I loved the slow-burn relationship between the two main characters, which developed nicely from initial mistrust and antagonism into something much more tender ...more
Lillian Francis
Mar 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
I've rated and reviewed this and Shadows on the Border together as I believe they should be one story.
Sam Ashworth
(A copy of this book was provided for free by the author in exchange for an honest review.)

This story has a great premise, and the author has clearly put a lot of thought into the idea of the Border, and the ways workers or users of the Border aim to maintain it. Its an interesting twist on the usual other-dimensions concept and all the power and dangers that come with it. In this story, two characters end up accidently using the power of the Border to travel back to early twentieth-century
...more
Lisa
Feb 28, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: dbml, 05-mm-read
I was given a copy of this book free by the author in return for an unbiased review.

I liked the premise of this book but somehow it just didn't live up to it.
Lew is transported back in time for current day to 1919 looking for his sister. As a year or so passes he does eventualy find her, singing in a nightclub and she has made a life for herself. I wondered then what he would do. Would he try to get back to the 21st century having achieved what he set out to do,. Apparantly not. He stays in 1919
...more
Isabelle Adler
Apr 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2019
4.5 stars

I loved the unusual premise and the historical setting of this paranormal story. The writing was almost dream-like, which meshed perfectly with the slightly strange, compelling narrative.
The only quibble I had was with the pacing, which I thought was odd at times, but overall, I enjoyed this immensely. Thankfully, it's a series, so the story continues, picking up new characters along the way.
Anne Barwell
Jan 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: ebook, m-m
I love time travel stories, particularly those that involve travel to the past. Add in the fact that post WWI is one of my favourite time periods to read about, and I knew I needed to read this book.

The first thing that struck me when I started reading was the world building. The time period is meticulously researched, and felt very real. I really liked the details, like Lews accent being not quite right, something that not everyone would think of, but makes perfect sense with the way language
...more
Heather
Jan 13, 2018 rated it really liked it
When Lew's friend, Mira, went missing he knew he had to find her at whatever the cost. Well that cost was waking up in 1919. Not only does Lew search for Mira but he also finds himself in the middle of a gruesome murder investigation. The attraction between Lew and the lead investigator, Detective Alec Carter, is something neither man asked for but exists all the same. As Lew learns to navigate through the past and Alec learns to readjust to civilian life after four years of blood, mud, and ...more
Eric Westfall
Jan 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The headline for my review at AMZ was: "Time Travel, Magic, Murder Mystery and Romance...Marvelous!"

This is an extraordinary time travel tale, with a very creative kind of magic. I very much believed in and cared about what happened to the main characters (Lew, from our time; Alec, the detective who quite reasonably suspects Lew may be the source of a number of mysterious deaths)...and "caring about the characters" is my primary criterion for a good read. The period feels right, and it's a
...more
R E
Feb 06, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Decent writing, poor pacing in m/m supernatural-historical fiction hybrid

While it's clear the author of Lost in Time has the potential to be much better, the novel suffers from poor pacing within each chapter, in transitions between chapters and in its overall story arc. It's not just that the author lacks a sense of timing but that she also does not know how to build and manage emotional, psychological or dramatic tension. Some chapters have a plodding, tedious, meandering feel to them. As a
...more
Sylvia
Aug 12, 2018 rated it liked it
I've been thinking about how to review this book for a few days now. On the one hand, I enjoyed the story, the characters, and the setting, but on the other hand the way it ended pissed me off.
(view spoiler)

However, I liked the characters, and I thought Alec was
...more
Arlene
Feb 25, 2020 rated it really liked it
Despite a bit of awkward pacing (seems slow in the beginning, the end is an exciting rush) I found this entertaining and fun! I feel like Lew's character skims the surface of his personality, despite the book being written from his perspective, but Alec is wonderful. The concepts of the magic and the other creatures introduced in this book are super interesting, but I do think that it takes a while to fill the reader in on what the characters all seem to know. I wish more time had been spent ...more
Valerie
Jan 08, 2018 rated it liked it
This book was more of a time travel/paranormal detective story than a true romance. When Lew uses magic to go after his sister in 1919 from his time in 2016, he meets Alec, a detective who he helps with a series of murders. There is no real romance until the end, but even then, you could consider the story a simmering attraction rather than a romance. Alec was a wonderfully rich character, but Lew and the time he was from seemed to be swept under the rug, even forgoing finding his sister for two ...more
Virginia Lee
Jan 20, 2018 rated it really liked it
This story takes you on a magical journey through time. You will find the main characters have a mystery element to themselves. Maybe it is what they are facing or maybe what they are hiding and not sure whom to believe. The storyline flows well within the time period and you can see a budding relationship grow. Can't wait to see what happens in the next book with this relationship. There is a cliffhanger in the story, but it just holds you on the edge to see what happens next with the ...more
AllAboutThoseBooks
Ended strong

First, there's a cliffhanger, and the faintest whiff of a HFN. Ordinarily, I would hate this--but I didn't in this case. OTOH, maybe that's because I already knew book 2 is out, so I could be forgiving. Nevertheless, it was the right spot for a temporary pause in the story.

The world building dragged a little in the beginning, but given this is a series, there was a lot to set up, historically, paranormally, and in the way of characterization. The pace picks up considerably once all
...more
Madonna196
Dec 15, 2019 rated it did not like it
I wanted to like this book because I love time travel novels but no. I was confused about Pulling and the Border. The writer didnt provide an explanation. We go from 1914 to 1920 without any continuity, no understanding of those missing years in Lews Life. We right away are introduced to a character named Archie who we find out knows about the Pull and time travel...how? Did Lew tell him? What was his reaction? Hes just thrown in there. This book is a mishmash of thoughts that needed flow. I did ...more
R
Mar 06, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: m-m, reviewed, paranormal
So...time travel, creatures, pullers (dont call them witches), and a thin veil (border) between humans and (evil) something other worldly.

The story was a bit confusing in places and I felt like there were holes with no explanation. I liked the feel of 1918 London, kind of dark and scary.

There really was no romance between the main characters, although their antagonism was a sort of foreplay. I was surprised that the book ended where it did.

I did enjoy it and am looking forward to the next
...more
Lena Grey
Feb 08, 2018 rated it liked it
"The important thing I that man is lost in time, in the moment that immediately precedes him which only attests, by reflection, to the fact that he is lost in the moment that follows." ~ Andre Breton

When Lew Rogers decides to find his foster sister, Mira, he knows he's going into the unknown, but he doesn't realize that he will end up traveling almost one hundred years into the past. Even with this extraordinary development, he scrambles to make the best of his situation and is more determined
...more
Ian Bibby
Jan 02, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Get set for a ride..

I wanted it to go on... no, seriously, I know that's the sort of thing people say but I mean it.
I would have given it 5 stars if it wasn't for the sudden finish, instead of 'The end' it should have said 'to be continued...' in the style of the old Dickens part books or the Saturday morning cinema serials.
S.A. Crow
It took a long time to bring our heroes together. In many ways this felt more like a horror story with romantic elements (and I was surprised by the horror aspect, the brief made it seem more paranormal). But very atmospheric and interesting and I like the characters and the premise.
Lorraine Turnbull
May 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
History, mystery, time travel, gay romance and murder. The pace is racy and unsettling.
This fantastic little read is great for a train or plane journey; especially in winter. very atmospheric, interesting story line and a wee twist in the story too. I'll not spoil it for you.
Vae
Mar 25, 2019 rated it liked it
Great characters, great worldbuilding, great set-up - and then it ended! Felt very much like a set up to a series rather than a standalone book.
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Any Old Diamonds (Lilywhite Boys #1)
  • Hither, Page (Page & Sommers, #1)
  • Tallowwood (Tallowwood, #1)
  • Quill Me Now (The ABCs of Spellcraft, #1; Bad Valentine, #2)
  • Jon's Downright Ridiculous Shooting Case (Jon's Mysteries, #1)
  • The Case of the Sexy Shakespearean (The Middlemark Mysteries #1)
  • A Gentleman Never Keeps Score (Seducing the Sedgwicks, #2)
  • The Rat-Catcher's Daughter (Lilywhite Boys, #0.5)
  • Box 1663
  • Hunger (Witches of the Big Easy #2)
  • Hexhunter (Hexworld #4)
  • The Rising (Badlands, #2)
  • Surreal Estate
  • Proper English
  • Spellbound (Magic in Manhattan, #1)
  • The Black Prince (Silk and Steel #4)
  • The Found (The Finder #2)
  • Tikka Chance on Me
See similar books…
28 followers
A. L. Lester likes to read. Her favourite books are post-apocalyptic dystopian romances full of suspense, but a cornflake packet will do there's nothing else available. The gender of the characters she likes to read (and write) is pretty irrelevant so long as they are strong, interesting people on a journey of some kind.

She has a chaotic family life and small children, and she has become the
...more

Other books in the series

Lost in Time (5 books)
  • The Gate  (Lost in Time, #0.5)
  • Inheritance of Shadows (Lost in Time #0.7)
  • Shadows On The Border (Lost in Time, #2)
  • The Flowers of Time (Lost in Time #3)

Related Articles

Every new year ushers in a brand-new class of debut authors to discover. And the beginning of 2020 has plenty of fresh new voices to add to you...
100 likes · 44 comments