Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “かくりよの宿飯 あやかしお宿に嫁入りします。 1 [Kakuriyo no Yadomeshi: Ayakashi Oyado ni Yomeiri shimasu. 1] (Kakuriyo: Bed & Breakfast for Spirits #1)” as Want to Read:
かくりよの宿飯 あやかしお宿に嫁入りします。 1 [Kakuriyo no Yadomeshi: Ayakashi Oyado ni Yomeiri shimasu. 1] (Kakuriyo: Bed & Breakfast for Spirits #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

かくりよの宿飯 あやかしお宿に嫁入りします。 1 [Kakuriyo no Yadomeshi: Ayakashi Oyado ni Yomeiri shimasu. 1]

(Kakuriyo: Bed & Breakfast for Spirits #1)

by
4.27  ·  Rating details ·  516 ratings  ·  73 reviews
大人気「妖怪宿飯」ノベル、コミカライズ第1巻発売!!

亡き祖父譲りの「あやかしを見る力」を持つ女子大生・葵は、
得意の料理で野良あやかしを餌付けていた最中、
突然「天神屋」の大旦那である鬼神にさらわれてしまう。
大旦那曰く、祖父が残した借金のカタとして、
葵は大旦那に嫁入りしなくてはならないのだという。
嫌がる葵は起死回生の策として、
「天神屋」で働いて借金を返済すると宣言してしまうのだが……。
あやかしお宿を舞台に繰り広げる、葵の細腕繁盛記!
...more
Paperback, 194 pages
Published November 15th 2016 by KADOKAWA
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.27  · 
Rating details
 ·  516 ratings  ·  73 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of かくりよの宿飯 あやかしお宿に嫁入りします。 1 [Kakuriyo no Yadomeshi: Ayakashi Oyado ni Yomeiri shimasu. 1] (Kakuriyo: Bed & Breakfast for Spirits #1)
Yesy (The Book Vagrant)
solid start

I'm in!
Dani ❤️ Perspective of a Writer
description
Check out more manga and graphic novel reviews @ Perspective of a Writer...


Aoi Tsubaki inherited her grandfather’s ability to see spirits—and his massive debt to them! Now she’s been kidnapped and taken to Kakuriyo, the spirit world, to make good on his bill. Her options: marry the head of the inn her grandfather trashed, or get eaten by ayakashi. But Aoi isn’t the type to let spirits push her around, and she’s determined to redeem her grandfather’s IOU on her own terms! If she can just get
...more
Victoria ♡
Jun 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-manga
Really cute and interesting manga, I loveeeeee the premise. It's pretty unique from stuff I've read before that involve a human seeing yokai and spirits, it's refreshing!
Kayla Brunson
Apr 15, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: manga, read-in-2019
This was a good start to a new series! I love the idea of Ayakashii owing an inn in the demon world. I can’t wait to read more about Aoi and see how her paying off her debt plays out(If it happens lol). We have some interesting characters and I can already tell that I’m going to love this world.
Schnekk
Nov 29, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This writer has a kind of bizarre sense of pacing, but I enjoyed this a lot more than I had expected to! I like how the grandpa’s character polarizes others.
Jaimie
Mar 07, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
So cute ...more
Llyr Heller-Humphreys
Felt like I could use a bit more back-story, but really enjoyable.
David
Nov 14, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: manga, 2018-books
A young girl who can see the spirits that populate Japan finds herself locked into a spirit world due to the debts of her grandfather.

Ok, so the first thing you should know is that the Japanese are pretty superstitious and believe that the world is populated with spirits. As I recall this is part of the Shinto religion, but having never gone to a temple or purchased a good luck charm or bribed a priest my belief should not be mistaken for an authoritative explanation of Japan.

So there's a girl
...more
Shala
Jan 17, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A solid and fun start to a new manga series! This is like a mash up of The Water Dragon's Bride and Kamisama Kiss! It makes my heart happy!
Kathleen
Jun 21, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A combination of two things I love: paranormal creatures and cooking manga! Very cute, and I can't wait to see where it goes.
Courtney Rose
Kakuriyo tells the story of Aoi, a girl with the extraordinary ability to see Ayakashi creatures. She was originally an orphan, adopted at a young age by an older, single man and that he has just passed away at the start of the book. As the tale unfolds, we learn grandfather (what Aoi calls him) was known for being a rogue and a vagabond who held great powers. Aside from also being able to see ayakashi, he had the ability to walk between their world and the human world, which results in ...more
Victoria
Jul 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
It's been a long while since I read a manga series and what a great one to pick up to get me back into the format.

The premise takes a lot of clichés (magical orphan, human girl falls in love with monster boy, a demon world, family legacy) and turn it into something fresh. The concept of running an inn for demons is just fun. Aoi is a great main character and her struggling to mourn the death of her grandfather while accepting that the was a freeloading philander that (seemingly) had no problem
...more
Beth
Aug 16, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fantasy, teen-manga, asian
On reading the basic plot I thought, "Oh, sort of a mashup of Natsume's Book of Friends and The Ancient Magus' Bride," both of which I like. And it turns out I wasn't far off. The story has the fascinating and varied traditional Japanese supernatural beings like Natsume with equally varied personalities, the connection to a grandparent, and the main character's commitment to undoing what their grandparent did. It has the WTF proposed marriage from a nonhuman to a teen girl that Ancient Magus' ...more
Anna
Aug 31, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A bit of a rough start--it took a few pages to get the point that the protagonist can see spirits--but once she is kidnapped by the ogre and the plot gets going, it is an entertaining story. There is an added interest in the reason she was kidnapped causing her to question her relationship with her beloved grandfather, who raised her--that gives the fairly standard spirited-away story a bit more depth to start with. I look forward to learning how that plays out. And I am interested to see how ...more
Jenny
Feb 16, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: manga
This was a nice beginning to the series. I can imagine that most people will consider this first volume slow because of how much exposition is dropped, but I personally welcome it. I am a HUGE fan of Japanese folklore, and as such know that if someone is writing a series centered around it (and actually doing their research) it will be necessary to inform the reader about each ayakashi, their world, how it functions, etc. Personally, I wasn't bored while the exposition was being dropped simply ...more
Evelyn
Think Spirited Away mixed with Ouran High School Host Club. You have to pay a huge debt but it’s to Ayakashi (an ogre in particular). The only difference is that the main character has an easy out but doesn’t wanna take it: marry the ogre.

Instead she has to get a job and try not to get eaten by monsters who all apparently hate her because of her adoptive grandfather. By the way, this whole thing is his fault. But she makes friends with an adorable kyuubi (nine-tailed Fox).

As far as the story
...more
Chelsey
Aoi has always been kind to the spirit creatures that only she can see, but one day, after sharing her lunch, a spirit transports her into the spirit realm. The spirit is actually a powerful ogre who tells Aoi that since her grandfather's death, she is now responsible for paying off his massive debt to the hotel Kakuriyo. Aoi must choose between marrying the ogre or being eaten by him, but she convinces him to let her work off her grandfather's debt. But will anyone hire her, a mere human in a ...more
Danielle Booey
Apr 07, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: manga
Aoi has been able to see yokai, Japanese spirit creatures, since she was young. While other people thought she was crazy her grandfather could also see yokai and taught her how to act normal around humans as well as the caution her spirit gift needed to keep her safe.

Unfortunately Aoi’s kind nature towards yokai is taken advantage of and she is kidnapped to the spirit realm. It is there she learns that her wastrel grandfather amassed a gargantuan bill at the Tenjin Inn in the spirit world and
...more
Sam
Jul 15, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
4.5 stars

I'm glad I decided to give this series a try. I picked it up during the VIZ Media Buy 2 Get 1 Free sale at B&N. And then I just decided on a whim to get all 4 volumes B&N had instead of just the one...which is great because I'm probably going to binge-read the rest tonight.

I love how food focused this story is, though it also does make me hungry to read it. The art style is nice, and I'm finding all of the spirits/yokai that we have met so far to be fascinating, though obviously
...more
Nathan Hipple
I know I'm not the target demographic for this series, but even looking past that, I was not particularly impressed. The draftsmanship of the art was solid, but the framing was awkward and poorly chosen on far too many incidences making things unclear or prioritizing oddly chosen moments in the pacing of the story. As far as the story itself, I could dig the premise and there seemed to be some social commentary going on, but none of the characters particularly hit with me outside of the Odanna. ...more
BookishBat
Sorry, I have no theme song for this at the moment. Maybe if I read more of the series.

Anyway, very interesting manga. I've always preferred fantasy or slice of life as a manga genre and this seems to combine both. Aoi is a strong character that I like because she stands up for herself when told about her grandfather's debt to the Tenjin-ya Inn. There is no insta-love from her regarding the handsome ogre head of the inn who wants to marry her in order to pay off her grandfather's debt. Instead,
...more
typewriterdeluxe
In Kakuriyo: Bed & Breakfast for Spririts vol. 1, Aoi finds out that her grandfather promised her to a demon in order to pay a debt. In an attempt to save herself from an arranged marriage, she promises to instead work at his inn and settle things.

This book is so cute! Augh! Aoi is super sweet and I love her work ethic, I want to know more about the supporting cast, the art is beautiful, and the focus on food makes me happy.

Literally the only thing that I didn't like about this first volume
...more
Jewels
Oct 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
It might be because of the oncoming holiday that I found this just as interesting of a read. The artwork is lovely and has the right vibe for Halloween: monsters, ghouls, the Underworld, and (for some shoujo flare) a chance of romance! (Of course, the first book doesn't necessarily hit you up with direct harem or anything, but some of the characters make you wonder what's to come for the MC).
While I haven't seen the anime yet, I'm definitely tempted to while I wait for the next volume to be
...more
Sarah
Mar 30, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: manga, supernatural
Full review [here]. It's also my 100th review on the blog!!

4.5 rating, I felt the world building could have been added to a bit more, and the manga tried to do a lot within a little space. As a format with page constraints, that "a lot" was still impressive though.

Overall, this manga was enjoyable and I hope more people give it a try. It still hasn’t settled into a genre, and that works to its benefit rather than detriment. Fans looking for a read-alike to Spirited Away, I don’t think there’s a
...more
Sesana
Mar 06, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: comics, fantasy
I couldn't help but compare this to Natsume's Book of Friends, one of my favorite ongoing manga series. It falls a little short there, which doesn't mean this isn't worthwhile. This particular volume is very slow going. We barely get beyond Aoi's introduction to the spirit world, and though it's fairly obvious she's going to end up using her cooking skills, we don't get that far. I think I would have liked this more without the ineffective attempts at humor, and if the pace had been slightly ...more
Julia
Nov 26, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Pretty good start. I will def be checking out the next volume.
The mc doesn't seem like too much of a push over, like most shojo protags.
I like the focus on food because I like food :)
My one criticism is that the designs of the ayakashi are a little lame. The spider demon just looks like a typical bishonen but with diamonds on his forehead. The tanuki girl is just your run-of-the-mill anime girl with animal ears.
Rachel
Basically Aoi is stuck in Kakuriyo, the land of demons/spirits, after she was abducted by an ogre named the Odanna who runs a B&B and is much respected as a leader of this particular section of the demon world. Aoi has been able to see was taken as payment for a debt incurred by her grandfather many years ago, and now she's living at the B&B trying to work off the debt. She is helped along by Genji, a nine-tailed fox demon who lives and works at the inn, and he wants her to open a ...more
Kathy
Oct 29, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: adult, graphicnovel
Teens will relate to Aoi trying to find her place in a new and unforgiving place (even though this isn't filed in the teen section). This is just the beginning, and I hope that this doesn't follow the Japanese trope of the sweet girl falling for the rudest and most condescending guy (the ogre who insists that she pay her grandfather's debt by marrying him). This volume doesn't have any obvious reasons that it couldn't be in the teen section, but maybe it changes over the course of the story.
Ixzzua Guillen
Apr 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
If you want a slow romance build, with a creative and unique world, then I recommend this series to everyone. If you were a fan of Kamisama Kiss and this story is definitely for you. It has comedy, drama, romance, and supernatural elements, all woven together seamlessly then you will fall in love with this series.
Jane
Jan 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Thrilled to read manga after loving the anime.

I really enjoyed the anime so I was thrilled when I saw volume 1 of the manga available. It did not disappoint. Story is great and art and character design are pleasing. I had really wanted to know how this story would continue and will eagerly await future volumes.
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Love in Focus Vol. 1 (Love in Focus, #1)
  • Love in Focus Vol. 2 (Love in Focus, #2)
  • 水神の生贄 9 [Suijin no Hanayome 9] (The Water Dragon's Bride, #9)
  • Kakuriyo: Bed & Breakfast for Spirits, Vol. 5 (Kakuriyo: Bed & Breakfast for Spirits)
  • 水神の生贄 8 [Suijin no Hanayome 8] (The Water Dragon's Bride, #8)
  • 極主夫道 1 (Gokushufudou: The Way of the Househusband, #1)
  • Takane et Hana T10
  • 魔法使いの嫁 11 [Mahou Tsukai no Yome 11] (The Ancient Magus' Bride, #11)
  • Love in Focus Vol. 3 (Love in Focus, #3)
  • 水神の生贄 10 [Suijin no Hanayome 10] (The Water Dragon's Bride, #10)
  • Takane et Hana T09
  • Skull-face Bookseller Honda-san, Vol. 1
  • Takane & Hana T8 (Takane to Hana, #8)
  • ひとりじめマイヒーロー 1 [Hitorijime My Hero 1]
  • ショートケーキケーキ 2 (Shortcake Cake, #2)
  • 赤髪の白雪姫 1 [Akagami no Shirayukihime 1] (Snow White with the Red Hair, #1)
  • 異世界居酒屋「のぶ」 1 (Isekai Izakaya "Nobu", #1)
  • ショートケーキケーキ 3 (Shortcake Cake, #3)
See similar books…
3 followers
IOKA Wako
Name (in native language): 衣丘わこ

Other books in the series

Kakuriyo: Bed & Breakfast for Spirits (6 books)
  • かくりよの宿飯 あやかしお宿に嫁入りします。 2 [Kakuriyo no Yadomeshi: Ayakashi Oyado ni Yomeiri shimasu. 2] (Kakuriyo: Bed & Breakfast for Spirits, #2)
  • かくりよの宿飯 あやかしお宿に嫁入りします。 3 [Kakuriyo no Yadomeshi: Ayakashi Oyado ni Yomeiri shimasu. 3] (Kakuriyo: Bed & Breakfast for Spirits, #3)
  • かくりよの宿飯 あやかしお宿に嫁入りします。 4 [Kakuriyo no Yadomeshi: Ayakashi Oyado ni Yomeiri shimasu. 4] (Kakuriyo: Bed & Breakfast for Spirits, #4)
  • かくりよの宿飯 あやかしお宿に嫁入りします。 5 [Kakuriyo no Yadomeshi: Ayakashi Oyado ni Yomeiri shimasu. 5] (Kakuriyo: Bed & Breakfast for Spirits, #5)
  • かくりよの宿飯 あやかしお宿に嫁入りします。 6 [Kakuriyo no Yadomeshi: Ayakashi Oyado ni Yomeiri shimasu. 6] (Kakuriyo: Bed & Breakfast for Spirits, #6)