Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate Our Brains” as Want to Read:
The Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate Our Brains
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate Our Brains

4.25  ·  Rating details ·  16 ratings  ·  4 reviews
A laugh-a-minute, action-packed alien adventure perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Frank Cottrell Boyce.

Best friends Freddy and Sal have accidentally intercepted a message from Alan – a spectacularly grumpy, brain-munching alien from outer space. Alan has only one message. Earth is going to be invaded in exactly ten hours’ time.

Soon the police, Nasa and even Presiden
...more
Paperback, 176 pages
Published January 4th 2018 by Walker Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate Our Brains, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate Our Brains

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-28
4.25  · 
Rating details
 ·  16 ratings  ·  4 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Whispering Stories
Book Reviewed by Stacey on www.whisperingstories.com

Whilst trying to use his neighbours TV feed to watch his favourite programme, Wrestlegeddon Smackdown, Freddy accidentally let an alien called Alan, from the planet Twang, know where the Earth was. Alan had been searching for Earth for a long time, as he had seen transmissions of our TV shows and thought that we were all daft, and that the Galaxy would be better off without us.

Alan made his appearance on the tele to tell the world that he was o
...more
Strawberry
Feb 19, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: mg-children-s, humour
This funny book is also very silly. Freddy and Sal want to watch ‘Wrestlegeddon Smackdown’ and try to get a signal using a very strange homemade satellite. But instead of the wrestling they end up communicating with Alan, an alien who’s determined to eat their brains, by 10pm that the same day!

The story is a very silly one but also funny and it was easy to get into and read this book right away. Every chapter begins with a time, like 5pm, rather than just a number, and the whole book takes place
...more
Katy Noyes
Jan 02, 2018 rated it really liked it
Totally silly, but a fast-moving sci-fi 'end of the world' comedy... set in Wolverhampton

In trying to (illegally) access 'Wrestlegeddon Smackdown' via a satellite and transmitter, Freddy and Sal inadvertently alert an alien called Alan (yes, Alan) who hates humans to their exact location in the universe. An alien who wants to eat human brains. And who is on his way - tonight!

Freddy and Sal immediately swing into action and inform - their local lollipop lady! And soon after, some world leaders. C
...more
Gabriella
Jan 21, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: childrens, 2018
A book filled with laughs, silly ideas and aliens from the start with humor both adults and kids can enjoy throughout. Freddy and Sal are in trouble, they intercepted a message from annoyed Alan who only wants brains and rice pudding. Bring on craziness from presidents to helicopters to annoyed parents. I was giggling throughout and unable to put the book down. Well written with great cartoons to keep all entertained.
Abbey
rated it liked it
Feb 02, 2018
Tony L Marriott
rated it really liked it
Oct 10, 2018
Ferdousi
rated it liked it
Jun 02, 2019
Duncan Worth
rated it it was amazing
Sep 06, 2018
mina fazel
rated it it was amazing
Aug 23, 2019
Kate
rated it really liked it
Jul 27, 2018
K N LEWIS
rated it it was amazing
Aug 01, 2018
Amanda Block
rated it it was amazing
Aug 26, 2018
John
rated it really liked it
Oct 06, 2018
Anna Wilson
rated it it was amazing
Mar 20, 2019
Louise
rated it it was amazing
Mar 05, 2019
Nikias Tomasiello
rated it it was ok
Jan 12, 2018
Brenda
added it
Apr 22, 2018
Diego L
marked it as to-read
May 01, 2018
Thomas Jackson
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2019
Bookicorn
marked it as to-read
Feb 23, 2019
Jo
marked it as to-read
Jul 19, 2019
Jaco De Bruyn
marked it as to-read
Jul 31, 2019
Tapas Tripathi
marked it as to-read
Aug 09, 2019
Gaia
marked it as to-read
Aug 31, 2019
Cass
marked it as to-read
May 03, 2018
Beth Murphy
is currently reading it
Dec 16, 2018
Mervin
added it
Jul 20, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
12 followers
I write pictures and doodle words for Bloomsbury, Puffin, Oxford University Press, Simon & Schuster, Scholastic, The Guardian, Disney, Nickelodeon. After leaving art college in ’97, I spent nearly 10 years as a political cartoonist for The Western Morning News before going freelance.

I’ve been published both as a writer and an illustrator for a number of publishers, had my books translated acro
...more