Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Couple of Choices” as Want to Read:
A Couple of Choices
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A Couple of Choices

by
3.92  ·  Rating details ·  13 ratings  ·  6 reviews
Alex and Phyllis have seen life overtake them. With their dreams, aspirations and love for each other crushed by the choices they made, their mental discord has led to a physical separation. Ten years have gone by when she calls to say she’s coming over to see him. Their meeting opens up old wounds, old memories and forces them to think about their lives, as people, as a c ...more
Kindle Edition, 133 pages
Published December 10th 2017 by Ajesh Sharma
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Couple of Choices, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Couple of Choices

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-29
3.92  · 
Rating details
 ·  13 ratings  ·  6 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Ushasree N
Jan 07, 2018 rated it liked it
The book cover intrigued me and picked it up as it was free on Kindle Unlimited.

What worked for me:

1. I like the style of narration - a play format. No over-boarding on the descriptions. Just what is necessary to set the mood of the characters.
2. I often wondered what if a couple doesn't get a divorce and yet live separate lives? Will they ever get back when they are older and mature to mend their relationship (for whatever reasons that prompted the initial separation), and this story poignantly
...more
T
Aug 15, 2018 rated it really liked it
Nice smooth read with good flow. The story is in play form and explores the failure of a marriage - not due to fights or cheating or any such things but just a loss of the spirit. He does it smoothly without making it all too serious and depressing. Overall an interesting read. Can be read in one stretch.

Not exactly my cup of tea though - I am not into romance and all this over thinking romantic and marital relations is still not such a mainstream concept in India. At least not among the middle
...more
Rohit Sharma
Oct 29, 2018 rated it liked it
How do I start my blabber with a blasphemous sentence, a confession of sorts and yet save myself from some brick-bats? That is what was going through my mind as soon as I finished this little gem of a book. Undoubtedly this is the first of its own kind of "Play" that I have ever read in the last couple of decades, loved it totally and now I am hooked, shocked and amazed that why no one forced me to read a Shakespeare or my own personal favorite Oscar Wilde? I am super glad that I finally laid my ...more
Alifiyah Shabbir
Nov 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing
What makes a relationship enduring? Is it the love that is professed? Or is it the shared goals? Can it be the inherent friendship? Or is it just quid pro quo?

We all know that there can be no perfect yardstick to measure the success of a relationship. At some point or the other, people in relationships do drift away or feel stifled. It is at such moments when they start exploring their choices; Choices such as that of staying in the relationship or of moving on. The choices made will, in turn, d
...more
Rubina
Jan 20, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: reviewed
A well-written story written in the play format. The author has played on the emotions based on the residue of a failed relationship. Many thought processes make this play almost philosophical. With very few words, the author has brought out the nuances of a relationship. I have often wondered how divorce couples feel after they meet. Do they regret? Do they reminiscence? Or are they still connected as friends because of the moments shared? Mr. Sharma has given me the answer to some extent.

The s
...more
Shwetha H.S.
May 16, 2018 rated it really liked it
Ajesh Sharma is an NRI writer residing in Canada. A Couple of Choices is his first play and first published work.

Alex is a writer living in seclusion, somewhere is outskirts of a city that is almost a jungle. Linda, his literary agent, is after him to know why his estranged wife, Phyllis, is visiting him after so many years. Alex is all ready to welcome Phyllis to his home as if she is coming to live with him forever. Even he doesn’t know why she is visiting him. Though Alex is not keen on it, L
...more
Prieti
rated it it was amazing
Dec 14, 2017
Aprajita Kaushal gupta
rated it really liked it
Feb 20, 2018
Kavita
rated it liked it
Jan 01, 2018
Nithya K
rated it it was amazing
Jul 08, 2018
Vasundhara Rangarajan
rated it it was amazing
Jan 03, 2018
Aditi Varma
rated it liked it
May 25, 2018
Vanita Bodke
rated it really liked it
Apr 25, 2018
Veturi
added it
Dec 28, 2017
Lokesh Sharma
marked it as to-read
Dec 28, 2017
Ajesh Sharma
Jan 17, 2018 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Molley Ganguli
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2018
Jasleen
marked it as to-read
Feb 04, 2018
Nupur Kalra
marked it as to-read
Apr 08, 2018
Bob Khanna
marked it as to-read
Aug 27, 2018
Gulu Balani
marked it as to-read
Sep 05, 2018
DivyaRani
marked it as to-read
Oct 28, 2018
Neha
marked it as to-read
Oct 29, 2018
Madhavi
marked it as to-read
Oct 29, 2018
Akshay Sharma
marked it as to-read
Oct 31, 2018
Ramakalyan Ayyagari
marked it as to-read
Nov 11, 2018
Yuva Ranjini
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
9 followers
Ajesh Sharma, is a Canadian author and playwright. His short stories have appeared in The Telegram Magazine and Unbound eMagazine. A Couple of Choices is his first play. He uses his blog, sloword.com, to showcase his love for wordplay and humor, his intense dislike for cats and his fanatical adoration of okra.

When not wearing colorful socks or attempting to play guitar, he tries to read, write, le
...more