Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Somewhere Only We Know” as Want to Read:
Somewhere Only We Know
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Somewhere Only We Know

by
3.93  ·  Rating details ·  140 ratings  ·  91 reviews
10 00 p.m.: Lucky is the biggest K-pop star on the scene, and she's just performed her hit song "Heartbeat" in Hong Kong to thousands of adoring fans. She's about to debut on The Tonight Show in America, hopefully a breakout performance for her career. But right now? She's in her fancy hotel, trying to fall asleep but dying for a hamburger.

11 00 p.m.: Jack is sneaking into
...more
Kindle Edition, 320 pages
Expected publication: May 7th 2019 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
More Details... edit details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Somewhere Only We Know by Maurene Goo
    Somewhere Only We Know
    by
    Release date: May 07, 2019
    Enter for a chance to win an ARC of SOMEWHERE ONLY WE KNOW!

    A Cosmopolitan Best Young Adult Book of 2019

    Sparks fly between a K pop starlet and a tablo
    ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 50 copies available, 2017 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Mar 16 - Mar 23, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-30
    3.93  · 
    Rating details
     ·  140 ratings  ·  91 reviews


    Filter
     | 
    Sort order
    Tatiana
    3.5 stars

    I guess I should stop rolling my eyes at these one-day romances. I now have liked both The Sun Is Also a Star and Somewhere Only We Know. Both times I had started the books with skepticism and then slowly surrendered to the almost-insta-love. Not sure if what happens in these romances is love, but the attraction can happen in one day, and I am clearly capable of falling for this scenario.

    It took me awhile to get into this story. Lucky, a K-pop star, is getting ready for bed and takes so
    ...more
    chloe ꒰♡ˊ͈ ु꒳ ूˋ͈꒱.⑅*♡
    WAIT WHAT??? IT'S SET IN HONG KONG? OMG I'VE ALWAYS WANTED TO READ A YA BOOK SET IN HONG KONG I'M CRYING HAPPY TEARS I WANT THIS ADSFVAKBVVGB CAN'T WAIT FOR THIS TO COME OUT!
    Kristen
    Dec 24, 2018 marked it as to-read
    I want an ARC of this more than I want to be Kim Taehyung's headband.
    Joshee Kun (조수아)
    Thank you, Macmillan, for giving me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    You're not the first person to assume that K-pop artists don't actually know anything about music. We don't go through that training because we like the fashion.

    I'm pretty torn about Maurene Goo's third novel. As a fan of K-pop (I have around 15 favorite artists), I expected that I would have a nearly perfect reading experience. Sadly, it seems that my love for the genre isn't strong enough to negate my disl
    ...more
    Amy
    Dec 08, 2018 marked it as to-read
    You had me at K pop starlet.



    Update: I HAVE TO WAIT TILL MAY 7TH

    Lisa (Remarkablylisa)
    Mar 07, 2019 rated it did not like it
    MY RATING: 1.5/5 STARS

    I received an ARC from Raincoast books in exchange for a honest review. 

    Honestly, I love what Maurene Goo represents because she's an Asian American author who writes YA contemporaries representing the Asian community but this book was a huge let down. I think I've been under the impression that I loved the previous book she's written because why wouldn't I like a YA novel featuring a character I could relate to in terms of culture? But turns out, I forgot that I actually
    ...more
    Acqua
    Nov 15, 2018 marked it as to-read
    Shelves: contemporary
    It has a cover! The Way You Make Me Feel was one of my favorite contemporary books of 2018, I can't wait
    Aimee ♥ | Aimee, Always
    Dec 25, 2017 marked it as to-read
    Shelves: 2019
    God bless this book; let's all hope it turns out to be as adorable as the blurb sounds!
    Romie
    things I liked:
    • the themes explored — following your dream and finding out who you really are and what you want to do
    • the dual perspective
    • the setting + the food — I really liked that we got to ‘visit’ Hong Kong and read about so many kind of Asian food
    • the parents of both main characters — very supportive and kind
    • Lucky was a very likable character and I wanted what’s best for her
    • the anxiety rep was good
    • I'm still a huge fan of Maurene Goo's writing — I think it's so easy and nice to re
    ...more
    Savannah (The Book Prophet)
    YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW EXCITED I AM ABOUT THIS BOOK. KPOP???? YES PLEASE IM ALL IN
    Rachel Strolle
    Jan 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    perfection
    Shehzeen Muzaffar
    Dec 16, 2018 marked it as to-read
    K-POP IDOL?!!! OMGGG
    Gaby
    Dec 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing
    WE DON'T DESERVE SUCH PERFECT, CUTE, SWOONY BOOKS but dear lord I am so happy they exist and I can read them. If you don't love Jack and Lucky as much as I do after reading this book I'm not sure we can be friends anymore. (JK but also not.)
    ║ madalin ║
    "At the end of today was a goodbye. Anything that could grow between us would be gone within hours, ephemeral and faded before it could even begin. We were like the stars seen from Earth- a memory of something that was already finished."

    OOOOHH MY GOD. OH MY GOD. WOW. I am letting everyone know now that this is not going to be cohesive in any way and will consist entirely of me fangirling about how much I love this book and Maurene Goo. I literally just finished this book not five minutes ago but
    ...more
    Kristi Housman Confessions of a YA Reader
    This was such a cute story.  I loved The Way You Make Me Feel a bit more, but Somewhere Only We Know was really good.  I love how Maurene Goo always has so much food in her books!  I get hungry while reading them.



    This book takes place over a weekend, but most of the story is told in one full day.  Lucky is in Hong Kong, just finishing her tour.  She's a K-pop star who is always on a strict schedule.  She can't eat what she wants and can't get in any trouble or her label will drop her.  K-pop sta
    ...more
    Dessa Mae
    Feb 27, 2019 rated it liked it
    Hmm, not sure how to feel about this. I did enjoy reading it but everything was so wrapped up nicely in the end that it's somehow too good to be true. I dunno.
    Patty
    You had me at K-pop!!!
    Dylan
    Feb 11, 2019 rated it liked it
    3 stars.

    This wasn't really anything special. Bland characters, bland writing, too convinent of an ending, and also pretty boring overall.
    Kalie
    This is Maurene Goo's best work to date, but considering that I didn't care very much for her previous two novels, it didn't have to do much for my expectations to be surprised. Still, this was the exact type of light and fun that I needed after reading some heavier fare. Think Roman Holiday as a Hong Kong-set K-drama and that's this book in a nutshell. If that appeals to you, then go for it! After all, sometimes you're just in the mood for a good romcom. But while this set-up was delightful, I ...more
    Mandy
    Aug 20, 2018 marked it as to-read
    Maurene Goo... wrote a ROMAN HOLIDAY book... with the name of one of my favourite songs... set in my hometown.

    JUST HOOK IT TO MY VEINS.
    Mairenn
    Apr 04, 2018 marked it as to-read
    I'm living for cliche tropes!
    I AM SO EXCITED FOR THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ♠️ Tabi ♠️
    I am 100% positive I am going to 200% love this
    Erin
    Feb 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review

    I’ve never really been a huge fan of YA Contemporary – generally if I read romance, I want some more mature characters. Hey, I’m almost 30. I think its pretty reasonable to not want to get jealous of teenagers who find the loves of their life in high school. That being said, I discovered Maurene Goo two years ago and never looked back. Every single time she puts out a new release, I drop whatever I’m currently reading to devour her n
    ...more
    Jasmine
    ARC provided me by a coworker.

    Coming from a now mellowed out Kpop fan, this book was not that great. I’ve watched kdramas and I know how goofy and unrealistic they can be...this just doesn’t seem to translate well into a novel (at least when Goo is writing it).

    Lucky’s quirkiness was so forced and the writing style overall is just bland. The story does discuss some notable aspects of Kpop culture including the harsh treatment of celebrities by their own management and issues surrounding image and
    ...more
    Ashley Brooks
    Feb 07, 2019 rated it liked it
    3.5
    I love Maurene Goo, and when I saw she was writing a book involving KPOP...well. We all knew I'd be here.

    I enjoyed this, and the last 1/3 of it was really wonderful, but overall not my favorite of her books. Still absolutely recommend!
    Abby
    Jan 07, 2019 rated it liked it
    Somewhere Only We Know is a fun romp through Hong Kong with lots of setting (and food!) textures. For fans of Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, SWOK has strong romcom vibes along with an interesting adventure and flawed characters. Goo admitted in an interview with Sarah Enni on the First Draft podcast that she struggles with voice, and that is an issue in this book as she writes two alternating perspectives, but she manages a good pace for a plot that takes place mostly in 24 hours and the premise is o ...more
    Alison Glass
    Jan 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    AHHH SWOON. Another fantastic rom-com from Maurene Goo, possibly my favorite so far.
    Teresa
    Dec 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    Maurene Goo has done it again!
    I was so wrapped up in Lucky & Jack's story that I didn't even put my book down to eat dinner (that says a lot about this reader)!
    An adorable re-imagining of one of my favorite movies ever (Roman Holiday) but set in Hong Kong with Asia's biggest K-Pop star, Lucky and the boy that falls for her, Jack, who is currently working for a trashy tabloid to make ends meet.
    Go to your local Indie bookstore on 5/7/2019 and buy this book, I can't stress enough how much I l
    ...more
    Abbey
    Nov 13, 2018 marked it as to-read
    This sounds so freaking adorable 😍
    Gimme gimme gimme 🙌🏻
    « previous 1 3 4 5 next »
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
    • Don't Date Rosa Santos
    • There's Something About Sweetie
    • I Love You So Mochi
    • The Downstairs Girl
    • 10 Blind Dates
    • Frankly in Love
    • The Map from Here to There
    • Fake It Till You Break It
    • Hope and Other Punchlines
    • Ordinary Girls
    • Truly Madly Royally (Point Paperbacks)
    • Serious Moonlight
    • The Rest of the Story
    • Symptoms of a Heartbreak
    • The Mermaid, the Witch and the Sea
    • Love From A to Z
    • Field Notes on Love
    • Nocturna (A Forgery of Magic, #1)
    714 followers
    Maurene Goo grew is the author of several acclaimed young adult novels, including I BELIEVE IN A THING CALLED LOVE and THE WAY YOU MAKE ME FEEL. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and cat, Maeby.