Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Ghost Squad” as Want to Read:
Ghost Squad
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Ghost Squad

by
3.98  ·  Rating details ·  494 ratings  ·  149 reviews
Coco meets Stranger Things with a hint of Ghostbusters in this action-packed supernatural fantasy.For Lucely Luna, ghosts are more than just the family business. Shortly before Halloween, Lucely and her best friend, Syd, cast a spell that accidentally awakens malicious spirits, wreaking havoc throughout St. Augustine. Together, they must join forces with Syd's witch grandm ...more
ebook, 288 pages
Published April 7th 2020 by Scholastic
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Ghost Squad, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Claribel Ortega Thank you! I am also excited :) My main character is Lucely Luna. She's 12 and lives with her father Simon who runs a small local (and failing) ghost …moreThank you! I am also excited :) My main character is Lucely Luna. She's 12 and lives with her father Simon who runs a small local (and failing) ghost tour in St. Augustine Florida. Lucely is smart, kind, brave, loves cats and old movies.

Her family doesn't have much, but she does posses the gift of seeing the ghosts of her ancestors. They live on as fireflies and protect Lucely and her father. Fireflies as protectors is Dominican folklore, and has a special place in my heart.

Fun fact! Lucely's name comes from the word luciérnaga which means firefly in Spanish. (less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.98  · 
Rating details
 ·  494 ratings  ·  149 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Ghost Squad
Claribel Ortega
Nov 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
If you're wondering what kind of energy GHOST SQUAD has, look no further than this gif from COCO.


Not only are there ghost chanclas (yes, ghost!) but there are:

* Fat cats named after The Goonies
* A witch grandma in a leather jacket
* Brown & Black girls on bikes having adventures.
* Dominican folklore
* Vintage video games
* Scary ghosts that can take the form of different creatures (like dragons)
* One very fat cat named Chunk
chunk

My cover is also live now, and all the thanks goes to the amazing a
...more
Cande
Lucely and her best friend, Syd, set in an adventure to save Lucely’s firefly spirits. Accidentally they may or may not wake up evil spirits instead. So now they have to combine forces with Syd’s powerful grandmother, Babette, and her fat cat, Chunk, to save their town and families.

This is such a funny and heartwarming story, a perfect mix of discussing painful feelings and having a great time with your friend. It deals with grief and loss, ghosts of course and powerful magic. And yes, this is
...more
CW (The Quiet Pond) ✨
I really liked this! What a cute, spooky, and fun read!

- Follows Lucely, a Dominican girl who, in trying to help her father, accidentally unleashes evil spirits. Together with her best friend, a chunky cat, and a witchy grandma, the group work together to right wrongs and save their town.
- I loved loved loved the friendship and family themes in this book! They were so sweet and meaningful, and I loved that this book is carried by such a genuine and powerful friendship.
- I loved that this was spo
...more
Zoraida
Nov 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A charming adventure! Get it for your little ones!
Julie
May 18, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This was delightful!
Bee ♡
Apr 16, 2020 added it
Shelves: 2020-reads
─── ・ 。゚☆: *.☽ .* :☆゚. ───
Synopsis:

Lucely Luna is a 12 year old that can see ghosts, and surrounded by the ghosts of her family she finds happiness and love. When an incident at her father’s Ghost Tour threatens to separate her from her loved ones, Lucely and her best friend Syd Faires try to solve the mystery together. With the help of Babette the Witch The Ghost Squad must find out what evil is trying to take over her town and the lost spirits that reside there.

─── ・ 。゚☆: *.☽ .* :☆゚. ───
My Tho
...more
Richelle Robinson
“ I received a review copy from Amazon Vine and voluntarily provided an honest review. This does not affect the opinion of the book or the content of the review.’’

I really enjoyed this story written by Claribel Ortega even though I am not the intended target audience. The book was nicely written, family focused and introduce me into a new culture filled with a rich history. While reading, I felt like I was in the story fighting along with the squad. Some but not many of the phrases are written i
...more
caitlin ✶
Feb 05, 2019 marked it as to-read
I’m adding this book to my want to read shelf because I follow Claribel Ortega on Twitter. And let me tell you that she is the most intellectual and kind soul on there. Please follow her on Twitter!
Enne (they/them)
4 stars

Things I would not recommend doing: reading this book while it's dark outside.
Things I would recommend: trying the audiobook!!

After following Claribel on twitter for,,, a while, I was incredibly eager to pick up their latest!! And it definitely didn't disappoint!! I've been on a mission to read more MG this year and can I just say that picking this one up was definitely a great choice!!

I absolutely adored Lucely and her family of ghosts. I adore reading about big families and their rel
...more
Kim
Apr 07, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I’m not sure if this was too middle grade for me or what, but I couldn’t really get into it. But then again, I was considering reading with my daughter and I don’t think she really would’ve liked it that much either. I felt like there was too much lead up and not enough action. If there had been more action packed encounters spaced throughout, and then a big ending, it may have been better. Overall not what I expected, but still a really interesting cultural take on ghosts and witches. I did lov ...more
Ms. Woc Reader
Mar 26, 2020 rated it really liked it
The movie adaptation of this book is gonna be an instant hit. This book is great presentation for young Latinx and African American girls. Finally they can pick up a fantasy story where they are present on the pages. And it's a fun story full of jokes, culture, and family.

Lucely has the gift of seeing spirits when others around her can only see fireflies. But those fireflies are the spirts of her abulita, her tias, her tios, and her primos who protect and watch over her. But lately strange thin
...more
Iris
Apr 27, 2020 marked it as dnf
I want to clarify: I'm marking this as dnf for now because I don't want to clutter my currently reading any more than it already is, but I 100% plan to come back to it, and it was very much an "I struggle with audiobooks and wasn't far enough in to be properly invested yet so I procrastinated reading it and then my scribd free trial ended" dnf, not an "I don't like this book" dnf
Alicia (A Kernel of Nonsense)
**I received a copy of this book from the publisher, which does not influence my review**

Claribel A. Ortega’s debut novel, Ghost Squad, is a delightful middle grade with lots of heart and a cast of character that is sure to charm readers of every age. Lucely Luna is just like any twelve-year girl, she likes hanging out with her best friend, Syd, and spending time with her family. Only most of her family are ghosts and she’s the only one who can see them. When Lucely discovers that her dad may no
...more
Katerina Kondrenko
5 out of 10

A girlish version of Ghostbusters. Or Supernatural for a middle-grade audience, idk. Not bad, a lot of humor, but I'm too grown-up for this.
Mila
Apr 30, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: audiobooks
3,75 stars

What I liked:

- The friendship between Lucely and Syd was so precious, their banter honestly carried most of the novel;
- The portrayal of witches and witchcraft;
- The big emphasis on importance of family.

What I didn't really like:

- The plot moved too quickly and actually made some events more confusing than they actually were;
- Partially because of that the book felt too short as well.
Charvi
Apr 27, 2020 rated it really liked it
This book was so beautifully written!

What started out as an adorable story with lively characters turned into a well-developed and enriching cast as well as plot. To start with, I love the unabashed usage of Spanish sprinkled in between and the fact that the story draws its roots from fables and myths.

I loved getting a glimpse into the culture and I feel that my favourite part of this books was the fireflies and Lucely's undying love for them. Tia mi labros and the abuela were my favourite ghost
...more
whereIreadthewords
May 06, 2020 rated it it was ok
DNF at page 28.

The first chapter had so much Spanish written without context so I was completely lost. I don’t mind bilingual characters using a nonEnglish language but... context! I had no idea what was going on or if it was important and it didn’t help me garner an appreciation of Spanish or culture, but just made me feel excluded from what was probably supposed to be character building moments? The author posted on Twitter about this, saying "I put Spanish in my book for a reason. The moment
...more
Abbey
May 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: read-2020
I absolutely adored this! What a fun, exciting ghost story. I loved the characters and the friendship and the family elements. One of my favorite aspects was Syd's grandmother being an important part of the story, helping the girls to solve the town's curse. She led them and taught them and helped them, but didn't do everything for them. She was loving and protective, but gave the girls their freedom to fix their mistake when necessary. I love a middle grade with competent adults that are part o ...more
Kathy
May 12, 2020 rated it liked it
A heartfelt tale of friendship, family, and spooky mystery that will capture the imagination if any adventurer.
Amber
Honestly, what a treat? Friendships that are so close that's found family, check. Magical cats, check. Ghosts, check. I want to spend forever with these characters (but I'd also settle for more information on all the Goonies cats).
Izzie
Apr 11, 2020 rated it liked it
(Thank you to my Mum for typing this for me).
This book follows the main character Lucely who sets out on a n adventure with her best friend Syd to save her magical fireflies which hold the souls of her ancestors. On the way they accidentally awaken evil spirits and have to try and save their town.
What I Liked:
- The Writing. This was a debut novel and the writing was excellent. It was atmospheric and it gave the books a lot of life, despite it being a middle grade book there were times I found it
...more
Mandy
Apr 30, 2020 rated it really liked it
on plot & characters

This book was marketed as, "Coco meets Stranger Things with a hint of Ghostbusters in this action-packed supernatural fantasy." To be honest, I didn't quite get any of those feelings from this book, but the plot and feeling were wholly original and enchanting. I felt immersed into a fun adventure with action and ghosts - good and bad - at every turn. You will never be lacking for excitement with this book that definitely has the whimsy and action-packed plot you know and lov
...more
Sofia (Bookish Wanderess)

The best part about this book was the characters and the relationship between them. I loved Lucelly and Syd's frienship. Syd is my favorite, she was so sassy and such a good friend. I loved Babette as well as Lucelly's ghost family, they were so fun to read about.

I think it's great that in this book there are adults who actually believe and help the girls and the girls are smart enough to accept the help and not try to do everything on their own, which is something that has been missing from a
...more
Loredana
May 18, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: audio-book, scribd
3,5/5 🌟

This book is just perfect for middle grade children and comforting for adults. Lucely had the power of sight, meaning she is capable to see the ghosts of her ancestors. Until the day everything starts to crumble : the bank is almost foreclosing her, and her father's house and with that her abuela's ghost seems to be sick. But fortunately Syd, her best friend is here to help.

The characters are cute and intelligent. The hispanic culture represented is a real plus to this book. In one senten
...more
Kara
This debut middle grade fantasy is a little bit spooky and a lot of fun! I loved the Dominican folklore of the fireflies, and the whole ghost hunting vibe that reminded me of all my favorite stories as a kid. Lucely and Syd's friendship is heartwarming, though Babette, Lucely's witchy abuela, was hands down my favorite character.

Kids who love their stories spooky and adventurous will devour this novel. The shorter length will also make it an easier sell.
May
This was such a fun yet heartfelt read about family and how long you'll go to protect them. As usual, lots and lots of great reviews so my own notes:

- Babette is the baddest sort of badasSERY there ever was!! Badass grandmothers for the win
- Everyone in Lucely's spirit family was such a joy to read ahhh
- Never ventured into Dominican folklore but this was such a fun and beautiful tread into it!
- Lucely and Syd's relationship is <3
- um i want a chunk plz
- i love middle grade novels
...more
Karissa Fast
May 12, 2020 rated it it was amazing
THIS BOOK IS A DELIGHT! A delight filled with ghost monsters, many Harry Potter references, and a cat that can become a MEGA-CAT! Fun, dark, heartfelt.

Put this book in the hands of any middle grade kid who loves adventure, relateable characters, and imaginative creatures. Would be a good readalike for Harry Potter fans or Sabrina fans. Beautiful writing, and beautiful diversity.

The audiobook (which is available through your local library on Hoopla) is wonderfully narrated, and super gripping.
andrea caro
I wanted to love this more than I actually did. This book takes place during Halloween and there were no discernible details that supported that - I wanted to hear about changing leaves and cool breezes, and pumpkins.

Also, a lot of the book was disjointed. A lot of the scenes seemed random and it was hard for me to know what was going on, really.
Gina Adams
Apr 10, 2020 rated it liked it
3.5 stars. This was really cute. And genuinely creepy especially for the demographic! I loved the family and found family themes. I just didn’t fully connect with the witch part of the storyline. But the cats (!!) and the characters made me happy. Lucely’s ghost family each had their own personalities and were a great addition to this story.
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Skinwalker's Apprentice
  • Stand Up, Yumi Chung!
  • The Blackbird Girls
  • Clean Getaway
  • From the Desk of Zoe Washington
  • King and the Dragonflies
  • Rick
  • Things in Jars
  • The City We Became (Great Cities #1)
  • Anti/Hero
  • The Sound of Stars
  • Ways to Make Sunshine
  • The Only Black Girls in Town
  • Efrén Divided
  • The Henna Wars
  • Felix Ever After
  • Scary Stories for Young Foxes
  • Get a Life, Chloe Brown (The Brown Sisters, #1)
See similar books…
218 followers
Claribel Ortega got her start editing student’s often times hilarious ads and ramblings on the back page of SUNY Purchase’s Independent Newspaper. From there, she became a small town reporter, where she enjoyed going to board of education meetings and texting the town mayors about the line at Starbucks. Today she’s busy turning her obsession with eighties pop culture, magic and video games into bo ...more

Related Articles

Children's books featuring bold and brave girls are both becoming easier for parents to find, and also cover a large range of ...
119 likes · 39 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »