Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sleeping Through War” as Want to Read:
Sleeping Through War
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Sleeping Through War

by
4.69  ·  Rating details ·  32 ratings  ·  23 reviews
The year is 1968 and the world is changing forever. During the month of May, students are rioting and workers are striking across the globe, civil rights are being fought and died for, nuclear bombs are being tested, there are major conflicts on every continent, and war is raging in Vietnam. Against this volatile background, three women strive to keep everything together.

R
...more
Paperback, 232 pages
Published February 28th 2018 by Troubador
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sleeping Through War, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Sleeping Through War

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.69  · 
Rating details
 ·  32 ratings  ·  23 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Julie
Aug 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2018
Sleeping Through the War by Jackie Carreira is a 2018 Troubador publication.

When looking back on the 1960s, the entire decade is often described as ‘turbulent’. This is true. But, instead of the decade going out with a whimper, it seemed to gain a dark kind of momentum in 1968-69, ending on an unrivaled note of violence and unrest.

I was a very young child in the late sixties, unable to completely grasp the gravity of everything going on. But, I’ve always been fascinated by the decade, which spaw
...more
Berit☀️✨
Sep 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2018, blog-tour
Poignant! Tumultuous! Important!

1968: both Martin Luther King and Robert F Kennedy are assassinated, Man orbits the moon for the first time, and the Vietnam war rages on... categorized as one of the most tumultuous years in our history... and as an American who was not born until the last two months of the 60s, I’ve never given any thought to the fact that other countries had things going on during this decade... in my defense when we have studied European history in school we generally never m
...more
Stephanie Jane (Literary Flits)
See more of my book reviews on my blog, Literary Flits

When I first marked Sleeping Through War as finished on my Goodreads I rated it as four stars because I had enjoyed the read and appreciated Carreira's approach to portraying this monumental moment in history. That was a couple of days ago though and the more I have been mulling the book over for this review, the better I think it is! Consequently I've upped that star rating to a five.



Sleeping Through War has four narrative threads which are
...more
Cathy
Sep 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: literary
Sleeping Through War tells the stories of three different women and is set against the backdrop of world events in 1968, a turbulent time of student demonstrations throughout Europe, civil rights marches in the United States, political tension in Eastern Europe and the Vietnam War. Although the backgrounds of the three women are different, they live in different parts of the world and there is no direct connection between them, their concerns are similar: home, family, worries about the future. ...more
Robyn
Sep 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I wasn’t really sure what to expect when I first began reading Sleeping Through War by Jackie Carreira. I knew going in that the story centers around three women during a very volatile time in history all throughout the world. I expected perhaps that all three women would be connected somehow, but that is not the case here and I am rather glad for it. Each of the three women in this story has a distinctive voice, but they all have one thing in common. They are all learning and doing what they ne ...more
Brianmulligan
Jan 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Some years ago, Tino, my Portuguese neighbour, once gave me a bottle of red wine from his family vineyard which I served when it had reached room temperature. I got quite a surprise when it erupted from the neck of the bottle on opening - a sparkling red should be served ice cold he told me later as he gave me another which was very moreish. Portuguese/ Londoner Jackie Carreira offers many such twists and turns in her debut Sleeping Through War which I read in one sitting. For this East Londoner ...more
Julia Blake
Mar 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A tightly paced and beautifully written little book, this is a fascinating slice of life during the turbulent month of May 1968, from the perspective of three very different women. Rose, a coloured nurse struggling to make sense of her new life in London. Amalia, a young widow who'll do anything to give her son a better life in Portugal, and Mrs Johnson, a mother who pours her heart and soul into her letters to her son in Vietnam.

Three opposing lives, yet they are all women facing the many harsh
...more
AnnMarie
Sleeping Through War is a standalone book by Jackie Carreira.

It was nothing like what I expected it to be, and I just can't decide if that's a good thing or not.

I think for some reason I expected the three women's stories to intertwine. Perhaps the young boy coming to England from Portugal could end up a patient of the nurse in London? Or perhaps the American GI could have ended up in Portugal looking for some fun on some leave? I kept waiting for something like that to happen. By the time that
...more
Justin Newland
Apr 21, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
'Sleeping Through War' is a boldly-conceived and powerful debut novel from talented playwright, Jackie Carriera.
We are introduced to the voices of three different female characters - one in London, England and two mothers, one in Washington DC and the other in Lisbon, Portugal. We quickly learn that what they have in common is that they are all living through the dramatic events of May, 1968, when most of the rest of the world seemed to be suffering from either social upheaval, student riots or
...more
Janel
Sep 07, 2018 rated it really liked it
Sleeping Through War is a quietly powerful novel, very cleverly narrated, honest and tender. As the blurb states this novel focuses on the lives of three women, and the narration style is different for each woman, this was so effective in giving each women a distinct voice and ensuring there is no confusion between the switching narratives.

Firstly, Amalia in Lisbon, her story is narrated in third person. I didn’t take to Amalia as quickly as I took to the other two women, I think that’s because
...more
Steph Warren
Sep 09, 2018 rated it really liked it
*I received a free copy of this book with thanks to the author and Rachel Gilbey at Rachel’s Random Resources blog tours. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.*

Sleeping Through War is told to a backdrop of war and rebellion, but is the quiet, intimate story of what it is to be a woman.

Jackie Carreira takes the lives of three ‘ordinary’, different women and invites us in to their struggles, their joys and sorrows, their moments of contemplation and impulses to action.

There is a haunt
...more
Christie72
4.5 STARS

Sleeping Through War is one of those books that I can’t just run to my computer and write a review for. It’s a book I have to ponder because it’s very thought provoking, and it’s really makes you think.

It’s set in May of 1968. It’s a very volatile time around the world, and the author includes chapters of real-life events that are happening in the world while the story revolves around three very different women. Each woman deals with social issues at the time: women’s issues, racial is
...more
Laura Doherty
Sep 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Full review: http://lauramorningstar.com/review-sl...

This is a really powerful novel that tells the story of three ordinary women, all living in different circumstances, just trying to live their own lives while the world around them is in turmoil.

Each of the women Amalia who is a Portuguese single mother living in Lisbon, Rose a Jamaican nurse in a London Hospital and Mrs Johnson the mother of an American soldier living in Washington DC narrate their own story. This gives the three women their
...more
Lynn (Ellesea Loves Reading)
Sep 08, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: arc
4.5 stars

Sleeping Through War isn't at all what I expected, and I don't mean it in a negative way. It's unlike anything I've read before and I heartily enjoyed it. The narrative follows the lives of three women concurrently during a volatile period in world history.

Fascinating. I appreciated the detail the author poured into the narrative, focusing on the everyday lives of these women from differing backgrounds. In the beginning, I did wonder if their lives would connect at some point. However,
...more
Jo Barton
Sep 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
It’s 1968. Martin Luther King is shot dead in Memphis, Tennessee; Enoch Powell makes his notorious Rivers of Blood speech and the Vietnam War rages on, relentlessly destroying lives.

Three stories, three different women, each with a life to share, and yet, each have a common bond, protecting and worrying about those they love. Gently, and with the utmost dignity, they each allow us a glimpse into their lives so that we come to appreciate just how difficult it was to maintain any sense of normalit
...more
Donna Maguire
https://donnasbookblog.wordpress.com/...

I really enjoyed this story and it was definitely a book that made me think.

It was well written and I really enjoyed reading about the different plotlines. It must have been interesting to have lived through the events mentioned in the book, I know a little about that time period but I loved how the author brought it to life. I enjoyed that whilst the characters for the main plots are all very different, you see the similarities from what they are going th
...more
Sylvana Marley
Nov 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Beautifully written and the deceptively simple language camouflages a wealth of historical detail and human emotion. The characters are so different yet they share many of the problems of the times. I particularly love novels that weave fact and fiction together in this way. I have never re-read a book immediately after finishing it, but this time I had to - can't say why as it would be a terrible spoiler!
Looking forward to Jackie's next book!
Miss Nemonee
Mar 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Absolutely adore this fabulous book! The story of three ordinary women in three countries living their lives during the life changing events of 1968. Beautifully written, thought provoking, the characters are courageous, with a dignity and inner strength that can inspire women today. I think these women are not ordinary, they're extraordinary actually!
Andrea
Dec 21, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Loved this one. Each of us has a story in this world and this book shared just a few. It made me really realise just how individual we all are. People living lives whilst other people live lives. Plus it made me cry and I always rate a book if it can manage to do that....
Annie Wright
Feb 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A beautifully,descriptive book with characters you fall in love with. All three personal stories are touching, powerful and heartbreaking. You cheer them on and feel their pain. A brilliant debut novel by a very talented author. I highly recommend this read!
ChillwithabookAWARD With
May 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Sleeping Through War by Jackie Carreira has received a Chill with a Book Readers' Award.
www.chillwithabook.com

"I found this an absorbing read, well written with emotion and a sense of the time, 1968."

Pauline Barclay
Founder of Chill with a Book Awards
AJ Deane
Jun 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A touching and informative read, about the tumultuous time it covers. I'm not soppy but it touched me! Beautifully written and insightful, I'd recommend it to anyone who likes to hear the 'small' stories of 'normal' people, living their lives within great events.
Sheri
Sep 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing
In 1968 (that’s the year I was born!) three very different women are, in their own very different ways, surviving in the face of adversity.

A young Portuguese widow, Amalia, is struggling to bring up her young son and make ends meet as best she can in post-colonial Lisbon.

Far away in London, Rose, a nurse from St Lucia, works in a care home and deals with casual prejudice and discrimination on a daily basis. (For context, Enoch Powell has just made his notorious Rivers of Blood speech.) With peop
...more
MRS J HURRELL
rated it it was amazing
Jan 16, 2018
Sue Kerridge
rated it it was amazing
Feb 11, 2018
Anita Gwynn
rated it it was amazing
May 01, 2018
Marsha
rated it liked it
Apr 12, 2019
S Kerridge
rated it it was amazing
Apr 28, 2018
Heartshaped Bluestocking
rated it it was amazing
Sep 29, 2018
Jackie Carreira
Nov 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
6 followers
Jackie Carreira is a writer, designer, musician and co-founder of QuirkHouse Theatre Company. British-born of Portuguese parents, she grew up in East London and lived for a while in Lisbon as a child. After travelling the world playing music for 12 years, she hung up her bass guitar and picked up a pen. She’s been writing ever since and twice been a winner of the Kenneth Branagh Award for New Dram ...more