Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “We Rule the Night” as Want to Read:
We Rule the Night
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

We Rule the Night

by
4.20  ·  Rating details ·  55 ratings  ·  35 reviews
Two girls use forbidden magic to fly and fight–for their country and for themselves–in this riveting debut that’s part Shadow and Bone, part Code Name Verity.

Seventeen-year-old Revna is a factory worker, manufacturing war machines for the Union of the North. When she’s caught using illegal magic, she fears being branded a traitor and imprisoned. Meanwhile, on the front lin
...more
Hardcover, 400 pages
Expected publication: April 2nd 2019 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
More Details... edit details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • We Rule the Night by Claire Eliza Bartlett
    We Rule the Night
    by
    Release date: Apr 02, 2019
    Enter for a chance to win one of ten advance reader copies of WE RULE THE NIGHT by Claire Eliza Bartlett!

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 10 copies available, 2012 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jan 23 - Feb 21, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about We Rule the Night, please sign up.
    Popular Answered Questions
    Claire Bartlett Thank you for your question!

    I loved listening to the sountrack for AGENT CARTER while I was drafting. I wanted something fun and a little dieselpunk.…more
    Thank you for your question!

    I loved listening to the sountrack for AGENT CARTER while I was drafting. I wanted something fun and a little dieselpunk. In general, I love drafting to soundtracks, they're often so emotional.(less)
    Claire Bartlett Thank you for your question Lillian! And thank you for your compliment on the title, we agonized over it.

    In November 2014 I began hearing things…more
    Thank you for your question Lillian! And thank you for your compliment on the title, we agonized over it.

    In November 2014 I began hearing things about the Night Witches, a Night Bombing regiment composed entirely of women, created in Russia during WWII. These women flew outdated training planes over the front lines at night. They often bombed strategic targets, but sometimes they flew supplies and even soldiers to their own troops.

    If you'd like to read more about them, I highly recommend 'A Dance with Death' by Anne Noggle, or 'Wings, Women and War by Reina Pennington.(less)
    Descendant of the Crane by Joan HeWe Hunt the Flame by Hafsah FaizalWicked Saints by Emily A. DuncanThe Devouring Gray by Christine Lynn HermanThe Tiger at Midnight by Swati Teerdhala
    YA Debuts 2019
    119 books — 711 voters
    King of Scars by Leigh BardugoThe Wicked King by Holly BlackThe Gilded Wolves by Roshani ChokshiChain of Gold by Cassandra ClareWe Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal
    YA Novels of 2019
    740 books — 1,414 voters


    More lists with this book...

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-30
    4.20  · 
    Rating details
     ·  55 ratings  ·  35 reviews


    Filter
     | 
    Sort order
    may ➹
    Aug 02, 2018 marked it as to-read
    if this isn’t gay, it’s fake
    Nick
    Jan 31, 2019 marked it as to-read
    it seems like we're going ✈ broke this year with all these great releases
    Elise (TheBookishActress)
    Oct 21, 2018 marked it as arcs-physical
    Shelves: coverporn
    releases: 2 April 2019
    two feuding girls attempt to survive a war, and also this cover is SHOCKINGLY beautiful.
    Kelly Coon
    Jun 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing
    Fierce. Feminist. Fearless. I loved, loved, loved OUR REALM IS THE NIGHT. I want to BE a fighter pilot in this book. It recounts the tale of Revna, a traitor's daughter with prosthetic (living metal, omg) legs and Linee, the governor's daughter who dresses like a boy to get into the army. They couldn't be more different. Revna, afraid that she's a curse to her family, wants to keep her mother and sister safe, to provide for them because her father is gone, and Linee, closed off from her emotions ...more
    Kalyn Josephson
    Apr 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing
    I absolutely LOVE the magic system in this book. Living metal (it’s so cool!), the Weave, hot and cold spark—they’re all parts of the same whole, which Claire does a fantastic job of working into the character’s daily lives. Everything about the world is wonderfully fleshed out, which is one of the many things I really liked about the book.

    After the great worldbuilding, I’d have to say my other favorite part was the characters. Revna is strong, brave, and determined. Linne is coarse and fierce
    ...more
    ♠️ Tabi ♠️
    Apr 23, 2018 marked it as to-read
    Magic and planes???

    description

    Also hello, hello, hellooooooooo pretty cover. My name's Tabi. Whatchu doing later?? xD
    Lisa
    Jan 06, 2019 rated it liked it
    Shelves: 2019
    This one's tough. I think the premise is strong and interesting - living metal that reacts to the emotions and spirits of those who use it. But I found a lot of the flying formations/happenings hard to imagine and the whole middle bit of the book is extremely slow.

    More could have been done with the Skarov secret information agents too. Overall the book had strong characters but kind of a weak plot.
    K.A. Doore
    Nov 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing
    Shelves: 2018-reads
    Two girls from entirely different backgrounds, with entirely different motives, and entirely different personalities must fly a plane together.

    What could possibly go wrong?

    While on the surface this is a story about two girls who hate each other but are forced to work together, just beneath that surface you'll find another story: one about girls working together, girls in all their many shapes & flavors & sizes being strong as only they can be; one about earned trust, blind faith, and exp
    ...more
    Kip
    Jun 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
    I'm sure many people will love this book for the magical elements, but for me, it was the realistic elements that absolutely hooked me. I loved the strong female leads, their messy friendship, and the details of life in a male-dominated military. Plot-wise, the story is fast-paced and full of action. Fans of YA fantasy will surely love this, and it should also appeal to fans of YA historicals like Gwen Katz' AMONG THE RED STARS (about the Night Witches in WWII).
    Kat
    Jan 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
    * Thank you to HBG Canada for an advanced reader copy, in exchange for my honest opinion *

    This novel was very different than I expected, and had a much stronger feminism representation than I thought it would - BUT that aspect was written very well. Female empowerment was a strong element of the story, and both Linne and Revna are strong believers in this notion. As their all-female military unit prepares to fly in the war for the first time, betrayal, secrets, and conflict occur, but nothing wi
    ...more
    Jessie_Book
    Jan 24, 2019 rated it liked it
    Shelves: dnf
    This was not the book that I thought it was going to be. I was expecting a hate to love story with two girls and them coming together to be badasses. What I got was a whole bunch of girls going through military training and being catty towards each other. All they did was argue and talk about each other behind their backs. But don't worry the men were just as bad. I don't think that there was a single guy in this book that did say something horrible about women or just straight up hate them.

    I d
    ...more
    Sara (A Gingerly Review)
    2 stars

    I struggled with this one. It took me a long time to get through it because there was so much information but not enough at the same time. I had high hopes but was disappointed.

    FRTC.

    Thank you to The Novl and Little Brown for the arc!!
    Marisa
    Dec 18, 2018 rated it liked it
    This was more of a 3.5 rating.
    It took me awhile to get into and understand the world of this book. I initially thought it was more of a straightforward WWII Soviet night witch flyers with an overlay of magic. Instead, Countries were made up but based on Soviets and Germans (the Elda), and interrogation and traitor practices seemed aligned. But it wasn’t just manipulation of magic, there were types of magic one can use manipulating the Weave, strands of magic cross crossing the world. Spark magic
    ...more
    Karyn Silverman
    The comps on the arc are unexpectedly accurate (Code Name Verity meets the Grishaverse), and it’s really good. And no romance!
    Lillian Clark
    Jul 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
    I count myself exceedingly lucky to have been able to read an early copy of this book. The writing is lush and evocative. The world-building is atmospheric and immersive. The main characters, Revna and Linne, are incredibly strong and complex, both in their own unique ways. And with its cast of capable female characters, this is a story I wish I could take back in time and give to my teenage self. Though the universe is fictional, these young women navigate deeply realistic hurtles and inequalit ...more
    Addie Thorley
    Aug 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing
    I adored every second of this breathtaking book! The world building blew me away. Bartlett's gritty, war-torn world feels slightly reminiscent of WWII while still being completely fresh and original. The magic system is SO unique and inventive, between the spark and weave and (my favorite) living metal. And the CHARACTERS!! Gahhhh I loved Revna and Linne so much. Their stakes and motivation are so personal--you can't help but root for them. And as polar opposites, I especially loved how they dem ...more
    Samantha Hastings
    May 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing
    I read it one day!!! Two strong, but very different female protagonists trying to survive a militaristic world at war. Both are sympathetic and both struggle with what in means to be loyal to the fellow female pilots but also to the Union. Unique, thought-provoking, with a fabulous flare of feminism and female empowerment. I’m eager to get my hands on the sequel.
    Haley
    Sep 07, 2018 marked it as to-read
    Shelves: 2019-releases
    EXCUUUUSE me?

    "...use their magic in a special women's military flight unit and undertake terrifying, deadly missions under cover of darkness."



    THIS. SOUNDS. PERFECT.
    Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    This is one of most stunning cover I have seen in a while
    Stephanie L (catteabooks)
    I do so love this cover.
    Chaya Edelman
    Feb 13, 2019 rated it liked it
    *Thank you to the publisher (Little Brown/The Novl) for sending me an ARC in exchange for my honest review.*

    My rating: 3.5 stars.

    This book had so many unique and incredible world-building elements. The magic system was so fascinating to read about. (The weave, spark, living metal, the Skarov etc.) The two main characters, Revna and Linne, immediately grabbed my attention with their interesting backstories. Revna is a factory worker and an amputee that wears prosthetic legs, and Linne is a gener
    ...more
    Shelby
    Feb 04, 2019 rated it liked it
    Thank you to The Novl for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    WE RULE THE NIGHT had a wonderful fantasy premise with living metals, flying ships, and an intriguing magic system using the “Weave.”
    We follow two girls, Revna and Lenné, who are from very different worlds. They come together in a military regiment for girls in order to learn how to fly and bomb the country they’re at war with. It proves to be a challenge, as they’re the only girl team in the military. Th
    ...more
    Erin
    Feb 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    I received an arc of this book from Novl and Little Brown Young Readers in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own.

    We Rule the night by Claire Eliza Bartlett was a fantastic read. A historical fiction novel with a touch of magic thrown in, it easily jumped to the top of my Favorite Reads of 2019, and even though it's only February, I imagine that it will stay near the top for a while.

    This book was so frustrating. Based on the Night Raiders of the Soviet Union in WWII, it showcase
    ...more
    Hannah Witscher
    Feb 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
    Jennifer Mace
    Dec 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing
    Shelves: fantasy, young-adult
    The first thing which blew my mind in this book was the magic. The concept of living metal, the way Revna had to soothe and influence it like a creature, when pared with the extremely cool leyline-esque Weave - everything about the magic in this book is original and extremely awesome. The contrast between our two heroines is fierce from the moment we meet them, and for a YA fantasy book to put aside romance like this did is pretty rare! But in the WW2-inspired soviet setting, these characters ha ...more
    Lovely Loveday
    Jan 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    We Rule the Night is a young adult fantasy novel by Claire Eliza Bartlett. A captivating story of magic that is sure to pull you into a fantasy world unlike any other. They are strong, brave, and determined  Bartlett has created a unique list of characters that are well-developed with creative backstories. Everything about this world and characters is wonderfully planned out and mesh together seamlessly. A story that is full of twists and turns that will keep you second-guessing until the very e ...more
    Kal ★ Reader Voracious
    I was drawn in by the amazing cover artwork and stayed because of the blurb. Strong women pulling a Mulan to join the army? Sacrifice and survival are themes I adore and this book sounds incredible.

    I am so excited that We Rule the Night will be one of the Reader Voracious Novel19 Books! More information about this book and the rest of my Novel19 class will be posted on my blog in mid-January!

    Blog | Twitter | Pinterest!
    Michele
    Nov 26, 2018 rated it really liked it
    Shelves: young-adult
    Thanks @littlebrownyoungreaders for this free ARC for our #bookclub! 4/5 ⭐s from me.

    @bartlebett debut novel is full of adventure. Two girls from different circumstances both want to save their land in the war. The world building is very well done and I’d classify this as both sci-fi and adventure. I also have no idea if this is the future or the past - interesting time period!

    Will be great for #highschool readers!
    ...more
    Lauren
    Jan 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
    Shelves: young-adult
    4.5 - I loved the tone of this war mixed with magic novel. It rings of WWII inspiration yet has a coating of magic that lets the author play around with traditional battle strategies and weapons.

    I just wish the author had done better at explaining her world’s magical origins/usage/mythology. It felt incomplete in that way, but I love any YA story that focuses on building up strong female characters and their relationships with each other.
    Lily (latestreads)
    Feb 09, 2019 rated it liked it
    Shelves: 2019-arcs
    Review to come
    « previous 1 next »
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
    • Gravemaidens (Gravemaidens #1)
    • The Never Tilting World
    • A River of Royal Blood (Untitled, #1)
    • Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
    • The Nameless Queen
    • The Mermaid, the Witch and the Sea
    • Ink in the Blood (Ink in The Blood #1)
    • Nocturna (A Forgery of Magic #1)
    • The Candle and the Flame
    • The Merciful Crow (The Merciful Crow, #1)
    • The Bone Houses
    • The Beholder
    • Crown of Coral and Pearl
    • Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle #1)
    • Dangerous Alliance
    • Dark Shores (Dark Shores, #1)
    • Stronger Than a Bronze Dragon
    • All the Stars and Teeth
    Claire Bartlett lives in an enchanted forest apartment in Copenhagen with too many board games and too few cats.

    Get more detailed information, like how many board games is too many, how many cats is too few, and what book-related beauties I'm working on by signing up for my newsletter.