Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The King Within” as Want to Read:
The King Within
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The King Within

by
4.16  ·  Rating details ·  80 ratings  ·  30 reviews
Historical fiction. Novel set in 3rd and 4th century India
Paperback, 224 pages
Published July 26th 2017 by HarperCollins
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The King Within, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The King Within

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.16  · 
Rating details
 ·  80 ratings  ·  30 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The King Within
Vishy
Aug 17, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
When I discovered that Nandini Sengupta's first novel 'The King Within' was coming out and it was a historical novel set during one of the fascinating times in Indian history, during the era of the Gupta dynasty, I couldn't wait to read it.

The story told in the book goes like this. Darshini is a courtesan-actress. She is travelling with her escorts to Ujjayni to participate in a music and poetry festival. During their travel, Darshini and her group have to pass through a forest. There they are
...more
Pradnya K.
Nov 19, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Unputdownable.

After a long time I finished a book in two days. Fast-paced, showing glimpses of the glorious history of India and a tale of humans bonded by love and governed by duties.
Rohit Sharma
Sep 27, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I am not much into Historical Fiction but this book came very highly recommended from a dear friend and this was Author's debut work hence I had no expectations from it. Also, this is one of those very few books that can very well be judged by its cover as they say "Never Judge a book by its cover" it works totally opposite for this one. As beautiful its cover is, the writing is way more beautiful, a very intriguing account of four friends told in a riveting manner such that I kept asking for mo ...more
Moushumi Sengupta
Just read 'The King Within' by Nandini Sengupta.

I found this tale , woven around King Chandragupta Vikramaditya, a very engrossing one. It is a historical fiction circa 373 BC.It involves not only the great monarch Chandragupta but also other notable historical characters like the great poet Kalidas, the court astrologer VarahaMihir and the Chinese pilgrim Fa Hien . Chandragupta's family, his father Samudragupta, brother Ramgupta and sons Kumargupta and Govindgupta are also portrayed.With this
...more
Anindya Sengupta
Fierce clash of swords, the heroic display of the protagonist, palace intrigue, love triangle of Deva the protagonist, Darshini the beloved friend and Dhruvaswamini the empress, the tryst of friendship of Deva, Kalidas and Virasena and the myriads of journeys through the dense forests of ancient India.........the novel has all elements to make it a blockbuster thrilling movie and surely to woo an avid reader.
Anuradha Gupta
The King Within by Nandini Sengupta is a historical fiction set in 373 AD, almost 16 centuries ago in the place we know as Jambudweep or the ancient India. The story follows the lives of four friends, and their destinies which brings them to a full circle.

The story opens with an ambush by Deva, the younger son of Samudragupta, wherein he saves Darshini along with his friend Vira. Soon enough, they form a bond which only strengthens over time. Also included in the group is Kalidas, De
...more
Sohinee Reads & Reviews (Bookarlo)
The book begins with a scene where a courtesan named Darshini is being attacked by a group of bandits. She only has two protectors left with her after she had sent some of them to fetch water. Two against six? That is when Deva steps in and shows his mastery skills of the sword bringing down the bandits to the ground in no time. Not to forget he came riding in a horse. Deva saves her and introduces her to his friend Saba Virasena. The three of them form an unlikely bond of friendship. Darshini w ...more
Bragadeesh
Nov 02, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This year, I have experimented with reading. I have always favored contemporary fiction, thrillers over historical fiction, mythology and science fiction. The historical fiction that I had read were mostly about Second World War. But when I saw the cover of The King Within by Nandhini Sengupta, I knew I had to read it. And soon we met at her residence during SRR meet and she had interesting tales to tell about how the cover came into existence.
Before I started reading the book, I did a sma
...more
Priyaranjan Mohan
Well This book is simply unputdownable.
A must read book.
Vikas Quentin
Aug 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is the kind of book Norman Mailer would have been proud of: It superimposes verifiable facts with the mysteries of sorcery, and the personality of a ballad, and in the process becomes a timeless document. The mythology the book carves out, sets us up for an entire series of books. Nandini Sen Gupta is a fresh new voice in a market of mimic-artists.
Rupa S
Sep 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A novel based on history told in harmony with fantasy that should create history! Kept me engrossed from the first line to the last ... and then beyond.
I am yet to decide which aspect of the novel I loved the most.
The story of love, friendship and leadership. Although it is a story about legends like Chandragupta Vikramaditya, Kalidasa and the like - they are portrayed as normal human beings - perfected with flaws and values of their own, natural and consistent. The historical setting comes al
...more
Govind Krishnan
May 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
That was a cozy read! Royalty in every lines! Each character arouse from the book. Strong plot with an end which leaves an opening for the next sequel (if any). Felt like living with them & witnessing their wars, love & friendship. Happy Reading! ♥
Trishita Das
May 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Story of the book-

Love and war… is that all life is about?

The story of the book is based on the Gupta dynasty around 373 CE. The story starts with a small attack on Darshini and her group by seven forest folk who never lost a chance to pillage a convoy : raping, looting and ransoming at will. Nut out of nowhere Deva and his troop came for her rescue and she along with her companions were saved in the attack. Darshini was going to Ujjaini as she was invited by Vishaypati B
...more
Sheetal Verma
Jan 21, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An illuminating historical fiction!

I am not really fond of reading historical fiction for the obvious reasons that reading history bores me to death but the moment i got my hands on this book it came out as a shocker. For the very first time, i found myself too intrigued and engrossed into the narrative that i realized that the book was finished just in a span of 2 days. All i can say that this being author's debut work marvels and bewilders me at the same time that how a debut work
...more
Aparna Prabhu
Jan 07, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
With power comes great responsibility. Greatest power lies in not wielding it but in understanding how to use it. Power may enable a man supreme authority but at the same time may render him utterly helpless.

'The King Within' is the story of Chandragupta's rise to power, his helplessness against the will of destiny and the remorse he felt while turning against his own kin. It's the story of love, friendship, betrayal and how power can render even the most supreme man weak in his knees.
...more
Akshatha Kamath
May 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
📖 Title - The King Within (Book 1) , The Gupta Empire Trilogy.
📖 Author - Nandini Sengupta.
📖 Edition - Paperback.
📖 Number of pages -241.
📖 Publisher - Harper Collins India.
📖 Genre - Indian Historical Fiction.
📖 Brief Review - 373 CE
Deva, the young prince of the Gupta dynasty rescues a courtesan, Darshini from a gang of robbers along with his friend and general, Saba Virasena in Malwa. They accompany her to Ujjayni and Patliputra, where she discovers Deva's
...more
Tushar Jain
Mar 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Blurb-373 AD. In the thick forests of Malwa, an enigmatic stranger gallops into an ambush attack by bandits to rescue a young courtesan, Darshini. His name is Deva and he is the younger son of Emperor Samudragupta. That chance encounter, first with Deva and later with his two friends, the loyal general Saba Virasena and the great poet Kalidas, forges a bond that lasts a lifetime. From a dispossessed prince, Deva goes on to become one of the greatest monarchs in ancient India, Chandragupta Vikram ...more
Niyati Gogna
Jan 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
"The King Within" by Nandini Sengupta is a wonderful work of historical fiction!

The plot thickens around four major protagonists- Dev, Darshini, Dhruva and his friend. The author has deeply researched about the facts of ancient Indian history and flawlessly turned it into a piece of fiction. The book is partitioned into two parts 'power of passion' and 'passion for power'!
This is a story of love, hate, friendship, revenge and loyalty.

The characters are strongly portrayed which
...more
Titirsha Bhattacharya
The king within by Nandini Sengupta is a historical fiction trilogy that takes us back to the period of Gupta dynasty one of the most golden era of imperial India.

The story begins when a helpless woman is trapped in the jungle surrounded by atabic tribesmen waiting to attack her when a stranger comes into rescue and fights off the savages. He was the son of emperor Samudragupta...Deva.
Soon they begin their journey where they were joined by two more people the friends of the pri
...more
Anandi Puritipati
May 19, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Rating - 3.5stars


The King Within is a historical fiction novel that tells the story of the reign of Emperor Chandragupta Vikramaditya. It's essentially a political drama sprinkled in with a good dose of emotions. There's pain, passion, power, love, envy, lust and so much more. The plot of the story is very well crafted and is, for the most part, historically accurate. The author has taken poetic license in places, and one can't really be blamed for that.

The writing
...more
John  Trident
Mar 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What does a person do when life plunges him into unfavorable circumstances? Does he choose his destiny or fight against it? Does he favor his close ones or the bindings of the society? This book poignantly describes these things in detail, keeping the fact in mind about the readers & their preferences.
Cover is good, could have been designed better. Title is apt & is in accordance with the plot & climax of the story. Very powerful abstracts, thoughts, quotes, humor has been supp
...more
John  Trident
Mar 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The king within

What does a person do when life plunges him into unfavorable circumstances? Does he choose his destiny or fight against it? Does he favor his close ones or the bindings of the society? This book poignantly describes these things in detail, keeping the fact in mind about the readers & their preferences.
Cover is good, could have been designed better. Title is apt & is in accordance with the plot & climax of the story. Very powerful abstracts, thoughts, quotes, hum
...more
John  Trident
Mar 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The king within

What does a person do when life plunges him into unfavorable circumstances? Does he choose his destiny or fight against it? Does he favor his close ones or the bindings of the society? This book poignantly describes these things in detail, keeping the fact in mind about the readers & their preferences.
Cover is good, could have been designed better. Title is apt & is in accordance with the plot & climax of the story. Very powerful abstracts, thoughts, quotes, hum
...more
Shashank Pandey
Jul 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book is of a genre which has been very famous for the last few years- it is of the Historical Fiction genre. Historical Fiction is the genre in which authors create a fictional story including facts from history, which are true, in the story. This book is also a Historical Fiction novel with a mixture of fact and fiction in its story.

The plot of this story is based on the period when the Guptas ruled in India. It has love, revenge, friendship, power, passion, ambition and everyt
...more
Puja Narula
Feb 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A Must Read for Every Indophile—The King Within

We Indians have a very strange habit of either putting our historical figures on pedestals or ignoring their existence completely (which is worse than even criticizing). After school, very few of us bother to find out more about the Kings and Emperors so glorified in our textbooks. It seems that someone took her history lessons to heart and decided to put flesh and blood on a very famous name of ancient Indian history.

To say
...more
Shallo
Jan 27, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
My Analysis :




Clogged cleverness , sheer word details sputtered all over showcased the crux details of Chandragupta Maurya in accuracy .The …
Review of "The King Within "by Nandini Sengupta.

https://reviewersparadise.wordpress.c...
Rajeshwari Sharma
This is not my favourite genre but I picked up The King Within because it has been authored by a friend. The reading journey - from disinclination to enchantment - was delightful. I am now sold on good historical fiction!
Gayathiri Rajendran
A book about historical events interspersed with a few elements of the author’s imagination. It was a good read and the language was plain overall. The book dragged at some points but the story was engaging enough. A one time read.
Sana Shekh
Jan 26, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The King Within by Nandini Sengupta is one of the best historical fictions that I have read till date. I am not very much into history genre, but I must admit that the author left no stones unturned to impress me completely. What is more surprising is this novel is author's debut work .

Set in the backdrop of 16th century, the plot closely revolves around 4 friends. The story begins with a man rescuing a courtesan , Darshini , and later on introducing himself as Deva . After saving th
...more
Isha Shankhpal
Jan 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Firstly, i wanna congratulate the author for her long 7 years of hard-working that had finally came an awesome result by writing this book, which was a difficult task but the author took this challenge and now we have as in result this master piece.

☆About the book cover and language:- Book cover is really exquisite and relates the book title suitably and the language was lil bit hard for me but i love the words used like ardhangini, kanchuki, kavivar & many more and the author ha
...more
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Billionaire's Funeral
  • Nobody's Child
  • Narasimha (The Mahaavatar Trilogy #1)
  • Love Knows No LoC
  • The Grand Sophy
  • The Satapur Moonstone (Perveen Mistry, #2)
  • Then Came You (The Gamblers of Craven's, #1)
  • A Forgotten Affair
  • The Courtesan, the Mahatma and the Italian Brahmin: Tales from Indian History
  • Good Omens: The BBC Radio 4 dramatisation
  • Secrets of Nanreath Hall
  • Rewind and Play
  • La jeune fille et la nuit
  • Poonachi: Or the Story of a Black Goat
  • PRALAY: The Great Deluge
  • The Worst Daughter Ever
  • KASHI: Secret of the Black Temple (Harappa Series)
  • My Mute Girlfriend
See similar books…
5 followers
Nandini Sengupta is a Pondicherry-based writer and journalist. After a chance trip to the Ajanta and Ellora caves in 2007, she began researching third and fourth-century India which quickly deepened into an obsession with India's glorious past. She now lives in Pondicherry's quaint French quarter with her little daughter, Kiki. Her first book of fiction, The King Within, was published by HarperCol ...more