Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Springfield Confidential: Jokes, Secrets, and Outright Lies from a Lifetime Writing for The Simpsons” as Want to Read:
Springfield Confidential: Jokes, Secrets, and Outright Lies from a Lifetime Writing for The Simpsons
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Springfield Confidential: Jokes, Secrets, and Outright Lies from a Lifetime Writing for The Simpsons

3.93  ·  Rating details ·  1,977 ratings  ·  283 reviews
In celebration of The Simpsons thirtieth anniversary, the show’s longest-serving writer and producer offers a humorous look at the writing and making of the legendary Fox series that has become one of the most revered artistic achievements in television history.

Four-time Emmy winner Mike Reiss—who has worked on The Simpsons continuously since episode one in 1989—shares stories,on
...more
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published June 12th 2018 by Dey Street Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Springfield Confidential, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Springfield Confidential

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.93  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,977 ratings  ·  283 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Springfield Confidential: Jokes, Secrets, and Outright Lies from a Lifetime Writing for The Simpsons
Char
Jun 24, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
SPRINGFIELD CONFIDENTIAL is chock full of exactly what every Simpson fan would want-behind the scenes information, (so to speak, it's a cartoon), a little background on the main writer and all the others, a bit of name dropping, (and maybe a little dirt?), on the hundreds of guest stars, and finally, the stories about how certain jokes came about. It's a quick, breezy, informative and fun book.

Mike Reiss has been writing for The Simpsons from almost day one. He and everyone else on the show never thought
...more
Joey Rambles
Oct 08, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
"Like most things on The Simpsons, we didn't plan it."



You should know something about me: The Simpsons is my favorite show.

I mean it. I know people out there have five or six answers when asked the question, "What's your favorite show?" and that's awesome, but for me, it's always been The Simpsons. I can admit that tons of new shows have come out since that are funnier and stronger and better animated.

But I will always choose The Simpsons, and that's a fact.



So when I heard
...more
Mike
Sep 17, 2018 rated it it was ok
It's certainly okay. Breezy, geeky, slight and silly fun. Perfectly fine as a mechanism for adorable Simpsons errata, but Mike Reiss's occasional hackery gets in the way. Its transformation from Springfield Confidential to Mike Reiss memoir happens a bit oddly, even if I did appreciate hearing about my dearly beloved The Critic. He boasts about a "That's what my wife said at my wedding night" moment (barf), throws in some Muslim jokes for good measure, and has a bizarre assessment of Richard Pryor "per ...more
Adam
Review of the audiobook narrated by the author.

The Simpsons is my favorite show that I haven't watched in a decade. At one point I had the DVD box sets for the first 13 seasons of the show (maybe I still have them... I don't know anymore now that everything is streaming). I used to watch each episode and then watch them again with commentary. So, I had listened to Mike Reiss many times before in those commentaries (season 1-4 and occasionally afterwards) and listening to him narrate
...more
Rachel
Mar 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A peek into the world of comedy writing, animation, television production, world travel and more by Mike Reiss. This guy has been around since the beginning of the Simpsons show and has a lot of fun and funny stories to share.
Whether you're a die hard fan, a casual watcher, or not really into the Simpsons (who?!), everybody can get some laughs from the book while learning how this animated show is made. Despite the jokes about the writer's room (people sleeping or doing crosswords all day) it's
...more
Online Eccentric Librarian
More reviews at the Online Eccentric Librarian http://surrealtalvi.wordpress.com/

More reviews (and no fluff) on the blog http://surrealtalvi.wordpress.com/

Springfield Confidential reads very much like a Simpsons version of a biography - irreverent, sarcastic, self effacing, and never taking itself too seriously. But at the same time, I actually want the serious version here - all the endless jokes and "no not really" after reading four paragraphs of 'truths' was frustrating. I don't read biographies for comedy nor fluff and at some point it was getting really hard to tell what was real and what was made u
...more
Andrew
Jul 26, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shopkeeper: Take this object, but beware it carries a terrible curse!

Homer: Ooh, that's bad.

Shopkeeper: But it comes with a free frogurt!

Homer: That's good.

Shopkeeper: The frogurt is also cursed.

Homer: That's bad.

Shopkeeper: But you get your choice of toppings.

Homer: That's good!

Shopkeeper: The toppings contain potassium benzoate.

[Homer looks puzzled]

Shopkeeper: ...That's bad.<
...more
Kris - My Novelesque Life
RATING: 3 Stars
2018; Dey Street Books/HarperCollins Canada
(Review Not on Blog)

The Simpsons is a show that most everyone in my family could agree on, if not always for the same reasons. I was the same age as Bart when the show started, and felt this kinship with Lisa for books and not fitting in. It is hard to characterize this book -it's a mix of trivia, behind the scenes and biography of the show. I read the first few chapters and then found myself skimming to the "good"
...more
M.
Jul 09, 2018 rated it really liked it
It’s exactly the kind of book you’d expect a writer for The Simpsons to write but it has some truly funny and insightful moments and it makes me want to watch the show again.
Richard Gray
Despite wandering away from their contemporary adventures, The Simpsons is important to me. Not just me, but most people from my generation. Rarely a day goes by without at least one quote deliberately or unconsciously slipping its way into an unrelated conversation. A show so fiendishly clever in its in-tric-acies. See, there I go.

At any rate, we owe much of it to this feisty feline Mike Reiss. Taking us through his time before The Simpsons, during the The Simpsons, after The Simpsons, and back again at The Simpsons, Reiss ne
...more
Sharon
Jul 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: loved-this-one
I confess, I am not a big fan of the Simpsons, Homer tends to annoy me too much to be able to watch the show religiously.
I am though a fan of trivia and behind the scenes information and this book certainly delivers. Brilliantly fascinating read, with a author who is not afraid of voicing his opinion, without any shame or disclaimers. Quite refreshing really.
John McDonald
Aug 24, 2018 rated it liked it
An episode about Grandpa going fishing is entitled "the Old Man and the She". Or, one of the writers suggested a gag where Homer see a form which says, 'Do Nott write in the box', and Homer writes,
"OK." Then, there's the joke about Brook Sheilds being so bad playing the role of Ann Franks that when the actors playing Nazis came onstage, the audience yelled, 'she's in the attic'.

Much of this book is funny, enlightening about how the show gets written, acted, and animated, and mu
...more
Josh
Aug 06, 2018 rated it really liked it
Springfield Confidential by Mike Reiss is a book that takes you behind the scenes of one of the longest running shows in American television history, The Simpsons. Springfield Confidential is hilarious. The book is fast paced, irreverent and packed with jokes, similar to a Simpsons episode. While the book does have confidential in the title, and Reiss does give you a behind the scenes look at how the show is made, there is little attention paid to any of the juicy drama between the producers, wr ...more
Peter Derk
Apr 11, 2019 rated it really liked it
I somehow missed rating this one. Probably because I was moving at the time.

An audiobook is a great friend when you're moving. Because you basically have a lot of time to perform a lot of boring tasks.

My life fantasy will always be gaining enough wealth to have a move go like this:

1. I tell my Alfred that we're moving.
2. I pick out a house on Zillow, hire someone to check it out for me.
3. I tell Alfred my moving dates.
4. I leave on vacation for a week.
...more
Michael Martin
Oct 09, 2018 rated it it was ok
You know what you get from me when your book slams Nichols and May?
A two-star rating.
Leo H
Mar 23, 2019 rated it liked it
So, SO Ghostwritten. It's basically a transcript of a long interview with Mike Reiss. The guy's a professional writer, I don't understand why he needs a ghostwriter. Reiss is an interesting and engaging subject, but I was looking for a little more in-depth detail about how The Simpsons is written, especially in the 90s, when it was good. He spends about two chapters on this part of his life, the rest, while interesting, isn't really what I wanted out of this book. Good but a little disappointing ...more
Ietrio
Nov 14, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: bio
This is a very pleasant trivia book. If you are a big fan, you have probably read it already. If you are not too impressed with the Simpsons, than you might find yourself asking "so what?"
Lorenzo
Nov 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing
As most human beings, I love The Simpsons. In fact, I love the show so much I just couldn't think of a favorite episode to include here because so many come to mind! (I spent like 45 minutes trying to decide, not joking).

I've spent countless hours watching the show but, for some reason (looking at you, John Swartzwelder), I read about this book for the first time only three days ago!

And, of course, I decided to stop everything and start reading it immediately.

In Springfield Confidential, Mike Reiss
...more
ShandellMarie
Apr 29, 2019 rated it really liked it
A solid 4.5 stars. Can’t quite give 5, because although Mike Reiss is an excellent writer, I’m pretty sure Jesus was the only perfect Jew. See what I did there? That’s the kind of witty one-liner you’ll expect to find throughout this book and these are the kind of quips the Simpsons writers have used throughout the series, rendering it both endearing and ENDURING. (Although Reiss’ jokes are much funnier and this book actually made me chuckle. OUT LOUD). Reiss’ homage to Springfield’s favourite f ...more
Colin Gooding
Dec 05, 2018 rated it really liked it
A fun little memoir filled with lots of great little behind-the-scenes anecdotes and also inside opinions on stories I had already heard. It was well placed and never dwelled on any one subject for too long, so I found it really easy to read through quickly.

Reiss packs a bunch of little joke asides in constantly and for the most part they are pretty funny, but one problem I had (which I'm sure Reiss would find hilarious) is that sometimes I couldn't tell if something actually happened or was ju
...more
Brandon Anderson
Oct 24, 2018 rated it really liked it
Mike Reiss is funny, like really funny. This book was an absolute delight, and if you're more than a casual fan of the Simpsons, you're sure to love it. It's a story of Reiss's journey through three decades with the Simpsons, complete with inside stories and little nerd trivia and tidbits along the way. And all throughout, the book is really genuinely funny. Little witty quips throughout, and you can really see how sharp-witted and smart and humorous a writer like Reiss must have to be to write ...more
Rade
Jun 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: rec-to-everyone
I am a HUGE Simpsons fan...of the early seasons, not so much not. This book has a lot of inside tidbits of info on how the show came to be. Sometimes it is all over the place with its narrative but the love that the original creators had for this show is all too real. Personally, the humor in this show shaped my understanding of what I find funny and how I go about telling jokes. For that, it will forever remain as my favorite show of all time.
Brian
Apr 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book rekindled my passion for The Simpsons and offers amusing insights into the like of a tv (and other media) writers. Best of all, this book is funny, often laugh-out-loud funny. It also had a lively pace and, dare I say, impeccable timing. A really enjoyable read for fans of the Simpsons and comedy in general. Not recommended for Tim Allen or Kim Kardashian.
Tracey
Dec 22, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Awesome biography. Lots of really funny and interesting stories about the making of The Simpsons. Plenty of gossip about the celebrity guest stars, and great insults (Louis CK: Actor, Writer, Masturbator). Regardless of how big of a Simpsons fan you are, this is a great read.
Helen
Jan 02, 2019 rated it really liked it
This laugh-out-loud peek at the machinery behind the uber-successful Simpsons is a must for any Simpsons fan. Not only did I chuckle my head off, I learned a lot about how an animated TV show is put together.
Matt Glaviano
Jul 07, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: misc, 2018
I think this is the third book I've read about the Simpsons. It's definitely the best.

Reiss' book was breezy, funny, and full of little details that delighted this long time Simpsons fan.

Really, really, fun; a wonderful book to have found after reading the crap I've read lately. A soothing balm. A palette cleanser.
Stefania
Dec 24, 2018 rated it really liked it
Great read for anyone who grew up watching The Simpsons! I learned a lot and it was cool to have a behind-the-scenes look and tidbits of information to some of the funniest and memorable gags!
Gard
Dec 25, 2018 rated it liked it
D'oh!
Ryon
Nov 23, 2018 rated it really liked it
A solid 3.5 stars for all the pages except the one about Apu which is mushy .5 stars
Alan Caldwell
Jan 27, 2019 rated it it was ok
The Kenny Bania of books.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • 100 Things The Simpsons Fans Should Know  Do Before They Die
  • The Simpsons: An Uncensored, Unauthorized History
  • Poking a Dead Frog: Conversations with Today's Top Comedy Writers
  • Failure Is an Option: An Attempted Memoir
  • Wild and Crazy Guys: How the Comedy Mavericks of the '80s Changed Hollywood Forever
  • Beastie Boys Book
  • Funny Man: Mel Brooks
  • Always Look on the Bright Side of Life: A Sortabiography
  • The Kids in the Hall: One Dumb Guy
  • Just the Funny Parts: ... And a Few Hard Truths About Sneaking Into the Hollywood Boys' Club
  • Caddyshack: The Making of a Hollywood Cinderella Story
  • Planet Funny: How Comedy Took Over Our Culture
  • Best. Movie. Year. Ever.: How 1999 Blew Up the Big Screen
  • Baby Don't Hurt Me: Stories and Scars from Saturday Night Live
  • My Squirrel Days
  • Robin
  • Homey Don't Play That!: The Story of In Living Color and the Black Comedy Revolution
  • My Life as a 10-Year-Old Boy
See similar books…
“We still couldn’t use “ass” any way we pleased. In one script, we had the phrase “up his ass”; Fox censors asked us to change it to “in his ass.” That seemed worse, but we did as they asked.” 3 likes
“If a giant sinkhole opened up and swallowed Harvard University, I’d think, Poor sinkhole. I spent four years at Harvard and I hated the place. I’m not alone: In a 2006 poll, the Boston Globe ranked schools in terms of fun and social life. Harvard came in fifth . . . from the bottom. Amazing. I couldn’t imagine four schools less fun than Harvard. But then I saw the list. The four schools ranked below us were: Guantanamo Tech Chernobyl Community College The University of California at Aleppo, and Cornell” 1 likes
More quotes…