Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Stories She Tells” as Want to Read:
The Stories She Tells
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Stories She Tells

by
3.93  ·  Rating details ·  233 ratings  ·  46 reviews
When Michael decides to track down ex-girlfriend Rae who disappeared ten years ago while pregnant with his baby, he knows it could change his life forever. His search for her takes unexpected turns as he unearths multiple changes of identity and a childhood she tried to pretend never happened, but nothing could prepare him for what awaits when he finally finds her.

Appeari
...more
Paperback, 258 pages
Published October 12th 2017 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Stories She Tells, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
L.K. Chapman
This answer contains spoilers… (view spoiler)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.93  · 
Rating details
 ·  233 ratings  ·  46 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Tracy Fenton
Jun 21, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
So there I was quietly reading my current book and I get a polite email from LK Chapman saying “I was just wondering if you got round to reading The Stories She Tells? Don’t worry if not, I was just curious!”**, so I replied immediately that I hadn’t yet and would move it to the top of my pile and then I realised I wasn’t actually enjoying my current read so stopped and started The Stories She Tells. Less than 4 hours later I’ve finished it.

This book was an easy and quick read for me (and yes I
...more
Kelly (purplebookstand)
Oct 13, 2017 rated it really liked it
The Stories She Tells Us

This is the first book I’ve read by LK Chapman and I really enjoyed it! The Stories She Tells Us is a real page turner that will take you on a rollercoaster ride; you won’t be able to put it down!

A dark and atmospheric read, I really thought I had it all figured out and then another twist came along and put pay to my theory! All in all, this is a fab read that I definitely recommend! Four stars from purplebookstand.

I was lucky enough to be provided with an ARC of this bo
...more
Mo
Oct 18, 2017 rated it really liked it
This book had me quickly sucked in . A rollercoaster of a read which becomes disturbing as it progresses . Will definitely look out for more from this author. Thanks to tbc reviewers for my chance to read
Anna
Oct 02, 2017 rated it really liked it
This was a bit of a rollercoster for me - I found I was both a little sad while reading and at times furious with the main characters. I couldn't stop thinking about Rae and Michael, and even though it's rough reading sometimes, I thought the theme and the plot pose some very interesting questions - how would anyone react if it happened to us? If somebody told us stories like Rae tells, or if we were caught up in the storm that comes with them?

And form a mental health perspective, this book is
...more
Kat
Oct 13, 2017 rated it really liked it
This is my first book by LK Chapman and it certainly won’t be my last. The cover was eye catching and instantly made me want to know what was inside. It was well written, allowing for the writing to flow easily. The chapters were short, snappy and made it easy for me to tell myself to keep reading ‘one more chapter’. Although I would class myself as a slow reader, I was able to complete this book in just 3 days.

The story is centered on Michael, who tracks down his girlfriend Rae, who had disapp
...more
Sarah Hodge
Oct 20, 2017 rated it really liked it
Do you trust the one you love? Should you trust the one you love! The Stories She Tells is a gripping and challenging psychological thriller. The story moves along at a fair pace with characters, that you might not necessarily like, but ones that you care about and want to discover the whole of their back story. Whilst part of the plot deals with an uncomfortable topic it is dealt with sensitively and it was rewarding to have strong female characters throughout the book. A highly recommended goo ...more
Fiona Mccormick
Oct 12, 2017 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed this one. Michael finds out that his ex-girlfriend Rae might have been pregnant with his child when they split up in their university days. He is determined to track her down and find out the truth but at first she seems to have vanished off the face of the earth. Michael's wife becomes worried and insecure as his obsession with Rae seems to be taking over his life.
I found Rae to be extremely annoying, I can't stand people that habitually tell lies and her fantasy world was off
...more
Clare Wakelin
Oct 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
wow what a book !! new author for me and boy did she blow me away, I haven't been so engrossed in book in a while. the characters flow together perfectly and I honestly didn't see the twist coming. brilliantly written
Asimah Akhtar
Oct 04, 2017 rated it really liked it
The Stories She Tells is the second book I have read by LK Chapman. I have previously read Anything For Him and enjoyed it. I finished this book in two sittings.

We are introduced to Michael who goes in search of his ex-girlfriend Rae, when he unexpectedly discovers she was pregnant when they spilt up. Having never heard from Rae after university he is shocked to learn of the pregnancy and immediately tries to search for her. Unfortunately, attempting to track Rae down becomes an arduous task. A
...more
Angie Jones-Moore
L K Chapman had me from the get go. I love it when I really have to think about what is going on in a book, and that is exactly what this is like.
From start to finish, I kept trying to guess what was happening and couldn't quite figure it out. The complicated lives of Rae and Tamsin will draw you in and keep you consumed.
I couldn't stop reading and didn't want to!
A well mannered young lady with a wealthy husband, Tamsin appears to have it all.
I felt like I was a fly on the wall. Deceit, betray
...more
Sian Steen
Oct 03, 2017 rated it really liked it
4.5 stars.

I had to give myself time to process this one, because it's a hell of a roller coaster.

I've read and enjoyed a few different books by LK Chapman, and if you liked Anything for Him, you will love this.

Very dark, and you will think you have it all figured out - I certainly did! But then it goes deeper than you could imagine.

Rae is a really interesting character, and I couldn't decide whether I loved her or hated her, and I never did trust what she was saying - even at the end. But I thin
...more
Sharon
Dec 28, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Twisted, sick, shocking, disturbing, believable, unbelievable- these are all the words that popped into my head as I finished “The Stories She Tells”. My brain is reeling from reading this book! I feel emotionally drained!

The blurb gives you all the information you need to know about the plot. The character development in this novel was outstanding- the three main players, Michael, “Rae” and Paul are written so cleverly that it is hard not to see this story play out in your head as you read. My
...more
John Carter
Nov 03, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received this book in a goodreads giveaway.

I haven't enjoyed a suspense novel a much as this in a long time. Even though I managed to guess what the "twist" long before the book was over I still finished it and was eager to find out what happened at the end. It's well written, easy to read, and engaging.

I haven't read anything else from L.K. Chapman but after reading 'The Stories She Tells' I might have to go and buy another of her books. I also look forward to whatever she does in the future
...more
Karen Peterman
Oct 17, 2017 rated it really liked it
Michael is going out with Rae when he sleeps with Sadie. Fast forward 10 years and Michael is now married to Sadie when he learns that Rae had become pregnant with his baby just before she disappeared all those years before.

Michael tracks her down and finds she is happily married with a new baby but Rae is now called Tamsin and draws Michael in by telling him what may or may not be lies. Her new husband wants her to give her baby up for adoption like she did with Michaels baby 10 years before.

T
...more
Sally Mcdonagh
Oct 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
Michael is happily married to Sadie and they're trying to have a family when one of their friends lets slip that a girlfriend he had 10 years previously had been pregnant when they broke up. This sets Michael on a course that will change his life.
I really enjoyed this book. It was fast paced, finished in hours as didn't want to put it down.
Look forward to reading more from this author
Would recommend.
Georgina Roberts
Oct 23, 2017 rated it really liked it
absolute rollercoaster...all along I was trying to guess what was happening but couldn't work it out. The twist at the end is something I didn't see coming at all. This book kept me gripped right to the very end and was a real pager turner.
Thanks to TBConFB for an advance copy in return for an honest review.
Vicky
Oct 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing
What a brilliant psychological read. I had a long train journey, so had saved most the book for it - and was hooked for my whole journey, with only the last 20% to read later. Throughout this amazing book, I didn't know who or what to believe and right up until the end it had me thinking what is the truth. I won't reveal any spoilers; but at times I felt sorry for the main character Tamsin,. whereas other times I really didn't like her. The author LK Chapman has a great ability at engaging this ...more
Sue Ross
Oct 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Gosh what a rollercoaster ride of a book! This tale of family, betrayal and complex relationships left me stunned. The characters feel real and that left me emotional at times.It was similar to having a very deep and realistic dream that stays with you for a few days. It takes an excellent writer to make me feel like this. Life is not all kittens and roses, and this book certainly leaves the reader with no illusions on this. If you love a story that pulls no punches, prepare to devour this wonde ...more
Claire
Oct 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Another excellent story from LK Chapman. It kept me guessing and even though I had worked out part of the mystery, there was still a surprise at the end.
Although The Stories She Tells is in the psychological genre it reminded me of Networked which is a sci-fi novel. The way the two books keep you guessing is similar and keeps you turning the pages.
I really recommend The Stories She Tells.
Laura Pontin
Oct 13, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I really enjoyed this twisty turny tale of someone trying to right a wrong and getting caught up in a nightmare. A great story with interesting characters, but a little bit of an abrupt ending. I would have liked to have found out more.
Pam
Oct 09, 2017 rated it really liked it
This is the first book I have read by LK Chapman and will definitely be reading more.
The book was so riveting; I devoured it, desperate to know what had happened and what was to happen to Rae. Will have to re-read and enjoy it again! Michael and Sadie, are struggling to conceive and discover that Michael may have fathered a child in his student days with his former lover,Rae. Michael, reconnects with Rae and slowly discovers the facts of lives based on secrets and lies. As the truth unravels liv
...more
Ellen Hamilton
Oct 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
This book was very well written. I was hooked right until the very end. I would have given this book five stars but for the ending. I was so worried about how Michael fared, and as there is no sequel, I felt like something was missing and that the ending wasn't complete. I think a few words would have helped readers to come to the conclusion that the murder charge is slightly alleviated since Paul deserved what came to him. But, I was glad to find Celeste doing better and happier with her little ...more
Nicola
May 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Another fantastic read. This book was just brilliant. In every way. The way LK Chapman has the readers hooked chapter to chapter. The style of writing. Sometimes I cannot read books written third person but this wasn’t one of them.
Bookworldliness
Mar 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The most lucrative factor of this novel is the new mysteries and labyrinths at every step of the way. The minute you think you know what the mystery is, you get entangled in unanticipated ambiguity. What sets this book apart from other suspense novels is that readers tend to form theories of their own in mystery novels. For instance, how the story will unfold, who will the antagonist be, etc. However, with this book, the moment readers think they got the suspense, the tale takes an unforeseen tu ...more
Joanna Gibson
Oct 24, 2017 rated it really liked it
What a dark book, brilliantly written with infuriating characters, a story that leaves you guessing right to the end and a plot that you would never be able to guess. enjoyed thoroughly
Ashley
Oct 06, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed reading The Stories She Tells.
Chapman's usual page turner style is present as ever and I always found it hard to put down.

I loved getting to know Rae, and seeing her personality slowly reveal itself was at the same time exciting and heartbreaking. I really feel for Michael though because he's put in such an impossible situation. He doesn't know who to trust and he doesn't know who to help but he somehow feels responsible for everyone! I really don't know what I would do in his p
...more
Carmel Hanes
Apr 17, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
As a person who has worked within the field of psychology, this book had me intrigued as I tried to "diagnose" the characters as the story moved along. It captured the difficult, often maddening, moments that an "outsider" experiences when dealing with a person twisted by life experiences into behaving in unlikable and incomprehensible ways. "Rae" is initially presented in unlikable terms, frustrating those around her. But as the story progresses, one begins to wonder if there is more to the sto ...more
Becky
Mar 09, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Wow. The Stories She Tells sucks you right in and keeps going. So hard to put down. Even the twists I saw coming kept me on the edge of my seat with anticipation. LK Chapman is destined for bestsellers. Michael was in rough patch with Rae when he met up with Sadie. Fast forward years later and though he’s with Sadie he still feels tied to Rae and the story races from there. So glad I got a promo copy!
Rowena
Jun 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Couldn't put this book down

I loved everything about this book it keeps you guessing. I read this book in a day not because it was short but because I couldn't put it down I had to keep reading till the end as it kept you on suspense and I needed to know what happened. The characters in the book were brilliant and kept you guessing this book is well written I don't have anything bad to say about this book.
Lynn Fisher
Oct 08, 2017 rated it really liked it
4.5 stars. This is the first book I have read by this author and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The storyline was gripping, emotional and a bit of a rollercoaster ride. I certainly didn’t guess what would happen or how it would end. Would definitely recommend this book
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The House on Rectory Lane
  • The Good Mother
  • The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows (Georgina McKenzie #3)
  • The Wife – Part Two: For Better, For Worse (The Wife series)
  • Julep Street
  • The Cursed Wife
  • Watching You
  • Dirty Little Secrets
  • All The Colours In Between
  • Redemption (Children of the Gods, #3)
  • Don't Say It
  • Last Bird Singing
  • Another Love (No Greater Love, #9)
  • Differently Normal
  • Willow Walk (Banktoun, #2)
  • The Accident
  • Where the Missing Go
  • Forgotten
91 followers
Louise Katherine Chapman was born in Somerset, UK, in 1986. She studied psychology at the University of Southampton and has worked as a psychologist creating personality questionnaires for a consultancy company. She has also spent some time volunteering for mental health charity Mind.

Chapman loves to write because she loves learning about people and she loves stories. A major turning point in her
...more