Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Cannibal Creek” as Want to Read:
Cannibal Creek
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Cannibal Creek

by
3.90  ·  Rating details ·  146 ratings  ·  23 reviews
While traveling through West Virginia on a camping trip, the Bakers and the Riveras—two close-knit families—have the misfortune of running into a peculiar hitchhiker. After ditching the hitchhiker, the families set up camp and begin their vacation. However, they soon find themselves stalked by a group of feral, cannibalistic people lurking in the woods...

The author of
...more
Kindle Edition, 206 pages
Published August 31st 2017
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Cannibal Creek, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Cannibal Creek

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.90  · 
Rating details
 ·  146 ratings  ·  23 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Cannibal Creek
Alex findingmontauk1
May 14, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: owned
4 stars to this wild, gory, hillbilly horror story! Fans of Wrong Turn, The Hills Have Eyes, and Texas Chainsaw Massacre movies will absolutely devour this one!

My full review is on the Night Worms blog: https://nightworms.com/blogs/news/ale...
Mort
Nov 12, 2017 rated it really liked it
4 STARS
This author requests an honest review after his stories, to help him improve his writing. After finishing THE ABUSE OF ASHLEY COLLINS, I delved into this one immediately. At page 50 I was beginning to have my doubts about it. While the first one shocked the hell out of me, this one was slow and, only my personal opinion, struggling. The picture he was trying to paint about the two happy families on the camping trip felt forced and overdone. And, while he was building tension, a whole lot
...more
Bonnie Racki
May 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Great cannibal story

You can never go wrong with a cannibal story.

The Bakers and Riveras are on there way to a camping trip in West Virginia. They pick up an odd fella who tells the family that where they are headed is known as "Cannibal Creek". The family get a bit freaked out and ditch the hitchhiker. Things go all back to normal. I

They get to there campsite and they come across a couple that informs they that they always felt someone was watching them and they are leaving early from their
...more
Ruth
Dec 08, 2017 rated it really liked it
Awesome


First time reading Jon Athan and it will not be my last! Look forward to reading more of his work.
chucklesthescot
Jan 26, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction, horror
Two families are on a camping trip together and almost hit a hitchhiker. They are reluctant to take him when Jed asks for a ride as compensation, and he unnerves them all, especially the kids with talk about cannibals in the woods waiting to eat them. Taking a chance to ditch him, they forget that he knows where they will be camping and it is just a few miles away. Arriving at the camp site, they find it almost empty, and the young couple there are leaving early, saying that they are sure that ...more
William Baird
Feb 14, 2018 rated it really liked it
Cannibal Geek!

The author humbly tells his influences at the end of the book, and I recognised every one of them in the story, if you like the hill have eyes, wrong turn, Texas chainsaw massacre then this is the book for you. You will recognise a load of scenes, but there are plenty of new spins to keep you shocked, cause let's be honest that's why your reading it. Well the author does this in spades, you will be surprised by the kinda violence they can't show on the big screen. I really liked
...more
Krisaundra
Jan 14, 2018 rated it really liked it
Timeless Horror

The first book I read by this author I didn't really enjoy but I wanted to check his work one more time. I'm so glad I did! This book was a great horror story! It had everything a person expects from a horror novel and even more. A book I couldn't put down with wonderfully disturbing characters and a great plot. Best of all the macabre events were described in such a way that even without going into much detail my imagination created grisly horrors and made it almost impossible
...more
CARLEEN
May 29, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: jon-athan-novels
In true Jon Athan fashion, a happy time quickly turns int a HORRIBLE, UNSPEAKABLE, DISGUSTING, GORY bloodbath and I LUH It!!

Two families go on a camping trip and their lives are forever shattered when they pick up a hitch hiker with a cannibalistic taste.

As I stated with other Athan book reviews, I LOVE have no one is safe from the beast in the book regardless of gender or age. As with other J. Athan books what I didn't like is I don't feel the beast(s) get gotten as good as they should be
...more
mike frazier
Sep 02, 2017 rated it really liked it
Good extreme horror

Most extreme authors I've read keep their books too short because they're not as talented as others. Athan does a good job in this book and I really enjoyed it. The horror scenes were great and different. Although the characters weren't very developed and the beginning totally unrealistic I've considered this a great book from an independent author and suggest you read it.
Angela
Nov 07, 2017 rated it really liked it
For the lover of all things horror!

From the start, this book grabs you by the 'nads' and never lets go. At times I felt transported into The Hills Have Eyes, Texas Chainsaw Massacre and Wrong Turn movies! If you like your cannibals grotesque and deformed, deaths described in brutal detail and the suspense of if there will be any survivors, then this is your book. Grab it today for a gore filled fun weekend read.
Lynn Dickerson
Sep 10, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Great read

Omg! Loved this book but wish it was longer or a sequel. Maybe a book about Jasmines revenge and Jed comes back for her.
cassandra Fleming
Jan 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Sick, twisted and mentally disturbing

Loved it from beginning to end. A must read for all those cannibal lovers. Lots of gore and heaps of blood. Loved it
Martin Edgar
Nov 28, 2017 rated it really liked it
Brutal

Very graphic and brutal, builds on what you might expect based o any movies you may have seen. Well worth the time to read if you love horror
Denise Eader
Jan 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Great book!

Great thriller with just enough realism to make you think twice about camping. Would love to read the follow up.
Tam
Jan 26, 2019 rated it really liked it
As soon as I opened this book, I heard Dueling Banjos begin to play! A deliciously-dark and twisted mash-up of Deliverance, Wrong Turn and The Hills Have Eyes.
Palmira S Campos
Dec 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Great story with dark action movements.

Very describing horror. Story keeps you in suspension
Of course. Would recommend to others to read it that enjoy this type of genre
David Griffiths
Jan 31, 2018 rated it really liked it
Violent thriller

If you like films such as 'Texas Chainsaw' and 'The Hills have Eyes' then you'll enjoy this, fast moving thrills and plenty of horrific action!
Summer Mortensen
Dec 07, 2017 rated it it was amazing
My new favorite!

If you love Wrong Turn you will love this book. Fun read and enjoyed every scene with "mama". Keep it up Mr. Athan!
Page Turner
Jan 05, 2018 rated it really liked it
Got off to a slow start for me, but ended with a nasty, gruesome bang.
courtneytaylor
Dec 14, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Loved it

Fast paced detailed and disturbing, this book definitely kept my attention and contained the right amount of gore if you love horror you'll love this
amanda Pickett
Sep 04, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Amazing

This is really hard-core horror, absolutely loved it, mixed emotions for me, I cried, I got scared, but it was truly worth it. Keep up the good work.
Adam Wilson
Nov 09, 2019 rated it liked it
Since Jack Ketchum is Athan’s favorite author, I was wondering when I would come across the Off Season clone. Here it is and it is a fun read but don’t expect anything new to the cannibal sub-genre.
Anna Ford
rated it liked it
Oct 25, 2017
Joy Miller
rated it did not like it
Dec 16, 2017
Frank
rated it it was ok
May 18, 2019
Beth Bogacz
rated it really liked it
Mar 11, 2019
mrs moira hall
rated it it was amazing
Apr 12, 2018
Mary Grissom
rated it it was amazing
Jun 07, 2019
Tina
rated it it was ok
Apr 30, 2018
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • My Pretties
  • Escape!
  • Insane Bastards
  • Octopus
  • Kink
  • The Demonic
  • A Suburban Haunting
  • Severed
  • Chained
  • Flesh Factory: An Extreme Horror Novel
  • Clowns Vs. Spiders
  • Horror in the Woods
  • The Game
  • Sick House
  • F*cked to Death
  • Headhunter
  • Pigs: An Extreme Horror Novella
  • Serial Killer Anonymous
See similar books…
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“I really noticed it when she was talking about that hitchhiker in the RV. She was running her mouth like he was a victim or something. She just reminds me of all those virtue-signaling bastards on Twitter and Facebook. She always has something to say, but she never has any solutions.” 0 likes
More quotes…